Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
Because that will inconvenience me before I have enjoyed my life and have my goals completed.
1) Hysterectomy
2) Chemo
3) Recovery from chemo and to avoid infections.
4) Hormone therapy for life needed and early menopause issues.
Auntie VK, what are your life goals?
Now the agony is wrapping up the loose ends of my life, and making my legacy felt.
What is this legacy that you had mentioned ?
It is worth dying for or living for ?
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
Auntie VK, what are your life goals?
Ride to NOrthen thailand, cross at golden Triangle, vist Laos, Yunan, Cambodia I think.
Dance my salsa rhueda, bachata, merengue.
Drift some cars, shoot IPDA & possibly slim down?
Originally posted by ^C ^:
What is this legacy that you had mentioned ?It is worth dying for or living for ?
I choose answer A & B. :D
VK, i had pm you my contact number ![]()
I will try to help you in whatever way i can ![]()
You don't worry too much OK ![]()
She is not worrying lah. I detect tinge of self-pity from her exchanges, and that she is on an exit strategy.
Everybody has to die sooner or later, it is just a matter of time.
Now is a good time to think ->
1. Before I was born, where did I come from?
2. After I died, where will I go?
The secret lies in understanding your true human nature...
Hi VK, from reading the posts here and in the shoutbox, like you said, no medication has been prescribed by the doctor. No discussion about hospice home care either. I reckon you're still in the very early stage of cancer.
Why not set aside the time to re examine your lifestyle, financial arrangements, home and private life, mend the broken family link and cherish every single day?
Feeling sore and bitter about everything else will only sap your energy and make you an unhappy person. It's not going to benefit anybody, not for yourself and not for your kin.
Originally posted by gasband:Hey Vicious Kitty, I dun know you and you dun know me. But i just wanna say I know what it is. I do not have cancer but My dad just passed away 2 weeks ago in the Operating Theatre while removing a cancerous tumour. It is a shock and I still cannot get over it. One moment he is healthy in the morning and 6 hours later, he is dead. We did not even see him one last time.
What i wanna say is that treasure every moment. The difference between you and my dad is that you have time to treasure every moment you have with your loved ones and frens. My dad has none. And I have lost him forever. But you are different. So i wish you the best and do hope you recover soon!
I'm very sorry to hear that mate. My sincere condolences. It's not going to be an easy change for you, been through the same thing a few years back. Take care.
Originally posted by soleachip:I'm very sorry to hear that mate. My sincere condolences. It's not going to be an easy change for you, been through the same thing a few years back. Take care.
Hey ya thanks. It is not easy. In front of my mum, I have to be the strong one, being the only guy left in the house and I always have to go elsewhere to grieve where she cant hear and see me. I never tot much of the financial burdens my dad was taking on but now everything is on me, I saw how much he has done for the family. He is forever gone and I regret that I have not done more especially when now I can.
As for VK, yeah, i guess the emotional pain of such illnesses can sometimes be more straining than the physical pain itself but be strong. Its good to vent it somewhere but I think Soleachip gave good advice there, if you think you do not have much time left, repair those broken family ties, dun regret it when its too late. But of cos, I may be too presumptuous. Take care.
New research centre gets S$172m for cancer research
By S. Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 28 March 2008 1800 hrs
![]() |
||||||
|
||||||
SINGAPORE: Cancer research in Singapore is all set to take a quantum leap with the setting up of the Cancer Research Centre of Excellence.
The National Research Foundation and the Ministry of Education (MOE) are providing S$172 million over the next seven years for the centre's programmes.
The Asia Pacific region sees nearly half of the world's cancer deaths.
And as the population ages in Singapore, the medical fraternity said that the burden of cancer is also expected to rise.
Medical experts said there are several good reasons to enhance and expand cancer research in Singapore.
Firstly, cancer is the number one cause of death in the country. Also, it is believed that by 2020, Asia will carry the world's bulk of cancer burden.
Thirdly, it is believed that cancer and some cancer drugs behave differently in Asia against those in Europe and North America.
At present, cancer research is being done in the hospitals, universities and at A*STAR and its institutes.
But there's no institution here which focuses its energies entirely on cancer research.
Hence, the setting up of the Cancer Research Centre of Excellence at the National University of Singapore (NUS).
Professor John Wong, Dean, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine at NUS, said: “We have reached the point where we have captured the world's imagination and the next big step would be to see whether we can make a quantum impact to attract top faculty to provide the platform for our really bright local talent to get the mentorship to get to world class.
Mr Wong continued: “For such a disease to have world class research developing overnight rapidly in Singapore is going to benefit Singapore and the whole region".
An immediate priority for the new institution is to make an impact on basic cancer research.
Professor Daniel Tenen, Director of the Cancer Research Centre of Excellence, said: "One of the areas that we are working is in leukaemia. As part of the study, we study how normal blood develops because in leukaemia you have abnormal blood development.
“So if you focus on how to treat a patient with leukaemia today, you might focus on what kind of drugs we have and how we deliver. But we are trying to understand what are the basic genes involved in normal blood development and what goes on leukaemia and then try to develop drugs."
