Originally posted by vincentchean:
ay, actually last time i work and study i really cant cope study.so my result is all pass, but no need chiong. :)
You didn't just work and study.
You work, study, join CCAs, go out jalan (must be quite a fair bit given the amount of expenses you need).
Allow me to be brutally honest. A pass result from SIM is nothing at all. You won't go far with it. This presents future problems too.
(1) You have poor money management habits
(2) Your cert can't earn you much
(3) Your parents have demonstrated that they won't give you much cash.
Do ponder about this and how it is going to affect you in the future.
Originally posted by eagle:May I summarize for you what you have said and the things implied. Please don't take offence as this is my honest view.
Story goes:
Sec school ==> Retain, likely because play and didn't do well. Can only blame yourself.
Then you went poly. Didn't do well enough to enter local U. So you entered SIM, hence expenses higher than those who went local U. So it's because of you too.
Went SIM, you started to work part time to fund yourself. But your expenses are somewhat high every month, and thus you have very little savings (almost nil I suppose). You splurge your hard earned cash without any savings for emergency or situations like now.The problem comes when you decide you want to stop working.
Problems:
1) You continue to spend as much as before, yet you do not have any income nor did you reduce your expenditures much, nor do you have any savings. This is poor money management habit right on the onset.
2) Because you need to continue spending, you splurge on Credit Cards. You have to ask your mum for cash because you don't have enough to spend.
3) It's your final sem, and you should be in school working hard to ace the final exam. Yet you want to continue to go out jalan, even though without much cash.
Thanks for listening
thanks for the effort. i agree with the problems but not with all the starting story.
regardless of so still thanks for all ur effort put in
if u nid money,
work for it.
parents giving u money ish a bonus.
not a must.
Originally posted by vincentchean:thanks for the effort. i agree with the problems but not with all the starting story.
regardless of so still thanks for all ur effort put in
Ok, I guess the difference is how much time you allocate to play. For me, I don't really like it, so your amount of play or relaxation is probably considered as too much of a luxury.
Originally posted by eagle:You didn't just work and study.
You work, study, join CCAs, go out jalan (must be quite a fair bit given the amount of expenses you need).
Allow me to be brutally honest. A pass result from SIM is nothing at all. You won't go far with it. This presents future problems too.
(1) You have poor money management habits
(2) Your cert can't earn you much
(3) Your parents have demonstrated that they won't give you much cash.Do ponder about this and how it is going to affect you in the future.
i don't believe in getting many many As will do u good in future.
i believe degree only open more doors for future careers :)
Play wat ? dota ar lol..
Originally posted by vincentchean:i don't believe in getting many many As will do u good in future.
wad u believe is one thing.
wad ur potential employers believe is another thing.
I feel that you should have prioritise, and forego enjoying the last of your semester, carried on your job and supplement yourself, because that is what I would do if I were you.
Its damn paiseh to approach parents for $$$ at your age, as I had done before. I only used what they gave me, never dared ask for more. Even returned every cent that I left untouched.
Even now I'm working, and so are they, they make alot more money than me, but I still give them a portion of my salary.
Originally posted by vincentchean:ay... i actually nv really see any ppl taking onli 300 for 4 weeks ley dude...
maybe can do that for local U as most activities in sch and heavily subsidise.
but if SIM $300 for food and cca and go out jalan is abit ........
I guess all your friends are too rich.... Thats why...
Most of my friends got $200 - $300 only a month...
I am from SIM too....
Anyway, I admit myself as a heavy spender also... I spend like $650 a month on average... and i got by with $360 a month .... with negative savings of $290....
But I have never seen my credit card bills roll before....
And all I did was do part time work during the vacation...
But if you are already owing credit card bills and your interest is rolling... you gotta stop thinking about going out and spending all that money... you should cut down by eating lunch and dinner at home as far as possible.... And please clear all your bills first before you even think about going out....
And please remember this... your mum may not give you a cent after you graduate.... and you have to get by with your current savings for the next 6 months while you are finding your job....
Originally posted by vincentchean:i don't believe in getting many many As will do u good in future.
For every one singaporean applying for a particular job in singapore with a degree(regardless), 9 more myanmar nationals will be applying for the same with double, and master degrees.
Originally posted by ditzy:I feel that you should have prioritise, and forego enjoying the last of your semester, carried on your job and supplement yourself, because that is what I would do if I were you.
Its damn paiseh to approach parents for $$$ at your age, as I had done before. I only used what they gave me, never dared ask for more. Even returned every cent that I left untouched.
Even now I'm working, and so are they, they make alot more money than me, but I still give them a portion of my salary.
Maybe you are of the older generation... These days asking parents for money below 30 is quite common.....
It's not about the As that matter.
If you are going to be employed, As merely show the employer that you can set your priorities in life right, can handle multiple things at one time, can handle stress, can be effective. In short, you are proven before, and will have an easier time compared to most others. In society, it's well known that different certs do matter, especially in the area of opportunities and renumeration. I fail to see how a pass degree from SIM will open doors. I'm talking about doors to opportunities of $5k and upwards monthly.
If you are going to be your own entrepreneur, then there's no need at all for you to be studying at SIM.
seems that TS thinks as long as he got a degree, he is safe and will be able to get a good job in Singapore. times have changed my friend. now having a degree is as common as having an iPhone.
