I am planning to quit my job as i don't think i deserve the sort of "verbal abuse" and sometime humilation infront of people.. from my supervisor. I deemed it as not healthy to continue in the long run. I want to know if anyone out there is willing to take in all these verbal abuse or am I taking this "verbal abuse" matter too seriously?
if the job itself has nothing worth ur stay, then yes u shd consider to go
u dun have to put up with verbal abuse (though we dont know till wat extent bcos u no give examples)
well. personally, i won't be willing to take in those crap and instead i will try fighting back. If i can do nothing about it then i quit. That's personal thoughts.
but on the other hand, most working environment sure got this kind of retarded ppl. to kp you for nth. Therefore might have to adapt with it and let them know you have a limit. either you learn how to "protect" yourself or change job.
Fight for human rights? lol. my thoughts.
Originally posted by lA VUELTA:I am planning to quit my job as i don't think i deserve the sort of "verbal abuse" and sometime humilation infront of people.. from my supervisor. I deemed it as not healthy to continue in the long run. I want to know if anyone out there is willing to take in all these verbal abuse or am I taking this "verbal abuse" matter too seriously?
sometime, you must learn how to speak up to defend yrself.. The bully will usually pick out the weak and not outspoken one.. Last time when I was young doing part time job.
Got a colleague damm good at making sarcastic remark whenever the rubbish supervisor pick on you and make those verbal abuse. After that the supervisor decide to pick on other weak one who dare not talk back.
Learn to speak up and challenge them if what you deem is excessive verbal abuse from them.
Get angry and scold the supervisor back in front of all the other people, then only he will "respect" you.
The next time he insults you, stand up right away, let the chair be fall, and shout at him to repeat what he said. Yes just shout, "Say that again." x2 angrily.
The louder, the more frighten he will be.
After that he will be "different". Guaranteed.
If you are a char bor, I can understand, but if you're a guy having gone thru NS, shame on you.
if the job is important in helping you reach your career goals, then suggest that you try to tahan till your objectives are met. meantime learn to fend yourself and don't appear weak or easily bullied.
otherwise, look for another job lor. it's not healthy for self-esteem to suffer verbal abuse long term
Originally posted by ditzy:If you are a char bor, I can understand, but if you're a guy having gone thru NS, shame on you.
what is so shameful ? this is AA. no one seeking help and advice should be shamed here by AA forumnites. this act itself is shameful
grab hold of supervisor...question him on the spot fearlessly.if his answer doesnt convince you....walk out immediately and get a better life.you may get back at him a few years later by murdering him or keeping him alive and decapitating both his arms n legs
use your initiatives.
Originally posted by CannyOng:
sometime, you must learn how to speak up to defend yrself.. The bully will usually pick out the weak and not outspoken one.. Last time when I was young doing part time job.Got a colleague damm good at making sarcastic remark whenever the rubbish supervisor pick on you and make those verbal abuse. After that the supervisor decide to pick on other weak one who dare not talk back.
Learn to speak up and challenge them if what you deem is excessive verbal abuse from them.
I had this experience too. Once this supervisor accused me of not doing this particular thing when i did it already. It happened again when i was working at another place. Both of them were female supervisor. One was a chao ah lian with multiple knife scars on her wrists. The other was a typically nothing to do pick on you ask you do this do that kind of character. Other then accusing me of stuff i did not do or stuff i did already but said i did not do. The verbal abuse range from my hair which they said was spikey like porcupine or pineapple. Asking why i'm so fair, i never go out in the sun ah.. You look handsome la but you also look like a girl.
I mean all this personal comments i don't really give a damn. But when they repeat it almost everyday it gets on my nerves. The thing i can't stand is being accused of something i did not do. And i defended myself but later she kept on insisting i didn't do it. Now i look back on those days spent working there. I feel kinda unhappy with myself that i didn't become angry and kick up a big fuss. I hate to make a big scene but sometimes when you don't stand up for yourself you lose something inside of you. It called pride. As a person, how do you feel good about yourself if you let people trample on your pride. And who will respect you when you let people step all over you.
Decide for yourself if you want to continue or quit the job. Just don't put up with this shit from anyone.
Originally posted by lA VUELTA:I am planning to quit my job as i don't think i deserve the sort of "verbal abuse" and sometime humilation infront of people.. from my supervisor. I deemed it as not healthy to continue in the long run. I want to know if anyone out there is willing to take in all these verbal abuse or am I taking this "verbal abuse" matter too seriously?
You have to learn how to stand up to these people. You have to use your judgment, sometimes you can use direct confrontation or speak behind their backs so that they know you are a lobbyist and you are not a pushover. But be careful about direct confrontation, make sure it doesn't go excessive because you must remember you r not in cowboy town.
The majority malaysian race (which I will not mention), they like to use snubbing politics against the minority to push you around. Like purposely greeting others except you, speak to you sarcastically when you need to request information, inviting others but not you or offer to switch off something to other people but don't ask you when they know you need to use it. So I always am direct and I will not hesitate to scold those who use snubbing politics or rude to me.
msian malays are the reasons for their own downfall. Even their own leaders deem it fit to spend billions on extravagance like the petronas towers and space tourist project, what more their people.
