Originally posted by jojobeach:Pride in your case is merely a self-consolation.
Indeed I have seen one of my old classmate's family go through inheritance battle. But he wasn't the victim.. he was the bullying rich family. I've seen how he ridicules the "other" family and calls them grotto dwellers or mobile trash. So yes.. they take pride bringing the poor family down.
Fortunately.. US laws provides that the Will estates/assets can only be distributed AFTER paying off child support and alimony payments and other debts. So it wasn't like the poor family was forced into destitution.
With the portion of inheritance alloted to the poor half brother.. that kid puts himself through top Uni and now a high flyer. THAT is deserving of pride.
You want TS to meekly turn around like a mouse.. and suffer in silence...like that is..your version of pride ah ?
Because possibilites only happens after trying.
After the storm there will be peace. But it seems .. many are afraid of a storm.
Anyway.. TS's case is hardly a storm lah.
Just that I am very surprised how many forumers are discouraging TS from seeking redress. It is very appalling to me.
You have to see whether it is possible or not ma...to fight this kinda case you need a lawyer to help out...with TS just 16 years old and his mother not doing well financially, where can they find the money to engage a lawyer?
Unless you can provide a route for them to seek redress which will incur no cost at all, then you can list out your advice here. Otherwise I see no point in keep urging him to seek redress when there is no practical solution given on how he can do that.
Originally posted by rainee:You have to see whether it is possible or not ma...to fight this kinda case you need a lawyer to help out...with TS just 16 years old and his mother not doing well financially, where can they find the money to engage a lawyer?
Unless you can provide a route for them to seek redress which will incur no cost at all, then you can list out your advice here. Otherwise I see no point in keep urging him to seek redress when there is no practical solution given on how he can do that.
I already did wat.
There's the legal aid bureau link I posted in this thread a while back mah....TS will need to satisfy their means test and merit tests first leh... you think they anyhow take on the cases one meh ?
And references to some legal info regarding inheritance acts .. etc..
At least I encourage him .. rather than some self praising foromers here...onli know how to sit on their moral high horse and preaching what useless pride to beat him down even before he start.
So what if we have world class support .. if TS don't even dare to help himself ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:I already did wat.
There's the legal aid bureau link I posted in this thread a while back mah....
And references to some legal info regarding inheritance acts .. etc..
At least I encourage him .. rather than some self praising foromers here... what useless pride to beat him down even before he start.
Well it is good to give him hope but make sure he is realistic about it...
It is not good to build up so much hope until he will start thinking that it is really possible and will just think he has the inheritance to depend on...
Like what someone has mentioned earlier, anything that he gets out of this, should he wish to fight for it, should be thought of as bonus.
You have seen your classmates getting involved in inheritance battle, for me it is closer to home: my own family was involved and I saw how close it came to destroying my own family, my parents mainly. And all because they thought like you; that they should fight for something that they thought belonged to them.
Originally posted by rainee:Well it is good to give him hope but make sure he is realistic about it...
It is not good to build up so much hope until he will start thinking that it is really possible and will just think he has the inheritance to depend on...
Like what someone has mentioned earlier, anything that he gets out of this, should he wish to fight for it, should be thought of as bonus.
You have seen your classmates getting involved in inheritance battle, for me it is closer to home: my own family was involved and I saw how close it came to destroying my own family, my parents mainly. And all because they thought like you; that they should fight for something that they thought belonged to them.
Your parents are adults already. TS is a minor. How can you compare your parents to TS ?
yes ofcors he needs to be realistic , the only way to be realistic is to be educated in his legal rights and privileges.
I am not saying TS must fight tooth and nails to get himself a piece of cake.
If the legal counsel tells him the chances are slim.. then ofcors it will be foolish to pursue .. perhaps that was what happened to your parents.
Child support usually is a no brainer case.
If TS drags and try again by the time he is of legal age..his chance will probably be next to nothing.
When you express views contrary to this person's, she'll most likely insult and curse you and your family. ![]()
Her views are the ONLY views, any other views are wrong. ![]()
Originally posted by jojobeach:Your parents are adults already. TS is a minor. How can you compare your parents to TS ?
I am not saying TS must fight tooth and nails to get himself a piece of cake.
If the legal counsel tells him the chances are slim.. then ofcors it will be foolish to pursue .. perhaps that was what happened to your parents.
Yea, but the truth is it will be his mother who will be fighting this battle head-on...
Plus his mother is not legally married to his father...think about all the shame she and TS would have to face if they go ahead with it, all the past issues will be dragged out and aired in the public and TS and his sister will be branded as an "illegitimate" children and his mother, a "mistress"...
