Originally posted by SplitRoads:hey guys, thanks for all the replies..
for those of you who think that getting a job is a problem for me, i guess i should just explain my situation..
i'm a degree holder with Hons and just returned from the US. i could have simply work in my father's office and get a salary that i believe, is more than what some may earn in 3 months... but i want to start on my own, rather then depending on my father.
I am not ranting, grumbling, about my gf mother. I am just asking for opinions and advices and whether anyone is going through the same problem as me.. and if they are, maybe they could give me some advice. please read my post carefully, before flamming me.
anyway, there are really some very useful and meaningful replies. i guess for now, I shall just hold on, endure it through... wait a little longer before i make a decision.
thanks for all the replies....
cheers~
why dun u borrow money from your dad to start a business like what lee ka shing eldest son, borrowed many millions to start his empire. if your gf mom is an issue, then talk to your gf and see what she said. the choice is yours to make really, whether good or bad.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Dude, you have a family business which you could have contributed and benefited from, yet you choose to bum around "waiting" for the right opportunity.
Just because the business belongs to your family doesn't mean you should collect salary and shake legs.
All the more you need to work hard for the family business that had been the source of your financial support while you studied overseas. When opportunity comes a knocking.. you can always branch out and expand your capabilities.
Your actions and decisions pertaining to your life and career choices, make your character "questionable".
Right now, in her mother's eyes, you are just another "jia liao bee" guy , with an expensive but worthless piece of paper degree from USA.
You want her mother to "see you up" and entrust her precious dotter to you, then you jolly well start EARNing her respect.
Worthless? U must be talking about the rubbish toilet papers handed out by toady 'universities' NUS, NTU, SMU- the equivalent of polytechnics in the US and UK.
one of the three rubbish degree-mills is soooo desperate and begging THE Imperial College for tie-up some more?!!
two words: NO SHAME. Haha.
every year, these no class degree mills produce a whooping massive number - 18,000 losers to the sg society who call themselves graduates with no brains. worse thing is they think they are the same as Harvard haha
Originally posted by insidestory:Worthless? U must be talking about the rubbish toilet papers handed out by toady 'universities' NUS, NTU, SMU- the equivalent of polytechnics in the US and UK.
one of the three rubbish degree-mills is soooo desperate and begging THE Imperial College for tie-up some more?!!
two words: NO SHAME. Haha.
every year, these no class degree mills produce a whooping massive number - 18,000 losers to the sg society who call themselves graduates with no brains. worse thing is they think they are the same as Harvard. Hahahaha.
what about the ones from vietnam and thailand and other developing nations? u mean their uni surpasses that of NUS and NTU? our uni although not as prestigious as harvard or MIT, because we lack the numbers in population. compare the population numbers first and the numbers who are gifted and intelligent per se. our university education model after UK education system after years of colony under the british empire.
Harvard? look at the mess the USA is in now. so many of their CEO, CFO, chairman are educated in the IVY league. look at their morality and inflated bonuses, not to mention their banks are rescued by the ordinary taxpayers money for taking the wrong bets in derivatives and structured financial instruments. sure they are smart and come with impressive academic credentials, but they are using their banks money to bet on these financial weapons of mass destruction.
Originally posted by Rooney9:what about the ones from vietnam and thailand and other developing nations? u mean their uni surpasses that of NUS and NTU? our uni although not as prestigious as harvard or MIT, because we lack the numbers in population. compare the population numbers first and the numbers who are gifted and intelligent per se. our university education model after UK education system after years of colony under the british empire.
Harvard? look at the mess the USA is in now. so many of their CEO, CFO, chairman are educated in the IVY league. look at their morality and inflated bonuses, not to mention their banks are rescued by the ordinary taxpayers money for taking the wrong bets in derivatives and structured financial instruments. sure they are smart and come with impressive academic credentials, but they are using their banks money to bet on these financial weapons of mass destruction.
US is in a "mess"?! Why dun u talk about the rest of the world when the US economy is more than half of the world economy? Greedy has nothing to do with whether or not they are capable.
