Call the police if I were you.
Like someone who put it this way to me long time ago: "Be strong"
I don't mean to preach but you seem like in a bad situation and it's not just you but your family too. During my crisis the thing that held me together was my faith( I was pretty much broken inside but I held on). You know what after a few years of crisis some miracles here and some (literally)miracles there started to show. I'm not really alone. So neither are you. Pray to Jesus. God is only a prayer away.
You know what the craziest thing I asked of God was to make me an earthquake right there right then. He gave me just that..... I couldn't stop smiling afterwards. People were squatting with hands on the floor afraid of falling down I was standing up hey I'm not afraid of my God I did ask for it....It was a stupid, useless, silly request but He did give me that well after waiting for a 3 seconds interval. Of course nobody was hurt nor the building damaged. Now wouldn't He give you help too. But you must put faith, and hold on to your faith no matter what. I do not insist that you believe this story but I wrote it(It did happen) just to make the point nothing is impossible with God.
Be strong. You are not alone in this world. Jesus loves you. God knows. He'll let you know He knows just as He has let me know that He knows.
Dear Sir,
Ending your life is not a solution. There are many disabled people but they keep on leaving. They might not have so many problems like you are facing now but I believe you can go trough it.
As for your brother, only solution is to call the authority. There are no point living in fear for the rest of your life. If you can't pay full or installment, the interest rates will accumulate more and more.
I pray for you and hope you have more peace in mind to solve all your problem.
---GlobalRoam---
So how did everything go?
For your sake I hope it's all better.
seek help from the police regarding the situation. tell them the whole story and don't try to hide anything. even the smallest detail helps.
as for yourself, you are the eldest. don't try to run away via suicide. that will only be more of a burden on your parents since they already have so much to think about. besides, you are wasting the money spent on your operations if you did suicide
ask your third brother to turn himself in. face the music.
your other brothers hopefully are mature enough to understand the situation.
call the quit gambling hotline maybe they can help u? try something anything but dun commit suicide cus there's always a way out, maybe can 'talk' to the bookies to let them understand ur situation?? =S
Originally posted by destroybot:Thanks you all, btw my brother serving NS is 20 yr old. Hope you all could understand the immense pressure from the bookie is causing us unable to live our life normally. I slowly understand how people would have the courage the end their life.
I still have to see if there is better option... going to the police might not be the best solution. The police will catch those bookie runnner, those small fish and we might not know how the bookie boss is going to react.
Bookie boss basically is heartless... even bookie runner who saw our family condition give sympathy by repeatly calling their boss to nego how to clear the debt slowly... but the boss refuses, money or my brother.
The villians make life difficult for u and your family , so make life difficult for them. Make a police report and visit a MP as suggested by fellow forummers. To die because of this is not worthwhile. Not worthwhile. Just not worthwhile.
If i am any of your family member , i just take a chopper and be prepared to fight them or to scare them. I hate to be threatened by others .
Dont let your family and your life be overshadowed by this. Need any help or feeling miserable , just post here. We will do what we can to help you.
so long no news liao ?
up lorry di lah.. Rest in peace ![]()
Originally posted by curryman:up lorry di lah.. Rest in peace
how you know ?
Bookies are only interested in making money,btw your brother should know the runner or agent.try talk to the agent,why he allow your brother to lose and own up to so much?
the agent should stop your brother account until he pay up what he own before letting him bet again,i believe something is not quite right here as i believe your brother can't lose up to 18k in a week and since he can't pay the 1st payment already,why did they still allow him to bet and lose more before clearing up the previous?
worse come,tell them you will call the police.all this bookies is more afraid than you if you inform the police as you think will they let this 18k ruined their business?their motive here is to collect the money and i am sure they will be very willing to settle up this problem with you.
i knew quite few peoples who is in this situation too,losing more than they can pay up and the bookies gladly accept the payment by instalments.
I believe there is some loan shark involved in the outstanding amounts and as Nameless Wonder has mentioned these people are only interested in money. So your brother here will need to be honest as to how much was actually involved (minus the interest). Stop the interest from rolling and negotiate for a reasonable and agreeable amount to pay back - just let them know that raising 18K will only make things difficult for you and longer for them to recover the outstanding. On the hindsight, such amount can also be possible considering the no. of matches on one weekend - EPL, German League, Spanish Liga and Italian as well.
Also, if any harrassment or looking for your mother for money, from henceforth would mean immediate stop to the payments and no hesitation to go to the police which is the last thing they would want in this "business". Although, I do not condone to this form of betting, but since your brother has betted and lost - it is only right to payback what is being owed.
hmmm, i hope these info will help you.
this information can be found on the national council on problem gambling website.
1. one hope centre
One Hope Centre is a voluntary welfare organization which seeks to assist members of the public who as a result of gambling are:
| · |
facing difficulties managing their finances due to their inability to pay creditors; |
| · |
harassed by unlicensed moneylenders due to their inability to meet regular payments; |
| · |
finding difficulties making ends meet due to loss of employment and having to settle for a lesser paying job |
Help includes:
| · |
helping clients break their gambling habit through tailored programmes, for example, personal and group counselling, psychiatric evaluation and support groups such as Gamblers Anonymous |
| · |
encouraging the restoration of relationships within the family unit where gambling and other similar activities have traumatized the family unit |
| · |
providing support for clients and their families in their distress through the centre’s helpline, support group meetings and personal counselling |
| · |
assessing clients’ financial position and providing advice on financial planning , budgeting and financial protection. |
The organization is manned by a team of volunteers which includes 4 counsellors who received their certification from the US.
Contact Details:
One Hope Centre’s helpline numbers are as follows:
6440 8349 / 8362 (Monday-Friday,
9.30am – 4pm)
6547 1011 (Monday-Friday, 4pm – 7pm)
below is for you.
2. The Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours daily)
The Samaritans of Singapore (SOS) hotline 1800-2214444 is available 24 hours every day to anyone who is despairing, distressed or suicidal.
The helpline is manned by a group of trained volunteers who come from diverse backgrounds, occupations, religions, ethnic groups and ages. They share a common capacity to care and listen to anyone who is going through a difficult time.
All information given by a client is treated as strictly confidential and anyone approaching SOS is free to accept or reject help offered and to remain anonymous if so desired.
SOS offers a listening ear and help. suicide is never a good solution to any problem. facing the problem is. you still wouldn't solve any problem by dying.
don't give up hope on life. you should be glad you have a chance to live.