i think all of our workplace will have this particular "gossip monger" who likes to add salt and pepper to situations and then spread untrue rumors around the office... but now i would like to ask for my wife's case, can i sue?
for your info; my wife works at a polyclinic and she's a nurse.
apparently, this gossip monger has told people in the polyclinic that my wife is having an affair with a fellow colleague, a doctor to be exact which is entirely not true. before you ask why is it not possible; facts:
1) i send my wife to work everyday
2) i have lunch with her everyday
3) i pick her up from work everyday
4) i know the doctor before i even know my wife
5) everyone in the polyclinic knows me and if something really did happen, i am the first to know.
6) this gossip monger is well known to create trouble, this is not the first time and my wife is not the first victim. frankly, 99% of staff who works there long enough knows her "pattern"
7) the doctor is well known to be a workaholic, he starts early and he ends late... he is still in office even when my wife is home after work.
8) he is married and he has a girl whom we all know he loves dearly
9) he is my "personal" doctor. afterall he is the one who diagnosed me to have inherited diabetes. we are like friends for a long time before i even met my wife.
of course there is still possibility for the "affair" to happen but if my wife has told everyone in the family about the accusation and my parents and my in-laws have vowed to give support in confronting the gossip monger in the even the gossip goes out of hand, assured me that she is innocent. who will tell their own parents of their guilt if they are really guilty?
now the real joke is she claimed that she caught them standing quite close in front of a computer typing and discussing work and now; how she relate that to adultery is quite a mystery to me. however, she is telling everyone at work in her private time that my wife is having an affair with the doctor. fortunately, no one at work place believes her. i show my face there everyday but i feel that she could not be let off so easily. she is indirectly making me like a cuckold... sending my wife to her accused lover everday?
somehow this is stressing my wife out and i'm about to find a "hitman" to settle her but i think legal actions should be sought out first before using illegal means...
so now i would like to ask; should i sue?
sure if u got the money to hire lawyer
maybe should change to "should i sue?"
Technically, under Singapore Law, you can sue that *insert person name* for slander under defamation(like what LKY did to his political opponents).
If there was any written evidence of what that person did, that would be considered under libel.
I urge you to sue.
but got money or not first? even if u have the money, would you want to spend tens of thousands of dollars to sue?
Originally posted by novelltie:i think all of our workplace will have this particular "gossip monger" who likes to add salt and pepper to situations and then spread untrue rumors around the office... but now i would like to ask for my wife's case, can i sue?
apparently, this gossip monger has told people in the polyclinic that my wife is having an affair with a fellow colleague, a doctor to be exact which is entirely not true. before you ask why is it not possible; facts:
5) everyone in the polyclinic knows me and if something really did happen, i am the first to know.
6) this gossip monger is well known to create trouble, this is not the first time and my wife is not the first victim. frankly, 99% of staff who works there long enough knows her "pattern"
7) the doctor is well known to be a workaholic, he starts early and he ends late... he is still in office even when my wife is home after work.
9) he is my "personal" doctor. afterall he is the one who diagnosed me to have inherited diabetes. we are like friends for a long time before i even met my wife.
of course there is still possibility for the "affair" to happen but if my wife has told everyone in the family about the accusation and my parents and my in-laws have vowed to give support in confronting the gossip monger in the even the gossip goes out of hand, assured me that she is innocent. who will tell their own parents of their guilt if they are really guilty?
now the real joke is she claimed that she caught them standing quite close in front of a computer typing and discussing work and now; how she relate that to adultery is quite a mystery to me. however, she is telling everyone at work in her private time that my wife is having an affair with the doctor. fortunately, no one at work place believes her. i show my face there everyday but i feel that she could not be let off so easily. she is indirectly making me like a cuckold... sending my wife to her accused lover everday?
somehow this is stressing my wife out and i'm about to find a "hitman" to settle her but i think legal actions should be sought out first before using illegal means...
No, you cannot.
You have to understand that some people are free, have nothing to do. So they start gossiping. But pity them out of boredom, they create topics of interest to entertain themselves. Just dont bother about these people. I am sure you are not that free. As long as you believe in yourself and your wife why bother. let them be, they will get bored soon and they will change topic soon.