When the US takes a sneeze, the whole world is infected. If the US is really in a "mess", you can be sure you are sleeping in the streets. Esp since Singapore is Asia's most open and one of the world's most open economy. By that it means Singapore is almost totally reliant on trading and has nothing on/of its own.
Did I say that University of Vietnam or Koh Samui or Perak is good?! At least University of Vietnam and University of Koh Samui never boast all day long, pretending that they're Harvard or MIT. ![]()
bu zhi liang li
Originally posted by Rooney9:what about the ones from vietnam and thailand and other developing nations? u mean their uni surpasses that of NUS and NTU? our uni although not as prestigious as harvard or MIT, because we lack the numbers in population. compare the population numbers first and the numbers who are gifted and intelligent per se. our university education model after UK education system after years of colony under the british empire.
That SG is an ex British colony has no bearing on the mediocrity of the 'graduates' that these degree mills turn out. The mediocrity is caused by the high intake, resulting in poor student quality. Don't blame the Brits - if you think any of the degree mills can be compared to Oxbridge, Imperial or LSE, you need a reality check.
Originally posted by insidestory:US is in a "mess"?! Why dun u talk about the rest of the world when the US economy is more than half of the world economy? Greedy has nothing to do with whether or not they are capable.
When the US takes a sneeze, the whole world is infected. If the US is really in a "mess", you can be sure you are sleeping in the streets. Esp since Singapore is Asia's most open and one of the world's most open economy. By that it means Singapore is almost totally reliant on trading and has nothing on/of its own.
Did I say that University of Vietnam or Koh Samui or Perak is good?! At least University of Vietnam and University of Koh Samui never boast all day long, pretending that they're Harvard or MIT.
bu zhi liang li
the power of USA is waning, wake up. now is the rise of Asia, especially China. ya its true that china is one third the size of US economy, but very soon it catches up and surpass the US in a decade. its not a question if it will happen, but when.
for all its ills, singapore has no natural resources. its only resources is its people. look at the resource rich country like africa or even Indonesia or Malaysia.
our local uni did not pretend they are on par with Ivy League, thats impossible based on history, culture and tradition, not to mention the winners of nobel prize for science and economics. Singapore has none.
winners of nobel prize for science and economics. Singapore has none.??
let just do some simple math.....
the chances of a nobel price winner is like 1 in 100 million....., which country had a higher chance? USA or singapore with only 5m max? ![]()
Originally posted by insidestory:That SG is an ex British colony has no bearing on the mediocrity of the 'graduates' that these degree mills turn out. The mediocrity is caused by the high intake, resulting in poor student quality. Don't blame the Brits - if you think any of the degree mills can be compared to Oxbridge, Imperial or LSE, you need a reality check.
you mean to say UK universities not of oxford or cambridge is churning out mass degree mills of useless grad? the same can be said of the USA, of non ivy league universities lol.
Originally posted by Rooney9:the power of USA is waning, wake up. now is the rise of Asia, especially China. ya its true that china is one third the size of US economy, but very soon it catches up and surpass the US in a decade. its not a question if it will happen, but when.
for all its ills, singapore has no natural resources. its only resources is its people. look at the resource rich country like africa or even Indonesia or Malaysia.
our local uni did not pretend they are on par with Ivy League, thats impossible based on history, culture and tradition, not to mention the winners of nobel prize for science and economics. Singapore has none.
Of cos China will catch up with the US due to its population size and foreign reserves. But it has not. For now and for at least another 15 years. Just because China will become a super power like the US in the distant future does not negate US's standing. Here's a clue for you.The US has been a super power since the late 1880s, but its power did not become so pronounced until it won the WWII and with that it surpassed the UK. Yet US's ascension did not stop Britain from remaining one of the world's super powers.
Second, the Chinese people are an extremely pragmatic and practical lot. They do not adopt an insular stance, unlike the French who staunchly refuse to speak the English language. Today as with the last 50 years, the Chinese diaspora have been furiously migrating. The mainland Chinese today also think nothing of learning the English language, because they think its the way.
Finally, and this is the most pertinent point. You seem to see the growth of China as your (SG) own, and used it to earn points against the US and for SG. Do you think China = SG? Hahahah. Of cos not. The Chinese are among the most cunning of people, even more so than the Americans, and there's no way they see themselves inferior to Singaporeans or even see Singapore as their equal. In fact they know they are superior.
