respect also means understanding that someone else's family culture is different from yours, and learning to compromise with that - whether you agree with it or not.
If you can't learn how to compromise over one issue of a reunion dinner, then I think there will be many other further issues down the road that are more complex and harder to solve.
while I think it WOULD be nice to invite your fiancee to be part of the reunion dinner, I think to kick up a big fuss over not being invited is rather silly lah.
Cos.. kicking up a big fuss MAY end up with you getting invited - but for all the wrong reasons....
Now, on the other hand, - emotional blackmail - that's the way to go. Hurhur.
There is always differences in relationship.
You are not wrong to have your own thoughts, family culture and blah blah while she has her own.
It is just depends on how both sides are able to compromise, draw limits and obey them.
Oh well... consider this incident as a marriage insight to the future.
In the future, the problem may not come in as reunion dinner but in other forms. Be prepared. No used in running away from the problem.
gian beng ah.
own house no food to eat ah.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:gian beng ah.
own house no food to eat ah.
Yah lah.. we know lah.. Hello Kitty donch like other family members bring their darling to the reunion.
Afterall .. misery loves company mah.. right ornot HK ?
You cannot find your love.. so cannot tahan see others bring their lah....it's ok.. we understand one.
i spend gd $$$ on the reunion dinner.
it's not meant to feed others who canot afford their own de.
bring her home for dinner some time.. this will improve the relationship between her and your family and u can intro her to your family too and like wise. Its a positive thing anyway =)
dinner, yesh.
reunion dinner, no.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:dinner, yesh.
reunion dinner, no.

u is dj ah?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:u is dj ah?

�ly u den will s� b�h li�� l�h.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:�ly u den will s� b�h li�� l�h.

Originally posted by jojobeach:Yah lah.. we know lah.. Hello Kitty donch like other family members bring their darling to the reunion.
Afterall .. misery loves company mah.. right ornot HK ?
You cannot find your love.. so cannot tahan see others bring their lah....it's ok.. we understand one.
i also think so ![]()
dont red eye leh HK.
�人先告状。
come to think of it , my mum did say something like.. what is ur gf having reunion dinner with u for when she should be having reunion dinner with HER parents ? Not fillial ? Something wrong ? So .. confirm not good one this girl ;p
he he..
But i was thinking.. that means if things go bad, she confirm stand on my side instead of her parents ma right ? Or my thinking too shallow.. hahaha
can eat with her parents liao then come over ma.
Originally posted by BadzMaro:come to think of it , my mum did say something like.. what is ur gf having reunion dinner with u for when she should be having reunion dinner with HER parents ? Not fillial ? Something wrong ? So .. confirm not good one this girl ;p
he he..
But i was thinking.. that means if things go bad, she confirm stand on my side instead of her parents ma right ? Or my thinking too shallow.. hahaha
Uh ohhh.... Mommy's boy ALERT.
Baddy.. your mother is the kind that is very critical of your gf one issit ?
Cham liao lor.. ... This kind of mother in law... girls don't like one.
but if i remeber correctly ts propose b4 le leh, like that still not clolse enuff meh...if really treat her seriously like want to marry her de, than must treat her like family what
Originally posted by jojobeach:Uh ohhh.... Mommy's boy ALERT.
Baddy.. your mother is the kind that is very critical of your gf one issit ?
Cham liao lor.. ... This kind of mother in law... girls don't like one.
UH ohh..."ye man nv peng you" ALERT.
Jojo, you are the kind of girlfriend that is very critical towards boyfriend, and his family one is it? cannot understand the reasons and perhaps the problem that your boyfriend is facing and only want things to go your way?
Cham liao lor...This kind of girl, smart guys won't like one...only stupid ones will..
this topic never ending. actually it is kind of subjective whether to bring gf back for reunion or not. To each his/her own. No need argument
Originally posted by orgasmic:UH ohh..."ye man nv peng you" ALERT.
Jojo, you are the kind of girlfriend that is very critical towards boyfriend, and his family one is it? cannot understand the reasons and perhaps the problem that your boyfriend is facing and only want things to go your way?
Cham liao lor...This kind of girl, smart guys won't like one...only stupid ones will..
not her fault, who's not afraid of critical mother-in-laws?
Well well both men and women are afraid of critical mother-in-laws
Originally posted by candiz:not her fault, who's not afraid of critical mother-in-laws?
oh no la candiz, i nvr say she is wrong for being afraid of cirtical mother in law, what i am actually pointing out is that she thinks its a must to bring gf back for reunion dinner which i think it is wrong.
Originally posted by orgasmic:UH ohh..."ye man nv peng you" ALERT.
Eh orgasmic.. what's up with your personal attack dude ?
Which part of my postings you no understand ?
The so called culture was not enforced by TS's parents. Unless it is told by his parents NOT to bring any "Outsiders" to the reunion dinner.. then TS's gf should not insist.
But it's just because his siblings don't bring..means TS also don't bring ? THAT is NOT a family culture.
His siblings don't bring is probably because they are not too sure of their gf/bf yet. Thats why they don't bring. So that's just their personal preference.
But for TS case.. they already have intention of a lasting partnership.. the proposal part is just a "formality".
I tell you what lah.. orgasmic.. you get a gf first.. then you criticise me .I also don't like to discuss relationship issues with stupid guys.
Ok ? Good.