But i heard govt subsidise school fees up to 40% right?...dun know true or not...correct me if im wrong..
Same as asking why you need a driving license.
most companies r lidat..
they haf the mentality tt a deg is everything..
look @ the pay pckg they offers..n the jobs..from jobsdb etc.
dip holders = asst / support
deg holders = executive
n in terms of promotion criteria~ deg. holders stands a higher chance
UNLESS
u r really very good in ur job + boss likes u~
bt then again..thr r lots of successful ppl out thr w/o deg..bt again..it depends on individual's luck =)
Originally posted by domonkassyu:isnt it fkin amazing tat a degree is a key to managerial lvl and not the actual managerial skills..
if you know early in life what you want to do, then no need go uni. uni is just to help you stall time because you are a lost soul not sure what you want to do with life. they are many of those kind, that's why singapore needs a 4th university.
i have many non-uni frens and relative doing much better than me. of cos, my bad since i didn't make the best of my life and i lacked both inspiration and perspiration.
schooling should give you a life education, not just some piece of paper. if you are really after certs, there are many on sale over the internet. doctorate also got, just a bit more ex.
Originally posted by redDUST:if you know early in life what you want to do, then no need go uni. uni is just to help you stall time because you are a lost soul not sure what you want to do with life. they are many of those kind, that's why singapore needs a 4th university.
i have many non-uni frens and relative doing much better than me. of cos, my bad since i didn't make the best of my life and i lacked both inspiration and perspiration.
schooling should give you a life education, not just some piece of paper. if you are really after certs, there are many on sale over the internet. doctorate also got, just a bit more ex.
if you know early in life what you want to do, then no need go uni
In a way, quite true... I hv a junior from RI Gifted program; he chose to go to the poly road on computer games programming because he knew what he wanted. I think he started a company on it right after and appeared on newspaper, Computer Times once last time, and Digital Life (new name) once or twice also...
Originally posted by eagle:In a way, quite true... I hv a junior from RI Gifted program; he chose to go to the poly road on computer games programming because he knew what he wanted. I think he started a company on it right after and appeared on newspaper, Computer Times once last time, and Digital Life (new name) once or twice also...
are you from gep?
imo, having a Degree is not really necessary.. it very much depends on what field your into.
But of course, a degree gives you assurance, it helps you to proof to others that your a degree holder.. but do you really have the skills? Or just a paper to show off? That's another story.
And also, theres Experience. But if you have the skills, you dont have to worry much. It just takes time.......
Have degree but no skills = Nothing
Have degree and have skills = Something
Have degree and have skills plus experience = ![]()
Originally posted by xiiaostarry:
yep..and thats wat amazes me..mayb i cant understand it cuz im not a degree holder..and im pretty glad im not a degree holder..
higher paper qualifications=better management skills..time to change that wishful thinkin..
its like saying lhl with all his fanciful papers is able to lead an actual good old war..even lky for that matter.
Being brain-washed by garmen already, everything look at paper haha...
Just like 1970s or 1980s our industries short of degree holders, kept promoting degree until now.
Students are studying for courses they dont like, just for the sake of getting a degree. (Die die must squeeze into Uni mentality) Doesn't make sense.
Originally posted by SBS 9613Z:
are you from gep?
no
I only picked up after O levels
Originally posted by Evangel:Being brain-washed by garmen already, everything look at paper haha...
Just like 1970s or 1980s our industries short of degree holders, kept promoting degree until now.
Students are studying for courses they dont like, just for the sake of getting a degree. (Die die must squeeze into Uni mentality) Doesn't make sense.
But I like the course and degree I studied in ![]()
A degree is now a necessity, not a luxury item. You must have it not because with that you can be better than other but because without that you definitely be worse off than others. For every one who strikes rich / or successful without a degree, there is at least 10,000 who loses out because they do not have one and make ends meet by earning $1000 to $2000 a month. The chance for this non-degree holders are higher in 70s and 80s. In this age where degree holders are driving taxi and doing loansharks, it is sucidal not to have one. You may want to read my post.
Originally posted by Oceansail88:A degree is now a necessity, not a luxury item. You must have it not because with that you can be better than other but because without that you definitely be worse off than others. For every one who strikes rich / or successful without a degree, there is at least 10,000 who loses out because they do not have one and make ends meet by earning $1000 to $2000 a month. The chance for this non-degree holders are higher in 70s and 80s. In this age where degree holders are driving taxi and doing loansharks, it is sucidal not to have one. You may want to read my post.
r u peddling something here?
the same is true for grads. for every 10k grads out there, maybe a handful is only very successful (not necessarily rich). why bother with a degree if he/she is driving a taxi. loansharking is a profitable `business', so i don't blame that degree holder if he's got the business sorted out for him.
a degree is nothing if one doesn't make something out of it. for every 1 person wothout a degree that you think is `worse off' in meritocratic singapore, i can show you one non-grad who's not doing too badly.
however, you do need a degree if you want to practice a specialized vocation, like law or medicine or architecture. for the rest, it is really debatable.
