Originally posted by M the name:Dear "whattodo" , of course I am giving important advise and not "negative" words, I will further explain why I choose to recommend an online degree from America instead of NUS, or any other UK or Australia universities. Firstly as mention they will accept "O"(Since you can enter Poly, your "O" level shouldn't be too bad, right?)Second as long as you choose universities under the 7 US regional government, you should be VERY safe.Beside, since it online, you can choose your own pace and schedule to study.You can even work full-time if you want.
You should also forget about choosing Local University Like NUS or UK,Australia University because their degree has an negative "ranking" brand which is the 1st Class Honour, 2rd Class Honour and 3nd Class Honour.For your info, it just like our primary school system : Em1 ,EM2 AND EM3, if even finally you can study in NUS, if your grade fall under 1st or 2nd class honour, you are still safe, however if you are under 3nd Class honour, hopely you will not only be embrassed but angered that why you wasted your time to suffer more humiliation just because you think that going to NUS is better.
For USA education, no "ranking or honour class" will reflect on their degree certificate, however you need to score at least an GPA point of 4.5 and above in order to graduate from their university. In fact after graduated, you can still be recognised as "an scholar" and you can join their "gang" society like National Scholars Honour Society of USA, their link : http://www.collegeHonors.org. Can our education system help you to achieve that? Especially when they label you so obivously into "honour class"? When your boss see your name-card and degree, he will said this "So you are an 3rd Honour degree, do you know how to make coffee for us ?"(Watch too much "å°�å©ä¸�笨 Liao.") Think of whether what I argued is something you SHOULD considered if you REALLY want to go to NUS so much, or maybe some UK, Australia University from local Commerical school that branded you as above.You should know what is good for yourself.
Finally don't argued we should be "realistic" that an degree which accepted "O" level is useless.If an "foreigner talent"/ "Hot" European in Singapore with an "established, accepted "O' level, accredited but "not heard" of degree and you with an NUS degree went for an job interview, who do you think got the higher change of getting the job? I will leave your people 's option open and since this topic is not related to "foreign talent" which is sensitive and also not related to your answer. I am just provide you with an "Win-Win" option which is to help you achieve an Bachelor with HONOUR. Yeah !
yup, online degree is better. Wonder why people bother to go to pre U and than local U instead.
not everything need cert, try doing business lah.
Originally posted by skythewood:yup, online degree is better. Wonder why people bother to go to pre U and than local U instead.
I think becos its a matter of whether the cert is recognised locally or not.
Originally posted by whattodo?:I'm twenty now, and i don't want to go back to Poly!!! Ahhh, very vexed! Can't let my parents know, think have to buy a fake certificate to lie to them temporarily. Think maybe go work first but i'm not really sure.Went to the career fair last week, need like 5-6 years to get my bachelor degree, so almost like going back to poly - diploma, advanced diploma, bachelor. Ask them if can go NUS with advanced diploma but they say not likely possible. I also don't want to go JC. Maybe i think i retake my o levels? If obtain good grades can try entry with NUS or not? Or maybe is it possible to take a levels as private candidate??
Very vexed lah, want to kill myself already. don't know what to do...
I suggest........
Take a bank loan and start a hawker business to sell Chwee Kueh. ![]()
Why restrict your life choices to the already limited options offered by the current education system?
Even if you graduate eventually after a few years, you will still end up becoming someone else's slave at work.
Learn from the PRCs, and develop an entrepreneur's spirit.
And don't forget to DITCH the current enslaved lifestyle of normal Singaporeans and be DIFFERENT! ![]()
Oh ya....be different also means you don't find a Singaporean girlfriend or wife. ![]()
Interest rates are so super duper low in Singapore....don't know why Singaporeans don't take advantage and take out a bank loan to finance a business of their own?
Like that how to earn enough to afford 50k for their proposal ring in the future? ![]()
Originally posted by parn:Interest rates are so super duper low in Singapore....don't know why Singaporeans don't take advantage and take out a bank loan to finance a business of their own?