So if you think you can ride on China's wave?...think again. We can, only as a benchwarmer. Using the power of another country to claim it's ours.. not logical at all.
Do you think just because China is powerful means its Singapore's credit that you'll bring it into this conversation? What a joke! What has X becoming as powerful as Y got to do with you? You are neither X nor Y!You wanna compare the kind of endowment we're talking about? Go and find out the endowment of US's top universities, before you return to try to use China to 'raise' the profile of yourself.
You're right to bring China in this conversation as we discuss the degree mills of SG. In the short time since China opened its economy, its universities have surpassed the rest to be Asia's top universities. Beijing, Fudan, Jiaotong are among Asia's best, with China's CIEB business school named the top (at post grad level of cos) business school of Asia, following which are Hong Kong University then Indian University of Technology.
In the short time in which they opened up their economy (since the 80s), China sent someone to the moon. What has Singapore achieved?
SG universities enjoy boasting and running lame ass and laughable marketing and promotional exercises in newspapers, bus stops, on TV and on buses..no Nobel laurate, no Putlitzer prize winner, no Booker prize winner. Why is this so? Must be the degree mills that churn out rubbish year after year.. all 18,000 pieces of them. hahaha
Its common knowledge lah. If the degree mills here were of any use, why would the Government send their top brains overseas? Duh.
I wonder why Harvard doesn't have to advertise at the bus stop in Massachusetts. Duh. No prizes for knowing.
Originally posted by insidestory:Of cos China will catch up with the US due to its population size and foreign reserves. But it has not. For now and for at least another 15 years. Just because China will become a super power like the US in the distant future does not negate US's standing. Here's a clue for you.The US was a super power, whose power did not become so pronounced until it won the WWII. US's ascencion did not stop Britain from remaining one of the world's super powers.
Second, the Chinese people are an extremely pragmatic and practical lot. They do not adopt an insular stance unlike the French who staunchly refuse to speak the English language. Today as with the last 50 years, the Chinese diaspora have been furiously migrating. The mainland Chinese today also think nothing of learning the English language, because they think its the way.
Finally, and this is the most pertinent point. You seem to see the growth of China as your (SG) own, and used it to earn points against the US and for SG. Do you think China = SG? Hahahah. Of cos not. The Chinese are among the most cunning of people, even more so than the Americans, and there's no way they see themselves inferior to Singaporeans or even see Singapore as their equal. In fact they know they are superior.
So if you think you can ride on China's wave?...think again. We can, only as a benchwarmer. I fully SG and hope it will improve, but using the power of another country to claim it's ours.. not logical at all.
Do you think just because China is powerful means its Singapore's credit that you'll bring it into this conversation? What a joke! What has X becoming as powerful as Y got to do with you? You are neither X nor Y!You wanna compare the kind of endowment we're talking about? Go and find out the endowment of US's top universities, before you return to try to use China to 'raise' the profile of yourself.
You're right to pose China in this conversation with discussing the degree mills of SG. In the short time since China opened its economy, its universities have surpassed the rest to be Asia's top universities. Beijing, Fudan, Jiaotong are among Asia's best, with China's CIEB business school named the top (at post grad level of cos) business school of Asia, following which are Hong Kong University then Indian University of Technology.
In the short time in which they opened up their economy (since the 80s), they have sent someone to the moon. What has Singapore achieved?
Its universities enjoy boasting and running lame ass and laughable marketing and promotional exercises in newspapers, bus stops, on TV and on buses..no Nobel laurate, no Putlitzer prize winner, no Booker prize winner. Why is this so? Must be the degree mills that churn out rubbish year after year.. all 18,000 pieces of them. hahaha
Its common knowledge lah. If the degree mills here were of any use, why would the Government send their top brains overseas? Duh.
