Hi all... I just got back my O level results, I am rather depressed now... I would like some guidance on what to do now.
I Got:
F9 for Maths
C6 for Literature
C6 for Food and Nutrition
B3 for Combined Science
A2 for Combined Humanities
A1 for English
I am only eligible for 6 courses, of which one is ITE which I do not want to go. I am very frustrated as I missed out on many courses just because of my maths... The other courses are Early Childhood Education, Child Psychology & Early Education which I also am not interested in...
My letter says I am eligible for Mass Comm, which I am not sure why as the Cut off points for 2008 was 10... I also have Digital Visual Effectsas well as Film, Sound and Video courses that I can apply for.
Questions I want to ask are, should I retake my O levels as a private candidate? I am indecisive though as I think Film, sound and video as well as Digital Visual Effects are courses which i might enjoy... although I would rather take up Digital media or Information Technology.
Also, I was wondering if I could list down choices that I do not meet the minimum requirements for? Would I stand a chance of getting in the course?
Thanks to all that help me out!
engineering is your best bet
i dun think so that u can list other courses as IIRC a few years back when i listed my choices online on the JAE system, the system auto-greyed out those courses that i m not able to go...
Mass Comm 10 points because many people miss the cutoff point for their desired course, thus choosing that, in the mean time pushing up the cutoff point.
And I believe engineering needs rather good maths grade. Maybe some Science course?
Originally posted by lifelikedrama:Mass Comm 10 points because many people miss the cutoff point for their desired course, thus choosing that, in the mean time pushing up the cutoff point.
And I believe engineering needs rather good maths grade. Maybe some Science course?
i think you should retake. A1 in english speaks of potential for your lit. I got F9 for A level Math. I retook A levels and got A. Retaking may sound humiliating but I'm sure you can do well and it will open more doors for you.
But its your own choice in the end if you find any of your other options worth taking up.
good luck!
now the problem is ur maths. best is u ask ur teacher wad can do. if worse come to worse, trying asking her nicely to write a apeal letter, going to the course u want. and this year o level, u retake the maths.
Private schools
go for ur interest! If you don't have one, search for it.
If ever you decide to retake O levels and discover you need help,
Homework Forum
1.5 years and still running strong
Originally posted by Legionare:Hi all... I just got back my O level results, I am rather depressed now... I would like some guidance on what to do now.
I Got:
F9 for Maths
C6 for Literature
B3 for Combined Science
A1 for English
I am only eligible for 6 courses, of which one is ITE which I do not want to go. I am very frustrated as I missed out on many courses just because of my maths... The other courses are Early Childhood Education, Child Psychology & Early Education which I also am not interested in...
My letter says I am eligible for Mass Comm, which I am not sure why as the Cut off points for 2008 was 10... I also have Digital Visual Effectsas well as Film, Sound and Video courses that I can apply for.
Questions I want to ask are, should I retake my O levels as a private candidate? I am indecisive though as I think Film, sound and video as well as Digital Visual Effects are courses which i might enjoy... although I would rather take up Digital media or Information Technology.
Also, I was wondering if I could list down choices that I do not meet the minimum requirements for? Would I stand a chance of getting in the course?
Hi, I assume you are a guy. There is one major factor you should consider if you wish to retake, how old will you be when you enter poly or jc?
From your results, maths caused you the result you are holding now, I personally took o levels twice. first time was 28, 2nd time was 18. I didn't regret actually, even though I knew there were people who looked down on me.
if you think you can manage maths to get at least a pass, by all means go head and retake o levels, i also didn't want to go into ite at first, then when i retake my o levels, i told myself i must really work hard though 18 is still bad in current times.
best of luck!
a1 for distinction will definately lit staff in charge of admission eyes, but yr maths is totally way off. best is retake o lvl, or u can send in a email saying let u get into the course u wan but u will have to retake yr o. if fail den bb to yr course
Actually I think if TS retakes, and puts in a lot of effort for the weaker subjects, then
B3 for Maths
B3 for Literature
B3 for Food and Nutrition
B3 for Combined Science
A1 for English
L1R5 = 15 points
Now i think of it, regret not working harder, then now at least i can be studying what i really want..
somehow i feel my future is gone already.. gpa not good enough to enter university, no money go overseas education and private degree not regconised enough..