Unless the house deed has TS' mother's name on it, I will say that it is really hard to fight for the right to get it, especially since his father has already given it to the stepbrother. So what if the stepbrother doesn't deserve it as much as TS' family...the truth is TS' father has chosen to be biased and side with his other family members. So in the eyes of law it might be hard to fight for something that doesn't legally belong to you. Of course TS can try but he has to be prepared for the legal suit to fail and has some more concrete plans for the future instead.
Dun tell me no equity in Sg ?
Got will ? no will ? Then can prove any form of agreement or severence or not ?
Because if i am not mistaken, no will, inheritence goes to next of kin.
Just get some proof of your claims dude. Get some free legal aid man. They can direct u to where u need to go and what u need to do. If there is such a thing in Singapore. lol
Thats one of the problems with extra maritial affairs or split family with own ther children.. damn! Thats why everything must be black and white. So when suddenly KO , people wont be fighting over your treasures. 爸爸说的对。Haiz.. lock me out .. only if i marry. Diu ma hai ah!
But anyways la, there are plenty of cases with similiar circumstances and from there u can roughly know how your case is going to go from there. Confirm got some principles that is similiar, unless TS case on some particular point of law needs to be looked at in more detail.
But the law of inheritance can be pretty brutal. So good luck dude.
Originally posted by rainee:Yea, but the truth is it will be his mother who will be fighting this battle head-on...
Plus his mother is not legally married to his father...think about all the shame she and TS would have to face if they go ahead with it, all the past issues will be dragged out and aired in the public and TS and his sister will be branded as an "illegitimate" children and his mother, a "mistress"...
Unless the house deed has TS' mother's name on it, I will say that it is really hard to fight for the right to get it, especially since his father has already given it to the stepbrother. So what if the stepbrother doesn't deserve it as much as TS' family...the truth is TS' father has chosen to be biased and side with his other family members. So in the eyes of law it might be hard to fight for something that doesn't legally belong to you. Of course TS can try but he has to be prepared for the legal suit to fail and has some more concrete plans for the future instead.
Umm.. you know ah.. I wish you would go read from the beginning, so you get an accurate picture hor... sibeh tiring repeating leh.
His mother is a second spouse if recognised under common law marriage. Lived together for more than 13 years.
His father's first wife .. died before he met TS's mother. So TS mother is not a mistress .. perhaps a woman his father co-habited with and have 2 children.
TS has his father's name on his birthcert.. so he is a LEGAL son. TS is NOT a illegitimate son lah !! Wah lau eh.....
Under US laws.. common law marriage applies to a couple who cohabs for more than 7 years... but I not sure if this is recognise in Singapore or not.
It is NOT about who deserves the house.. TS don't have to fight solely for the house. (Goodnesss)......it is about ensuring children and spouse of the deceased are provided for lah !!!
Originally posted by jojobeach:Umm.. you know ah.. I wish you would go read from the beginning, so you get an accurate picture hor... sibeh tiring repeating leh.
His mother is a second spouse if recognised under common law marriage. Lived together for more than 13 years.
His father's first wife .. died before he met TS's mother. So TS mother is not a mistress .. perhaps a woman his father co-habited with and have 2 children.
TS has his father's name on his birthcert.. so he is a LEGAL son. TS is NOT a illegitimate son lah !! Wah lau eh.....
Under US laws.. common law marriage applies to a couple who cohabs for more than 7 years... but I not sure if this is recognise in Singapore or not.
It is NOT about who deserves the house.. TS don't have to fight solely for the house. (Goodnesss)......it is about ensuring children and spouse of the deceased are provided for lah !!!
Too bad we are not in US...this is Singapore we are talking about...
And if she is not legally married to him, she is not even considered his spouse lolz...
I dunno what you call the children of a woman who is not legally married to the man who impregnates her...
Originally posted by rainee:Too bad we are not in US...this is Singapore we are talking about...
And if she is not legally married to him, she is not even considered his spouse lolz...
I dunno what you call the children of a woman who is not legally married to the man who impregnates her...
In our brutal Asian society.. yes they are labeled "bastards".. but are they really ?
Is that a legal classification or an abusive way our "asian" society treats a human being ?
In an evovled society.. those children are born out of "Wedlock".. and they are accorded equal rights and priviledges as children born within a marriage.
What about children who's mother are divorced. Are they considered bastards too ?
So the only difference is a piece of paper to legalise two adults living together and have "legalised" children.
Seriously.... that is not even funny. It's sick.
