This is my first post, but i have been reading this sgforums for along time. My english is not that good. I had decided to write this is that after reading so much here and just nice that my son was sleeping beside me make me wondering how is he going to survive if Singapore gov going to go on as they wish. If he is good in study, i will work like a cow in order to proivde him. But not all human are perfect. If i am rich, i dont mind him turn out to be whatever, but the fact is that....
As in 2010 i am 35 years old, a flat which i am still paying, a lowly educated wife and a 17 month years old son. Currently unemploy but going to drive taxi soon, just pass my TVL. I have been unemployed for a year. I have been a driver all the while until the company get foreigners to replace all the drivers. During 2009, a class 3 driver get home $1300, class 4 get $1600 and class 5 get $2400. Foreigner drivers get around half of what we get, plus OT will be ard what we get. Class 4 and 5 drivers were mostly replaced by ex SBS China drivers who is a PR.
So i went to join the casino as dealer. The casino accepted me and trained me. But somehow the CRA declined me(i cross the law before). The gov always said give the ex convinced a chance, they are only putting up a show. And just with a driver licence without any other cert, the last resort was to join the cabby.
This may be the worries of all parents, including me. Not only the foreigners will snack even the lower tile of the citizens only meal providing job. But the way of the gov handle the labour law. They will allow other peoples for oversea to come in to fight for our cray rice bowl.
Lastly i hope that the gov will do something to us lower tile citizens, orelse we will someday be cornered and eventually turn back to bite.
I see...
Dont worry, education cost should be ok......especially for schooling levels....
At higher levels (poly or uni) it will be more expensive....
But it is still do-able with scholarships, etc.....
So just try to give him a good environment and a stable loving family.
Yea, pre-school education cost should be fine. Although it might be tough for you and your wife to provide the milk powder now. Your child is still young. He will survive 2 elections (this upcoming one and later in 2015/2016) before entering primary school. and another when he is 17/18. That's when the real education fees come in unless he goes to a JC.
Till then you can only cross your fingers and pray hard the gov will change something. Just my 2cents.
As until now 35 years old. I dont see that gov had done anything other then profiting their own pocket. Really have to cross all my limbs:P
Do you, your wife or relatives have any bad habits. I eamn 'bad' habits. If so try to kick them. As less don;t let those habits cost you financially. Betting on ToTo and 4-D is fine. maybe just buy a bid sweep tickt or a number in small amount bets. you never know your luck. winning some cash will definitely help you save for your son's expenses or pay for the milk powder. Don;t spend unneccessarily, although sometimes if your finances allow you can splurge on a little somethigng for the family. Be positive. Right now there is nothing we can dowith this foreigners shit. think of it. the gahmen has run out of ideas already if not you think they wll allow so many foreigners to coe in? They i can say and i am laffing now, really has got nomore ideas left. ![]()
I dont like to gamble, never, not even 4-D or ToTo. I dont have any saving, even spending $10 on 4-D is alot to me as it can be my my 3 meals. I dont think the gov can be like me $10 can last me 3 meals. If you take me like earning $1300 per month. After CPF is ard $1100. Pay $150 for flat, $150 for bills. Left $800. $300 for milk and all baby needs. $300 for food. $200 for transport. You go to apply for help, the gov ppls said my salary is enough. Like that just earn and live with no life. Ask the gov to live like me lol, i dont think they can. If they said they use brain too much need to get more pay, then i also can say that i also got pay GST lol.
I recommend you to become a vegetarian to save the costs.Plain bee hoon only cost $1.50 and add one vegetable only 2 dollars.
I am vegetarian:) But my wife is not:P
Why dun you get your wife to work as well? She can help to supplement to the household income. And why no family planning? Why have a baby when you have enough problem feeding yourself? Kids cost a lot in singapore.....Wait till the child starts schooling....you be in one hell of a fix then...
I always marvel how families like yours that can survive on around $1,000 a month
Anyway I don’t think his wife can work…if not who will look after the baby?
Survive yes, but extra or saving no. Yap wife look after my baby. Not hungry but not staving. But happy as it is now.
Maxsee, having a kid is ok. But it is his future that i am worried. You got to step a step back to see the picture.
Will be a big problem for you if there are no savings...what if you lose ur job one day? What if you get injured and is unable to work any longer? You should consider getting your wife to work part time or supplement your income with another part time job. You need saving of at least 6 months of your current salary in the event something happens to you. At least during that time you can still survive while looking for another job.
As for your child, dun really need to worry much on him...if he is good with his studies there are scholarship around....
And for goverment not helping you considering that your salary is this low....what can i say....this is not european country...it is the same everywhere for asian countries...no welfare for the ppl.....government won't take care of the lower income tier group....><"
now i see love is so great that it blinds a logical mind to sit down and use abacus of calculator. just married and forget if we can sustain a family after that. worse i bet you had a child without any planning? always have this mindset like i did after my very first job and got a retrenchment then. i was very young and not ready for that. later on as i worked more and got used to working life i had never for one day disable that jobsearch function in my pc and account because even if i am 123 or 4 months in any job i never count on it that i will not receive any letter from company stating that 'company in bad shape so you have to go'. ![]()
Yap, bad planning, but what to do??
Really shit to be in this country gov by those shit. Lucky i can go drive taxi, if not lagi worse. But i believe one day gov will get those FT to drive it too. So right now i had to have some saving.
Gov told me that my salary is high enough to live a good life, what still can i say??
My wife will work after my boy is old enough to go to school, so that will somehow lessen my bundlen.