There is no statutes I remember you can charged the person on.
http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/ < - you can search yourself.
Originally posted by Lokey:There is no statutes I remember you can charged the person on.
http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/ < - you can search yourself.
Can.
Slander. If there is any written evidence, it becomes libel.
Slander of women.
4. Words
spoken and published which impute unchastity or adultery to any
woman or girl shall not require special damage to render them
actionable.
-_-"
Why don't you just confront that idiot and tell her to shut her bloody trap?
It's faster, easier and cheaper!
Or if you're more despicable...you can do the same thing and spread rumors about her keeping a toy boy outside
I'm sure people will believe you :P
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Slander of women.
4. Words spoken and published which impute unchastity or adultery to any woman or girl shall not require special damage to render them actionable.
spoken...maybe...published...I presume not.
TS, just PM her name and contact number and prefeably her home address too.
I help you to settle her.
Sue useless la..
Follow her home when near her house and nobody around, use guni bag cover her head and use a stick to bash her up..
I bet she will shut up after that. ![]()
can send a demand or a warning letter through your lawyer, used to be $100...just state you are aware of her starting the rumour and it she persists, you might decide to sue for libel or bringing disrepute to your wife...
Before you take legal actions.
confront her...get her to explain to you her motives.
I think she just needs a good f**k
Are you not a Singaporean?
You don't know about defamation suits?
Firstly you must ask, is the reputatiion of your wife damaged.
Is the reputation of your wife attacked?
If yes, go see a lawyer, and file the charges.
Erm... normally people would choose to ignore... I mean how far can a slander go? If you feel that you want to spends good money on the lawsuit, go ahead... and if so, make sure that the colleagues are willing to testify for your wife that the episode is true...
Of course there would be compensation if you win but then... is she that well off to give? I dun think that the lawsuit is feasible if you stand to lose financially...
one thing you've to be sure.
trust your wife.
Originally posted by novelltie:i think all of our workplace will have this particular "gossip monger" who likes to add salt and pepper to situations and then spread untrue rumors around the office... but now i would like to ask for my wife's case, can i sue?
Confront that loud mouth first, and shut her gap. If she continues her actions, then you may consider taking further actions
I think you should mediate the problem first.
Filing a civil lawsuit is easy lah.
But don't you think it will create more stress to your wife at the work place ?
Shouldn't your wife be complaining to her boss first ? Surely the company she works for would really appreciate if your wife goes through proper grievance procedures before she files the lawsuit. As it will also make the company look bad when this one hits the courtroom.
And why the doctor never say anything to refute the accusation ?
Sometimes I wonder, is silence an acceptance of what's happening ?
Ur wife diam diam.. the doctor also diam diam... quite unusual isn't it ?
she needs an ang moh bf to husband to get out of this shithole mah...just give her the 'big cock' to shut up..![]()
can sue but even if you win the case, you will still 输 a lot of money ie the damages money will be very little as your wife and you are not of prominent people like a public figure eg a minister or rich businessmen or professionals like doctors, lawyers, bankers. So the little damage money cannot even cover the legal fees and the court fees (It is not true that you win the case and the losing party will pay all your legal fee, court fee and the damages money). Hence, you win the case but still 输 a lot money. But of course, you get the reputation back but at the expense of spending a lot money.
So, you consider whether is it worth it lor.
Always I see the focus is on what the other had done.
Its like " OH! you say this and you say that about me, I will sue you.
But wait, before you go see the lawyer.
Always ask yourself what damage or injury has the other done to you in relation to your circle of contacts and friends, such that you lose your standing among them.
Therefore telling a business man he is a crook to his face will not get you a defamation suit. But saying he is a crook to his business circle and all in the industry connected to him will get you one. The only defence is that you can prove that he is indeed a crook.
Hard. Must take down his/her words into a voice recorder, get a lawyer to sue. Probably costs you $20,000-$30,000 just to get back a positive judgement, say $5,000 in compensation damages? And if you lose, probably you pay $20,000-$30,000 for nothing?