Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:oh okies.. the O level is all up to me :). i will try my very best to pass this exam. well he earn 900 or something. erm nevermind... i think we broke up anyway. so yup more focus on my studies now :) go thru poly here i come
gigabite> i think its a shape of a snake or an eel?
hitman> nah im sticking to poly.. it seems more fun :) and trust me, i wont give birth :)
tying> he's now working in sim lim as a computer support i think but he's really good at designing. i see his work before :). nevermind about him, we didnt talk to each other for awhile now lols. okies maybe ur right about the bonkers part but no need to go over the top by saying that type of doggy replies. Look at your post, look at bear post, look at the people who insult me post, u guys dont go over the top and i bet they are way more experience then that bonkers person.
okies tying, sorry i promise i wont do such stupid act by having a baby. Just clean fun without getting pregnant :). i really didnt think about that till i saw your post. ty
Good u think that way. Good luck for ur O levels. Pls dun get pregnant. U wont know if they guy will be responsible or not. Getting preagnant requires lots of money too.
good.so be a good girl from now on till then.
Originally posted by brainerror:good.so be a good girl from now on till then.
Yah.
she will i guess.
she is still growing up.its takes time to learn everything new.
so don't get pregnant so early.
Originally posted by brainerror:she will i guess.
she is still growing up.its takes time to learn everything new.
so don't get pregnant so early.
Good.
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:oh okies.. the O level is all up to me :). i will try my very best to pass this exam. well he earn 900 or something. erm nevermind... i think we broke up anyway. so yup more focus on my studies now :) go thru poly here i come
hitman> nah im sticking to poly.. it seems more fun :) and trust me, i wont give birth :)
tying> he's now working in sim lim as a computer support i think but he's really good at designing. i see his work before :). nevermind about him, we didnt talk to each other for awhile now lols. okies maybe ur right about the bonkers part but no need to go over the top by saying that type of doggy replies. Look at your post, look at bear post, look at the people who insult me post, u guys dont go over the top and i bet they are way more experience then that bonkers person.
okies tying, sorry i promise i wont do such stupid act by having a baby. Just clean fun without getting pregnant :). i really didnt think about that till i saw your post. ty
Let me just add on why you should continue to work hard in your studies.
If you can get a good degree out of uni, your starting salary will be at least $2.5k per month. Even if you decide to go poly and not go uni, your starting salary will be about $1.2~1.5k per month.
And, if you think your studies are great, why stop at poly? Complete a degree! You could consider the JC route too, as right now, policies are more geared towards JC students.
$900 per month? If you go uni and take up an internship in the 3rd year in engineering, it's already 700 to 800 per month.
I really take it as the literal truth that you can do well for your studies. Please do not waste your talent and work hard to secure your A1s, preferably 6 crucial ones. You can decide on poly or JC after you finish your Os.
Originally posted by eagle:Let me just add on why you should continue to work hard in your studies.
If you can get a good degree out of uni, your starting salary will be at least $2.5k per month. Even if you decide to go poly and not go uni, your starting salary will be about $1.2~1.5k per month.
And, if you think your studies are great, why stop at poly? Complete a degree! You could consider the JC route too, as right now, policies are more geared towards JC students.
$900 per month? If you go uni and take up an internship in the 3rd year in engineering, it's already 700 to 800 per month.
I really take it as the literal truth that you can do well for your studies. Please do not waste your talent and work hard to secure your A1s, preferably 6 crucial ones. You can decide on poly or JC after you finish your Os.
Nowadays ppl who cant study have no job to do esp with inflow of foreign workers.
Originally posted by -StarDust-:
Nowadays ppl who cant study have no job to do esp with inflow of foreign workers.
That's a different problem in itself. Actually I'm more concerned that someone who have the potential to excel in studies not being able to because of external circumstances.
Originally posted by Genie99a:
Might copy that statement down ....
Then every "i like her but kenna rejected...how to make her like me" post I just paste ...voila~! Aunt Agony indeed
Kind Regards
Genie
Ok ok..... but remember to assign original credit to me, all right?
