Originally posted by lonestar86:yes, i'm comparing myself with others. but everyone is doing it right? i mean when we have a choice to make, we compare right? i.e if a girl is looking for bf, she will compare those guys who are trying to win her heart right? of cus she’ll compare the guys based on certain criteria, like education background, looks, wealth etc..
comparison, that's what we always do right?
If comparisons helps motivate you to strive harder then it is good to compare. However, if comparisons are making you look down on yourself and demotivating, you should avoid comparing yourself with your peers.
As mentioned by others, you only see the good side of your peers, the negative side and the problems they face might not be something you are able to see.
So what is some might have cars? Did they really afford the car or did they get loans etc to pay for the car because they need it for their work? Do not take everything as facts base on what you see on the surface as there might be many underlying issues that you do not know of.
Originally posted by fudgester:1. What's with all that formatting? Are you copying and pasting?
2. Uhh..... no? Like I said, isn't the grass is always on the greener side? What's the whole friggin' point of comparing if it's gonna make you all sad and depressed? And you end up screwing your studies because of your depression.... so what's the point?
Why don't you just aim to do well in your studies and just work your ass off?
sorry abt the formatting error.
perhaps u r right. thks for the advice.
Originally posted by lonestar86:i'm currently studying in local uni. initially i have no interest in studying in uni but this practical society force me to. so i took up bank loans. taking a 4 yrs course, 6K a yr, all in all i've gonna pay 24K++ once i grad, don't forget abt the interests.
seeing my poly grad friends selling insurance, seems like they are really making it big out there. i'm not sure how much they are earning each month, but i believe they are earning big, with all the hardwork they have put in. 1 of them have bought a car, while another is planning to buy 1 soon.
i'm wondering, if one can make it big without a degree, just by selling insurance etc, what's the point of studying so hard for a degree? right now they are earning so much and even have the ability to own cars while on the other hand, i'm in huge debts and once i grad i've gonna work extra hard to pay for my debts, give money to my parents etc. no money no honey, when can i get married? 10 years down the road? beats me.
to be honest, i can't see my future. am i suffering from some kinda depression? or perhaps am i thinking too much? i don't know.
do you know why you read about those hokkien peng uneducated towkays made good in the newspapers ? .... why people always remember bill gates for NOT having a college degree (never mind that he dropped out from harvard, no less) ? ....
why is it news ? cos these people, are the EXCEPTIONS ...... ![]()
I dunno about you mate, but when some "long lost" friends call me up for a chat, my antenna goes up, most of the time, they are either trying to sell me insurance, MLM, or some investment products .... I shy away from these chaps .....
and seriously, you're smart enough to be a local undergrad, you should know better than to compare yourselves to the exceptions .... for every degree-less successes you've heard, there are countless others out there toiling their lives away for not very much .... why else do you think there are still so many people fighting for that piece of paper for ? .... ![]()
you have the chance now .... don't squander it ....
Originally posted by lonestar86:sorry abt the formatting error.
perhaps u r right. thks for the advice.
Like I keep saying, the grass is always greener on the other side.
Those friends of yours with cars may have to take loans to pay for them. And what do they get out of it? Easy transport from point A to B. And they may find it easier to jio more girls at the bar by showing off their brand new cars. That's all.
At the same time, though, they might be crying over all the instalments, ERP, petrol, road tax, parking, etc that they have to pay.
What about your study loans? If you work hard enough, you may end up with a 2nd upper honours and a high-paying job. Your high-level salary would take care of your loans.
So who gets the better deal in the end? You, or your friends?
i think all i have to do right now is to stop thinking too much and focus on my studies.
guys, thks for all the advices. i really appreciate it.
dun worry so much... just do your best in what you are doing...
Originally posted by lonestar86:i think all i have to do right now is to stop thinking too much and focus on my studies.
guys, thks for all the advices. i really appreciate it.
Good for you.
Just go forth and be lonestar86, B.Eng (Hons), Computer Engineer.
The new semester starts this Tuesday. Good luck.
Originally posted by fudgester:Good for you.
Just go forth and be lonestar86, B.Eng (Hons), Computer Engineer.
The new semester starts this Tuesday. Good luck.
once again, i really appreciate all ur precious comments and advices. thank you so much.
take care and God bless..
For my opinion, you just study hard for that degree, get a good grade. And sure there will be companies wanting to offer you more than what your friends can achieve. And do not compare to the others, as comparing always makes you regret things. Which is something like making yourself more low self-esteem. So i would suggest that you aim to have good grades, apply for scholarship, and soon there will be companies who wants your knowledge in bank loan. =D
Originally posted by lonestar86:ntu sce. yes. i did badly for my first year.
I screwed my 1st sem, but then got into dean's list in consecutive semesters, and graduated in the top 10% of my cohort.
It's always better late than never, so just sober up and focus on yourself
Compare compare compare, will kill you.
I have a junior from the same JC, she's earning > 200k per month as an insurance manager. If I want to compare with her, I also vomit blood
But every job has its pains. So just don't look at the greener part over the other side of the fence. Instead, just focus and get your results. After all, that's what you have decided on, then throw away those distractions and focus.