Originally posted by jojobeach:In our brutal Asian society.. yes they are labeled "bastards".. but are they really ?
Is that a legal classification or an abusive way our "asian" society treats a human being ?
In an evovled society.. those children are born out of "Wedlock".. and they are accorded equal rights and priviledges as children born within a marriage.
What about children who's mother are divorced. Are they considered bastards too ?
So the only difference is a piece of paper to legalise two adults living together and have "legalised" children.
Seriously.... that is not even funny. It's sick.
Yea, I know it is sick but sad to say, that's the cruel reality. Truth is never pretty nowadays, esp not in this country where most things go by the book and based on what you have in black and white.
Technically children whose mothers are divorced are not bastards, as the mother was married to the father when they were born/conceived...
That's why...since laws are not very kind towards women, this is a call to all women to open their eyes big big...don't get yourself into trouble by getting pregnant when you are not legally married to someone. Women will always end up with the shorter end of the stick in this situation.
Good to see u 2 ..
getting along..
=x
Now i shall reveal my true form!
Originally posted by rainee:Too bad we are not in US...this is Singapore we are talking about...
Thank you jojobeach U understand what im trying to say and not being insensitive like those people
And u rainee cant believe u used "lolz" , i doubt u have ever experiences anything like my mum, u not worth to talk about my mum.
If u wanna scold or laugh at me go ahead but never try to mention my mum. She is my mum not your mum.
Rainee Do u like when i say your mum didnt teach u moral and compassion and u grow up being sadistic and insensitive?
And u say im a "illegitimate" r u saying im a bastard?
All my relative from his side knows me. My Birthcert have his name.
He betrayed my mother trust and have an affair legally , even he is dead now honestly i would like him to rot in hell.
You hate him so much, yet you want his money. ![]()
Fighting for inheritance is out of the question, because I think your dad most likely left it to his other son. Fighting for maintenance order (till you are 21 y.o.), not sure if it's possible if the estate has already been distributed. If you have lived more than 12 years in that house without paying rent, you might have still have a case.
When did your dad pass away?
Originally posted by rainee:Yea, I know it is sick but sad to say, that's the cruel reality. Truth is never pretty nowadays, esp not in this country where most things go by the book and based on what you have in black and white.
Technically children whose mothers are divorced are not bastards, as the mother was married to the father when they were born/conceived...
That's why...since laws are not very kind towards women, this is a call to all women to open their eyes big big...don't get yourself into trouble by getting pregnant when you are not legally married to someone. Women will always end up with the shorter end of the stick in this situation.
Cruelty can be reality only if we accepts it and let it proliferate.
While a case can be good learning and educational material to forewarn other women...
We should not cast stones on the one suffering from such injustice now.
Originally posted by deepak.c:You hate him so much, yet you want his money.
Fighting for inheritance is out of the question, because I think your dad most likely left it to his other son. Fighting for maintenance order (till you are 21 y.o.), not sure if it's possible if the estate has already been distributed. If you have lived more than 12 years in that house without paying rent, you might have still have a case.
When did your dad pass away?
Your sarcasm is not even funny.
Putting a smiley face at the end of your sentences doesn't make your sarcasm less hurtful.
Do you know that people who likes to use sarcasm are cowards who are afraid to face the consequences of their real intentions ?
And what cok you toking ? Where do you think the maintenance order is gona pay from.. the Inheritance lah.. GOONDO!
Originally posted by haha879:
Thank you jojobeach U understand what im trying to say and not being insensitive like those peopleAnd u rainee cant believe u used "lolz" , i doubt u have ever experiences anything like my mum, u not worth to talk about my mum.
If u wanna scold or laugh at me go ahead but never try to mention my mum. She is my mum not your mum.
Rainee Do u like when i say your mum didnt teach u moral and compassion and u grow up being sadistic and insensitive?
And u say im a "illegitimate" r u saying im a bastard?
All my relative from his side knows me. My Birthcert have his name.
He betrayed my mother trust and have an affair legally , even he is dead now honestly i would like him to rot in hell.
I am not saying that what your father has done is right, and I agree that yes, he should rot in hell.
There are too many loopholes in your story and these might be what has caused the misunderstanding among so many forumites here. If you can just state it clearly, I think you will have less assumptions and the people here will be able to help you better.
Is your mother ever married to your father? By married, I mean, do they even have a marriage cert with both their names on it? If according to what you have said here, your mother is your father's first wife, and after that your father went on to have an affair with another woman...is that correct? But from what jojobeach has said earlier to me, it seems that your mother is the second "spouse" who is not legally married to your father, but just cohabited with him for a long period of time. So what is the true story here?