Originally posted by eagle:That's a different problem in itself. Actually I'm more concerned that someone who have the potential to excel in studies not being able to because of external circumstances.
I agree.
Originally posted by eagle:Let me just add on why you should continue to work hard in your studies.
Just to add on to that: go down to Orchard Road on a Sunday, and throw a pebble into the crowd. There's a 50% chance that it will hit someone with a university degree. Degree holders are really common these days, and it's getting harder and harder for them to find jobs.
At this age, mei ting, you may think that earning $900/month is damn pro. But let me tell you something: your parents are the ones who pay for the house you live in, the utilities that you use, the food that you eat, and the clothes that you wear. Try fending for yourself on $900/month, and you'll cry at how impossible it is.
My girlfriend and I have a combined income of over $6000++ per month, and we're finding it hard as hell to save up to get married and to set up a household. Go figure.
Originally posted by fudgester:Just to add on to that: go down to Orchard Road on a Sunday, and throw a pebble into the crowd. There's a 50% chance that it will hit someone with a university degree. Degree holders are really common these days, and it's getting harder and harder for them to find jobs.
At this age, mei ting, you may think that earning $900/month is damn pro. But let me tell you something: your parents are the ones who pay for the house you live in, the utilities that you use, the food that you eat, and the clothes that you wear. Try fending for yourself on $900/month, and you'll cry at how impossible it is.
My girlfriend and I have a combined income of over $6000++ per month, and we're finding it hard as hell to save up to get married and to set up a household. Go figure.
You put it in words directly. I was only trying to hint it to her ![]()
Me and my gf has combined income ~$6.5k excluding my tuition sideline, saving hard for marriage as well. My salary hike should be coming in 3 months time too...
here's a joke which is sadly true....
a woman gets a "bad" man with ambitions of changing him for the better...
after a while, he doesn't change and she runs home, crying bitterly that he doesn't love her enough to change
or..
after a while, he changes and she runs home crying bitterly that he's not the man she fell in love with...
think about it...
TS, i am glad that you know what we are trying to tell you... at first i thought u have given up hope on this forum... but glad that u did not... i am also glad that u listened to our advices... bear in mind, this forum is like a reflection of society... more or less... you will meet various kinds of people... some people can be harsh but listen carefully to what they are trying to say... they might be harsh yet do remember that they bother to bring up points to you... some people can be nice and put in words nicely yet in reality, the points they mentioned are hard to catch... It is like dropping hints to you, hoping that you will get it... Because they know that the more harsh they become, the more one will try not to understand... (Actually at this point of time, i cannot think well because it is 3.16am in Singapore... I am freaking tired, please pardon me if i am not making sense..) in the future, you have to open yr eyes wide to see this society... u are still in a growing stage... One cannot live a life without regrets but one can live a life with lessons learnt from regrets... Do not be like me in short...
an advice: whether is he a good guy or a bad guy, we will not know but we can only assume from what you have told us... to change one person's life is difficult since the only person who can change him/her is himself/herself... one has to go through many hardships to become a better person... do not try to change him... i will not say it is impossible but it is not worth an effort... what you can do is to be there for the person, not change the person...The only way to see one's true character is when he is facing a crisis or a trial...
currently, what Fudgester and Eagle are trying to do is to bring some financial sense into you... you might not understand now... U will definitely understand what we are talking when you look at the world in a bigger picture and experience the different aspects of it... Look at the world with different perspective... When you go outside work or study or even travel, you will know how vast and complex a human mind can be...Also, you will understand how this world works in terms of politics, finance, work, and education... When i am at your age, I also thought that earning $900 is like WOW! it is normal but soon you will know that money is never enough...
Last advice: For every day you are growing older, so do your parents... One day, they will not be able to be like what they used to be... Take care of yrself meanwhile do take care of yr loved ones...
Alright, i really need to get some sleep... Good nite everyone!
