maybe u shd also review whether u are sending correctly or sending blindly
it's not the quantity tt matters
have u read carefully the job scope and requirements? or u think u jus spam and hope u hit a few?
Originally posted by parn:No need to worry, although the economic downturn is looming according to those blah blah news. Many people are in fact changing jobs....I meant job hopping.
Since you have overseas education, have you considered working overseas at the country where you studied for your education?
Have you applied/registered with any job agencies?
Working itself is already not easy when you don't have experience and have to start from the bottom. And working together with your colleagues who are Singaporeans is even more difficult because I believed most of them would be childish, arrogant, competitive, back-stabbing, political and not helpful people.
So it's not bad to keep this in mind, "Working is like Acting".
The better worker you are, the better actress you will need to become.
Helpful, kind, sincere, genuine workers are usually the most naive people in the company and will be the first few people to die or placed on the chopping block.
Be EVIL, CRUEL, HEARTLESS, COLD-BLOODED, SINISTER, PRETENTIOUS. It is required for you to survive in this cement jungle you would be calling your workplace.
Smart doesn't usually necessary bring success in a person's career. And so good luck to your job hunting and I hope you will find a suitable job soon.
I did send to job agencies initially. had a few bad experiences with them. then i decided its best to find job on my own.
thanks for ur well wishes...
Originally posted by iceFatboy:The world is facing ecnomic downturn, and it is natural that jobs are hard to come by.
however, in your shoes, I find it funny that you got a job but quit due to blah blah blah...it is now a case, of getting one and hanging on.
let not the world change you, but you change the world.
i didnt take the job offer cos the coy gave me bad vibes. the boss seem to look down on me too.
im recently terminated early in my temp contract due to their so called cost cutting measures and they wanna down size the dept...... Those who are under short term contracts in the coy are also terminated as well..
Originally posted by babyreyes:
hmm about 90 already.. actually.. im trying to get into education industry. rejected by moe again.. nd to wait another 6 months then can apply again...
might as well go find a tuition centre to teach group tuition
if you teach well, earn more than from MOE.
Good idea from eagle....TS can give private tuition.
Non-taxable income but also no CPF (Who needs that anyway....die already also cannot use the money), more free time for yourself and you got more money at the end of the month if you work hard enough. ![]()
Originally posted by parn:Good idea from eagle....TS can give private tuition.
Non-taxable income but also no CPF (Who needs that anyway....die already also cannot use the money), more free time for yourself and you got more money at the end of the month if you work hard enough.
Much much more free time
MOE teachers are worked very hard. They have to do many admin things, and usually worked till late at night at home (1 to 2 am isn't unusual). And they have to wake early to be in school by 7am.
On the other hand, full-time tuition teachers work on weekdays, earliest from 3pm onwards. They also work on weekends. Full-time good group tuition teachers can easily earn 6k upwards, all the way to 5 figure salaries. Or if you work for a tuition centre, it is easily 4k a month too... The free time is usually at hours in which people are working, so there will be little number of pple around when you go shopping, etc. The disadvantage is that you will most likely be stuck at that "price tag" for a very long time. However, you would take much longer to reach such a salary scale working for MOE or any other corporations.
However, given your extra free time, it could be used for much more things, like analysing investments, writing books, etc, each of which could potentially earn you even more.
In short, MOE teachers are overworked and underpaid ![]()
And they still have to face naughty students and irritating parents ![]()
wanna ask my ger be full-time tuition teacher leh ![]()
where to apply for this job ![]()
Please advise, thanks
Can find from newspaper.
I went to apply to Stalford before, taught for half a year for physics. The pay was too low, but I went for experience for group tuition.
For the next year, I will be teaching at another one, which pays substantially higher. The centre accepted me partly because I had experience. Also, I will be setting up my own group as well.
read `what color is your parachute?' it helps refine your interest and bring up your strengths. i think it is a great book to have with you and keep as reference as you build your career, even from scratch.
i agree with those above who says that it's better to focus than to shoot all over and hope to get lucky.
It's hard to find the perfect job.
Take any job that comes.
After you get your experience you can look for better companies.
It's up to you to define the job, don't let the job define you.
Originally posted by eagle:Much much more free time
MOE teachers are worked very hard. They have to do many admin things, and usually worked till late at night at home (1 to 2 am isn't unusual). And they have to wake early to be in school by 7am.
