Hi everyone , a happy lunar new year to all. I am in a dilemma and I am writing this to hear of any advices or opinions. Sorry to dampen everyone’s festive spirit.
My present job is my first one upon ORD from NS. My position is a logistics assistant , it was an entry-level job. About 3 years ago , upon 2.5 months of job searching, I decided to settle for this job. Over the past years and months , I have done nothing except physical work and little paper work. I have little time and chance to do shipping documentation. And over 2.5 years , I have searched thru newspapers and online jobsites for other suitable jobs, other than in logistics jobs. Lacking in experience , I have great difficulty advancing or forging a new path.
Recently, I managed to get a job offer , however the pay is $200 lower than my current pay. They state that they are only able to offer that amount since I do not have the necessary exp in a third-party logistics company. The position is ‘ Logistics Coordinator ‘. Out of impatience and desperation , I took up the offer. I submitted my resignation letter and suddenly, there are many people looking for me , my managers , supervisor and HR. One of the management approached me and said he has me in mind when he is going to lead a SAP committee. The company is going to have SAP , instead of the much inefficient software system. He hoped that I can stay and help him , meanwhile HR will keep a lookout for possible internal transfer if there is a suitable vacancy. Stay on means that I will have to risk waste my time doing physical work , not much value-add to my working exp. My manager felt that I am short-changed from the new job offer and it wont add much value to my resume. Also , salary hard to ‘ climb back ‘ from the new job.
I am in a dilemma if I should took up the new job or continue in my present job , bidding my time to find a job that can match to my current pay ( $1600), $1800 with OT. I try to save up as much as I can.When I first joined this company, thought of leaving after gaining 2 years’ of working experience for a higher pay . Now 2.5 years later , I have difficulty in finding a higher pay or a same pay. I flunked my A’ level and has a private diploma in business. Just pass my birthday , I am 27 this year.
Haiz……… Need to find a reply after CNY . Don’t know what to do. Hope to hear from other forumners.
Coolsecret
go do sales. sales can earn a lot if you are good in sales.
Originally posted by Rooney9:go do sales. sales can earn a lot if you are good in sales.
Hi , thanks for replying. My company is selling technical products and I am not a technical person.
Originally posted by Rooney9:go do sales. sales can earn a lot if you are good in sales.
Have you already left your present company to do a sales job?
coolsecret,
I think it's best you stay on with your current company and see what they have to offer for your career path.
Switching job right now is not going to do you any good considering your current qualification anyway.
You need to start going to courses in logistics to upgrade. Get the certification, diploma, degree and masters.. all these are available in Singapore.
Check with your HR to see which courses are relevant to your work. Just because you have no opportunity to do documentation in your current job scope does not means you cannot take up EDI classes.
You can perhaps negotiate with your current company for them to help you pay for these upgrading.
Hands-on and/or on-site experiences are highly valuable in the logistics industry.
So work hard and work smart... going lateral is also good to expand your logistics knowledge and make you a more valuable worker in your company.
SAP experience is well sought after. So do what you can to get onto the SAP team.
Good luck.
Originally posted by Coolsecret:Hi everyone , a happy lunar new year to all. I am in a dilemma and I am writing this to hear of any advices or opinions. Sorry to dampen everyone’s festive spirit.
My present job is my first one upon ORD from NS. My position is a logistics assistant , it was an entry-level job. About 3 years ago , upon 2.5 months of job searching, I decided to settle for this job. Over the past years and months , I have done nothing except physical work and little paper work. I have little time and chance to do shipping documentation. And over 2.5 years , I have searched thru newspapers and online jobsites for other suitable jobs, other than in logistics jobs. Lacking in experience , I have great difficulty advancing or forging a new path.
Recently, I managed to get a job offer , however the pay is $200 lower than my current pay. They state that they are only able to offer that amount since I do not have the necessary exp in a third-party logistics company. The position is ‘ Logistics Coordinator ‘. Out of impatience and desperation , I took up the offer. I submitted my resignation letter and suddenly, there are many people looking for me , my managers , supervisor and HR. One of the management approached me and said he has me in mind when he is going to lead a SAP committee. The company is going to have SAP , instead of the much inefficient software system. He hoped that I can stay and help him , meanwhile HR will keep a lookout for possible internal transfer if there is a suitable vacancy. Stay on means that I will have to risk waste my time doing physical work , not much value-add to my working exp. My manager felt that I am short-changed from the new job offer and it wont add much value to my resume. Also , salary hard to ‘ climb back ‘ from the new job.
I am in a dilemma if I should took up the new job or continue in my present job , bidding my time to find a job that can match to my current pay ( $1600), $1800 with OT. I try to save up as much as I can.When I first joined this company, thought of leaving after gaining 2 years’ of working experience for a higher pay . Now 2.5 years later , I have difficulty in finding a higher pay or a same pay. I flunked my A’ level and has a private diploma in business. Just pass my birthday , I am 27 this year.
