Previously, I had applied for overseas internship to both Japan and Australia. I didn't get selected for Japan as they had already chosen my 2 other friends.
But I was chosen to go Australia with another classmate.
I was really looking forward to going to Japan, but now that I'm only able to go Australia, I'm kinda disappointed. You can say that I'm half hearted about going to Australia.
I know I can experience many wonder things over there. Money is not that big of an issue but the paid attachment here is something attractive to me. 6 months, each month at least $660
While for overseas attachment, I get no pay but it's for the experience.
I'm confident of adapting myself over there. It'll probably be for 4 months.
Just afraid that I might miss some of the things here, the culture or I might even get discriminated over there (Brisbane).
Anyone can offer any advice? Please, this is serious. If nothing constructive please don't post.
Thanks.
you in agony... ?
Originally posted by yiha093:you in agony... ?
Please read, constructive replies would be appreciated only. Thanks.
just go with an open mind lah
so hard meh?
Originally posted by Agenda:Previously, I had applied for overseas internship to both Japan and Australia. I didn't get selected for Japan as they had already chosen my 2 other friends.
But I was chosen to go Australia with another classmate.
I was really looking forward to going to Japan, but now that I'm only able to go Australia, I'm kinda disappointed. You can say that I'm half hearted about going to Australia.
I know I can experience many wonder things over there. Money is not that big of an issue but the paid attachment here is something attractive to me. 6 months, each month at least $660
While for overseas attachment, I get no pay but it's for the experience.
I'm confident of adapting myself over there. It'll probably be for 4 months.
Just afraid that I might miss some of the things here, the culture or I might even get discriminated over there (Brisbane).
Anyone can offer any advice? Please, this is serious. If nothing constructive please don't post.
Thanks.
http://www.greenleft.org.au/2006/660/7163
Pray hard that you do not have a stroke over there.
And oh, if you ask for people to post only constructive stuffs, I can assure you a truckload of jokers will start to hijack your thread any moment starting from now.
simi lanjiao.
Overseas Internship is not an opportunity everyone can get.
I'm in one such programme now and I admit I sure missed out alot on Singapore.
But 4months in Australia, its not a totally crazy idea, go for it.
You can webcam with your closed ones while you're abroad.
It will be hard to leave at first, but you will settle down eventually.
4months of your lifespan. Not exactly taxing. Plus if you actually do well on your attachment and get a well written appraisal for it, it will be the most damn it fruitful trip.
Resume +1.
though im havent go for oversea attachment but if im you i would go there , after all new place new fun and people being racist r normal like we call indians as bangala...
Just be who you r and go for it
Originally posted by haha879:though im havent go for oversea attachment but if im you i would go there , after all new place new fun and people being racist r normal like we call indians as bangala...
Just be who you r and go for it
Singaporeans do not go around beating up bangalas.
Australians do so.
There is a thick, fat line between verbally racist and physical-abusive racist.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Singaporeans do not go around beating up bangalas.
Australians do so.
There is a thick, fat line between verbally racist and physical-abusive racist.
Assuming you registered on 1st april and today is 4th June, with a posting history of 1129 posts which calculates for at least 17posts per day...
GET A FUCKING LIFE FUCKTARD.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:Assuming you registered on 1st april and today is 4th June, with a posting history of 1129 posts which calculates for at least 17posts per day...
GET A FUCKING LIFE FUCKTARD.
http://www.sgforums.com/users/253797
Tell that to him.
And whatever I do is none of your concern, Mr Troll.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:http://www.sgforums.com/users/253797
Tell that to him.
If some1 has no life, don't need to compare and see who is more no life. The number is not important. Personally i've said the same thing lookslikegod said before except i didn't use such a rude tone.
australia.
overseas attachment on your resume is always better looking. go there with an open mind like instead of worry about people beating you up why not think about how u can talk them into not beating you up? haha.
and beside, with all those muscules that u built, why be afraid of being beaten up?
you are going there to enjoy a different culture. listen to your mentor over at australia and be a good boy and you will do just well =)
Originally posted by dkcx:If some1 has no life, don't need to compare and see who is more no life. The number is not important. Personally i've said the same thing lookslikegod said before except i didn't use such a rude tone.