Like that how to earn enough to afford 50k for their proposal ring in the future?
ur ring price also increase ah? ![]()
Originally posted by gigabyte14:ur ring price also increase ah?
That depends on how delicious this year's apples are compared to last year's apples. ![]()
em, i think i kinda going to figure it out although still quite forlorn. thanks to people who try to help. thanks to you too, m the name, i don't think you are saying negative words, negative words are from people who misunderstood the whole situation, or who scorn without giving any information or advice. i'm open to any options one, will go and check up on petersons thoroughly.
parn, why will singapore girl want such an expensive ring for, lol. and if singapore guys don't go for singapore girls...then don't know they how to marry liao. At least singapore guys can go and buy some china or thai or philiphines(?) woman to be their "wife" lah (like feudal lord), but women how?buy a guy meh? singaporean girls very thinned skin one, think if there's such an option, they won't go for it. then singaporean girls will hate you
Take fake and you will wake up in jail. Don't do stupid things. Just continue your studying. I've been thinking to quit for my part time diploma course 2 months ago but i still go on now. Currently i'm waiting for the result. I know it is vexed but this is Singapore ma.
Originally posted by whattodo?:em, i think i kinda going to figure it out although still quite forlorn. thanks to people who try to help. thanks to you too, m the name, i don't think you are saying negative words, negative words are from people who misunderstood the whole situation, or who scorn without giving any information or advice. i'm open to any options one, will go and check up on petersons thoroughly.
parn, why will singapore girl want such an expensive ring for, lol. and if singapore guys don't go for singapore girls...then don't know they how to marry liao. At least singapore guys can go and buy some china or thai or philiphines(?) woman to be their "wife" lah (like feudal lord), but women how?buy a guy meh? singaporean girls very thinned skin one, think if there's such an option, they won't go for it. then singaporean girls will hate you
Why do you worry if Singapore girls aren't able to marry Singapore guys?
Singaporeans who can afford to deny the common option of marrying their own nationals, certainly have their own personal reasons for doing so. ![]()
I don't think any girls will ever complain if they received an expensive proposal ring. Don't you agree that your most loved one deserves the most precious ring?
You will be surprised to find out there are actually many women in this world who are buying guys....just not those anyhow guys. ![]()
I don't think I want to get married at all, but I would love to have children. ![]()
Originally posted by skythewood:yup, online degree is better. Wonder why people bother to go to pre U and than local U instead.
I would say an online degree is certainly an option for the TS, but wouldn't go so far as to say it's better than a local uni? I mean, to be perfectly honest about it, isn't local university the cheaper and more prestigious option? I don't think it's fair to discredit the local uni in favour of an online degree. And also, the stigma attached to an online degree is still there.
Well after seeing so many funny comments regard to Online Degree, no wonder there is a saying that "æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ˜¯ç¬¨".IT IS CORRECT! Anyway for the benefit of people who are still living in "Stone age" Stanford University in America is one of the top university in USA. And guess what ? Instead of teaching in a traditional classroom, they decided to go for "borderless" teaching using video and Internet teaching.In fact they have offered "Master" level degree online and this mean that you no longer need to travel very far far away like long time ago to study, even at the comfort with your laptop , don't believe me check this link : 1) http://scpd.stanford.edu/degreeCredit/degreesCertificates.jsp
2) http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0EIN/is_2005_Feb_2/ai_n9489887 , and Stanford university is not the only one, even more university like Columbia University isn't lose out and go online, this is the link: http://www.cvn.columbia.edu .The only problem you will faced is financial and SAT is another option you can choose to study for an online degree instead of "O" level.