Haiz……… Need to find a reply after CNY . Don’t know what to do. Hope to hear from other forumners.
Coolsecret
Stay on the job for the time being. If you want to increase your chances of landing a better job, now will be a good time to take up a part time degree with your diploma.
Coolsecret,
I would recomend you Not to change job at this time. Remain as a Shipper and take up the additional scope the management has to offer. Singapore has a longer career period because of small economy but it is good exposure to look at solution from a product perspective. (you may not understand now but as your responsibilities grow.)
Once your Company implement SAP, you will need to be there to map certain operation processes and that experience is something you go thru rather than study. and if they provide training on SAP module its free training for you it make worth staying....
3PL in Singapore has limited scoped for your current level. Once you entered you are equally stuck in that position. You will be squeez till the last drop in a 3PL. and very soon you will burned out. Also to note if your 3PL is just some medicore you learned nothing.....
good luck.
Originally posted by jojobeach:coolsecret,
I think it's best you stay on with your current company and see what they have to offer for your career path.
Switching job right now is not going to do you any good considering your current qualification anyway.
You need to start going to courses in logistics to upgrade. Get the certification, diploma, degree and masters.. all these are available in Singapore.
Check with your HR to see which courses are relevant to your work. Just because you have no opportunity to do documentation in your current job scope does not means you cannot take up EDI classes.
You can perhaps negotiate with your current company for them to help you pay for these upgrading.
Hands-on and/or on-site experiences are highly valuable in the logistics industry.
So work hard and work smart... going lateral is also good to expand your logistics knowledge and make you a more valuable worker in your company.
SAP experience is well sought after. So do what you can to get onto the SAP team.
Good luck.
Hi jojo, thanks for replying. My weakness of my working experience is that I only do pick and pack for shipment. It doesnt help in my job hunting for higher paying job.
My company is willing to subsidise for courses relevant to work through SPUR programme. I did not sign up for it last September as I plan to resign this year.
One of the management offered me to be in a workgroup( logistics module) of the SAP commitee.It can be a valuable exp like an extra-curricular activity, but It does not enable me to do main logistical work like , preparing import and export documentations , generating delivery orders, coordination or any other duties of a logistician. I am doing 100 % physical work.
About 1.5 year ago , they gave me the reason that I do not have a tabel and a PC cos' my job is maily physical. When I submitted my resignation letter , they told me that they are preparing to implement SAP , thus they think it is pointless for me to touch the current system, I can accept this but what about after the implementation of the SAP , it takes time to fine-tune the system. They told me they will see how then. No matter how good the system is , someone still has to do the physical work. I dread the idea of still having the same level of skills and knowledge after 1 - 2 years later. Age older liao, still got little working experience.
Budd, thanks for your advice , I will consider them seriously. I thought by not resigning , I will have more time to better position myself and to look for a better job. I dont feel good having a paycut in my new job.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:Coolsecret,
I would recomend you Not to change job at this time. Remain as a Shipper and take up the additional scope the management has to offer. Singapore has a longer career period because of small economy but it is good exposure to look at solution from a product perspective. (you may not understand now but as your responsibilities grow.)
Once your Company implement SAP, you will need to be there to map certain operation processes and that experience is something you go thru rather than study. and if they provide training on SAP module its free training for you it make worth staying....
3PL in Singapore has limited scoped for your current level. Once you entered you are equally stuck in that position. You will be squeez till the last drop in a 3PL. and very soon you will burned out. Also to note if your 3PL is just some medicore you learned nothing.....
good luck.
Hi Arapahoe , are you in the logistics industry now or before ? You do give sound advice and show me me the scenario of the 3PL in Spore.
Originally posted by Coolsecret:Hi Arapahoe , are you in the logistics industry now or before ? You do give sound advice and show me me the scenario of the 3PL in Spore.
I have been in this line for 15 yrs now. Have moved between 3PL and shipper. But it is not easy to transit between. So think before you move.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:
I have been in this line for 15 yrs now. Have moved between 3PL and shipper. But it is not easy to transit between. So think before you move.
Thank you for your advice Sir.
Originally posted by Coolsecret:Hi everyone , a happy lunar new year to all. I am in a dilemma and I am writing this to hear of any advices or opinions. Sorry to dampen everyone’s festive spirit.
Coolsecret
I think the fact that your managers bothered to chat you and try and get you to stay says alot about what they think about your work.