Originally posted by Dusty23:I’m a private candidate retaking Os “2008” too. I have flunk my test in 2007
2007 score
ENG- B4
MT- B3
Combined Sci (Phy Chem)- D7
E – Maths- D7
Geography – C5
Combined Humans – D7I went to ITE College East in 2008, while retaking my Os ( 3 Sub ). Self studied, No tuition what so ever. I put most of my time in my Maths. Science is almost last min. Geography no study at all, due to syllabus change. Purely according to my experience last time.
This year O lvl score.
ENG – B4
MT – B3
Combined Sci – B3
E- Maths – B3
Geography – B3I admit that the score is not fantastic, but hey, i need to spend time on my ITE subjects too. I’m really glad that i made it this year. I’m going to quit my ITE and advance to Polytechnic this year.
Btw, i’m a Sec 5 student, My age is already 19 already( Just pass B’dae ). If you happen to be in a Express Stream, Just treat it as you are a Academic student and retake it once more.
If you are Sec 5 student, Choosing my path or go to a private school is your best bet.
Never ever give up. Even if you take a slower route compared to others. I believe that failing my O levels in 2007 is a wake up call for me. To shrug off that “Bo Chup” attitude of mine.
Good luck to you.
good for you i am happy for you
and being encouraging to others is commendable too
Originally posted by Legionare:Hi all... I just got back my O level results, I am rather depressed now... I would like some guidance on what to do now.
I Got:
F9 for Maths
C6 for Literature
B3 for Combined Science
A1 for English
retake maths
and work in holidays too
dont work work until left 10 days then revise
maths is cultivate 1, just like english
no maths, tough in future
Originally posted by Dusty23:I’m a private candidate retaking Os “2008” too. I have flunk my test in 2007
2007 score
ENG- B4
MT- B3
Combined Sci (Phy Chem)- D7
E – Maths- D7
Geography – C5
Combined Humans – D7I went to ITE College East in 2008, while retaking my Os ( 3 Sub ). Self studied, No tuition what so ever. I put most of my time in my Maths. Science is almost last min. Geography no study at all, due to syllabus change. Purely according to my experience last time.
This year O lvl score.
ENG – B4
MT – B3
Combined Sci – B3
E- Maths – B3
Geography – B3I admit that the score is not fantastic, but hey, i need to spend time on my ITE subjects too. I’m really glad that i made it this year. I’m going to quit my ITE and advance to Polytechnic this year.
Btw, i’m a Sec 5 student, My age is already 19 already( Just pass B’dae ). If you happen to be in a Express Stream, Just treat it as you are a Academic student and retake it once more.
If you are Sec 5 student, Choosing my path or go to a private school is your best bet.
Never ever give up. Even if you take a slower route compared to others. I believe that failing my O levels in 2007 is a wake up call for me. To shrug off that “Bo Chup” attitude of mine.
Good luck to you.
yeah, good for you man
good luck in your education
All the best. I recommend you to retake
hope u've learnt ur lesson well.
nw @ dis stage liao den depressed got wat use.
shld u mk it big in the future, rem dat it was me who had spurred u on.
retake lor also not retake all just retake 1 or 2 subs
Legionare,
Let me put things in perspective for you.
I am assuming you are 16, and you will retire by 60.
If you retake your O maths. You are sacrificing 1 year for 44 years of a good career.
You've already realised that having a good maths result will open more doors for you, yes including foreign advance studies, you know what you must do.
But the question now.. is... how confident are you of getting a good maths if you retake ?
how abt tapping to ur english result (A1) and move into mas comm? mass comm provides multiple job roles (provided u did ok and above), like events mgmt, public relation, marketing, etc. it depends on how the individual course is structured. mine was skewed towards PR.
on the other hand, if u wana take up engineering, of coz, it's better for u to retake ur o level.
Ur english power sehh... U shd consult ur teachers regarding this matter. Even if u are going private sch.. One thing about not getting what u want is realising ur mistake. If u trust yourself that u are going to work hard this year, go on...
Wow, nice english results you have there, grats.
Mass Com is an ideal course for you.
I think the choices you have now is
1: Retake your O levels as a Private Candidate
2:Enter ITE
3:Go through JPSAE
4:Go through DAE
There is no doubt that your english is your power factor right now, my best suggestion is that you go directly to the school with the course you want and appeal with them. Or go through the JPSAE for schools like NP. They are interested with applicants with strong writings and creative thinkings etc. I have seen pass students with near similar results as yours but they managed to get into a reasonably good course BUT they are required to re-take their failed subjects on the following year.
All the best (: