blurking> okies i keep that in mind :) but abit same as my jc theory le
eagle> hmm okies ... i try visit jc if there's a open house. If i dont get accepted thru jc, i can go take private courses.
erm freelancing, i have some job in mind. i think i choose that work while working idea hahas. freelance of cos ... becos come to think of it, i wont have much time if i work even in part time while i study
freelance isn't easy job.
Out of my many friends, I only know personally of 2 poly grads who is drawing a 5 figure pay a month
But the difference is they work damn hard initially and they knew what they want to do.
Both don’t have a degree yet and both don’t own their own business
They are lucky they have good bosses who appreciate them.
Also they are not the norm. End of the day you will be stuck and passed over by someone who has a degree
Originally posted by elindra:Out of my many friends, I only know personally of 2 poly grads who is drawing a 5 figure pay a month
But the difference is they work damn hard initially and they knew what they want to do.
Also they are not the norm. End of the day you will be stuck and passed over by someone who has a degree
QFT. Thats just how reality kills us.
Originally posted by elindra:Out of my many friends, I only know personally of 2 poly grads who is drawing a 5 figure pay a month
Thanks for sharing.
No matter how much a poly grad may believe in the diploma, he/she cannot beat market forces easily.
Mei Ting, you mentioned your results are good. Why would you think you might not get accepted to JC?
The open house will be good for you to see what they are really about.
XMM, from long previous post , I think your BF is ok. He knows what he wants and he will do well in the future if he presists in the graphic design industry.
In contary, you are lost in your career path.
You can have love, with him while managing your studies.
You seems to be "mature" in certain ways,but you are inexperienced in life. (as expected, cose you are young)
Just try to get A1 for every subjects. Hang out with your BF during weekends. I believe you know how to weight your priority and get everything right.
Originally posted by eagle:Thanks for sharing.
No matter how much a poly grad may believe in the diploma, he/she cannot beat market forces easily.
Mei Ting, you mentioned your results are good. Why would you think you might not get accepted to JC?
The open house will be good for you to see what they are really about.
For that matter, Mei Ting, what are your results like? What grades did you get?
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:
bear> erm ... he not sure? actually im not sure too =x ... but he really like to do some media graphic design so he will be doing that as a career lor
that's a white collar job...
eagle> becos of my records >< ... i got detention many times, suspended =.=" and i got caught "skipping" lessons, argument with teachers and so on ... and all that going to my permanent record
Lockey> ITS MEI TING!! hahas ty for calling me mature xD ... nah me and my bf is having a break (not break up) so i can have more time with my own frens. Study come later becos im confident hahas xD
fugdester> erm ... B3 and A2 at some subjects. I got my history in A1 (please DONT CALL ME A NERD)
bear> idk wats white collar job is actually ... but he just dont want to work as a clerk. those office guys just type here and there.
Mei Ting, fyi, graphics designer IS an office job, unless your bf intends to just stay home and do freelance designing, which i believe is of no future. No orders, no income. White collar job refers to office job by the way.
Anyway, based on your results, it's good enough for poly already. JC could be a little difficult.
Actually i'm rather curious. How come u can be so active in SGForums, when it's supposed to be school hours? or have u been suspended already? maybe i have missed it.
Originally posted by s0nic:Mei Ting, fyi, graphics designer IS an office job, unless your bf intends to just stay home and do freelance designing, which i believe is of no future. No orders, no income. White collar job refers to office job by the way.
Anyway, based on your results, it's good enough for poly already. JC could be a little difficult.
Actually i'm rather curious. How come u can be so active in SGForums, when it's supposed to be school hours? or have u been suspended already? maybe i have missed it.
really? not sure about him then ... becos jobs like sim lim is really suited for him ... thats what he said.
Im currently under suspension =.=". Last week i post this topic is consider my first week now is my second week which is my last week till my suspension lifted. erm btw, i not active de ... this is just tuesday ... becos i today no plan so far
why is it that people who score well are called "nerds" ?
is it better to be an illiterate semi-sentient lazy-eyed moron than be someone who is well-read, intelligent and educated?
"nerds" will eventually be those who will have a better life, be more productive, and ultimately be happier people if they have their priorities right...
do you have your priorities right?
- DP -
Originally posted by s0nic:Mei Ting, fyi, graphics designer IS an office job, unless your bf intends to just stay home and do freelance designing, which i believe is of no future. No orders, no income. White collar job refers to office job by the way.
Actually i'm rather curious. How come u can be so active in SGForums, when it's supposed to be working hours? or have u been fried cuttlefish already? maybe i have missed it.
eagle> becos of my records >< ... i got detention many times, suspended =.=" and i got caught "skipping" lessons, argument with teachers and so on ... and all that going to my permanent record
No one looks at those records if you score well enough in O levels to go to a JC. But still, try not to get into detention again as it will disrupt your studies as well.
fugdester> erm ... B3 and A2 at some subjects. I got my history in A1 (please DONT CALL ME A NERD)
I can assure you this is not sufficient to be labelled as a nerd at all. Try getting all A1s? It's still insufficient.
bear> idk wats white collar job is actually ... but he just dont want to work as a clerk. those office guys just type here and there.
To be very honest with you, I see no future in him at the moment.
Well... maybe there's a future if the dream house is a 2-rm HDB flat and the ideal meal is a plate of $2.50 chicken rice.
Originally posted by the Bear:why is it that people who score well are called "nerds" ?
is it better to be an illiterate semi-sentient lazy-eyed moron than be someone who is well-read, intelligent and educated?
"nerds" will eventually be those who will have a better life, be more productive, and ultimately be happier people if they have their priorities right...
I have no idea as well.
Just like in school, when you study hard and do well in exams, you are labelled as a chao mugger. When you talk about $$, earning and saving it, you are labelled as money-face.
Is it human nature to want to give names to people who strive to do well? Weird right?
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Actually i'm rather curious. How come u can be so active in SGForums, when it's supposed to be working hours? or have u been fried cuttlefish already? maybe i have missed it.
u dont go off topic leh!
B3s and A2s 'in some subjects', with an A1? That's hardly nerdy. I know of straight-A students who are in no way nerds.
And to be brutally blunt, a nerd would in no way be so cavalier about issues like abortion and get herself suspended from school.
And a nerd would not find the issue of tattooing one's self for some retarded cause ('to stay out of an office job') to be cute.
And at the very least, a nerd would know what a 'white collar job' is all about.
Sorry if I'm being harsh, but I ain't bullsh*tting, either....
Originally posted by eagle:I have no idea as well.
Just like in school, when you study hard and do well in exams, you are labelled as a chao mugger. When you talk about $$, earning and saving it, you are labelled as money-face.
Is it human nature to want to give names to people who strive to do well? Weird right?
tall poppy syndrome?
but the intelligent people will just shrug it off and continue to strive to better themselves ![]()
Originally posted by s0nic:
u dont go off topic leh!
actually...
when dealing with a teenager, no need WOT ma...
U give wall of text, I dun think they will understand much also...
but at least can see, TS is reading every single WOT which is quite rather... ... ... commendable... ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:why is it that people who score well are called "nerds" ?
okok im sorry >< .... just that lots of my frens said that me = express, doesnt fit ...
eagle> getting all A1 is really tough ... its like playing the difficulty "expert" on l4d >< out of all stages u complete, there's bound to be only one that u manage to ease your way out xD
hahas have faith in him? like u all said, there's still time ^^
omg fugdester ... zzzz
eagle> getting all A1 is really tough ... its like playing the difficulty "expert" on l4d >< out of all stages u complete, there's bound to be only one that u manage to ease your way out xD
That's why you have to work hard now. If without working that hard, you are confident of an A2, why not work harder for that few more marks to reach A1??? It's just 5 marks difference.
I seriously have no idea. Why settle for less when you can easily get more if you just put in that extra bit of effort?
hahas have faith in him? like u all said, there's still time ^^
Perhaps if you want to. But please don't have blind faith. It's dangerous.
Be prepared to be the breadwinner.
eagle> but that means extra work =.=" hahas jk ... okies i try put in effort. but i wont promise anything hors ... just trying my luck
be prepared to be the breadwinner... that sounds ominous.. but true..
oh... mom is actually counselling one girl and after so many years, her eyes are finally opened..
the girl's folks are friends of my folks..
the girl's grades were pretty crappy.. she was never home, mixed around with people who were like the people as mei ting described her boyfriend to be...ne'er-do-wells, people who could but somehow refused to...
after lots of coaching and teaching, she made it into the poly.. her folks were overjoyed..
then she hooked up with this guy in poly..
there was blind faith and what she thought was love...
she pressed on with her diploma, he dropped out
they got married.. he was sleeping on the wedding day and was late for everything because he was sleeping and could not be bothered... that should have given her a clue but there was blind faith again...
she went and got a job while he went through the cursory search for a job.. and whenever a job offer came in, he rejected it saying it was "too low-paying" expecting to get at least $2,500 monthly.. for a poly drop-out with just o-levels...
blind faith made her keep struggling...
then came the child...
and then he went to apply for a flat without her knowing...
she ended up paying for the flat (somehow.. but we suspect her folks paid the instalments) while he sat around in the house doing nothing...
more blind faith until there was domestic violence.. because she could not keep giving him money to do nothing in the house while the child was being brought up by her...
one day she popped in at my house, started to talk to mom and i made myself scarce so they could have some privacy...
4 hours later and lots of tears, she realised she was in a mess...
the "damn.. i screwed up" was from her..
now she's seeking help from professional counsellors, legal help with custody of the child (the in-laws wanted custody.. which they'll fight but will be unable to win) and will be seeking legal aid to divorce the guy, throw him out of their flat although he applied for it, he never paid a cent..
so.. the "damn.. i screwed up" is from here..
now.. imagine if she didn't press on with her diploma as instructed by my mom?
that.. is a true story..
don't make this same mistake...
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:eagle> but that means extra work =.=" hahas jk ... okies i try put in effort. but i wont promise anything hors ... just trying my luck
It's either extra work this year and perhaps the next few years (total 6.5 yrs more)
Or extra work all the way after you step into the workforce till you retire (perhaps 30 years or more)
Your choice.
Hope you understand the meaning of my words ;)
I'm sharing things I never thought of when I'm your age. But fortunately, it worked out well for me.