Well done on that and keep it up :)
I will agree with Araphoe however for a different reason (I have no clue about logistics) your current job pays more + your employers think highly of you (which means job satisfaction) and because you told them another company wants you they know they will need to in the near future "reward your hard work" and perhaps give u .... erm...abit more paper work? Don't understand this part I hate paper work.... I prefer to do manual labor.
Kind Regards
Genie
Originally posted by Genie99a:I think the fact that your managers bothered to chat you and try and get you to stay says alot about what they think about your work.
Well done on that and keep it up :)
I will agree with Araphoe however for a different reason (I have no clue about logistics) your current job pays more + your employers think highly of you (which means job satisfaction) and because you told them another company wants you they know they will need to in the near future "reward your hard work" and perhaps give u .... erm...abit more paper work? Don't understand this part I hate paper work.... I prefer to do manual labor.
Kind Regards
Genie
I wouldnt bet that things would get better for me. That is just the scenario. If I resign , the manpower shortage issue would start to get severe. The senior colleagues are able to command a higher pay if they start searching for one. They have intention to change job but are still in their comfort zone.
One cannot bet on doing purely physical work to become an independent or a full-fledged logistician , this applies to any position in any industry. An apprentice cannot keep washing plates or cleaning the kitchen. There must be a time frame to it. This is important to anyone who is serious in career and want to excel in it. For me , I have already been doing it for more than 2 years. I am thinking of whether to pursue a 3 yr degree or a less than 2 yr degree. Need to start working on pursuing a higher qualification and to ' hunt ' in the same time. I am lagging too far behind.
Coolsecret
Originally posted by Coolsecret:
I wouldnt bet that things would get better for me. That is just the scenario. If I resign , the manpower shortage issue would start to get severe. The senior colleagues are able to command a higher pay if they start searching for one. They have intention to change job but are still in their comfort zone.
One cannot bet on doing purely physical work to become an independent or a full-fledged logistician , this applies to any position in any industry. An apprentice cannot keep washing plates or cleaning the kitchen. There must be a time frame to it. This is important to anyone who is serious in career and want to excel in it. For me , I have already been doing it for more than 2 years. I am thinking of whether to pursue a 3 yr degree or a less than 2 yr degree. Need to start working on pursuing a higher qualification and to ' hunt ' in the same time. I am lagging too far behind.
Coolsecret
Since that is what you want, then go for it. However, make sure you secure a place in one of the unis (local or private) first before you actually resign.
For now, start saving up, as tertiary education doesn't come cheap. Otherwise you will have to work part-time, which I won't advise for you to do so.
Anyway, since you are thinking of getting a degree to better your future career prospects, work hard and aiming for higher honours.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Since that is what you want, then go for it. However, make sure you secure a place in one of the unis (local or private) first before you actually resign.
For now, start saving up, as tertiary education doesn't come cheap. Otherwise you will have to work part-time, which I won't advise for you to do so.
Anyway, since you are thinking of getting a degree to better your future career prospects, work hard and aiming for higher honours.
I will resign only when i find another job. I will not work part-time.
Do you suggest me going for the private 3 year degree course ( MDIS ) or those less than 2 year degree course ( APMI Kaplan ) ?
No offence , I have a few colleagues having a private degree in engineering( finish less than 2-3 years) and they are having a graduate 's salary. I have another friend studying IT full-time in SIM in a year , his starting pay is already $2400.
Anyone is free to share what they hear or see based on this kind of phenomenon ?
Coolsecret
My ex company wanted to implement SAP. They keep on hyping about that. 3 years later they still haven't done it. And in the fourth year, they suddenly announce they didn't want to implement SAP because the HQ company in Europe suffered major losses due to the sub prime.
Bottom line is if you want to stay, don't do it because of the SAP. You should stay. It is not worth after 3 years, to have a $200 pay cut. Your salary should be higher. Perhaps you should plan to stay for another, say 1 more year or so- while discreetly apply for jobs (don't take too many leaves for job interviews or else your employer would surely suspect and that would dent your chances of staying). Attend like one interview every 4 months - to check out the market. Apply carefully - look at the job adverts, look at the job specs, the salary range, the working hourse, etc. If it suits you, apply. See your luck.
Alternatively, work long term but go and study part time. Look for a part time bachelor course in logistics. Do twinning. By the way, I am not singaporean so i am not sure if you could withdraw your CPF to study at a local institution. At this stage no point hopping jobs if your qualification is not high.
