must ask for punitive damages too...
anyway, TS, if your words are worth its salt, go sue. Seriously.
It constitutes as defamation under slander. u just need two witnesses to back you up.
n preferably your wife should be the one who sues, not you.
it helps as it is her character that is being questioned by that person who is accusing her of a relationship with that doctor.
Originally posted by jojobeach:I think you should mediate the problem first.
Filing a civil lawsuit is easy lah.
But don't you think it will create more stress to your wife at the work place ?
Shouldn't your wife be complaining to her boss first ? Surely the company she works for would really appreciate if your wife goes through proper grievance procedures before she files the lawsuit. As it will also make the company look bad when this one hits the courtroom.
And why the doctor never say anything to refute the accusation ?
Sometimes I wonder, is silence an acceptance of what's happening ?
Ur wife diam diam.. the doctor also diam diam... quite unusual isn't it ?
in a polyclinic setting, the interaction between nurses and doctors are actually very minimal. there is no longer a need for a nurse to be in the room while a patient consults the doctor so in fact, the gossip has not reached the doctors' ears yet. it circulates mainly around the nurses and staffs... anyway, as i've mentioned; the doctor is so busy, he is practically daft about it.
by the way, just last month the head of the polyclinic called a meeting and lectured all the nurses to stop gossiping among themselves the workflow of the doctors. apparently, it was the same nurse that started gossips that some doctor has lesser cases and sowed discord among the doctors.
my wife is not silent about it but we agreed that we need "concrete" proof of the slander. we know even if we confront her now, she will just deny it all. she is famous for denying and will cry that we malign her... saying we are out to bully her and she is the head of nurses' blue eye girl,' a pet so we will be quite screwed if we do not take her down totally...
Originally posted by kengkia:she needs an ang moh bf to husband to get out of this shithole mah...just give her the 'big cock' to shut up..
she is married with 2 kids... but whether her husband got "give it" to her is a mystery to me.
this is quite sad huh? spend thousands just to get a "fair" judgement...
maybe should just hire a hitman to settle her mouth. i don't want her life but just to teach her a good lesson.
frankly, if i do not know my wife and trust her enough, this would probably cause a strain in our marriage. i mean a gossip meant to destroy a person's reputation and relationship is very "sinful" indeed. my wife could only think it's because my wife was chosen for a company's debate and the gossip monger wasn't. she is trying to hurt my wife's standing in the company by starting this gossip.
i forgot to mentioned; actually the head of the nurses caught a whiff of it and did consult another senior staff about it but it was quite apparent it is untrue. the doctor is well known to be a workaholic. come in early, go home late... my wife is well known to be sticky to me even in the polyclinic when i send her to work. she will hold my hand as i walk her up to their meeting room every morning for briefing. it is pretty obvious if she is indeed having an affair, she would ask me to drop her off and walk in herself right?
i trust my wife because of our history together. we had to fight obstacles to be finally together. we fought my bankruptcy, closure of my company, her mother, my father, her family relatives, medical issues before finally getting married... in fact, i'm indebted to her for standing by me when i'm penniless... how many will stand by you when you are broke and had to literally pay the debts for you...
bitch! i won't let you off so easily!
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:must ask for punitive damages too...
anyway, TS, if your words are worth its salt, go sue. Seriously.
It constitutes as defamation under slander. u just need two witnesses to back you up.
n preferably your wife should be the one who sues, not you.
it helps as it is her character that is being questioned by that person who is accusing her of a relationship with that doctor.
Difficult to sue for punitive damages in defamation case.
Minor defamation cases will usually get damages money $5,000 to $10,000.
What if....
its TRUE !
lol..
Can u handle the jandal !
Originally posted by BadzMaro:What if....
its TRUE !
lol..
Can u handle the jandal !
maybe we shouldn't stray off the topic... because i know we can go towards a wrong direction and end up totally irrelevant.
thank you very much.
seems like taking legal action isn't very financially sound...
anyone has a "hitman" to recommend? just want to break her two front teeth so she can sing in the coming Christmas... "all i want for Christmas is my two front teeth, my two front teeth..."
The gossiper would be the same where ever she goes. It could mean she isn't targeting your wife. Its just her nature
This situation is an internal affair, and should be sorted out at the departmental level.
The matter should be brought out. Feeling that the Head Nurse could be her ally only hinders this option. First, the other staff must agree to support your wife and give evidence. Then only she can be the whistle blower on this gossiper, who is clearly causing disharmony among the staff.