I wonder why Harvard doesn't have to advertise at the bus stop in Cambridge, MA. Duh. No prizes for knowing.
look at california state of finances being bankrupted. governor none other than hollywood former actor. sure the US power is still igniting, but not for long. it is the world largest debtor nation in the world, owing to china owning US treasury at 2 Trillion dollars. like the british empire, its power will be waned and clipped for the next 50 years due to the present crisis. its the start of a superpower economic prowess affected by this whole mess. talk of being a socialist becoming a capitalist and a capitalist being a socialist suddenly lol.
then the universities of non ivy league how? you still either have no guts to reply to my earlier question on this. non ivy league uni producing tonnes of useless grads in the US and England then. dun compare the best uni lar. its like comparing between barcelona and newcastle utd. not all grads at ivy league are brilliant mind you. not all are nobel prize winner and certainly not all are putlizer winners.
Originally posted by Rooney9:you mean to say UK universities not of oxford or cambridge is churning out mass degree mills of useless grad? the same can be said of the USA, of non ivy league universities lol.
Where are you from?? Where have you been? Mars? A rock? Or.. just NUS? ![]()
UK has more than 10 top universities. out of over 40 universities. Australia? 60. The US? About 4,000 universities.
Have you heard of IC, LSE and UCL? I guess not. Bristol? Warwick?
Oxbridge, yes.
Even the pork seller in the market knows Harvard and Cambridge. So these deluded local undergrads go away thinking that they are second to Harvard and Cambridge.. not knwing whats happening in the world outside their little island. No wonder they are regularly termed frogs in the well.
The average results of ANY student in Imperial's course of average selectivity is better than the results of the most selective course of our degree mills. You need to have this thing called zhi zhi zhi ming, but it cannot be had without knowledge. So yes, first time ignorance..still pardonable..
Please find out more about the world here before you come and claim NUS (and the other degree mills) is very the good.
Obviously i'm not comparing our rubbish (degree) mills with no name schools in the west. Duh! Why would I go there?
The thing is, no one would laugh at them if they didn't think they're up there and can aspire to be the big boys. When you punch above your weight, don't cry foul when you get ridiculed. When the deans of top schools don't laugh into your face, it's because they're polite.
The reason local uni can never be a world beater, is because they are socially obliged to take in the masses of the population. This is their duty, their role, their function. They are state universities. They are the only ones in the country.
Therefore, there cannot be any 'top' university in Singapore. How to be, when that's all the universities you have?! Its like saying "I have a top son." when you have only one son. Thats how stupid it is. Really.
The intake of these degree mills is 18,000 a year. Compared to Ivy League private schools that charge an arm and a leg with endowment into the billions, taking in only 1,000 to 2,000 undergrads a year? Do you think you can be as selective as them?! If local undergrads weren't as dumb as people say they are, I think they can figure this one out.
There's a Chinese idiom, horse doesn't know face long. I think that sums up many local undergrads perfectly.
Originally posted by insidestory:Where are you from?? Where have you been? Mars? A rock? Or.. just NUS?
UK has more than 10 top universities. out of over 40 universities. Australia? 60. The US? About 4,000 universities.
Have you heard of IC, LSE and UCL? I guess not. Bristol? Warwick?
Oxbridge, yes.
Even the vegetable seller in the market knows Harvard and Cambridge. So these deluded local undergrads go away thinking that they are second to Harvard and Cambridge.. not knwing whats happening in the world outside their little island. No wonder they are regularly termed frogs in the well.
The average results of ANY student in Imperial's course of average selectivity is better than the results of the most selective course of our degree mills. You need to have this thing called zhi zhi zhi ming, but it cannot be had without knowledge. So yes, first time ignorance..still pardonable..
Please find out more about the world here before you come and claim NUS (and the other degree mills) is very the good.
Obviously i'm not comparing our rubbish (degree) mills with no name schools in the west. Duh! Why would I go there?
The thing is, no one would laugh at them if they didn't think they're up there and can aspire to be the big boys. When you punch above your weight, don't cry foul when you get ridiculed. When the deans of top schools don't laugh into your face, it's because they're polite.
The reason local uni can never be a world beater, is because they are socially obliged to take in the masses of the population. This is their duty, their role, their function. They are state universities. They are the only ones in the country.
Therefore, there cannot be any 'top' university in Singapore. How to be, when that's all the universities you have?! Its like saying "I have a top son." when you have only one son. Thats how stupid it is. Really.
