i am thinking after POP .......the assigning of unit, then made final decision cos many ppl say assigning unit then will knw army life is like wad......Originally posted by m@Rki:wah... unless u really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really love a military job... dun wait liao... if not, think really carefully b4 signing on... there are ppl who ord sign on too...![]()
urs all seem to be RSAF vocations......Originally posted by duotiga83:i am thinking after POP .......the assigning of unit, then made final decision cos many ppl say assigning unit then will knw army life is like wad......
if im not wrong its veri hard - nex to impossible - to sign on to airforce if u go thru ur army bmt and all.Originally posted by duotiga83:i am thinking after POP .......the assigning of unit, then made final decision cos many ppl say assigning unit then will knw army life is like wad......
Originally posted by kopiosatu:brother thankx......n btw i have a diploma in engineering(computer)
10 yrs contract in any vocation (is kinda long and dunno i can handle or not)
[b]Technical Vocation - Mimimum 6-7 years to be served for those who haven't completed NS.Which vocation i want? (AOSS, WSO (C3), Senior tech( actually i wan AEO but muz have degree promo need pretty long)?
AOSS and WSO are under C3, down there the money is good, because there is a loophole. Last time they (WSO, not sure about AOSS) are not paid technical pay (or issit combat pay, can't remember). Because of that, their promotion is faster. But now, they are paid the extra cash AND the promotion is still going in fast.
To sign on as AEO, you'll need a degree. No degree you can only join AMO. Anyway i remembered that you told me you don't have an engineering dip. So senior tech is out of the question too.
Under Air Force, you have ADA (combat), Aviation (pilots) and C3 (WSO/AOSS) left to join... ADA has combat tech vocations now... but without engineering dip, dun think you'll be able to get in.I want after NS sign on can or not or after BMT
Can, approach your S1 or Registry. Apply through unit. Whether army will release you or not, is another thing.
I suggest you get posted to a UNIT first then you apply, not when you're in some training school, because people there don't want to do the extra work.
i'm also thinking of this also........a head career is gd, but will i continue rest of my career lives? tats another thing.........Originally posted by GHoST_18:Personally...
i think sign on gives you a head start in your career >>> as in higher startin pay in the early stages compared to ypur peers...
but eventually if you are thinkin of earning more, i would suggest go out and work in the real world...
Juz tink carefully of what u wan b4 you make yr choice...
what if after 10 years you decided not to carry on and planned to work in the outside society, can you find another job...???
would you have an advantage over the fresh Grads...??? Bear in mind they are...
1) younger in age...
2) might have more working experience...
3) more up to date as in how the
working environment is in the outside world...
no offends to the regulars... but these are juz my personally opinions...![]()
tats wad the person said to mi during the open house.......Originally posted by wuming78:if im not wrong its veri hard - nex to impossible - to sign on to airforce if u go thru ur army bmt and all.
hmmmm never heard of computer dip goin in...Originally posted by duotiga83:brother thankx......n btw i have a diploma in engineering(computer)
at least that person never say IMPOSSIBLE...Originally posted by duotiga83:tats wad the person said to mi during the open house.......![]()
Originally posted by duotiga83:This has been pondering for mi quite some time liao.........
Well since i am interested in planes, ppl keep saying 'Sign on' to mi, but i don't want so early to have the contract
A few thing cos10 yrs contract in any vocation (is kinda long and dunno i can handle or not)
which vocation i want? (AOSS, WSO [C3}, Senoir tech( actually i wan AEO but muz have degree promo need pretty long)?
i want after NS sign on can or not or after BMT......
I nw really need PPl's suggestion and opinions.........Been thinking on this during my work 2dae.........
qing duo duo zhi jiao.....arigato gozaimasu........
for mi nw is wheterh want hobby as career or stick to my computer engine career which i am still pretty fresh on it....(cos i am still quite nuts on computerOriginally posted by Yunhaier:I think its kinda foolish if you plan to enter army for the sake of ten years of something and get out from there. Here's something you might want to consider:
I) you may attain certain rank during your stay there, say Staff Sergeant or something - but after you finished your bond with pay at least 2000+ to 3000+ then if you wish to work in private sector - you could probably claim wages much less than your army pay. (Staff Sergeant in army meant NOTHING in the working world).[/quote]
thnkx for this info......nvr knew about this........i not yet think about this 1
Long range invisible effect:
II) Even if you plan to use the money earn to do business or something, by the time the bond has ended. (probably you are close to 30), you are likely to be locked in your own financial liability. Car purchase or worst if you are married - on account for all these liability, you stay.
hhmmm......true....i also admit tat.....guys talk army things is alrite.....