And with Singapore home to three different ethnic groups - the Chinese, Malays and Indians, the cancer research centre of excellence hopes to help develop therapies relevant to nearly half of the world's population. - CNA/vm
Originally posted by gasband:Hey ya thanks. It is not easy. In front of my mum, I have to be the strong one, being the only guy left in the house and I always have to go elsewhere to grieve where she cant hear and see me. I never tot much of the financial burdens my dad was taking on but now everything is on me, I saw how much he has done for the family. He is forever gone and I regret that I have not done more especially when now I can.
As for VK, yeah, i guess the emotional pain of such illnesses can sometimes be more straining than the physical pain itself but be strong. Its good to vent it somewhere but I think Soleachip gave good advice there, if you think you do not have much time left, repair those broken family ties, dun regret it when its too late. But of cos, I may be too presumptuous. Take care.
By the time I checked him in, I was told he only has 3-6 months. Back then, this mate of mine said it's just the start of a whole slew of problems (economic, physical and emotional strain) if I don't bail before he passes.
Can understand what you're going through. Your mom and siblings will all come to you for emotional strength and support, sometimes they'll cry to you, the task of taking on family affairs, banks, tying up the loose ends of his life will all fall on you but who can you go to? No one.
Just be strong and ride it out. This is one of life's phases some of us have to go through. The one thing that sucks is because you're relatively young, most of your peers won't understand what you're going through.
If it breaks you now just remember it won't break you again in the future. Take care mate.
Kitty, if u give up hope on yourself, nobody can help u liao.
do u bear to part with ur frens and loved ones?
I understand how u feel.. the pain of going thru the chemotherapy/treatments.. and the heavy medical expenses.. and family that dun care..
but u live for yourself. would u allow yourself to leave with regrets?
I hope you'll be strong and lead a fruitful life.
May the strength be with you to live on.
All the best.
Hur hur hur.....
Not to mention how many people are suddenly picking up their pace to buy me kopi instead of owning me after I turn ghost.
It was also interesting to know that most friends are telling me in advance to tell them 4D numbers so they can burn me nice condos with 'chopped' title deeds so I can keep those condos and bikes in the nether world.
wah!
your friends like that?
you tell them you give them 4D if strike every night after 3am go find them to chit chat
eat lots of tomatoes, because they have lycopene, suppose to be anti-cancer.
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/lycopene/NS_patient-lycopene
Originally posted by browniebaobao:Kitty, if u give up hope on yourself, nobody can help u liao.
do u bear to part with ur frens and loved ones?
I understand how u feel.. the pain of going thru the chemotherapy/treatments.. and the heavy medical expenses.. and family that dun care..
but u live for yourself. would u allow yourself to leave with regrets?
I hope you'll be strong and lead a fruitful life.
May the strength be with you to live on.
All the best.
bbb i spoke to viciouskitty74 today, she sound very cheerful ![]()
i got her to call my HR dept cos she need a job ![]()
promise to lend her a laptop to bring home if she really join our company *she had 99% chance of getting that job* ![]()
told her i feel sad for her but she ask me not to cos she's really ok ![]()
really feel good to help her in watever way i can ![]()
Originally posted by JerryYan:bbb i spoke to viciouskitty74 today, she sound very cheerful
i got her to call my HR dept cos she need a job
promise to lend her a laptop to bring home if she really join our company *she had 99% chance of getting that job*
told her i feel sad for her but she ask me not to cos she's really ok
really feel good to help her in watever way i can
but is she fit to work or not?
wat if work stress adds on to her health condition?
Originally posted by browniebaobao:
but is she fit to work or not?wat if work stress adds on to her health condition?
believe our working enviroment will help in her cancer treatment as we used to hold a few camps to guide 600+ cancer patients how to take care & I think it's free for staff ![]()
we got free organic lunch & tea snack for all staff ![]()
many programs on cancer & counselling sessions conduct by my colleagues ![]()
believe working is better than now she roaming around doing nothing ![]()
not to worry we will also try to take care of her ![]()
Originally posted by JerryYan:believe our working enviroment will help in her cancer treatment as we used to hold a few camps to guide 600+ cancer patients how to take care & I think it's free for staff
we got free organic lunch & tea snack for all staff
many programs on cancer & counselling sessions conduct by my colleagues
believe working is better than now she roaming around doing nothing
not to worry we will also try to take care of her
edited: double post.
Originally posted by JerryYan:believe our working enviroment will help in her cancer treatment as we used to hold a few camps to guide 600+ cancer patients how to take care & I think it's free for staff
we got free organic lunch & tea snack for all staff
many programs on cancer & counselling sessions conduct by my colleagues
believe working is better than now she roaming around doing nothing
not to worry we will also try to take care of her
Jerry,
That's really good.
Thanks !!!
BTW.. which charity organization is that ?
aw, dat is so sweet.
Ride to NOrthen thailand, cross at golden Triangle, vist Laos, Yunan, Cambodia I think.
Dance my salsa rhueda, bachata, merengue.
Drift some cars, shoot IPDA & possibly slim down?
Slimming is the least of your worries....
Otherwise, I see what and who I can ask to help in this matter.
One more SGF-ers in tampines xD
Originally posted by Midlusionz:One more SGF-ers in tampines xD
who u referring to har ![]()