Originally posted by s0nic:seems that TS thinks as long as he got a degree, he is safe and will be able to get a good job in Singapore. times have changed my friend. now having a degree is as common as having an iPhone.
ay i nv said that. opening more doors doesn't means safe proof to secure jobs
Originally posted by vincentchean:Male/25/Undergrad
for the past 2.5 years of studies i've been doing full time work and studying on a part-time basis. Thus i nv took any money since roughly 5 yrs ago (ns plus 2.5) from my mum except for the tuition fees. But since i approaching my last semester i really think of enjoying my sch life(cca etc etc). so i quit my job. Then no more income and not much saving as i was working as a temp so the pay also just enough to survive.
now monthly i need take about 1k(due to high overheads, poly giro payment, ortho) from my mum. Then usually she only give me the money after i asked her. (she wont automatically monthly xfer). When she xfer the money she only put half($500). Then i take the money pay credit card bills. Before the 1st week is over the $500 all gone. Then i have to go to her again.
Its not as though we are from a poor family, we live in landed property with 4 cars at home. But we are not very wealthy also. I dont know how to make her understand. She's been doing this xxxx up thing since poly. Everytime she give half then say if i finish tell her. WTF ~ . All my sibings did their college overseas, only for me i doing it local. I still remember how my mom would promptly send them money. And when they ask for more, she will still xfer over.
count yourself lucky to come from a well off family. Standing at our mum postion, let me try explaining her position. Many of you are so fortunate to not having gone thru hardship that many do splurge on exjoying yourself. Therefore may not know the value of money.
Did you feel "insulted" having to ask money from your mum? If yes, good!. So you may value the money you have. Having say this, let hope that one day when you become independent and have the ability to give, don't let your mum "begged" from you, coz it time for you the honour them and "repay" them.
All I can say you are living a life too good. You can't manage your finance properly. I got by with $200 a month. If I want to go out and have fun with my friends, the money come from my savings or the income from my temp job.
You remind me of some friends who do not have the money, but still insist on going overseas for a holiday. And when the day arrives for them to pay school fees and all, they really have to go round begging. You belong to a pretty well off family, but not my friends, they have to beg friends. Can you imagine the humiliation?
Seriously, at your age with such maturity in your finance and future thinking, you are pretty much of a disgrace.
ay i nv said that. opening more doors doesn't means safe proof to secure jobs
hmm lets put it in this manner. say u are applying for a job, and another guy, a foreign talent, applies for it as well, if he commands a cheaper pay, who do u think the boss will choose to employ? unless u have the results, not just a piece of paper, to show the boss that u are better than the other guy despite your asking salary is higher than his, its difficult. now everything revolves around money..
Originally posted by eagle:It's not about the As that matter.
If you are going to be employed, As merely show the employer that you can set your priorities in life right, can handle multiple things at one time, can handle stress, can be effective. In short, you are proven before, and will have an easier time compared to most others. In society, it's well known that different certs do matter, especially in the area of opportunities and renumeration. I fail to see how a pass degree from SIM will open doors. I'm talking about doors to opportunities of $5k and upwards monthly.
If you are going to be your own entrepreneur, then there's no need at all for you to be studying at SIM.
i agree to what u say to a certain extend.
but 人上有人, cert 上有 cert
what i'm saying is.
when u have no experience the only thing boss can see is ur cert and U.
make urself stand out. if everyone comparing certs then all CEOs harvard or mit or cambridge.
Originally posted by vincentchean:i agree to what u say to a certain extend.
but 人上有人, cert 上有 cert
what i'm saying is.
make urself stand out. if everyone comparing certs then all CEOs harvard or mit or cambridge.
Bosses nowadays don't see cert and U, as bosses, they only need to see $$$. And when you cost more than the FT to employ and do the exact same job. You lose.
From experience, for every singaporean resume sent in, there will be 9 who are not.
As for bosses looking for work experience, they don't care, throw you in the water, you'll find a way to swim one way or another.
Originally posted by ditzy:Bosses nowadays don't see cert and U, as bosses, they only need to see $$$. And when you cost more than the FT to employ and do the exact same job. You lose.
From experience, for every singaporean resume sent in, there will be 9 who are not.
As for bosses looking for work experience, they don't care, throw you in the water, you'll find a way to swim one way or another.
agreed ![]()
but 人上有人, cert 上有 cert
what i'm saying is.
You can have that cert. You can brag your way through the interview. But ultimately, whether you can deliver the results counts. Trust me, I refuse to sign contract with some NUS NTU SIM grads after their probation period with me, they didn't produce the results I want. To add on, if I know my employee is very bad at his/ her own personal financial management, it always leave a very bad impression on me. And never, will I allow this person to handle any money-related stuff in office.
If you think your SIM cert can bring the dough in. Good luck in worming your way through the probation period then.
tried. but she if the kind of women that would spend alot on herself but for others. even her children or husband or employees. she is super niao.not only i say hor, every person who know her said so too
haha. then no choice lor. keep bugging her. but dont think u are begging. you gotta change your mindset. think of urself as a debt collector. she owe $$$ she pay $$$!
to be honest, u already the cheapest spender of all her kids, so this is nothing to her. dont need to feel like u owe her.
Originally posted by the Bear:AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!
btw.. why are still an undergrad at 25?
I am coming to 30s and still undergrad..... :'(
Originally posted by shrekho:I am coming to 30s and still undergrad..... :'(
KNN. you're a "mature age student" lah.. ahahahahaha
and you're earning your own keep too ![]()
but 人上有人, cert 上有 cert
what i'm saying is.
It's not your cert; it's what the cert tells about you. A pass degree from Harvard or MIT or Cambridge is no better as well.
Work experience does not matter much nowadays, unless you are in the management position.