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:hellos :) its my first time posting here so pls go easy on me hahas
i now sec 4 in express. Im not trying to hao lian hor but i did really well on my studies :). As usual in sch there's of cos gonna be some love, fight, frens here and there. I have a bf and its nearly going to be 4 months. This is where my problem slowly starts...
Ever since im with my bf, my frens started to see my physical appearance started to change. I never pierce before only on my ear but now im with him, i started to pierce my tongue. ok its called culture to me, u all can say to me watever u want but to me its called culture. My bf appearance is quite an ah beng image becos he got a tattoo on his leg but he's a nice guy :). One day we were walking around in cineleisure my father saw me walking with him. When i got home he talked to me and at first he said is he your bf? then i shouldnt be with him and watever.
I dont get it why people judge book by its cover? he IS a nice guy. ok one day i pon sch becos there's no lesson so no point me go mah. so my bf know abt this and he ask me to pon and meet him and relax/sit around. So i did but that got me thinking with people passer by keep on looking at me wearing a sch uniform when i was suppose to be in sch since its sch hours, i was like stare at them back. i dont think im turning to a gangster it just irritates me when people look at me strangely. Its a reflex and i know u guys do it too
I dont know how but my teachers found out that i pon sch that day and was asked to call my parents. My parents quite flipped and i get hell of a scolding. But what they really flipped is when they saw a drawing (NOT A TATTOO) stick on my under forearm. it can be erase one but they really got mad over that. And they want to see my bf but i wont let them becos i know they want him to leave me alone which i dont want. And they call me a bad girl and my frens now seeing me as a gangster. I shout at my parents for scolding me but i had to, its natural right? we all do it. This is not wat i had in mind. i dont smoke but why they call me a gangster and see me as a bad person? just becos i did all those?
Am i really turning to a bad person?
btw, i got suspended from sch for 2 weeks now. So im really bored here at home and i browse around just happen to see this site :)
i dont see anything wrong with you.. maybe just a little rebellious.. it's okay one. girls shld be rebellious a bit. if not will bored ple to death. ![]()
anyway, since ur parents know bout ur bf already, why not just tone down a little, guai a bit in front of them. and for the moment, make use of this time to study for ur O levels. when that damn thing is over, den can continue to hardcore pak tor again. but of course not askin u to study 24/7. still can go and see ur bf la.
when ur parents ask u if your still seeing that dude, just say no, tell em he asked you to stay home to study. leave a lil good impression of him in front of them.
shes concerned about you.
thats why.
I don not think what you did is rebellious.
Btw, since you got so much free time, go read some books and brush on your language
Xiao Mei Mei,
Wah you not do thing very smart leh. I was worse than you, in school I smoked, I go play snooker, play arcade while pon school and get involve in gang fights. But I do things smart. When I pon school, I fake my MC and pretend sick. When I get into gang fight and teacher caught me, luckily my class got gangster leader to protect me and teacher not dare to punish me. I was even caught plagiarising my exam, the teacher tried to have an investigation to scare me but in the end they had no proof, they let me go.
Girl, you do things, you must do it smart also. But now you get 2 weeks suspension, sure your parents will freak out lar. When your father saw you with the boy, you should have said he is a friend, now you admit he is your boyfriend, they sure angry with you one lar. Any small thing happen to your study or your school, they will blame you one. Friend, now is time for you to lie low, tell your bf not to come for a while, pretend to be good girl to your parents for a while. Form 4, you got 2 more years to total freedom, so be patient, don't ruin everything.