The intake of these degree mills is 18,000 a year. Compared to Ivy League private schools that charge an arm and a leg with endowment into the billions, taking in only 1,000 to 2,000 undergrads a year? Do you think you can be as selective as them?! If local undergrads weren't as dumb as people say they are, I think they can figure this one out.
There's a Chinese idiom, horse doesn't know face long. I think that sums up many local undergrads perfectly.
eh get your facts right lar. UK has more than 40 uni, much more than that. Australia doesnt have up to 60 universities. you have no idea what you are talking.
Sim Wong Hoo, who is a diploma grad, owns all these grad from these ivy league. He started his own empire without educated at uni. those professors who are not nobel prize winners of economics, only teach at these uni, and how much are they earning? a mere 6 figure sums at the most, like the pay of the US president.
The power of the US might be waning...but they still have 11 nuclear powered aircraft carriers that are operational, each embarking more than 80 aircrafts.![]()
Originally posted by Rooney9:look at california state of finances being bankrupted. governor none other than hollywood former actor. sure the US power is still igniting, but not for long. it is the world largest debtor nation in the world, owing to china owning US treasury at 2 Trillion dollars. like the british empire, its power will be waned and clipped for the next 50 years due to the present crisis. its the start of a superpower economic prowess affected by this whole mess. talk of being a socialist becoming a capitalist and a capitalist being a socialist suddenly lol.
then the universities of non ivy league how? you still either have no guts to reply to my earlier question on this. non ivy league uni producing tonnes of useless grads in the US and England then. dun compare the best uni lar. its like comparing between barcelona and newcastle utd. not all grads at ivy league are brilliant mind you. not all are nobel prize winner and certainly not all are putlizer winners.
I have addressed your question above. You can take the time to read slowly. If you dun understand, read again. And again.
I have no interest in engaging the common universities of the west.
As I said earlier, but you fail to understand, the reason people ridicule degree mills is because they think they're one of the big boys. They have earned nothing and achieved nothing. So its truly funny for people in the know.
There can be no top university in Singapore. The concept of that is a logical impossibility. Because they are all state universities and there are only 3.
The reason why there are top universities in world powers, even France and Japan, is because they have MANY MANY universities.
In the US, there are Ivy Leagues, Chicago, MIT and Stanford - these are private colleges - because there are hundreds and thousands of universities that are NOT top, enabling the best to be top. How do you have something that is TOP, when you have only ONE (group) taking in EVERYONE in the population (as obliged)??!
The Singapore universities are at best on par with the low tier state (public) universities in the US, paling in comparison to TOP state universities like Berkeley in UC, UT and Wisconsin Madison. With the lower segment of rubbish in the SG universities eg NTU engineering, NUS arts, on par with the average Community College in the US.
Let's just say, even if Berkeley break wind, its smelly wind is superior and smarter than the valedictorian of the 3 degree mills hahaha.
Have you heard of Berkeley? Have you heard of the Manhattan Project that was led by a team of Berkeley scientists, with involvement of scientists from Chicago University and UIUC? Manhattan Project 'invented' the first Atomic Bomb in the world that won WW2 for the allies. Please.. go read up and find out what the world is like.. outside your TINY RED DOT; and come back to claim that your degree mills are 'world class' or produce trash or gold.
US power is driven partially by the achievements in academia and research of its elite institutions, which resulted in the success of its pop culture exports. China may rise, you have not PROVEN that the US will wane. Are you a soothsayer now??
Next, the social and economic might of a country is not the only variable to the success of its universities and vice versa. How do you convince us that even if US were to wane, which you cannot prove as anything beyond a wishful speculation on your part, it has any impact on the standing of its universities? Then why is Singapore so successful economically, but its universities so lousy then and which have achieved nothing??
That's because we sent our top brains overseas, rightfully so. To the best.
The US federal debt is a very old and longstanding thing that's happened since the early 1980s. Get with the programme!! Where have you been? It's not new!! I thought NUS was bad. I didn't know it was that bad.
The US has always adopted this fiscal policy, BY INTENTION. And the lovely and ingenious thing is, it never needs to pay the debt because with what they borrowed (which is how they, or people generally, haha, incur a debt), they are generating the world's economy. That's the beauty of it!!!!