You said it out of concern for me.
He said it because he couldn't beat me outright in an argument.
He is just trying to start a flame war here with me.
And as I said before, I am not really no life, it is just that I spam a lot in someone else's thread for my own amusement.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:You said it out of concern for me.
He said it because he couldn't beat me outright in an argument.
He is just trying to start a flame war here with me.
And as I said before, I am not really no life, it is just that I spam a lot in someone else's thread for my own amusement.
I am happy when u post to respond to people and help them like you do in AA, homework etc which is good since you are doing something proper and helping people. Earning your posts which is your target by such ways would be more admirable.
However, spending time posting n crapping in lame topics such as the continuous posts topic is utterly lame and personally i would feel such topics are really for people with no life and nothing better to do.
Just make the most of whatever comes your way, and experience as much of the country (outside the Asian social circles) as you can. Why did you even apply for the Australian option in the first place if you weren't interested?
either you go with an open mind or you don't go. don't waste that chance. i believe there are many people who will gladly replace you if you don't feel like going.. ^^
Just go lor.... dont think so much...........
Agree with R3SsH|n
It is always good to experience a diff culture.......
Never think of how complex a problem is, but how to solve it.
Like haven start doing something then say difficult already..
Same as haven reach Australia then start to think about all the shit already....
you'll prolly only miss our local food there! but hey, chances like this don't always come! so why not? perhaps it's a blessing in disguise, who knows? ha! all in all, trust your heart. [:
There are always discriminations around every where you go even in Singapore itself. Just because of what happened to the Indian students in Australia recently, it doesn't mean you are going to experience the same thing.
Come with an open mind and learn to mingle with the local people and you are most likely to feel accepted and respected too. I believe one of the biggest mistakes many people who come to Australia made was that they only mingle with their own people instead of trying to know the local people and their culture.
Since you are only here for a short term, make the most out of it. Go away for short trips during weekends etc. There are many people out there would love to have the opportunity you have....
Anyway, all the best and enjoy your stay in Brisbane, Australia!
Brisbane is a great place! You can ask me, I was there for 3 farking years, I'm even planning to go back there for holiday this August.
Its winter there now, extremely mild, but superb weather.![]()
You need not worry about dicrimination in Brisbane, you get a shit load more in melbourne and sydney.
The asian community there is mainly hong kong, and singaporean, and malaysian, so fret not.![]()
Its a great place I tell you, not so good for living long term, but short term, you will enjoy it and remember it when you come back to singapore.
To be frank, I miss that place very much, but not to the point I want to live there.![]()
Flip a coin. ![]()
Let fate decide. ![]()
Well, u are somewhat caught in this IFD trap - Idealise, Futurize and Demoralize =Disillusion - its a vicious cycle.
Accept what is - and learn along the way - cos u can change places, change people, change .... u are still going to carry what is WITHIN u - its palpable that u fear - however, it is all unreal, imagined, and heresy!
go to the places
that u will not get spoonfed
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:http://www.sgforums.com/users/253797
Tell that to him.
wtf are you even talking about?
Troll?
hey buddy. if you want to accuse someone of something, at least read up on him. For example, what are the type of posts i've been putting up.
gosh.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:wtf are you even talking about?
Troll?
hey buddy. if you want to accuse someone of something, at least read up on him. For example, what are the type of posts i've been putting up.
gosh.
Vulgar and flame-bait filled posts.
No wonder my tutor was so angry talking to an idiot like you.
Don't act so hao lian, my tutor spam a lot on rubbish threads but he really help out a lot of those who need help, unlike you who is fuck here fuck there fuck everywhere.