think its a very common question alot of people are fret about, that is to work with a dip cert or to work + taking part-time degree?which is better, worst or tough?when comparing to 10years down the road..which has more prospect?should i just work with what i have or take up a part-time degree while working?it seems pretty stress on hearing it..but i do not know what is the best for me..
AGONY!!!
Originally posted by themoment86:think its a very common question alot of people are fret about, that is to work with a dip cert or to work + taking part-time degree?which is better, worst or tough?when comparing to 10years down the road..which has more prospect?should i just work with what i have or take up a part-time degree while working?it seems pretty stress on hearing it..but i do not know what is the best for me..
AGONY!!!
A lot depends on which field you work in and what degree you are planning to take.
Following these 2 factors, you will also have to consider where the degree is from, and whether you are going to get a just-pass degree after a few years or a Honors degree.
your life, your choice, your story
Generally a degree will be better la!
Becoz...if you only have a dip...your salary can only be raised until so much....whereas with a degree you can get a higher salary in shorter time
But if you time it's too hard work...then you probably have to settle for less lor....
Hmm... depends on what you want and what you can afford. Many had chosen to take up part time degree as they cannot afford the full time fee and not working at all. If your family can afford you going for full time, why not? If you family cannot, why stress up? You know that you would need to take part time then why still stress yourself?
I think the Ts is trolling
PSLE or o levels. Discuss
if you can, go all the way to get a degree. You only live once in a lifetime. Should not you aim to get a chance to get to wear that square hat for at least once. It is just personal achievement.
Originally posted by ngyk:Hi guys, i am now currently working temp now at NUS, holding a Diploma in IT, so i am now hoping to settle myself with a stable job first, possibly at NUS. After this year, i planned to do a BSc in IT next year at UniSIM. With studies and work, it is very tedious, however, the fruits after success is valuable. As i have a passion towards MRT, i hope to actually work with SMRT, therefore, if possible, i hoped to work for some years at NUS, with my degree later attained, i hoped to be able to switch my career successfully with experience and qualification.
Why not you continue with your temp job while taking up part-time studies at UniSim?
A stable full-time job + part-time studies seem a lot more stressful.
errr, why is it "agony" for you ? at least you got choice ! so be grateful lah :) it's a good "problem"
i going to grad from poly in info-com, thinking of pursuing infocom & tech in unisim while working full-time..then i am interested in networking but the course offered in unisim is more to programming..i study liao i also dunno got related to my future career anot...haix
Originally posted by themoment86:think its a very common question alot of people are fret about, that is to work with a dip cert or to work + taking part-time degree?which is better, worst or tough?when comparing to 10years down the road..which has more prospect?should i just work with what i have or take up a part-time degree while working?it seems pretty stress on hearing it..but i do not know what is the best for me..
AGONY!!!
You want us to decide your life for you?
If you cannot even decide this ONE thing in your life, then does it really matters if you had a diploma or degree?
Your life has already ended when you have given up and surrender your freedom of choice to us.
Ask yourself, other than getting a diploma or degree, Is there really nothing else that you really want to pursue or wished to become?
Tell us, and we will find it more meaningful in helping you to achieve your goals and become part of your dream by participating to turn it into a reality.
don't really get what u mean parn...i am not letting anyone deciding on my choice nor my life, but i don't wish to regret in whichever decision i am going to make in the future...i wasted 2years on something i never discuss with anyone earlier on, so i tot it might be good to talk it out with other people..my parent were against me going for degree..my friend told me that with degree prospect would be better with dip...ahyo..if i can find a course pureply on networking i would gladly enrol for sure..cause i am not really into programming...
What kind of work do you desire to work the most?
Tell us and don't worry if people will laugh at your impossible dream or not, just ignore people who laugh at your dreams. These people are like robots!! And they have no dreams!!!
It depends on what kinda field your in.. some fields rite.. diploma is enough.
You never share with us what ur diploma is?
diploma. Degree= JC. Your life in school is hard. After school you will be locked in a dumb office doing same thing over and over again. Diploma at least you have real skills instead of paperwork. You can open own business if got enough $
Originally posted by littlemissbonkers:Generally a degree will be better la!
Becoz...if you only have a dip...your salary can only be raised until so much....whereas with a degree you can get a higher salary in shorter time
But if you time it's too hard work...then you probably have to settle for less lor....
aiya honestly I feel that in life for the avg joe.... its how well u save and invest ...the difference btwn part time degree and diploma whilst helpful is not rly important and earth shattering.
save and invest wisely is all i can say. make good decisions in life and you can retire early.
Kind Regards
Genie
degree. no offence but a diploma is as good as bang sai jua these days. We used to have 3 polys giving about 20,000 grads per year. Now we have got Republic Poly, so that adds the number to about 26-27,000 a year. With hundreds of thousands of grads flooding the market in the next ten years, i think the diploma will become just about everyone's PSLE cert.
get a degree, it guarantees you nothing but at least it's still relevant. And since it's a part time cert and not at the original country itself, your choices are pretty much limited to only the private sector.
degree. no offence but a diploma is as good as bang sai jua these days. We used to have 3 polys giving about 20,000 grads per year. Now we have got Republic Poly, so that adds the number to about 26-27,000 a year. With hundreds of thousands of grads flooding the market in the next ten years, i think the diploma will become just about everyone's PSLE cert.
get a degree, it guarantees you nothing but at least it's still relevant. And since it's a part time cert and not at the original country itself, your choices are pretty much limited to only the private sector.
AGONY!!!
go for Professional Graduate Diplomas instead..specialised certificates..like CFA, CPA etc..
which takes only a few months..but the price cost the same if not slightly expensive than a diploma combined..but this saves lots of time, and with time, you can earn back and make much more money..in the process..
what's the diff between Diplomas and Professional Graduate Diplomas?
grad diploma are diploma meant for graduates who have a first degree.