Originally posted by Joi_lin:Thinking back, I think I have myself to blame for my current status.
Thank you for all the comments.
you know, there are lots of reasons why people are single, and there a lot more singles in your age group and older, than you think. like many others have said, don't get depressed just because of peer/societal pressure, and get to know other single and happy people.
Originally posted by av98m:... get to know other single and happy people.
can i just ask ... how?
i'm in a somewhat similar position as the TS: i'm in my 20s, eduated, well-spoken and good-looking (enough to get free entry/drinks (courtesy of the door bitch) from time to time) - in terms of material possessions, i meet most of the Cs. that said, i find myself at home alone every friday/saturday night. my fds are all attached, and those in r'ships tend to stay with partners, and my few single fds never introduce new ppl. i'm not embarassed at being single - in fact, i'm pretty content .. rather, i'm ashamed at being unable to get out of this rut that is a stagnant social life, with the internet being a lifeline. my single fds are boring (like really really really really introverted). also, while i dun want to be in a relationship, it would be fun to go dating - problem is there isn't anyone to take out.
let's see .. common suggestions put forward that supposedly expands networks, but do not work - taking classes: there's nothing i wish to learn (or pay to pick up) / be more outgoing: i already am very outgoing (but singaporeans are just so averse to strangers approaching them).
edit: reading my post in the 3rd party, i just realised how ripe for misinterpretation it is - i'm not arrogant or trying to do a self-sell, rather, i'm merely illustrating my point. please take my assertions of myself at face value. but if you do feel the compulsive urge to flame me, there's little i can do anyway.
I guess the main thing about being single is having freedom and no need to worry things about your partner.
Originally posted by j212k8:
can i just ask ... how?i'm in a somewhat similar position as the TS: i'm in my 20s, eduated, well-spoken and good-looking (enough to get free entry/drinks (courtesy of the door bitch) from time to time) - in terms of material possessions, i meet most of the Cs. that said, i find myself at home alone every friday/saturday night. my fds are all attached, and those in r'ships tend to stay with partners, and my few single fds never introduce new ppl. i'm not embarassed at being single - in fact, i'm pretty content .. rather, i'm ashamed at being unable to get out of this rut that is a stagnant social life, with the internet being a lifeline. my single fds are boring (like really really really really introverted). also, while i dun want to be in a relationship, it would be fun to go dating - problem is there isn't anyone to take out.
let's see .. common suggestions put forward that supposedly expands networks, but do not work - taking classes: there's nothing i wish to learn (or pay to pick up) / be more outgoing: i already am very outgoing (but singaporeans are just so averse to strangers approaching them).
edit: reading my post in the 3rd party, i just realised how ripe for misinterpretation it is - i'm not arrogant or trying to do a self-sell, rather, i'm merely illustrating my point. please take my assertions of myself at face value. but if you do feel the compulsive urge to flame me, there's little i can do anyway.
Is veri easy to have new friends. Everyone has a mouth, juz learn to speak infront of others....... I made almost 20 new friends in Dec08. juz that's simple....
attend more forum outings to know more friends...
Originally posted by Bak la va:Is veri easy to have new friends. Everyone has a mouth, juz learn to speak infront of others....... I made almost 20 new friends in Dec08. juz that's simple....
really? no introductions/connections whatsoever? you approached a total stranger, spoke to them and weren't rebuked?
Originally posted by j212k8:really? no introductions/connections whatsoever? you approached a total stranger, spoke to them and weren't rebuked?
no need intro la, me also not looking for Bf.........juz smile n start to talk can liao..... Unless u are very "xiao ming" la.
also can friend's friends. or or, friendster or facebook. HAHA
Wad i mean of 20 new friends is that i got 20 new mobile numbers during Dec08........ This is the type of friends that i can jio for shopping, hiking, lim jiu de wor....
Originally posted by YayaKheo:also can friend's friends. or or, friendster or facebook. HAHA
yea that's what i'm saying - my fds dun introduce new ppl .. it's always the same group doing the same old boring things .. any suggestions [from me] to do otherwise is immediately shotdown and trampled on.
U can go search this forum and join some outings, like makan, hiking etc....
Originally posted by Bak la va:Wad i mean of 20 new friends is that i got 20 new mobile numbers during Dec08........ This is the type of friends that i can jio for shopping, hiking, lim jiu de wor....
i am envious of your good affinity with people. your fomula is no different from mine yet i have never experienced such good results.
