i have been working under my friend cum boss for 2 years
sometimes u shouldnt have work for some1 u know for years cause each other will really take each other for grantded........
Job scope is around 2.5 to 3k job but i was paid $1200 starting . he tell me because his was a small company and couldnt paid me much .
using this attitude that im helping a friends with his starting company i accept it.
ok 1st year increase paid to $1400 work OT 30h claim about 10h every month........
then things start to get worst as i work
2nd year increase paid to $1650 but no OT to claim. My friend/boss started to ask me to work more OT every month 8.30am to 8pm and sometimes to 10pm. became a multi-tasker. everything i do. when i was with client outside and they came to know about my job scope also asking "wow u do so much things yr paid must be like $5k $6k???" i was always embrassed to answer. most of my working friends always tell me im underpaid but i always tell them' its ok im working for friend, help him ma"
recently my friend/boss start to take me for granted and really start to piss me off
1st incident - MY mum pass away
its was the last day of my mum furneral and i was really upset and crying at the last day of my mum SongKa. switch off the handphone because last day of Songka got band and chating for my mum. early in the morning. normally this is the saddest period of the time because the person dearest to u is leaving u for those that have some1 dearest to u leaving u i believe how u would feel at that last monent.
so when around 10am my mum was getting ready to be carry on to the van to departed to her world i switch on my HP and guess wat my Friend cum Boss called
he started questing Y i didnt on my HP and wat happened in case he need to call me URGENTLY ON SOMETHING ABOUT WORK??? i couldnt believe wat he was telling me at that point because i thought that he my best friend and he would understand that im preparing my mum furneral and yet he questing Y i off my HP ........
2nd. he dont accept MC
i was on MC and he actually ask me to come back and hand in the MC. i stay at AMK and Office is at Jurong. when i reach the office and hand in the MC he actually gave me a scolding saying that " Are u feelign so sick that u cannot walk !!!???? "
"Are u about to faint!!???" if not even though u have MC u still can work 1 wat!!!???
wat the hell~!!! ppl feel sick get MC he also threaten this kind of things.... i was foce to work 5h that day and go back home after 4pm
3rd. at site huge rain and he expect me to be in the rain
i was at a construction site and was suppost to bring a client to look at the site for further job scope but as its was raining heavily and all work was stopped due to the rain. i decided to bring the client to have lunch 1st at 11.45am (our meal time was 12.30pm) as usual i have to report to him for everything and i decided to call him and tell him that we decided to have early lunch.
guess wat he tell me in the phone ???
" ARE U MADE OF PAPER ???!!! LITTLE BIT OF RAIN WILL KILL U IS IT ???!!!!!
ITS ONLY !2PM NOW !!!!! Y ARE U HAVING EARLY LUNCH ?????!!!!!!!!"
zzzzzz im really at lose of words working for this kind of boss..............
yes im admited im not a good worker that he expected me to be. but i been doing my job and been working tons of unclaim OT and producing the work that he expected me to do. treating client to meal without informing him also tio KAN...........
i have enough of him and finally i decided to tell him i have enough "IM QUITTING"
he assure me that its hard to find a job right now and wat problem i have in company ??? i should stay and work for him because he taking care of me......
i have decided i have enough is enough . his attitude toward me is really rubbish
we can be best friend but not workers and boss relationship
sorry for posting a long and boreding post but i need to release some stress from all the work things happening to me.
thank for sharing my working relationship with "Friend cum Boss"
now i need to worried about finding jobs after Chinese New Year.............
cheer and have a happy life (- -).....
Sad to hear this story from u. I personally have recently have encounter some issues with my best friends...bcos of $$ involved. One very gd lesson I learnt from this is never have anything related to $$ with ur friends or best friends, esp doing business....unless u want to risk ur friendship with them
tell all ur frens who u noe about u 2. let him malu big time in front of ur frens hahaha
I think you can just leave. With your exprience of workling long hours, you can easily find another job.
