My mom has been a housewife for years, isolating herself from the world for nearly a decade. As a 18-year-old son, I'm beginning to understand her life. It's really colourless, plain and boring. Her life falls upon both my sister and me. When both of us grow up and eventually leave for our own life, she'll just be left there. And I dont want this to actually happen. Can I know what can I do to brighten her life with activites? I dont want her to lock herself up in the house everyday. Bear in mind she had already lost pace with the society and finding a job will be very tough. Dont think she will wanna work after being a housewife for years.
Typo: "I dont want her to lock herself up in the house everyday."
me mom who is a HDB tai-tai go do all the HDB tai-tai stuff loh
line dancing, yoga, social dancing, bear-making
go sing K with frens, hi-tea
go CC take the activities list.
many things to take part
ask her to get a hobby, go to CCs to learn stuff
She dont have much friends. Will it be difficult for her to mix around? Because she's those shy type.
aunties and aunties bery easy to break ice one lah
its really up to her... but your support and encouragement will help. Also you can ask her what she like to do in the past before she has you kids will give you an idea what hobbie you can help look out for her to join ...
I remembered she once told me she like sewing clothes. Any activities linked with that?
Knitting class, cross stich, handicraft with string and cloths - like patch work blanket. - China town has one shop that sells that products for such things and also holds lessons in the shop. I think its call Golden Dragon.
My mum stopped working when she was pregnant with me and she didn't go back to work till I was 21 coz of my younger brother.
But she didn't have problems getting a job and I think she is doing better now compared to before
provide tailoring and alteration service from home
U can go sch and help to advertise
mistyblue, may I know where's that shop in Chinatown?
where u staying?
ur mom willing to travel to chinatown?
if it's going to be inconvenient, she may be more resistant to take part in activities.
u have to take this into consideration
I'm planning to get those knitting handcrafts. Any idea where do they sell these stuffs?
there is one shop in AMK central, near the S11, which is near Jubilee.
Ask her go join the NTUC women club, not only they get trained, they also help each others to encourage to their "back to work" program. And some lady Ministers are leading the cause, they play, work and chat togther, there are plenty of jobs. For eg, You may not know, your mom maybe a good cook that is greatly needed by some restaurant or hotels, thru this networking, your mom can get a good well pay jobs which is like doing
aiyoh sounds like my mum. Ask her go back work coz my bro will be in camp from July - Dec and similarly, I will not be in Singapore during that period.
I'm searching for job ops for her but her skills are pretty obsolete ( computer skills i mean). She speaks english well but given her comp skills i tink no company will want to hire her. I also at a loss to do with regards to my mum.
Imagine day in day out at home herself when my Dad's working. She seldom go out even when her friends ask her out. ![]()
And worse still, I seriously think her fav activity is playing the jackpot at the club nearby.
join the CCs and RCs
Majong majong, gardening, go high tea, learn a skill, do charity work, go temple for meditation . . .
Originally posted by coldzero:My mom has been a housewife for years, isolating herself from the world for nearly a decade. As a 18-year-old son, I'm beginning to understand her life. It's really colourless, plain and boring. Her life falls upon both my sister and me. When both of us grow up and eventually leave for our own life, she'll just be left there. And I dont want this to actually happen. Can I know what can I do to brighten her life with activites? I dont want her to lock herself up in the horse everyday. Bear in mind she had already lost pace with the society and finding a job will be very tough. Dont think she will wanna work after being a housewife for years.
TS, is it possible for you not to leave your mother eventually in the future?
If you can made up your mind on this and let her know, I'm sure you will make her very happy and appreciated and loved.
Find a KIND girl in the future, marry her and bring blessings to your mother.
Remember, value KINDNESS in a girl above other attributes. It's easy and common to find a girl who is good-looking, and sweet to you. But it is extremely rare to find a girl who is naturally KIND, if you come across any, be sure to make her yours.
KINDNESS is unfortunately a rarity nowadays, and why must your partner be KIND?
You don't want your children to be born evil, do you?
Think about your future if you truly want your parents to feel blessed for loving you as their children.
Since she left her life to took care of u and your sisters .
Then dont you think u should give her sometime when u and ur sisters grow up to bring her out on holidays and stuff .
Dont just throw her to some cc and ask her make new friends . Cause it`s not easy .
I think u and your sister should take sometime off and maybe bring her out at least once everyweek .
eh, but i dun wan my mum stay at home to watch tee bee eberday. wait she lao ren chi dai zhen how?
i suggest you all take your housewife mothers out more and let them see the outside world more, spend more time with them...
and i say this because i experience it with my own mother then, now and it is still going on....
shutting yourself from the outside world is really bad..
Originally posted by motoway:eh, but i dun wan my mum stay at home to watch tee bee eberday. wait she lao ren chi dai zhen how?
our moms can gather and play mahjong
and chat about why their dotters whole day whole nite on sgf
Yeah, another favourite past times for HDB married aunties is dry water swimming - playing mahjong. Just invite three friends over and can play liao. On top of that can exchange gossips somemore. Time sure to pass very fast one![]()