i hope u r not referring to uni grads...
otherwise i cant imagine how much the poly and ite grads are getting...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i hope u r not referring to uni grads...
otherwise i cant imagine how much the poly and ite grads are getting...
Uni grads.
Some had it quite bad. ![]()
Originally posted by the_fallen:it's not the amount of income that each of us get.
it's our spending habits which makes the difference.
you could easily earn $20,000 but if each month you overspent..like $23,000 etc..it's as good as just over broke giving banks to earn interest.
if you earn only $2,000 but you save $1,000 you are still better than the person who spends more than his/her income.
make sense. but you must think of it in absolute terms. earning $20000 /mnth is still earning $20000/ mnth. the person will always have $18000 more to spend then someone who is making $2000 per month.
and not that many people can actually spend that much, if they are living a moderate (on the more luxurious end) lifestyle.
so in any sense, they will always have a headstart over the rest of the people who are earning 1/10 of his salary.
the rich get richer, the poor get poorer.
Originally posted by kingstrife:its all about timing and luck. Last year 07 graduates probably start with the highest in the last 10 years or so.
Even with the on-going crisis, i dont believe grads will start with under 2k. Since when did it drop to below 2k? Not even the dot com burst, 911 and post Sars
And seriously, all the talk about recession, if you are just an average joe receiving a regular pay check, it doesnt affect you in a life changing way. The ones who are affected are the big players, big corporations, big investors.
there was once when the economy got so bad that the starting pay for uni grad is only $1.6k. i think affected are the mass comm, mech engineering and biz degrees.
$3K to $4k per month is a lot
consider there plenty other that only survoir on $1.2k be4 CPF
and yet they could feed at least 1 or 2 children some more.
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:$3K to $4k per month is a lot
For money wise, nothing is a lot. You'll always want more.
got job tao chio liao...still want talk about pay
those wif biz degree seem to be the most volatile, earn the most during good times, but also suffer the most during recession
I am 26 years old .. I want a 2.5k per month first IT job in a company near my house .. can save travel time and fees ... +D
Originally posted by SquarePants:I am 26 years old .. I want a 2.5k per month first IT job in a company near my house .. can save travel time and fees ... +D
u local or private grad?
im 18, just ORD, earning at the range of 1k a month. (B4 CPF)
with the correct planning and correct goals u still can be self-sufficient in life.
im saving up for my studies.
im giving my parents home allowance
im saving up an contigency fund
i also have my own savings for nightlife & shopping. the rest are my basic expenses.
its not about HOW much u earn but HOW u spend.
Originally posted by corebooster:im 18, just ORD, earning at the range of 1k a month. (B4 CPF)
with the correct planning and correct goals u still can be self-sufficient in life.
im saving up for my studies.
im giving my parents home allowance
im saving up an contigency fund
i also have my own savings for nightlife & shopping. the rest are my basic expenses.
its not about HOW much u earn but HOW u spend.
agreed. and discipline too.
i just graduated with a diploma and working as a designer, getting around 1.2 after CPF. saving up to finish degree, and helping parents pay the bills . so far no problems at all. if you can't survive on 3k-4k,something is seriously wrong with your planning. or you.
3 to 4k is still too little ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:3 to 4k is still too little
not enuff for retirement... must work till u see coffin......
Assuming you retire at 55 and live for another 30 years and assuming you require a very modest 2K a month to survive after 55 (inflation factored in), you will need to save 720K by the time you stop working at 55.
Think about that. ![]()
u must be SMU grad, like charlize
or even scholar
720k, let's say put in 600k bank for 2% interest rate per annum... works out to be 12k per year. you will thus be able to last a tad longer if you invest in non-US banks.
Originally posted by skythewood:720k, let's say put in 600k bank for 2% interest rate per annum... works out to be 12k per year. you will thus be able to last a tad longer if you invest in non-US banks.
That is assuming real interest rates are positive.
Maybe next time interest rates are like 1% with inflation at 25%.
Then everybody is screwed. ![]()
Originally posted by laurence82:u must be SMU grad, like charlize
or even scholar
Some SMU grads earn a starting pay of 4K - 10K a month!
Even more than some VPs in banks. ![]()
in the future can only assume it to be normal right? dozens of stuff can happen that will wipe out your savings, like duh. without this assumption, how to plan any shit,
Originally posted by skythewood:in the future can only assume it to be normal right? dozens of stuff can happen that will wipe out your savings, like duh. without this assumption, how to plan any shit,
True.
I don't even know when my next meal will be. ![]()
Originally posted by BrUtUs:
u local or private grad?
Overseas grad from uni of newcastle, australia
haha but i know times are bad .. onli wishing for it
Originally posted by Bigcable22:u think so? with the presence of open door policy and HUNDREDS and HUNDREDS of THOUSANDS PRCs(PEOPLE REPUBLIC OF CHINA) flocking in ..
their very existence in our country can already suppress down our wages to pathetic level..coupled by the additional increase in inflation rate brought about by these influx of PRCs.. our increase in real income can generally be negative..
I agree. I am one of the lucky ones. I'm S'porean but I worked in Australia for the past 8 years. Was hired in Australia to head back here to work for a multi-national company. Wsa offered a local package but based on Australian pay. Currently I'm paid 5 figures a month. When I first came back I thought this was normal but found out that local S'porean doing similar roles as me are paid lower than me. Just becuase I was hired in Australia I got a higher pay. Isn;t this fucked up?
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:$3K to $4k per month is a lot
It's all realative. If your lifestyle is worth $2K per month than it's enough. Else if u have a lavish lifestyle even $20K/mth ain't enough. But I must say S'pore is getting very expensive.
they have made the calculation
Your whole f***ing working life will not make you more than $3.0m
provided u r holding a management position
Originally posted by charlize:Let me see.
Fresh grad 2K.
After 4 years, get a promotion, maybe 2.8K per month.
After another 4 years, get another promotion, 3.5K a year.
Another 2 more years, get another promotion, 4K a year.
Total 10 years to reach 4K.
u from SMU?
they "high pay" 1 leh