But i admit it would be hard to leave if it was your friend.
May I also ask your age?
Originally posted by Beautiful951:May I also ask your age?
age 32 juat a O level failure 160kg (start working for jhim at almost 200kg)
been working for 17 years
although i got working experiance but i will encounter problem in finding jobs because i VERY VERY OVERWEIGHT.
my friend took on this adventage and that Y he offering me a LOWpaid job and keep tell me that ppl wont employ me because im FAT.
but i dont care.
last year till now i have lose about 30+kg working like shit for him
can u imagine work 1 year and lose 30kg due to work in 1 year ??? can u understand the stress level working for him........???
but i have to thanks him for that. as much as i love to lose wight in that company but i really cannot tahan his attitue takeing friends for granted ..........
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:age 32 juat a O level failure 160kg (start working for jhim at almost 200kg)
although i got working experiance but i will encounter problem in finding jobs because i VERY VERY OVERWEIGHT.
my friend took on this adventage and that Y he offering me a LOWpaid job and keep tell me that ppl wont employ me because im FAT.
but i dont care.
can u imagine work 1 year and lose 30kg due to work in 1 year ??? can u understand the stress level working for him........???
but i have to thanks him for that. as much as i love to lose wight in that company but i really cannot tahan his attitue takeing friends for granted ..........
start own company, get the customers.
It's like that one lah... just quit.
i'm sure you will be able to get a better job (better environment or better pay) out there even with this kind of economy.. good luck.. don't pre-judge yourself before you even try
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:age 32 juat a O level failure 160kg (start working for jhim at almost 200kg)
but i dont care.
I wish you all the best. I understand your delimia. Your friend is a very mean horrible person to take advantage of you.
but i dont care.
i don't think, after all that he has done, that you should still consider him a friend anymore. my advice is
1) quit your job, work for MacDelivery $1.6k a month or some other better company
2) invest in Clubfitt gym membership $90 a year (offpeak only) and start training hard to lose weight. although it is his fault to be demanding at times, especially in the 2 incidents, there is something you can do about it.
do something in life that gives you a sense of achievemtn, pursue your dreams and do not be motivated by the pay.
Someone friends are better left friends than colleges,
while others better left colleges than friends.
who says that overweight = cannot find jobs..
as long as u've got the calibre..sure can find job =D
moreover, u've establish closed contacts with the clients over the yrs..with the database that u have..u can easily job hop to another company (with the same background as your friend's company)
I'm surprised you were able to tolerate your 'friend' for 2 years.
At least you were able to lose some weight while working for him. (I think you mean lbs and not kgs).
Not worth working for such a person. Good luck and hope you find a another job soon.
Originally posted by Darkknighthuang:I'm surprised you were able to tolerate your 'friend' for 2 years.
At least you were able to lose some weight while working for him. (I think you mean lbs and not kgs).
Not worth working for such a person. Good luck and hope you find a another job soon.
its "KG" bro (- -)
30kg = 60 ibs
i lose this much working for him but its still not enough cause i need to lose another 60kg more to reach standard weight
which mean im a hell fatty (T_T).......
Originally posted by miNty`:
who says that overweight = cannot find jobs..as long as u've got the calibre..sure can find job =D
moreover, u've establish closed contacts with the clients over the yrs..with the database that u have..u can easily job hop to another company (with the same background as your friend's company)
its hard for me to be in same line as be4 cause most of the job will be link with my friends company if i join back the same trade
it might hurt the relationship between my current and soon to be boss relationship if i jump ship in same industrial. in this trade it always the few group of us doing this few things. that Y its hard for me to look for a same line trade
im thinking of going back to my pervious trade which is sale line as i have better work experiance (10 years) and have excellent result proven be4 in sale and i earn at least x2 times compare to the current job.
just that i need to catch back wat i miss this few years in sale line...... and i feel im getting old (- -)
quit, not worth it....
First of all what is ur education?