III) Conversation with gf/wife will be affected (Whether you want to admit or not, in all small ways). Probably no woman likes listening to the army kind of guys talk. To guys its fine, to woman is a different story. Army guys always hate admitting this possible flaw and probably rebut, but I just post it here for you to think.
well...for my case....not really reduce....just 'stagnant'?
IV) If you do not have a gf - your female social circle will greatly be reduced. This may post a problem in the future.
well....is air force...so most of classified things also cannot reveal also........
V) What is useful you learn in army, survival and all other army related skills are generally not very useful in urban context. (Even if it does, on small scale.)![]()
[/quote]If you do not wish to do it AS A CAREER - forget it man. Don't treat army as a Job. It has to be a career. I have people regretting, but unable to pay bond-breaking, together with car liability - its hell.
Cheers
This i disagree, firstly, he wants to sign on in the airforce.Originally posted by Yunhaier:What is useful you learn in army, survival and all other army related skills are generally not very useful in urban context. (Even if it does, on small scale.)![]()
well..frankly speaking i dun wan to be job hopper........mi nw thinking is have gd start off......n yes i am interested in aerospace more than my course which i have nw..........Originally posted by kopiosatu:This i disagree, firstly, he wants to sign on in the airforce.
Whatever you have learnt while working will be an experience for the outside world
The SAF nowadays is like working outside.
Calling an officer younger than you 'Sir'? Well, it happens outside.
Working when boss is looking, twang when he's not around? Happens outside.
Backstabbers? Outside have plenty.
Irresponsible people? Outside also have
Let's face it, people always say, working outside is better.
How much better? Sure, you work hard, u have the correct lobang, you'll earn heaps. But how many people can do that?
Sick of work? Resign? SAF you can't do that.
But if u keep getting sick of work and resigning. What kind of person are you? Job Hopper? Is that good?
Whatever things you learn in life, will never be a waste. What you choose to learn and apply, only YOU can do it.
Regarding the Airforce. Classified things, the outside world don't need to know. If you're really interested in aerospace, then after you ORD, you will MAKE THE EFFORT to stay in the aerospace industry. The knowledge in the Air Force, be it Air Frame / Engine, Radar / Communication, will help you when you start your new job. that's IF you get a job in the aerospace industry. If not, take what you learnt, the people skills and your degree (assuming you UPGRADE yourself instead of wasting time in there) and getting a job outside.
i added a few lines to my postOriginally posted by duotiga83:well..frankly speaking i dun wan to be job hopper........mi nw thinking is have gd start off......n yes i am interested in aerospace more than my course which i have nw..........
Nowadays surely approve.Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:after da bonded period if u wish 2 resign a 3 mths notice is needed and tat also is subjected 2 approval
i am pretty confuse with this 1..........nw more or less understand....Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:i tink da common misconception ppl have is tat PP is not exactly a 10 yr contract
it runs 4 10 yrs but da bonded period is 5 yrs 4 those who haven finish serving their NS and 3 yrs 4 those who have
(1 day of NSF is= 2 days as a regular)(if i'm not wrong)
after da bonded period if u wish 2 resign a 3 mths notice is needed and tat also is subjected 2 approval
of coz if u serve out da 10 yrs
stage 2 of PP is subjected 2 approval as in they will see if u r suitable in terms of performance, work attitude etc![]()
eehh...1 question: How sure that after ORD n go to SIA definitely?Originally posted by kopiosatu:Basically, the basic things you learn in the RSAF, is applicable to Aerospace companies.
Basic things will always be there.
Theory of flight, auxillary systems, undercarriage...
Everywhere its the same.
Once you go the company, then you'll specialise in what they manufacture. Otherwise you'll still need the basic fundamentals in the aerospace industry.
I had a chat with my uncle who's in the SIA. Comparing what's happening in SIA and the RSAF. Frankly there is no difference, except paperwork! The techs in SIA get their own tools, RSAF we gotta use the tools they provide. In the end everybody has to do the same thing, check the engine, change the parts, and for my vocations' speciality, wire-locking. Even the techs in SIA do the same thing.
The only difference is, if i get my PP2, my pay shoots up.
If i ORD and go to SIA, i'll start from scratch. But i don't mind, because its the same job, and i'll just work my way up again.
A car is not important. I don't need a car. In fact i hate having a car, its a bloody liability.
Having a family is not a good excuse to get a car.
The generations before us didn't need cars. Take the BUS!
That depends on your effort.Originally posted by duotiga83:eehh...1 question: How sure that after ORD n go to SIA definitely?![]()
guess i think too far liao........Originally posted by kopiosatu:That depends on your effort.
Like i said. if you want to stay in the industry, you will find ways to stay.
The future is up to you.
Don't ask questions like 'What can i do after i ORD?', that question only you can ask and answer yourself.