Originally posted by Rooney9:
eh get your facts right lar. UK has more than 40 uni, much more than that. Australia doesnt have up to 60 universities. you have no idea what you are talking.
Sim Wong Hoo, who is a diploma grad, owns all these grad from these ivy league. He started his own empire without educated at uni. those professors who are not nobel prize winners of economics, only teach at these uni, and how much are they earning? a mere 6 figure sums at the most, like the pay of the US president.
You have no idea what you're talking about. I said the UK has more than 10 TOP universities. NOT THE UK HAS 10 UNIVERSITIES.
Farmer University didn't teach you how to read simple ABC English? How can you cannot read, understand simple English?
Even Ris Low could have gone there if she had gone for more tuition. hahaha.
Originally posted by Rooney9:
hello ah.. his share prices dropped to a few cents.. and his company is not doing too well. please get with the programme.
Singapore Ivy League grads do not join Creative.
They work in investment banks. Or consultancies. The best ones are bonded to the PSC.
You need to find out whats really happening out there in the universe instead of listening to misguided half-baked hearsay from your fellow frogs in the well talking in the school canteen..platitudes you hear like 'aiya study so hard we go NUS..so 'elite' for what huh..also work for self made boss like Sim Woo Hoo'..and you need to stop believing everything you hear and obediently repeating it all round. You need to..not be a regurgitator. Especially of crap.
One read of your rubbish I knew what its made of and see it for the rubbish platitude it is. Have you heard..u know.. u know.... hearsay about NS? Before you enlisted? you know.. you know..Boomz!!!
Originally posted by insidestory:
The US federal debt is a very old and longstanding thing that's happened since the early 1980s. Get with the programme!! Where have you been? It's not new!! I thought NUS was bad. I didn't know it was THAT BAD!!!
The US HAS always adopted this fiscal policy, BY INTENTION. And the lovely and ingenious thing is, it never needs to pay the debt because with what they borrowed (which is how they, or people generally, haha, incur a debt), they are generating the world's economy. That's the beauty of it!!!! WAKE UP!
I guffaw at your gibberish nonsense of adopting fiscal policy crap lol. I am truly amazed by your simpleton here, buy printing money is the way to solve its problems, marvelous. apparently you have no idea whats inflation is. go read up or enrol yourself in economics 101. the future generations of US citizens are going to pay for the reckless and ever imploding debt incurred in not one or two, but up to 4-5 generations. ya true the US was the locomotive of the world economy, but not now pal, better wake up your US dream. even the US dollars is on the down together with it's sister sterling pounds. you are still clinging on to your US can cure all the worlds ills. wakey wakey, the dream is over. no wonder the public is against the obama health care reforms, which will incur an extra trillion dollars for the next 10 years. capitalist becoming a socialist and a socialist proferring at capitalism, how ironic it is.
I have no wish to talk to you on uni cos you are basically comparing Real Madrib with ipswich. its like comparing ferrari with proton saga. no guesses who top the quality of the car, prices and brand. I am amazed you wrote all these long paragraphs just to compare the ivy league uni with our local uni lol. it doesnt take a rocket scientists to figure that out pal. any tom, dick and harry in the streets will be able to pinpoint to you which reign supreme.
Originally posted by Rooney9:look at california state of finances being bankrupted. governor none other than hollywood former actor. sure the US power is still igniting, but not for long. it is the world largest debtor nation in the world, owing to china owning US treasury at 2 Trillion dollars. like the british empire, its power will be waned and clipped for the next 50 years due to the present crisis. its the start of a superpower economic prowess affected by this whole mess. talk of being a socialist becoming a capitalist and a capitalist being a socialist suddenly lol.
It is this single, no-shame line of yours that single handedly describes why top graduates laugh at the local undergrads who have no sense of shame. Did I say EVERYONE in ivy league school is a nobel laurate? Don't be stupid. Thats like saying 18,000 people in Singapore every year become Harvard graduates! What a great analogy actually!