Those who said that "easy" degree which is online is worthless, do you dare to say that "top gun" like Stanford University and Columbia University is an easy degree just because it is "online"?(you tell people that "they" are not good and see what other people will respond!). In fact if you are looking for "difficult" degree, The highest level or postgraduate degree offered in distance learning is Master level.In fact as long as the university is "recognised" by the 7 regional bodies, you can even study in "Top Gun" University like Massachusetts Institute of Technology for further study and then it will be whether you have the "talent" to graduate from their university cos as mention you need GPA of 4.5 and above before you can award with your degree.Also even NUS is trying to "partner" with top gun like MIT : http://web.mit.edu/SMA/ and NTU with Carnegie Mellon University : http://www.mfe.ntu.edu.sg/ America degree is selling like hot cake! And you still thinking of how to go to local Uni who "borrow" reputation from America's university ?
Finally for raising money, I know that in Singapore, there are a lot of trading class that teach "investing" in financial product like Forex and stuff like that, for example school like Momentum Asia and T3B Who promised "finanical Independence" if your learn their trading method, any "è€�æ•™" who "study" in these school and is successfully or these trading school is just "骗å�ƒ" people ? Your just share your experience,good or bad with us in this forum so that maybe we know the moral of story "success is not a bed of rose".(I am not teaching your to gamble, but want to explore if this is the only "better" way to look for rasing money, so don't say I am "误人å�弟"!).
Originally posted by M the name:Well after seeing so many funny comments regard to Online Degree, no wonder there is a saying that "æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ˜¯ç¬¨".IT IS CORRECT! Anyway for the benefit of people who are still living in "Stone age" Stanford University in America is one of the top university in USA. And guess what ? Instead of teaching in a traditional classroom, they decided to go for "borderless" teaching using video and Internet teaching.In fact they have offered "Master" level degree online and this mean that you no longer need to travel very far far away like long time ago to study, even at the comfort with your laptop , don't believe me check this link : 1) http://scpd.stanford.edu/degreeCredit/degreesCertificates.jsp
2) http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0EIN/is_2005_Feb_2/ai_n9489887 , and Stanford university is not the only one, even more university like Columbia University isn't lose out and go online, this is the link: http://www.cvn.columbia.edu .The only problem you will faced is financial and SAT is another option you can choose to study for an online degree instead of "O" level.
Those who said that "easy" degree which is online is worthless, do you dare to say that "top gun" like Stanford University and Columbia University is an easy degree just because it is "online"?(you tell people that "they" are not good and see what other people will respond!). In fact if you are looking for "difficult" degree, The highest level or postgraduate degree offered in distance learning is Master level.In fact as long as the university is "recognised" by the 7 regional bodies, you can even study in "Top Gun" University like Massachusetts Institute of Technology for further study and then it will be whether you have the "talent" to graduate from their university cos as mention you need GPA of 4.5 and above before you can award with your degree.Also even NUS is trying to "partner" with top gun like MIT : http://web.mit.edu/SMA/ and NTU with Carnegie Mellon University : http://www.mfe.ntu.edu.sg/ America degree is selling like hot cake! And you still thinking of how to go to local Uni who "borrow" reputation from America's university ?
Finally for raising money, I know that in Singapore, there are a lot of trading class that teach "investing" in financial product like Forex and stuff like that, for example school like Momentum Asia and T3B Who promised "finanical Independence" if your learn their trading method, any "è€�æ•™" who "study" in these school and is successfully or these trading school is just "骗å�ƒ" people ? Your just share your experience,good or bad with us in this forum so that maybe we know the moral of story "success is not a bed of rose".(I am not teaching your to gamble, but want to explore if this is the only "better" way to look for rasing money, so don't say I am "误人å�弟"!).
Actually whether an individual is sensible or not, has absolutely nothing to do with their educational levels.
Most individuals would have set their sights on materialistic goals...money, education, career....
But some individuals had the luxury to know that all these materialistic goals will fade in time and aren't permanent. These individuals chose to make the right decision in their lives and have set their sights and goals on becoming a BETTER individual than others.
People nowadays have absolutely neglected their own goals to become a better person in their society and have been pursuing after materialistic goals.