On the other hand, full-time tuition teachers work on weekdays, earliest from 3pm onwards. They also work on weekends. Full-time good group tuition teachers can easily earn 6k upwards, all the way to 5 figure salaries. Or if you work for a tuition centre, it is easily 4k a month too... The free time is usually at hours in which people are working, so there will be little number of pple around when you go shopping, etc. The disadvantage is that you will most likely be stuck at that "price tag" for a very long time. However, you would take much longer to reach such a salary scale working for MOE or any other corporations.
However, given your extra free time, it could be used for much more things, like analysing investments, writing books, etc, each of which could potentially earn you even more.
In short, MOE teachers are overworked and underpaid
And they still have to face naughty students and irritating parents
idea sia!
haha.. i did apply with adam khoo....The learning lab... but to no prevail..
perhaps i will have higher chance in ulu tuition centres....
Originally posted by maurizio13:
It's hard to find the perfect job.
Take any job that comes.
After you get your experience you can look for better companies.
It's up to you to define the job, don't let the job define you.
actually tats my mentality now too... first 2 months..rather narrow search... now i extend my job search to other jobs that im comfortable with...
idea sia!
for me, as a tuition teacher, the 'free time' that I described above is used for my full-time job.
Was thinking, since I'm only 25 and my energy is still in abundance, might as well do and earn as much as I can, while putting my monies in safe investments to grow.
Ic. Be a BOSS lo. You wun suffer any more. If you dislike customer dun talk to him.
If boss also dun 1 2 be. I think it better u dig a hole and bury yrself.
idea sia!
u probably will. but the pay prob won't be so good. :/
have u thought abt why MOE rejected u? is it cos they dun tink u're suitable to be a teacher?
i noe of one job tt u can apply for and have a high chance of getting it. try editor at an educational publishing company. cos the job is stressful, those who cannot take the pressure will quit. so turnover is high and they're always hiring. the pay is reasonable.
Go find govt job, there are aot of opportunities, one of my fren, a fresh grad from local Uni got into a local govt engineering job jus last month, and they offered him close to 4k a month, and hes a 2nd upper hons..
Sometime it pure luck that whether you get a job or not ,it really depend on whether the hiring manager like you or not,so I think TS should not be sad.
As to what you can do to increase your chances of being hired,maybe you could just call the company and ask questions regarding the job,show interest and be sincere.
I used to work in HR for a short period of time,my manager once received about 100+ job application,do you think she has the time to look at all the CVs? Calling up the company help alot but don't sounds too desperate.
As least you are young,there alot of older,senior employees worry about retrenchment since the economy is bad and most of them have to support their family.
Good luck,it took me quite some time to get a job
I suspect that come 2009, you will come across more than usual, people who will be unemployed. They will be your ex-school mates, friends, relatives, ex-colleagues even ex-bosses.
There will be fresh grads/school leavers, people who have worked a few years, mid level managers, senior managers etc all struggling to look for a job.
The newspapers and media are carrying out reports of retrenchments and downsizing of companies everyday. Many companies, from the small SMEs to the large MNCs will be struggling to survive next year.
Brace yourselves for a very tough 2009 ahead. ![]()
Originally posted by parn:
Must be talking about yourself.
I'm also trying to find a job now. I have to agree it's much harder to get employed at this time because many others are also competing for the jobs. Don't worry, u are not alone. ![]()
Since many companies are cutting cost now, it's natural that degree holders with no experience won't be considered in the first place, unless u are really lucky to be chosen. They want people with relevant experience, not just because of degree.
Originally posted by cathykitty:
u probably will. but the pay prob won't be so good. :/have u thought abt why MOE rejected u? is it cos they dun tink u're suitable to be a teacher?
i noe of one job tt u can apply for and have a high chance of getting it. try editor at an educational publishing company. cos the job is stressful, those who cannot take the pressure will quit. so turnover is high and they're always hiring. the pay is reasonable.
does the portal ask u to list what subject u want to teach?
if u're nt choosy... and ur foreign degree might be a deterrence to them hiring u, maybe u can try asking for a position in a primary school... my friends wif only A levels are doing quite well as primary school teachers... it's also less stressful than teaching sec sch. at least, i think so... :/ u might wanna try applying again...
in the meantime, why dun u sign up for relief teaching first and call up the schools directly? try ur alma mater or the schools in ur neighbourhood. :)
ain't working for others somewhat outdated? the trend currently is to be your own boss. you could use your money to look out for business opportunities. If you've got not money... ![]()
continue to work for others and be outdated. ![]()