If you can't even take what I have said above, I would suggest you don't fight for the inheritance. Truth is, you and your mother (provided she is not legally married to your father) will be called names I have mentioned above, and may be called worse, if you want to bring this matter to court and fight for what has been given to others. You can't shield your mother from this; she is at the heart of everything. So if you all decide to go ahead and fight for it, all I can say is to stay strong.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Your sarcasm is not even funny.
Putting a smiley face at the end of your sentences doesn't make your sarcasm less hurtful.
Do you know that people who likes to use sarcasm are cowards who are afraid to face the consequences of their real intentions ?
And what cok you toking ? Where do you think the maintenance order is gona pay from.. the Inheritance lah.. GOONDO!
I am merely stating facts, there is nothing that I gain if either TS gets or do not get the inheritance. ![]()
If you hate his guts and want him dead, what gives him the right to take his father's money? This is atypical to a US marriage, where the wife in a divorce proceedings sues the ex-husband for half his wealth, it's like the wife marries the husband for money, just like our parn (the $30k wife).
Go read my post again and try you best to understand. I said maintenance order also difficult because the assets has been distributed already. (If TS has just cause, then he could have filed an application for maintenance order during probate and admin, if it's been distributed already to say 5 different folks, who should TS take action against.) Maybe he should sue the step brother for maintenance order.
Apparently you have comprehension and hate management issues. Seems like everybody who disagrees with you will be cursed and insulted. ![]()
And why is TS not providing any more information???
For all we know, he is just trolling for attention. ![]()
The laughing smileys wasn't intended for TS' predicament, it's more like me laughing at jojobeach's idiocy. ![]()
Originally posted by jojobeach:Sorry hor.. most of the time.. it's just empty threats.
Empty threats? You must be extremely naive. ![]()
You take a $20k loan from the bank, renege on the payments, the bank gets their lawyers to write you a letter of demand and you call their bluff. ![]()
Letter of demands are the first step in the legal process before the plaintiff can submit a writ of summons. The reason why some folks choose to leave the claim at the letter of demand is because the cost of going to courts is too prohibitive and the chance of recovering the damages is low.
how about investing in $50 to get 10 Banglas to put a black sack over his head and beating him up with sticks??
Originally posted by deepak.c:
Empty threats? You must be extremely naive.
You take a $20k loan from the bank, renege on the payments, the bank gets their lawyers to write you a letter of demand and you call their bluff.
Letter of demands are the first step in the legal process before the plaintiff can submit a writ of summons. The reason why some folks choose to leave the claim at the letter of demand is because the cost of going to courts is too prohibitive and the chance of recovering the damages is low.
You're a real retard Deepak![]()
Your understanding on the real world is sorely lacking.![]()
Go back and finish your PSLE first.. then I explain to you ok ?![]()
I am merely stating facts, there is nothing that I gain if either TS gets or do not get the inheritance.
If you hate his guts and want him dead, what gives him the right to take his father's money? This is atypical to a US marriage, where the wife in a divorce proceedings sues the ex-husband for half his wealth, it's like the wife marries the husband for money, just like our parn (the $30k wife).
Go read my post again and try you best to understand. I said maintenance order also difficult because the assets has been distributed already. (If TS has just cause, then he could have filed an application for maintenance order during probate and admin, if it's been distributed already to say 5 different folks, who should TS take action against.) Maybe he should sue the step brother for maintenance order.
Apparently you have comprehension and hate management issues. Seems like everybody who disagrees with you will be cursed and insulted.
And why is TS not providing any more information???
For all we know, he is just trolling for attention.
The laughing smileys wasn't intended for TS' predicament, it's more like me laughing at jojobeach's idiocy.
I'm also laughing at you for your stupidity.![]()
When you express views contrary to this person's, she'll most likely insult and curse you and your family.
Her views are the ONLY views, any other views are wrong.
x2.
haha.
spot on.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
x2.haha.
spot on.
And are you saying you don't insult ?
Your comments are not mean ?
Trying to act cute while saying mean things..doesn't make your mean-ness go away.
Acting stupid while being a bitch .. still makes you come across as a bitch.. only worst.
Originally posted by jojobeach:
You're a real retard Deepak
Your understanding on the real world is sorely lacking.
Go back and finish your PSLE first.. then I explain to you ok ?
Focus on the topic and the statements I made, then try to come up with other valid points.
Ooops..........I forgot you can't do that, you can only resort to insults to win an argument. ![]()