Want to work for garmen must have degree! The higher the better, up to PHD. Become a scholar of PAP. Your whole life is very well catered to already. ![]()
work for gahmen is not fun.
My cousin is gahman scholar he stressed until abit introvert sia. My unker veri worried for him. Abit cham.
As a scholar, garmen provide everything for you, help you map out your life. Must be a slave to them mah. ![]()
Work damn hard for the country and for PAP!
I think your cousin should be able to cope, scholar must meet up to expectations. Must be the office politics that he cant cope. Its very evident in the public sector, push blame around and avoiding additional work.
Originally posted by Evangel:Being brain-washed by garmen already, everything look at paper haha...
So true for the last para ![]()
The question should be "why not a degree"? Treat this like a game, win the game. Its not that hard when you start trying.
Originally posted by redDUST:r u peddling something here?
the same is true for grads. for every 10k grads out there, maybe a handful is only very successful (not necessarily rich). why bother with a degree if he/she is driving a taxi. loansharking is a profitable `business', so i don't blame that degree holder if he's got the business sorted out for him.
a degree is nothing if one doesn't make something out of it. for every 1 person wothout a degree that you think is `worse off' in meritocratic singapore, i can show you one non-grad who's not doing too badly.however, you do need a degree if you want to practice a specialized vocation, like law or medicine or architecture. for the rest, it is really debatable.
u got watch the AVP1, got the angmoh with short hair?
she bring gun den the female lead tell her she's never seen a gun save anyone while mountaineering or something..
den she say "a gun is like a condom.. i rather have one and not use it, than need one and not have it.."
degree also something like that la.. haha.. though the process of getting it is very long and expensive..
she died though.. LOL..
Originally posted by Mymoja:Why
why
why
WHY!!!!
i feel like i'm forced to go into uni to study!!!
"cos is for my future"
"so can earn more money"
is it true that without it i can earn a living?
If you're into a business or skill that is unique yet demand by the market, don't need degree what.
Degree is only a safety net for you to fall back on should you join the office employee group nia.
Originally posted by redDUST:r u peddling something here?
a degree is nothing if one doesn't make something out of it. for every 1 person wothout a degree that you think is `worse off' in meritocratic singapore, i can show you one non-grad who's not doing too badly.however, you do need a degree if you want to practice a specialized vocation, like law or medicine or architecture. for the rest, it is really debatable.
More or less I agree with you. A degree will not make you rich and successful but only make you less poor at least which is my point too. To be rich and successful, you need many factors beside a degree which, in my opinion, luck is a major one. I am comparing apple to apple. e.g if you pick randomly a 25-year old man with honours degree and a 25-year old man without a degree in the street, I will bet $100 that the former earns more than the other. Of course, if the latter is a successful business owner / loanshark / professional footballer in EPL/international star, then I may lose. But what are the chances ?
It is just like saying men run faster than women generally but if you are picking a professional female sprinter to run against an uncle like me, then needless to say, she will win.
Who is the largest employer in Singapore ? Government. and paper is of paramount importance. Beside that, the private sector also pick degree holders even if they do not need them for the position. You are right that if you have a clear business plan in mind, you do not need a degree but how many people have a clear business plan in mind and the right execution strategies/funds to ride it out.
I have always great respect with people who are successful without a degree which include my close relatives and friends. I think they are great despite some cannot even read legal business documents.
However, for the ordinary folks in the street, the degree serves as an insurance for you to survive (don't even mention excel) in Singapore. Seriously, I doubt your 1 to 1 ratio. but no hard feeling, man.
Cheers
it's not just abt having a degree, but more importantly, the type of degree u have
degrees from the 3 local U carries much more weight as compared to degrees obtained from private institutions or the "pay to study" australian Uni
reason: HR know ppl go to aust or private institution cos they are not good enough for local U admission
Originally posted by 00king00:it's not just abt having a degree, but more importantly, the type of degree u have
degrees from the 3 local U carries much more weight as compared to degrees obtained from private institutions or the "pay to study" australian Uni
reason: HR know ppl go to aust or private institution cos they are not good enough for local U admission
That is quite true. Basically, there are 2 kinds of non-local U grads. 1st is you are too good for them and choose Cambridge, Oxford, Harvard instead and the other is because you cannot get in so you choose alternatives. Not only HR, every hiring manager knows about this with some even outright reject those from Australia Uni.
However, having said that, if you are lucky enough to get through the interview and land the job, it does not matter any more with regards to promotion, pay rise, appraisal etc.... It all voices down to work performance for some companies and how well you bootlick for others
well said... money cannot bring in coffin. be contented =)
to me i think happy is when u got ur loved one by ur side and live comfortably no need say BMW all this de..