Secondly, u sounds like u are working in the army where it is so freaking strict
Ahlamak .. u are O level .. no wonder la..
WIthout education .. no matter how much u do .. u get the static amount of salary in singapore, where people can bully u till siao.
Go and upgrade urself ... and stop letting ur friend make use of u.
One more thing, always know there is such words that goes like this "Be good to people, who be good to you?" This is the fact of the real world, always think of yourself first.
hey bro u r really very FAT...pls do somethi about it but i'm sure u can lead a better life after u reducing u heavy weight....for the job part, nobody will starve to death unless u r super LAZY :)
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:
its hard for me to be in same line as be4 cause most of the job will be link with my friends company if i join back the same tradeit might hurt the relationship between my current and soon to be boss relationship if i jump ship in same industrial. in this trade it always the few group of us doing this few things. that Y its hard for me to look for a same line trade
im thinking of going back to my pervious trade which is sale line as i have better work experiance (10 years) and have excellent result proven be4 in sale and i earn at least x2 times compare to the current job.
just that i need to catch back wat i miss this few years in sale line...... and i feel im getting old (- -)
=) don't consider yourself as old..as long as u still have & passion to drive u..go for it..
is better to leave your friend..look at the way he treats u when u are on compassionate leave..even if he don't emphatize with u as a boss..what abt from a friend's point of view? It sounds to me that he is those cold-blooded type of boss..Not worth working for..
Anyway, don't get affected by your weight when u look for a job..not as if going to apply for simi beauty contest mah =D What employers are looking for is your capability + calibre~ Cheer up ^^
I feel sorry for you .. fat or not, he or she shouldn't be taken advantage of .. I am surprised you still consider him as friend .. look at the bright side, in his company you can lose weight .. other than that I don't see any future for you .. if you still treasure this friendship, leave the company ... the way you relate your account, it is a matter of time you will explode and then, friendship no more ...
I wish I could be like you, stress will lose weight ... I the other way round, stessed I put on weight because I eat alot ... sigh ...
I agree with the majority asking you to quit but i also acknowledge that currently times r hard . So you better do your own " homework " before quitting . I personally have seen good friends who break off , i mean really cannot even be friends at all after working together . But at the same time i must say that there can be friends whom work for years without any big problem , my dad is a good example , true he did some things that his friend cum boss was very mad abt but being friends for so many years , he visited my house , talked to my mum and my dad , after that everything was resolved .
Actually i believed in if the person really regard you as a friend , he should care for you instead of making use of you to provide cheap labour which your friend is obviously doing . I also do used have some such friend whom think that just becos i'm fat , i must be stupid , so they treat me like an idiot making use of me agn n agn . Theres even a ger whom already had a bf but yet tried to trick me into buying a car to share with her . Needless to say i cut off all contact with her , and some of my friend whom treated me like an idiot i also sever all contact with them . I am the type that i rather have no friends then have some egoistic pple whom think they r smart just becos they r slim or fit so that they can treat pple like an idiot . Even now when i occasionally see them on the streets i just ignore them n walk pass by without even smiling or even looking at them .
Its good to be sentimental or soft hearted but you have to know the limit . If pple dun treat you as friend what for you still treat them as one ?
5k or 6k? what ur job scope like?
since u've quit, dun go back again. even if he asks u. this kind of boss, better not work for him... even as a friend, he sounds quite insensitive... i tink the less u contact him, the better.
maybe u can take the time slowly build up ur confidence. since ur weight is a problem, go exercise more, eat more healthy meals and slim down. you must feel good abt yourself so tt you can be confident when u apply for another job.
if u dun mind temp job, or average pay, it's not so hard to find a job one.
(my cousin who's in her early fifties wif o levels quit her job and managed to find temp job very fast.)
but u must remember tt jobs go to pple tt bosses feel they can trust. tt's why u must have confidence in urself, so tt others will have confidence in u.
jia you! :)