hmmmmmmmm wasn't Jimmy Ye a law grad or sumthing?Originally posted by Psychologist:This sounds crazy but I wanna pursue my dream of being a singer. I know it's hard especially in Singapore, and the English market for local artistes is virtually non-existent. But I believe I have the interest and potential to develop further. How??
It's like my mom thinks that I should be a lawyer or something. She frowns upon such stuff...dismissing them as indecent etc. Singaporeans (esp. parents) have this stupid mentality. Amongst them are 1) studying arts is no future 2) entertainment like singing is not a respectable job.
Have you heard of lawyers jumping into cake-selling businesses? Not mainly because they're too stressed, but in the first place, where was the interest? It was all due to parental influence.
What should I do? Make myself happy at the expense of my parents or vice versa? It's either this or that. Cos I know my mom will never allow me to sing.
Frustrated.
hehe.. yeah good idea! good way to get noticed!Originally posted by blue_kelvinsg:thanks man ! *hah* today when i passed by food court 6 in sp, i saw this banner trying to promote a talentime ! woah !! super exicited liao !! MUST JOIN SIA !!!
passion starts before u make it big. fyi, i dont sing to be popular. it's something that i like to do and i just do it. apparently, u aint very fair in your critics.Originally posted by spy8reak:ur song sux. i'm a fair critic. and there will be critics. we dun need any more love songs baggage in our cds. consumers only wants something new, so u gotta try something different to keep the interest alive. dun even talk about passion cuz ur not recognized yet n ppl dun care every1 has passion for something. artists only dare to talk about "passion" for their music after they're famous and they get interviewed and journalist put them in articles. i dun hate love songs. but some of the love songs are just hormone driven for young teens who can't understand their miserable lives and isipid, repetitious and ambiguos meanings in terms of their lyrics which makes for a sh*tload of crap..
thanks but honestly, i feel they aint good enough. well nvm ..im only 18 ...got plenty of time for improvement.Originally posted by potatoeee^^:if singapore has any singing compeition,go and join or record your songs which you have sung and sent it to any music company or put it in the internet
dunnoe lahz.........![]()
Hi, I'm interested too . Maybe we should meet up together somedayOriginally posted by Psychologist:This sounds crazy but I wanna pursue my dream of being a singer. I know it's hard especially in Singapore, and the English market for local artistes is virtually non-existent. But I believe I have the interest and potential to develop further. How??
It's like my mom thinks that I should be a lawyer or something. She frowns upon such stuff...dismissing them as indecent etc. Singaporeans (esp. parents) have this stupid mentality. Amongst them are 1) studying arts is no future 2) entertainment like singing is not a respectable job.
Have you heard of lawyers jumping into cake-selling businesses? Not mainly because they're too stressed, but in the first place, where was the interest? It was all due to parental influence.
What should I do? Make myself happy at the expense of my parents or vice versa? It's either this or that. Cos I know my mom will never allow me to sing.
Frustrated.