Can you tell us exactly what you want the government to give you?
Give you $500 per month every month on top of your taxi earnings?
Give you three off day per week?
Pay up your housing loan for you?
Let you sell your government paid up flat for $1,000,000?
And then give you another flat cheap cheap?
Give you free taxi, and free supply of diesel?
You must know exactly what you want from the government, otherwise you are just hitting the wind, and you become sie bei tu lan.
No choice. You gotta work hard like a cow... to support your son.... make sure your child gets at least a degree cert.. if not, he will be in the same plight as you.... working hard to make ends meet.
it will be good if u think out of your current situation...being 35...u r still young and can do lots of things....
work harder (if u cannot think smarter) is the only way to go and slog off for the highly inflated country...
treasure your family and be contented with the small things in life....network with some fellow cabbies here on sg forum and how they cope successfully with their lives despite their situations...lastly, dun indulge in any bad habits that will affect yourself and family
Yap, i know i can still support my family as for now.
It is my child future that i am concern. Hope he can really study hard to atleast get a degree cert.
Hello mancha, you can go eat the wind yourself if you even dont know what i mean.
If you dont know, dont kia keong, i mean the gov had to restrict the foreigners, not just FT only to snatch our rice bowl. Also the housing price, we can affort now, but when come to our children, can they still affort.
Originally posted by Delwingoh:Yap, i know i can still support my family as for now.
It is my child future that i am concern. Hope he can really study hard to atleast get a degree cert.
Hello mancha, you can go eat the wind yourself if you even dont know what i mean.
If you dont know, dont kia keong, i mean the gov had to restrict the foreigners, not just FT only to snatch our rice bowl. Also the housing price, we can affort now, but when come to our children, can they still affort.
You want the fact here's some for you:
1. You're 35, more or less you should have working experience. There should be plenty of other jobs out there, it's the matter of whether you accept or not. And dont blame me for being analytical, since you're previously a driver, i can only assume that you're not qualified as well, so how much are you looking at per month? $3000?
Think about it, how did the foreigners working in Singapore survive with their pay lower than yours (you claimed that they earn half of what you used to earn)
2. You're married with a kid, i.e. a family to support and a house yet to be fully paid for. So why the heck are u unemployed? Is it because you're selective of the jobs available?
So are you implying that driving a taxi is a low paying job that you shouldn't be doing? I believe an average taxi driver (i.e. not those who take 5 mins lunch & dinner break + 2 mins toilet breaks) driving a half-day shift can easily earn $2000 per month?
3. If you're worried about your kid and know that education is important, you should encourage your kid to study hard and not slog his entire life to support his family like you did.
As the old chinese saying goes, How can people help you when you dont even help yourself? Time to wake up and do something useful instead of venting out your frustration in this forum. Spending $0.80 on a newspaper for the recruit section will be more worthwhile.
the government will go down. i mean, pap. when the old papa die. the son will be overthrow and new government will take over singapore
Why you scare? Our singapore government will take care of your child education.
No need to worry. School fees no money pay can apply for bursary.
No need to scare.
Everything will be fine.
yalor, why worry so much, free come to my pub, I can make you or your son a very happy person.
Originally posted by CKeer:You want the fact here's some for you:
1. You're 35, more or less you should have working experience. There should be plenty of other jobs out there, it's the matter of whether you accept or not. And dont blame me for being analytical, since you're previously a driver, i can only assume that you're not qualified as well, so how much are you looking at per month? $3000?
Think about it, how did the foreigners working in Singapore survive with their pay lower than yours (you claimed that they earn half of what you used to earn)
2. You're married with a kid, i.e. a family to support and a house yet to be fully paid for. So why the heck are u unemployed? Is it because you're selective of the jobs available?
So are you implying that driving a taxi is a low paying job that you shouldn't be doing? I believe an average taxi driver (i.e. not those who take 5 mins lunch & dinner break + 2 mins toilet breaks) driving a half-day shift can easily earn $2000 per month?
3. If you're worried about your kid and know that education is important, you should encourage your kid to study hard and not slog his entire life to support his family like you did.
As the old chinese saying goes, How can people help you when you dont even help yourself? Time to wake up and do something useful instead of venting out your frustration in this forum. Spending $0.80 on a newspaper for the recruit section will be more worthwhile.
(1) In the minds of people who don;t want 3k per month job if its easy? some more this guy got a family and many money commitment seems so ike he wrote.
(2) this i agree. but i am curious how he took the plunge. house, kids all at one time when he only a driver. i can only guess that he's previors driver job must be quite good paying. taxi driving is you your own boss. if you don;t want to pick up people, idle drive, don;t leanr and know the places to avoid or pick up ppl so one then one month not enough to cover the diesel and taxes also.
but his rant and vent on the foreigner issue i support. without the foreigner in the equation things will be much better and i bet he won;t need to start this trehad either.
TS, be strong. Since you are going to be td, look forward to it.
I hv a friend, only become td last year, told me he earn about $3k per month, but very very long hour, only lunch and dinner and pee pee poo poo break.
U need to save, be it $50 per month also good.
Dont give up hope. As your son need you for a long long time.
If you give up hope, how your son and wife going to survive right?
Remember, not you are in this situation, there are many many more also like you, many many more worst than you. Everybody are fighting for survival.
The foriegn viruses are here to stay in spore for long. We cannot do much really now. Except after GE, maybe pap will wake up and do something for us (hopefully).
Thks for all the support.
I hope SG will change for the better.