Discuss who is the best person to bring the matter up to, and what concrete evidence can be presented.
i detest people who spread gossip. in your case, the woman who spread this rumour is not only slanderous but her actions will cause damage to relationships. really bad-hearted.
does the hospital organisation provides avenue for staff to talk about their grievances in confidence to an independent (impartial) party, for example human resource ?
as for legal action, i suggest you seek advice from professional lawyers ... there are free legal clinics - check out law society probono services
Originally posted by novelltie:this is quite sad huh? spend thousands just to get a "fair" judgement...
maybe should just hire a hitman to settle her mouth. i don't want her life but just to teach her a good lesson.
frankly, if i do not know my wife and trust her enough, this would probably cause a strain in our marriage. i mean a gossip meant to destroy a person's reputation and relationship is very "sinful" indeed. my wife could only think it's because my wife was chosen for a company's debate and the gossip monger wasn't. she is trying to hurt my wife's standing in the company by starting this gossip.
i forgot to mentioned; actually the head of the nurses caught a whiff of it and did consult another senior staff about it but it was quite apparent it is untrue. the doctor is well known to be a workaholic. come in early, go home late... my wife is well known to be sticky to me even in the polyclinic when i send her to work. she will hold my hand as i walk her up to their meeting room every morning for briefing. it is pretty obvious if she is indeed having an affair, she would ask me to drop her off and walk in herself right?
i trust my wife because of our history together. we had to fight obstacles to be finally together. we fought my bankruptcy, closure of my company, her mother, my father, her family relatives, medical issues before finally getting married... in fact, i'm indebted to her for standing by me when i'm penniless... how many will stand by you when you are broke and had to literally pay the debts for you...
bitch! i won't let you off so easily!
Your wife stand by you cos you still have the fighting spirt in you
money lost can be earned, but not the fighting spirit
Please, this is SG. Its not so easy to hire a hitman to whack her two front teeth and get away with it. But i can understand why you're saying such things now, because you are extremely angry.
We all wish our enemies and people we detest to be beaten up by banglas. Who hasn't made the put gurney sack over head and get banglas to whack him up for $5 joke?
What you should do is have your wife, with the backing and testimonies of her colleagues, to bring the matter to her (your wife) boss. This should be settled within the polyclinic, and not by an external party, an outsider - you.
BTW if you really hire banglas to whack her or whack her yourself, you will most definitely go to prison, and have your face splashed in the news. If your wife still stands by you, then she is really worth it lor. But you'd have a criminal record. Is it worth it over that too-much-free-time gossip? Some people are just malicious. We have all met such people in NS and at work.They will get their retribution. It just takes time. Watch and see.
One very important rule to remember if you want to sue someone for libel/defamation/slander- it must be proven that what he did or said was (i) untrue and/or (ii) baseless and/or (iii) unwarranted, and that through the person's actions, directly or otherwise, has caused you or your family grief and/or harm and/or financial loss.
Has the gossipmonger been causing you or your family emotional distress? If so, get a psychiatrist to assess the situation. Keep detailed records of what the person said or wrote. Hearsay from other people around is not enough. You cannot prove that she started the rumours unless you can record her saying it.
You can also work with her company to bring this gossipmonger down. Such people are unhealthy presences in the work environment, so let the polyclinic handle the matter first. If all else fails, consult a lawyer to consider the best way to deal with the situation.
Just to add on, I can empathize with you and how angry you feel- I know how terrible it can be to have to sit down and hear about the injustice brought upon by your wife. Not only is your family affected, but your pride is hurt and your trust in your wife and doctor is compromised, and all because of one mischevious woman's mouth. However, I urge you to throw away ideas of hiring a hitman. Violence (physical or otherwise) is not the only way to solve problems. We are all civilized, educated human beings living in a 1st world country; there is no need to resort to physical violence to teach someone a lesson, yes?
I urge you to reconsider: are you going to fall into the trap of anger laid out by that sinful person, or, are you going to deal with this issue rationally and calmly, using whatever legal means you have? The choice is yours, ultimately. It's definitely easier to hire a hitman and get it over with, but that speaks much about yourself as a person. You are just going to degrade yourself to the level of a barbarian if you do that. Can you stand taking more blows to your pride?
Treat this as a psychological war. To win, use your mind instead of your heart and hands. Eventually, the mind is greater than the sword :)
think the mainstream newspaper quoted this case in their coverage.. they asked the opinions of legal experts too.. look for it and see wat the lawyers said abt this particular case...
Originally posted by multipleviews:think the mainstream newspaper quoted this case in their coverage.. they asked the opinions of legal experts too.. look for it and see wat the lawyers said abt this particular case...
really? can you give me more details on where the article is?