If you study hard and don't pon school get good grades, then your parents will start to slowly give you more freedom. Don't say anything to them about your bf, just tell them you with him are friends. Then when you get more freedom, you get more time to pak tor.
i think poly is good enuff for me hahas. My frens said that jc route can make u commit suicide o.o so scary liaos. In other words, soooo muchhhhh pressureeeee later i no freedom ><
wow i didnt know can earn that much i thought just a few dollars only. Poly it is.. i go for media design same as my bf (ex maybe?). So we can communicate easier.
fugdester> just when i thought eagle comments can encourage me =.=" your comments bring me back to square 1 again hahas
blurking> thats really emotional. really touched when i read that ... okies i wont change him or watever but i can change myself right? i try take out the piercing and take out anything that has the bad figure in me. BUT my hair color still remains xD okies i will work hard in life and try to make him envy of me so he can auto change.
theyj> i got suspended DOESNT MEAN i stay at home 24/7 ... i got no time to "read books" so pardon my terrible english.
lorry and hugh> okies i try to follow you guys words although i dont think its a good influence =x ... wah hugh people protect u in class? but its not good to me la ... becos i also same but my classmates get scared of me and its REALLY NOT FUN. One of my classmate saw me hanging out with my bf and his frens and she like avoiding me from time to time. i tell u its really sucky feeling. Im not saying its bad for u too la but i say only that i dont feel appreciated like that
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:
i think poly is good enuff for me hahas. My frens said that jc route can make u commit suicide o.o so scary liaos. In other words, soooo muchhhhh pressureeeee later i no freedom ><wow i didnt know can earn that much i thought just a few dollars only. Poly it is.. i go for media design same as my bf (ex maybe?). So we can communicate easier.
fugdester> just when i thought eagle comments can encourage me =.=" your comments bring me back to square 1 again hahas
blurking> thats really emotional. really touched when i read that ... okies i wont change him or watever but i can change myself right? i try take out the piercing and take out anything that has the bad figure in me. BUT my hair color still remains xD okies i will work hard in life and try to make him envy of me so he can auto change.
theyj> i got suspended DOESNT MEAN i stay at home 24/7 ... i got no time to "read books" so pardon my terrible english.
lorry and hugh> okies i try to follow you guys words although i dont think its a good influence =x ... wah hugh people protect u in class? but its not good to me la ... becos i also same but my classmates get scared of me and its REALLY NOT FUN. One of my classmate saw me hanging out with my bf and his frens and she like avoiding me from time to time. i tell u its really sucky feeling. Im not saying its bad for u too la but i say only that i dont feel appreciated like that
My whole class are gangsters lar. They protect me because I help them to do their homework. In my school, everybody pay homage to the gangsters, everybody is afraid of them.
So I advice you, be smart, lay low. Study hard because you only have two more years before you enjoy full freedom. If you get good results then your parents got no excuse to split you from your bf. Don't pon school anymore ha, becuase your parents will sure blame your bf wan.
btw.. just asking..
what does your bf want to do in life?
it's fine and dandy saying "i will never do this and that" but when push comes to shove, and it's time to put food on his family's table, what is he going to do?
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:
i think poly is good enuff for me hahas. My frens said that jc route can make u commit suicide o.o so scary liaos. In other words, soooo muchhhhh pressureeeee later i no freedom ><wow i didnt know can earn that much i thought just a few dollars only. Poly it is.. i go for media design same as my bf (ex maybe?). So we can communicate easier.
i think poly is good enuff for me hahas. My frens said that jc route can make u commit suicide o.o so scary liaos. In other words, soooo muchhhhh pressureeeee later i no freedom ><
That's where general opinions rule over you.
In poly, if you are committed to do well no matter in poly or JC to go to uni, the amount of workload will not lose to that of a JC. I'm not saying which one is better, but pls do not get the opinion that poly is an easy way out.
Of course, if you are committed to just get a diploma in poly or a pass cert in JC, there's no need to work super hard.
Media design like your bf? If it's your interest, I have nothing to add on. But if you are taking it just because he did it, think again. Do you really have interest in that? And in the long run, are you willing to make $1k per month like your bf, when another diploma could possibly make you $1.5k to $2k a month, or a uni degree from $2k to $3.5k to start?
Singapore has no minimum wage law hor. If you think you are going to stick with him, I can assure you that even a 50% pay raise to $1.35k from $900 will not be enough to feed with ease. 100% pay raise to $1800 would barely be sufficient if you want to have kids. FYI, the median income in Sg in 2007 for professionals and managers:

As you can see, 900 isn't even sufficient to be on the chart.
http://www.salary.sg/2010/benchmark-your-household-income-2010/
The average monthly household income of all householdsis $7,549 in 2009. The median household income is $5,398.