Why are the world top brains, the Nobel laurates there and not here? And what does this mean for the faculty and the people who make it to these places? Why the top brains are not doing their PhD here, getting their Nobels here, and teaching here? Who are they teaching? What does it mean to earn a place to be taught by a nobel laurate, and be educated in a place that produces them? What does it take to get that/there? Think. Use your brain. Analyse. Infer. These are alien words to a local grad. Sometimes I forget that.
You need to find out who are the people in Singapore who get into these places, HOW MANY people from Singapore get a place every year and what they are made of.
You have not earned your dues to say that and a remark like this from you makes only one person look stupid and that's you. And you definitely have no idea what you're dealing with.
Originally posted by insidestory:hello ah.. his share prices dropped to a few cents.. and his company is not doing too well. please get with the programme.
Singapore Ivy League grads do not join Creative.
They work in investment banks. Or consultancies. The best ones are bonded to the PSC.
You need to find out whats really happening out there in the universe instead of listening to misguided half-baked hearsay from your fellow frogs in the well talking in the school canteen..platitudes you hear like 'aiya study so hard we go NUS..so 'elite' for what huh..also work for self made boss like Sim Woo Hoo'..and you need to stop believing everything you hear and obediently repeating it all round. You need to..not be a regurgitator. Especially of crap.
One read of your rubbish I knew what its made of and see it for the rubbish platitude it is. Have you heard..u know.. u know.... hearsay about NS? Before you enlisted? you know.. you know..Boomz!!!
thats besides the point. he started an his empire from scratch, not those young punks who joined banks to enrich and sold his soul to the devil. being an entreprenuer and a successful one at it, beats being a banker, who only know how to enrich himself thru bank bonuses, paid for by the taxpayers.
even if his share prices and businesses dropped, he is still a multi millionaire and still the boss. you have sadly missed the point here.
those grads from ivy league are smart of course, for creating the structured products which warren buffet called financial weapons of mass destructions. how much do they pay you to extol their ivy league credentials? otherwise people would have thought the uni there paid you a stipends for promoting their eliteness here.
Originally posted by insidestory:It is this single, no-shame line of yours that single handedly describes why top graduates laugh at the local undergrads who have no sense of shame. Did I say EVERYONE in ivy league school is a nobel laurate? Don't be stupid. Thats like saying 18,000 people in Singapore every year become Harvard graduates! What a great analogy actually!
Why are the world top brains, the Nobel laurates are there and not here? And what does this mean for the faculty and the people who make it to these places? Why the top brains are not doing their PhD here, getting their Nobels here, and teaching here? Who are they teaching? What does it mean to earn a place to be taught by a nobel laurate, and be educated in a place that produces them? What does it take to get that/there? Think. Use your brain. Analyse. Infer. These are alien words to a local grad. Sometimes I forget that.
You need to find out who are the people in Singapore who get into these places, HOW MANY people from Singapore get a place every year and what they are made of.
You have not earned your dues to say that and a remark like this from you makes only one person look stupid and that's you. And you definitely have no idea what you're dealing with.
I am truly amazed at what you have written a few pages of nonsense, where I can write a sentence summarising what I meant.
it goes to show quality owns quantity anytime anywhere. its not what you wrote that counts, what counts is the quality of what you have written. not 1000 words of the same subject, whereby one sentence of less than 15 words can summarise what I want to mean. I wonder if your uni taught you otherwise, in that case, you never failed to amaze me with your EQ.
Originally posted by Rooney9:I guffaw at your gibberish nonsense of adopting fiscal policy crap lol. I am truly amazed by your simpleton here, buy printing money is the way to solve its problems, marvelous. apparently you have no idea whats inflation is. go read up or enrol yourself in economics 101. the future generations of US citizens are going to pay for the reckless and ever imploding debt incurred in not one or two, but up to 4-5 generations. ya true the US was the locomotive of the world economy, but not now pal, better wake up your US dream. even the US dollars is on the down together with it's sister sterling pounds. you are still clinging on to your US can cure all the worlds ills. wakey wakey, the dream is over. no wonder the public is against the obama health care reforms, which will incur an extra trillion dollars for the next 10 years. capitalist becoming a socialist and a socialist proferring at capitalism, how ironic it is.
I know what inflation is. No worries there. Save the tuition for your 'juniors'. I never said that it was the way to world peace and paradise on earth. Your farmer school didn't teach you how to read, i forgot.