In most cases, it's always good to keep your cool. Retort back in a logical and almost unemotional manner. If you think you don't deserve this shit, then speak to your superior's superior and highlight the problem. If good, ask for transfer. If no good, then just look for greener pastures. No big deal cos every human being deserves better.
they dont deserve the best.just give them minimum help and let them rot.they can all go sell backside or plant rice in the end!
what doesnt kill u will make u stronger , if u get beaten up by some verbal abuse then it clearly shows that u cant take pressure well.
ts one still oaky. my last one the subordinate stare atthe engineer and raise voice at engineer, accuses engineer of mssing items. but they all malaysian lah. the whole fuking cmpany malasysian and malaysian pee arse. and really i think i should report mom and audit how many floortraps against singaporean ratio the company has. the whole company alos ic an say better move to jb lah. the products they make kuchengkurai 1 2 cent sonly ![]()
Many years ago, when I was young, I work part time and saw my supervisor really scold 4 letter words and scold knnccb in front of his staff and mostly his staff got this treatment are 30s and 40s yr old ladies. All keep quiet.
But now, different liao, times has changed, your scold me, I take revenge and I quit my jobs. Simple as that.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:msian malays are the reasons for their own downfall. Even their own leaders deem it fit to spend billions on extravagance like the petronas towers and space tourist project, what more their people.
In most cases, it's always good to keep your cool. Retort back in a logical and almost unemotional manner. If you think you don't deserve this shit, then speak to your superior's superior and highlight the problem. If good, ask for transfer. If no good, then just look for greener pastures. No big deal cos every human being deserves better.
Actually not all the majority race is enjoying the perks. Many are still at the border of poverty. From the papers it is estimated 40% of them earn below SGD600 a month. However they still stubbornly hold on to their "perks" or what little of it while the elite of the majority who have political connections are super duper rich from their economic policy. That day I drove pass one of their house, a mansion, many acres wide, he even have his own horse stable.
Sometimes it is timing. I am sorry to say that greenier pastures don't come so easily. We need to hold on for a while until it is the right time. If we quit now, the abuser wins. If the supervisor is cruel then we need to lobby, go and talk behind them to others. When you go out with your friends for yam cha, you can even speak badly and spread bad reputation about the supervisor. The world is small, one day somebody who heard you will come across your supervisor.
dont lose yer marbles n murder him at werk.
Originally posted by Icygecko84:I had this experience too. Once this supervisor accused me of not doing this particular thing when i did it already. It happened again when i was working at another place. Both of them were female supervisor. One was a chao ah lian with multiple knife scars on her wrists. The other was a typically nothing to do pick on you ask you do this do that kind of character. Other then accusing me of stuff i did not do or stuff i did already but said i did not do. The verbal abuse range from my hair which they said was spikey like porcupine or pineapple. Asking why i'm so fair, i never go out in the sun ah.. You look handsome la but you also look like a girl.
I mean all this personal comments i don't really give a damn. But when they repeat it almost everyday it gets on my nerves. The thing i can't stand is being accused of something i did not do. And i defended myself but later she kept on insisting i didn't do it. Now i look back on those days spent working there. I feel kinda unhappy with myself that i didn't become angry and kick up a big fuss. I hate to make a big scene but sometimes when you don't stand up for yourself you lose something inside of you. It called pride. As a person, how do you feel good about yourself if you let people trample on your pride. And who will respect you when you let people step all over you.
Decide for yourself if you want to continue or quit the job. Just don't put up with this shit from anyone.
i don't think making personal comments at work is appropriate, unless physical appearance is important for work for example in service job.
in the short term you earn some money, but in the long term it is not good to live under verbal abuse constantly. you feel bad about yourself because of stupid selfish cruel folks like these and gradually you form a poor self-image.
If you are a girl, start crying.
If you are a guy, start crying.
Either way, problem solved. ![]()
Originally posted by ayeyo:
i don't think making personal comments at work is appropriate, unless physical appearance is important for work for example in service job.in the short term you earn some money, but in the long term it is not good to live under verbal abuse constantly. you feel bad about yourself because of stupid selfish cruel folks like these and gradually you form a poor self-image.
Yeah that right. Well you see, their hair was normal pony tail for girls or short hair. And for guys it those slope or short hair. I was the odd one out ma with spikey hair. Can say all the people there old fashion that why not used to a young punk like me. I don't have a poor self image because i know where i stand. I know what kind of people they are therefore i don't bother myself with their comments. Anyway the supervisor that is not the chao ah lian is a malaysian. Maybe the ah lian supervisor might be also. I have nothing again malaysian. I kinda like them sometimes cuz they are more friendly. But sometimes they are just so petty minded when they are working. Selfish like they only care about themselves. Maybe that why people hate to work with them.
ts should just wear fire proof vest and go to work
not happy just resign loh.
if u think u got the ability and potential to find a better job and a better boss by chance then u resign loh.
much of the time is a lousy worker never do his job get scolded by the direct superior take it too hard and thus complain here and there. so don't have education, don't have correct work attitude. don't have heart to work. why stay in the position and let people scold. just leave the company and let better player get the job done.
Verbal abuse like what? If you sense that he is picking on you for every nitty gritty things then I suggest you tell him .By right you should keep your job but by left you go fark him teruk teruk and then you quit!