You have the potential to fly further. Don't just look at absolute numbers (e.g. 900). It's very relative.
Give it 10 years, when you reach my age (assuming you are 16) and you will understand what I mean.
hugh> why two years? u mean i have to be 18 then freedom?
bear> erm ... he not sure? actually im not sure too =x ... but he really like to do some media graphic design so he will be doing that as a career lor
eagle> GOSHHHH EAGLE .. U SO DETAIL WOR!!!!!!! not sure about what to do after poly becos all these rumors going around in jc really scares me ><
dont worry, if i do a good job ... i may rise up the rank then my pay will get higher too ^^ PLUS ... im thinking of doing a freelance job hahas so more $$$$ xD
AND STOP CALLING ME XMM =.=" ITS MEI TING ... MEI TING!!!
Just pick a course that you are interested for poly... Do not necessary follow your boyfriend... Do well in O level because the better you do, the more choices you have... I have friends who did not score well and have to pick some courses that they did not like... Do not need to picture yourself too far ahead... Even for me, I do not know if the job i do will be relevant to my degree...
Do not need to be scared of those rumours... Know what is your weakness and strength... Compare between JC and Poly... For me, I did not enter JC becos I know my English sucks and my GP will suffer... So i pick poly and take biomedical science...
Also, before i left army... someone told me this... the things you like to do in life is very different from the things you can do in life... you have to work hard or smart to get the things you like to do...
Yes, Eagle's post is very detailed... Nice one
Hi,
eagle> GOSHHHH EAGLE .. U SO DETAIL WOR!!!!!!! not sure about what to do after poly becos all these rumors going around in jc really scares me ><
Don't be bothered by rumours. If you are eventually planning for uni, currently, the laws favour JC intake more than poly intake.
I would suggest to give this serious thought, and visit the different polys and JCs during their open houses to have a better idea.
Just because everyone around you says it is bad doesn't mean it is. Just because everyone around you says it is good doesn't mean it is either. In life, following the masses just makes you part of the masses. Forming your own opinions are usually way better.
I went JC, I aced JC (year 2001). Yes, I was rather stressed in JC, but the soft skills I picked up... tenacity, self-motivation, stress and time management skills, ability to handle heavy workloads... all which are beneficial and aiding me in life now.
dont worry, if i do a good job ... i may rise up the rank then my pay will get higher too ^^ PLUS ... im thinking of doing a freelance job hahas so more $$$$ xD
As I have mentioned, 100% pay raise gives you $1.8k if you rise up in rank?
It depends on companies. In the MNC I work at, poly grads have a limit on their salary cap and their rank. Uni grads start at a salary range and rank higher than poly grads who have worked here for 10 years.
None of us discriminate them; some of the things they could do better than most of us. But it's the HR that is unwilling to pay much more than the market rate to them.
And how much could the freelance job earn you? $200? $500? $1k more per month? Freelancing in media design? Why wouldn't companies outsource to India for a cheaper rate? There are uni grads there willing to do many jobs cheaper than a poly grad asks for here. We live in a global city, and the internet is the superhighway that shrinks the world even further.
Do bear in mind that sidelines take up much of your free time too.
If you are indeed planning for a freelance job as a sideline in the future to supplement your income, do think of these two options.
1) Spend a lot time to play a lot now, go poly and score moderate enough to get a diploma, then when you go out to work, spend the time to do freelance jobs on top of your full time job to earn enough say a total of $3k/mth.
2) Spend the time to study very hard, go either poly or JC and score very well, well enough to go into uni for the degree of your choice. Graduate, come out to work and start with around $2.8k/mth in full time job without doing freelancing. The spare time, you can choose to freelance or not.
See the diff? It's a classic example of the chinese proverb 先苦�甜. Or the classic wisdom of the west of delayed gratification.