I am inside logistic too, except i am doing documentation and little manual unlike urs. Actually logistic jobs doing documentation should be easily availble since your current salary is not really that high When i go to website like jobstreet, those forwarders/carriers are always recruiting for new people. So maybe hor, u must find tune ur resume, and also improve ur image if u dun look professional. My point is, if i look for new job, i will only leave for 20% pay rise, and not a 10% pay cut 1.6k already quite little liao, for diploma level, if cut until 1.4k, u eat grass liao man
Originally posted by pierre^^:I am inside logistic too, except i am doing documentation and little manual unlike urs. Actually logistic jobs doing documentation should be easily availble since your current salary is not really that high When i go to website like jobstreet, those forwarders/carriers are always recruiting for new people. So maybe hor, u must find tune ur resume, and also improve ur image if u dun look professional. My point is, if i look for new job, i will only leave for 20% pay rise, and not a 10% pay cut 1.6k already quite little liao, for diploma level, if cut until 1.4k, u eat grass liao man
The standard requirement is always something like O' level. 1-2 years experience or dip in logistics management or supply chain.
I think I have tried it in the past but no success. The 1-2 experience is the 'killer' . No relevant exp risk being offered a low pay. With my current qualification , ie. a private dip in business. I plan to take up a business degree.
I think I should apply job carefully and start to heed your advice. I know stuff like RTV , RMA , DO , DOC and other logistics duties. I actually know how to do them , just that I wrote it in a manual and rarely do i have the chance to practise. To be frank , logistics duties are not really difficult.
What I plan is to start furthering my studies and to look for suitable job at the same time.
Coolsecret
Come to malaysia to study lah. Very cheap cheap - food cheap, rental cheap. Half your exchange rate. There is nottingham university and monash university in mainland. curtin and swinburne university in east malaysia. You can do full time. Check out the websites.
Originally posted by Durian_bananas:Come to malaysia to study lah. Very cheap cheap - food cheap, rental cheap. Half your exchange rate. There is nottingham university and monash university in mainland. curtin and swinburne university in east malaysia. You can do full time. Check out the websites.
Eh ! I am working full-time wor.
u would need a recognized degree and brush up on resume and interview skills...
build up yr qualifications first and know what field you want to be...at the same time keep sending excellent resumes to all sources...one good one is monster...
i see you as a brother like i was previously when i just ord and i know how that feels...no worry u still have time but u must try to get degree before 30....no matter what happens...
and dun let women problems come in between your career at this stage...u can play them but put yr career first
cheers
Yr Sincere Bro
Coolsecret
If you're a girl and your bf didn't appreciate you when you were together with him in the past, but he only showed remorse and regret only when you decided to dump him for a better guy. Would you have believe him and stay at his side?
Same thing, if your company truly appreciates you as an employee, why did they only showed appreciation for you when you have decided to leave?
The morale of the story is, people will lie their way to hell just because they realised that they cannot do anything without you. If you leave your bf, he will be lost and got nobody to "那个" already. If you left your company, then who is going to take over your job and responsibilities in a short notice for peanuts? Even monkeys also don't want to do your job if your company pays them $$$$ amount worth in peanuts.
You don't have to settle for the lower paying new job, but you must not be self-satisfied and act like a loser to crawl back to your old company because your management rubbed you in the way that makes you happy.
Remember! You have decided to leave this company for very good reasons!!
Find a company who is willing to pay you better and leave this old company.
If you don't move on when you can, are you waiting for the company to move on and fire you when they have no further use of your services?
People aren't in management positions by accident! They were there because they have the experience to deal with weak and innocent employees like you.
Please think about why you need to work in the first place! Is it because you want to do charity and play goodwill for your company? Or Is it because you needed money and do well in your own career?
Learn how to think for yourself and not let other people think on your behalf. ![]()
Please remember that work environment is different from a BGR.
In the working world... everything is a BUSINESS TRANSACTION, letting emotions/feelings dictate your career is the biggest mistake anyone can make.
Learn the art of negotiations. And understand that every valuable employee has a BARGAINING CHIP, put it to good and tactful use and you will rise above others who don't.
YOU create your OWN career path. No company will do that for you.
Originally posted by Coolsecret:I submitted my resignation letter and suddenly, there are many people looking for me , my managers , supervisor and HR.
At face value, it seems that they were only interested in talking to you once they knew you were leaving. In your place, I'd be wondering why they weren't interested prior to this point.
Originally posted by Coolsecret:One of the management approached me and said he has me in mind when he is going to lead a SAP committee. The company is going to have SAP , instead of the much inefficient software system. He hoped that I can stay and help him , meanwhile HR will keep a lookout for possible internal transfer if there is a suitable vacancy.
To be blunt, talk is cheap - after all, he could hope that you become the CEO, but does that mean anything? After you reject the other job, what's to say that he won't do a 180 and say, "Ah well, he's staying so we'll leave him where he is"?
This manager needs to put his money where his mouth is. If he's serious about this SAP offer, he won't have a problem offering you a new employment contract that specifies that your job is to work on SAP, and no longer to do the physical work. Until such time that the new contract is signed both by you and him (or whoever ratifies the contract for the company), stick with the plan to move to the other company.