So good luck to our future and our future generations. ![]()
Our world and society has already surpassed and advanced so far ahead of us, that our individuals were not good enough to fit into the society.
Originally posted by M the name:Well after seeing so many funny comments regard to Online Degree, no wonder there is a saying that "æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ˜¯ç¬¨".IT IS CORRECT! Anyway for the benefit of people who are still living in "Stone age" Stanford University in America is one of the top university in USA. And guess what ? Instead of teaching in a traditional classroom, they decided to go for "borderless" teaching using video and Internet teaching.In fact they have offered "Master" level degree online and this mean that you no longer need to travel very far far away like long time ago to study, even at the comfort with your laptop , don't believe me check this link : 1) http://scpd.stanford.edu/degreeCredit/degreesCertificates.jsp
nah, online degree is obviously less prestigious. the people who believe it is ok usually have problems with english, like bad grammer. tendency to switch back to chinese in their post, and meaningless quotation marks
Well skythewood, I can't be more agreeable with you that only onsite and square-minded education is good. In fact I heard that a very prestigious Australia university called University of New South Wales has just opened their branch in Singapore, anyway how are their progress ? Must be earning many money and recruiting more student already isn't it.
Finally Last but not least, I heard that University of Chicago has set-up an distance learning program Master of Science in Financial Mathematics which is an "video conferencing with University of Chicago" program in Singapore.Wonder why do EDB still encouraged US school to come when they have their own NUS, isn't NUS/local university better?
Link : http://www-finmath.uchicago.edu/new/msfm/singapore/singapore.html
Originally posted by M the name:Well skythewood, I can't be more agreeable with you that only onsite and square-minded education is good. In fact I heard that a very prestigious Australia university called University of New South Wales has just opened their branch in Singapore, anyway how are their progress, must be earning more money and recruiting more student already isn't it.
I also agreed with you that signed on Army or any SAF is one of prestigious best choice you can made, not to forget achievement you should be proud of like having your name-card, for example , stay overnight in the guard-house, patroling around the camp at night, cleaning your bunk/room or rife, etc.If you enter into the work force and you tell your employer your above achievement and that you can how to shoot rife and drive tank, you will definitely have no problem in getting an job in Business or Engineering area, ,just like the Navy advertisment that buildings can become a warship and we can shoot water cooler like missle.Who know, maybe you can become so famous like 007 that everyone want to hire you.Because NS made you(only) a better man.
Finally you are also right that you can make something out of yourself too, I guess if we see some-one selling tissue paper in the bus or people singing in MRT with a cup that where we can find you since based on what you said that you can make something out of yourself , we can't whole-heartly agreed with you. Last but not least, I heard that University of Chicago has set-up an distance learning program or "video conferencing" program in Singapore.Wonder why do EDB still encouraged US school to come when they have their own NUS, isn't NUS/local university better?
Link : http://www-finmath.uchicago.edu/new/msfm/singapore/singapore.html
i stopped reading after i see the word army. try using a word processor before posting.
Regarding M's post, i can only say that most of the reputable online degrees are for Post Graduate studies which is irrelevant for TS anyway.
I do agree that Stanford and Columbia University are top-ranked unis but how many of us can actually get in?
btw, i have looked at the link you had given for the Columbia university and i noticed that there are a few degrees for engineering?Can you explain to me how can a person obtain an engineering degree by learning through online without the practical lessons?You mean you believe the employers would employ someone who are only good in theories?
Singaporean parents are well-known for being kaisu, if online degrees are really that great most of them would have already enrolled their children in it and not the normal jc/poly route.
And just to let you know EDB attract foreign institutions to set up campus in Singapore is because we aimed to be an Education Hub.Majority of private institutions are flooded by foreigners and not Singaporeans anyway.
Local Unis are still the preferred choice for most Singaporeans, this can be seen by the record number of applicants every year.
UNSW still in singapore?