I said. 1) there is nothing its creditors can do. And I explained to you why.
2) I said I see the beauty of it. Like how we appreciate Tarantino movies you know. It's kinda gory. And the deft and artful way of its strokes still capture your attention and admiration. At least mine. Well, I did say thats the beauty of it. TO ME!
3) I said its been happening for a long time already. Wayyyy before the latest global financial crisis.
So you really can't convince anyone least of all me, that the federal debt is going to decline the United States. Please.. In fact, the Great Depression of the 1920s certainly didn't do it. I'd love to see you prove your tenuous, contrived and belaboured agenda in connecting the dots of the financial meltdown to your mumbo jumbo.
You need to stop pumping your ego with China or thinking that SG can become the next US. Hahaha.
Originally posted by Rooney9:those grads from ivy league are smart of course, for creating the structured products which warren buffet called financial weapons of mass destructions. how much do they pay you to extol their ivy league credentials? otherwise people would have thought the uni there paid you a stipends for promoting their eliteness here.
They created these structured products blah blah and now they are rich.
What have you created?
That NTU paper hanging on your wall proudly doesn't count hahaha.
Originally posted by Rooney9:you mean to say UK universities not of oxford or cambridge is churning out mass degree mills of useless grad? the same can be said of the USA, of non ivy league universities lol.
Ok. no talk Ivy League. You know where you stand. if you think any of the degree mills can be compared to Oxbridge, Imperial or LSE, Warwick, blah blah, Bristol, even ANU, or Melbourne U, you need to wake up..
there are actually Singapore supposed graduates I meet who studied social sciences, who don't know the difference between a politician and a civil servant. That a perm sec is non partisan. They don't even know what's partisan and never heard of the word. lol. oh my freaking gawd..
Originally posted by Rooney9:thats besides the point. he started an his empire from scratch, not those young punks who joined banks to enrich and sold his soul to the devil. being an entreprenuer and a successful one at it, beats being a banker, who only know how to enrich himself thru bank bonuses, paid for by the taxpayers.
even if his share prices and businesses dropped, he is still a multi millionaire and still the boss. you have sadly missed the point here.
those grads from ivy league are smart of course, for creating the structured products which warren buffet called financial weapons of mass destructions. how much do they pay you to extol their ivy league credentials? otherwise people would have thought the uni there paid you a stipends for promoting their eliteness here.
i'm not so sure Sim's still a multi millionaire. Do read the news.
For every one diploma holder who "didn't go to university" at all like Sim who became an entrepreneur with some measure of success, no doubt in this case, a has-been, there are billions more from the Europe, US and parts of Asia that went to elite schools.
There are far more entrepreneurs who enrolled or graduated from elite colleges like Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg and Bill Gates and Steve Jobs and Warren Buffett and Donald Trump, George Soros and Jim Rogers (who lives in SG now because of our lovely country) and even locally, the Lee Foundation's Lee Seng Gee who attended Penn even though he's now in his 80s and that was almost 60 years ago, when Asian students in the western elite colleges were few and far between. Today, tycoons here from the Khoos, Kwoks and Kwees to Banyan Tree's Ho Kwon Peng (despite being the 'chancellor' of SMU, LOL!) send their children overseas ONLY.
Top colleges do not only produce investment bankers and government scholars, heirs and heiresses or Prince William. Please don't depend on hearsay from the water cooler under your rock as your primary source of knowledge. Wah.. ivy league. Investment bank. scholar. Can ONLY be investment banker. govt scholar. YES. All cats are black.
Is IC Oxbridge? I have 'no guts' to answer you or you have no zhi zhi zhi ming?
Do you know Stanford is not Ivy League? I know a lot of NUS people think it is LOL. What about MIT? Chicago? Northwestern? UIUC? Carnegie Mellon? Berkeley?
The day NUS produces a list like this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Imperial_College_London_people or this, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_University_of_Chicago_people
both NON Ivy League and NON Oxbridge, I will tell you I've no guts to tell you NON Ivy League and NON Oxbridge colleges are "just like" NUS. Dream on.
There are many many more schools. This is just the tip of the iceberg.