Actually, for me, i don't even bother to make new friends because I don't even bother to look for bf. hahah
Originally posted by YayaKheo:Actually, for me, i don't even bother to make new friends because I don't even bother to look for bf. hahah
i don't understand .. i don't see the relation between making new fds and looking for a partner? when it's the same old ppl doing the same old activities .. it really gets .. same and old .. making new fds is the only solution when the same old ppl aren't open to anything new. how does attempting to do that mean i'm looking for a partner? (i'm not)
haha, then maybe i get new idea. but for me, i still don bother to make new friends because I like to shop alone (ooops)
Originally posted by YayaKheo:haha, then maybe i get new idea. but for me, i still don bother to make new friends because I like to shop alone (ooops)
if shopping was all you ever did, and you enjoyed shopping alone, then indeed, making friends would be the least of your priorities. but that can't be all there is in your life. what about clubbing/pubbling/chilling? you still need company for these activities (unless of course you already have a sizeable group of outgoing fds, in which case i would be envious of you too).
haha, i don club and i work almost everyday like some mad woman because I don't wanna spend my time rotting. But when I free and have nothing to do, either i will go and have a walk alone, or go out shopping alone. I find it relaxing. haha
Originally posted by YayaKheo:haha, i don club and i work almost everyday like some mad woman because I don't wanna spend my time rotting. But when I free and have nothing to do, either i will go and have a walk alone, or go out shopping alone. I find it relaxing. haha
sounds like you have your cake and are eating it too .. good for you :)
hehehhee, yea. Thats why, single and alone is not a bad thing after all. Singles can also be happy being singles ;D
And friends are everywhere and never ending.
lai SC got alot of friends de
Originally posted by jojobeach:
Women who are single and available should clip a small flower behind their RIGHT ear.
Men who are single and available should wear a brown bracelet on their LEFT wrist.
The problem with any decent looking male or female... is that nobody dares to approach them because the other singles don't believe good looking individuals can be single.
Most people I know always assume you are attached because you're not bad looking.
Originally posted by Xel'Torias:
I'm surprised that no one picked up on this; I for one think it's a rather interesting concept and certainly does hold some truth. A lot of the times, whether in a circle of friends or with complete strangers, whenever I see a pretty girl and am tempted to approach and ask her out, usually the first thought that pops into my mind is "Is she taken? So pretty, confirm taken liao". Thus having a 'system' like this would make it easier to approach the other person since you wouldn't need to worry about being shot down right away or his/her partner appearing out of the blue and giving you an earful. Obviously some people would love the guessing, and sleuthing around trying to figure out whether the other party is attached... or they love approaching random people and asking them out. But for others, this might make it just a little easier to break out of that 'conservative Singaporean' mold.
Omfg, i agree. its so true. HAHAHA.
Originally posted by Xel'Torias:
I'm surprised that no one picked up on this; I for one think it's a rather interesting concept and certainly does hold some truth. A lot of the times, whether in a circle of friends or with complete strangers, whenever I see a pretty girl and am tempted to approach and ask her out, usually the first thought that pops into my mind is "Is she taken? So pretty, confirm taken liao". Thus having a 'system' like this would make it easier to approach the other person since you wouldn't need to worry about being shot down right away or his/her partner appearing out of the blue and giving you an earful. Obviously some people would love the guessing, and sleuthing around trying to figure out whether the other party is attached... or they love approaching random people and asking them out. But for others, this might make it just a little easier to break out of that 'conservative Singaporean' mold.
my thoughts likewise.
overseas, "traffic light night" is something that happens at most clubs at least once a month, if not more often .. wonder why no club has implemented that here ..
I think clubbing is dangerous and I somehow have very bad impression of it, i don't know why either. HAHA.
But to somehow really agree jojobeach. Will take more courage to go up to people who are good looking !
can i just ask ... how?i'm in a somewhat similar position as the TS: i'm in my 20s, eduated, well-spoken and good-looking (enough to get free entry/drinks (courtesy of the door bitch) from time to time) - in terms of material possessions, i meet most of the Cs. that said, i find myself at home alone every friday/saturday night. my fds are all attached, and those in r'ships tend to stay with partners, and my few single fds never introduce new ppl. i'm not embarassed at being single - in fact, i'm pretty content .. rather, i'm ashamed at being unable to get out of this rut that is a stagnant social life, with the internet being a lifeline. my single fds are boring (like really really really really introverted). also, while i dun want to be in a relationship, it would be fun to go dating - problem is there isn't anyone to take out.
You're asking the wrong person. Somehow many of my friends are single. You need to ask someone who's less anti-social than I am. ![]()
Actually having hobbies you are very interested helps to a certain extent. Because you'll meet other people who are involved in the same hobbies. If you have none I also don't know what to say ![]()