no use 1Originally posted by Psychologist:This sounds crazy but I wanna pursue my dream of being a singer. I know it's hard especially in Singapore, and the English market for local artistes is virtually non-existent. But I believe I have the interest and potential to develop further. How??
It's like my mom thinks that I should be a lawyer or something. She frowns upon such stuff...dismissing them as indecent etc. Singaporeans (esp. parents) have this stupid mentality. Amongst them are 1) studying arts is no future 2) entertainment like singing is not a respectable job.
Have you heard of lawyers jumping into cake-selling businesses? Not mainly because they're too stressed, but in the first place, where was the interest? It was all due to parental influence.
What should I do? Make myself happy at the expense of my parents or vice versa? It's either this or that. Cos I know my mom will never allow me to sing.
Frustrated.

Not totally true.... But it's gonna be REAL DIFFICULT.....?Originally posted by kohanson:singapore is not the country for you to try this out. no one will appreciate, singapore only need lawyers and doctors..![]()
*nod nod* first have to "bao wo shi ji"Originally posted by Xiao Long Nu:miracle do hapen
heh i went to dl ur songs...eh some canot dl one...anyway heard a few of ur songs...........quite nice..i tout i hear dono which singer singing....u v talented ahh..can play guitar n sing n compose...rely need lots of inspiration to do tat....Originally posted by blue_kelvinsg:i welcome fedbacks and comments. hah
yeah.. i think cuz it excess the server bandwidth. hey i wrote a slow song this morning and recorded it at night. *hah* http://blue_kelvinsg0.tripod.com/Kel_From_Your_Heart.mp3Originally posted by Xiao Long Nu:heh i went to dl ur songs...eh some canot dl one...anyway heard a few of ur songs...........quite nice..i tout i hear dono which singer singing....u v talented ahh..can play guitar n sing n compose...rely need lots of inspiration to do tat....
btw...i tink u sing slow songs better....like ur normal voice sing slow songs tat drag longer ....tat time v nice...eg in Dont Cry.......ur starting is nt bad........bt i tink ur ending fading gt abit shiver when u dou yin.............
i prefer u sing slow songs...eg. in ur another song Forever in my heart....in the beginning quite fast ...n canot project ur voice in full.........bt in the part...u sing "U will forever in my heart............." tat part is gd...................when u drag n sing slowly....
above is my comments lor..i jus being straightforward hope u dn mind...anyway..........did u send ur songs to produceR?maybe if u interested...u can save n produce an album for urself...haha i gt frens who did tat..........ehh when i listen to other songs then tell u more...
music is abt passion and if u haf it in u.. then go for it.. although it's goin to be reali tough if not impossible to get noticed here.. u could haf the best of both worlds and maybe sing in yr free time - who noes.. someone may recognise u some day.. and at the same time pursue a career.. coz now times r bad.. anyway i love music too.. so get where ur coming from.. passion is smth that shld live on forever.. if u haf a dream then go for it lor.. u live once.. live w/o regrets..Originally posted by Psychologist:This sounds crazy but I wanna pursue my dream of being a singer. I know it's hard especially in Singapore, and the English market for local artistes is virtually non-existent. But I believe I have the interest and potential to develop further. How??
It's like my mom thinks that I should be a lawyer or something. She frowns upon such stuff...dismissing them as indecent etc. Singaporeans (esp. parents) have this stupid mentality. Amongst them are 1) studying arts is no future 2) entertainment like singing is not a respectable job.
Have you heard of lawyers jumping into cake-selling businesses? Not mainly because they're too stressed, but in the first place, where was the interest? It was all due to parental influence.
What should I do? Make myself happy at the expense of my parents or vice versa? It's either this or that. Cos I know my mom will never allow me to sing.
Frustrated.
halo.. ur really talented.. composing, playing ur guitar, singing.. it takes alot of passion to do tat.. reali cool..Originally posted by blue_kelvinsg:i yearn to be a song composer .. and i've kinda written some songs already. wanna be partners ? *ha* check this http://kelvin_files.tripod.com out ! my little collection of songs i've written. bad recording but at least audible to the human ear.. *ha* care to intro ?
thanks man ! *hah* today when i passed by food court 6 in sp, i saw this banner trying to promote a talentime ! woah !! super exicited liao !! MUST JOIN SIA !!!Originally posted by babygalz:halo.. ur really talented.. composing, playing ur guitar, singing.. it takes alot of passion to do tat.. reali cool..![]()
which which ? *ha* sighh... sometimes i feel im just writing rubbish songs. it's just penning down emotions. i think i'll start to write some songs of hope and love like he yao shan's type of music rather than singing rubbish. then i can minister love and hope to people around. that would probably be more helpful.Originally posted by Master -_-:my fren showed me this website.. about an aspiring singer.. dunno if he made it liao