Comparison is a disease and (i assume) you are in your 20s - and it is understandable that you seem to idealize life and ...
Beware the IFD trap that has befallen so many. It is a vicious cycle.
One idealizes, futurizes and one then feels demoralised.
Your misery is nothing but the wishing and wanting which you futurize and cannot see what is rt in front of you now.
The other thing is that u are (or at least it seems) trapped in this erroneous belief n think that $$$ would have u arrive. It is fine to hanker for a 'better' materialistic life but money-mindedness is a downhill slide.
Originally posted by lonestar86:i'm currently studying in local uni. initially i have no interest in studying in uni but this practical society force me to. so i took up bank loans. taking a 4 yrs course, 6K a yr, all in all i've gonna pay 24K++ once i grad, don't forget abt the interests.
seeing my poly grad friends selling insurance, seems like they are really making it big out there. i'm not sure how much they are earning each month, but i believe they are earning big, with all the hardwork they have put in. 1 of them have bought a car, while another is planning to buy 1 soon.
i'm wondering, if one can make it big without a degree, just by selling insurance etc, what's the point of studying so hard for a degree? right now they are earning so much and even have the ability to own cars while on the other hand, i'm in huge debts and once i grad i've gonna work extra hard to pay for my debts, give money to my parents etc. no money no honey, when can i get married? 10 years down the road? beats me.
to be honest, i can't see my future. am i suffering from some kinda depression? or perhaps am i thinking too much? i don't know.
I feel sad for u friend. Whenever I see such things. It always remind me of a friend who just like u take up a massive loan from bank for U study. He has the same worry as u.
While I see many China student who need not serve 2yrs NS, come to singapore free of U education. Not only that, they are given every month $800 as pocket money.
Lagi best is, they are not top of the cream or any 1st class degree student. Just 2nd lower.Their english is worst than some local secondary 2 student. While local student has to go thru tough english oral and exam just to pass the O' lvl english test. On top of that, I saw some local student 2nd upper still need to get bank loan. Family scraped anything just to pay school fee and survive.
I suddenly wonder what is wrong with this country system?? U are in this state is partly due to our dear goverment.
actually life is like this 1. You come forum and whine and than you still continue with life after that.
Like the TS after he had posted this topic, he will go back to school to study again. I am sure he won't quit school or what after this post so life remains the same. ![]()
Like those people who whine about their jobs too. Unlikely they will quit. After whining they goes back to work and than continue the whining again ![]()
Just 2nd lower.Their english is worst than some local secondary 2 student. While local student has to go thru tough english oral and exam just to pass the O' lvl english test. On top of that, I saw some local student 2nd upper still need to get bank loan. Family scraped anything just to pay school fee and survive.
I suddenly wonder what is wrong with this country system?? U are in this state is partly due to our dear goverment.
It is time to overthrow the system.
You better make yourself see your future, because no one is responsible for your future other than you.
1. What is it that you are good at?
2. What is it that you like to do?
3. What do you want to become?
4. What do you see yourself as in future?
5. What do you want to get in this life?
Think about it really serously, fixed it down in writing. Then go get it.
Too many people get law degrees and then become theatre actors.
Too many people get banking degrees then become F&B operators.
There are people who got their MBBS, and then become poets.
Go to the uni, for knowledge and an education. Not for a degree so that you can have better chance of getting a job.
Think!
TS can follow Pika to quit school ![]()
have u ever considered migrating to countries like Australia? Coz i know people with few years experience but no degree also earning higher
Originally posted by flapdoodle:have u ever considered migrating to countries like Australia? Coz i know people with few years experience but no degree also earning higher
lots of people wants to leave singapore including me but got no lobang
Originally posted by trashbag:lots of people wants to leave singapore including me but got no lobang
its not hard as u think, australia is low in population..many have migrated there ,
Originally posted by flapdoodle:its not hard as u think, australia is low in population..many have migrated there ,
I am not rich, got no special skills also. Me is not even a degree holder, only a diploma holder nia.
Why will Australia want someone like me to go to their country?
Originally posted by trashbag:I am not rich, got no special skills also. Me is not even a degree holder, only a diploma holder nia.
Why will Australia want someone like me to go to their country?
yr skill is insurance ...australia will look at yr years of experience...finish yr uni course, work in that course related field for few years...and u can go australia.
Originally posted by flapdoodle:yr skill is insurance ...australia will look at yr years of experience...finish yr uni course, work in that course related field for few years...and u can go australia.
I don't intent to take degree. I only doing normal office job. Australia got enough people to do these type of easy jobs they don't need me to go over there
Originally posted by trashbag:I don't intent to take degree. I only doing normal office job. Australia got enough people to do these type of easy jobs they don't need me to go over there
its not true . office job manager ect also can get PR there.
Originally posted by flapdoodle:its not true . office job manager ect also can get PR there.
I not manager lah you think so highly of me..
i am a admin executive (sounds very nice but is actually just doing a admin asst job and earning less than 2k a month)