alot of times i feel that the prob is because i dont like to talk alot.and the point to note here is that u dont like to talk a lot, yet u wanna feel bonded to a group of people. aint u being hard on yourself?
it's ok mooku.Originally posted by MooKu:/me pats bismarck
i want to help but i'm not sure how to...
are u a shy person? or umm.. maybe can try to open yourself up more, be more cheerful...? you can crack jokes to lighten up the atmosphere...can attract friends also if u are humorous
for a friend, i dont have much 'requests' rather i simply hope that i can talk to them that's it. nevermind if we have totally diff interests or habits. i dont care what habits he/she has as long the person doesnt have body odour. i dont even care whether u have a bad sense of fashion or anything. i dont care if yr hair is rainbow coloured.Originally posted by www:frankly, ur socialising skill is a total seperate issue to your studies.
nevertheless, since u try to put these two together, let's try to tackle on the socialising part.
the questions to ask here are: what do u look in having a friend? why do you wanna mix with them in the first place?
and the point to note here is that u dont like to talk a lot, yet u wanna feel bonded to a group of people. aint u being hard on yourself?
the solution lies with you. if you insist in shutting yourself out, there is no way u gotta make new friends.
for a start, trying mixing with your mates on activities like after-school basketball or soccer. you will naturally make many friends from there.
hey i don't like to talk alot too.. and i don't bond well with people alsoOriginally posted by www:frankly, ur socialising skill is a total seperate issue to your studies.
nevertheless, since u try to put these two together, let's try to tackle on the socialising part.
the questions to ask here are: what do u look in having a friend? why do you wanna mix with them in the first place?
and the point to note here is that u dont like to talk a lot, yet u wanna feel bonded to a group of people. aint u being hard on yourself?
the solution lies with you. if you insist in shutting yourself out, there is no way u gotta make new friends.
for a start, trying mixing with your mates on activities like after-school basketball or soccer. you will naturally make many friends from there.
just talk rubbish lar.. or like me.. whole day long only know how to crack lame jokes..Originally posted by bismarck:it's ok mooku.
sort of. more accurately speaking is in a situation where i am with ppl i am not familiar with, i will only talk when talked to.
jokes ah? not really good at them. i know not an excuse but..i prefer listening to them rather than making them.
for the first part, it's neither. most of the time, rather it's a lack of a common topic to talk. ok lah, i can try working on tat.Originally posted by Dudu:Is it really that you dun wanna talk to those people or people dun wanna talk to you instead? If it is you then you have to learn how to open up. You could start off your next semester by greeting your classmates friendly when you see them. Say if you see A at the school gate, wave at her enthusiatically or at least say a hello. Talk to her and ask her about what she did during the holidays and stuff like that. Then you could tell her stuff about yourself later in the day. Thats a way to make friends.Maybe after that you guys could really be good buddies, or she may wanna intro you to the rest of her kakis. ^^
But if its the case that people dun wanna talk to you, it might be your problem. No offence but I got a classmate who is totally anti-social. At least thast what we have the impression of her. Nobody wanna be partners with her whether in practicals or projects. Why? Cos she is over-bossy. If she wanna be the 'leader' of the group, I have no qualms about it. But ordering people around, barking at us to do things that she wants people to do seems a lil overdominating. Buay tahan. :/ That kind of people, my friends and I will definitely steer clear and away from.
Best wishes.
does that explain yr 5100 post count ?Originally posted by MooKu:just talk rubbish lar.. or like me.. whole day long only know how to crack lame jokes..
*nod nod*Originally posted by bismarck:does that explain yr 5100 post count ?
dunno why but i cant seem to bond with my class ppl. bond as in, talk to them, being close or friends with them. to the extent of having no probs with seeking grp partners.I have the same god damn problem as you. But your a CHinese guy right? It should be easier for you, your not tainted like me are you? I don't get spoken to because I LOOK different, and my culture is different, and you people all say "what the fuck is this white guy doing here, lets shun him".
i have 3 sems left before i grad and it seems i will have to endure this humiliation when i have to go round begging to join ppl for time to come.
this prob of bonding with ppl has plagued me for 3 sems already, i feel that it has already caused a disturbance to my studies, in the sense that i always worry abt bonding with them that my grades are sh|t.
i guess to be able to talk to them, you will at least have to initiate something from your side, unless you have certain inborn charisma to bring them to you instead.Originally posted by bismarck:for a friend, i dont have much 'requests' rather i simply hope that i can talk to them that's it. nevermind if we have totally diff interests or habits. i dont care what habits he/she has as long the person doesnt have body odour. i dont even care whether u have a bad sense of fashion or anything. i dont care if yr hair is rainbow coloured.
for the part abt keeping quiet and bonding, it's i dunno what to say loh.i can try on working that since not many of my classmates went for overseas attachment.
i know the prob lies with me that's why i am seeking advice.
thanks anyway.
Observe people with good social skills - you will discover that they interact (no doubt), but they also display good listening skills and their body language is positive.Originally posted by bismarck:i have this problem in socializing that seems to start from very young.
as in bonding with ppl, getting into grps for projects etc.
i noticed i seem to prefer joining ppl older than me. like last sem, there are some forward modules students, so they are older than me by a year, but i prefer joining them for lunch during breaks etc, rather than joining ppl of my age.
anyway this coming sem, they wouldnt be in the same class as me i guess. actually what worries me is that there are would be quite a number of pracs this sem, so i have to find grps to join for the pracs and finding ppl to grp with me is the major prob.
i dunno why but i cant seem to bond with my class ppl. bond as in, talk to them, being close or friends with them. to the extent of having no probs with seeking grp partners.
i have 3 sems left before i grad and it seems i will have to endure this humiliation when i have to go round begging to join ppl for time to come.
this prob of bonding with ppl has plagued me for 3 sems already, i feel that it has already caused a disturbance to my studies, in the sense that i always worry abt bonding with them that my grades are sh|t.
alot of times i feel that the prob is because i dont like to talk alot. it is only when there is a common topic then i will initiate a conversation or when some starts talking to me then i respond then there will be some chatting etc.
so i really want to know,is how can i improve on my relations with my class ppl and at least let them feel at ease when i approach them to grp.
i am not asking them to become best of friends with me in a matter of seconds or something, rather at least, can talk to them or grp with them with ease.
this has caused me sleepless nights for almost a week. and my term starts jan5. god help me....
Originally posted by bismarck:i have this problem in socializing that seems to start from very young.
i noticed i seem to prefer joining ppl older than me. like last sem, there are some forward modules students, so they are older than me by a year, but i prefer joining them for lunch during breaks etc, rather than joining ppl of my age.
anyway this coming sem, they wouldnt be in the same class as me i guess. actually what worries me is that there are would be quite a number of pracs this sem, so i have to find grps to join for the pracs and finding ppl to grp with me is the major prob.
i dunno why but i cant seem to bond with my class ppl. bond as in, talk to them, being close or friends with them. to the extent of having no probs with seeking grp partners.
alot of times i feel that the prob is because i dont like to talk alot. it is only when there is a common topic then i will initiate a conversation or when some starts talking to me then i respond then there will be some chatting etc.
so i really want to know,is how can i improve on my relations with my class ppl and at least let them feel at ease when i approach them to grp.
i am not asking them to become best of friends with me in a matter of seconds or something, rather at least, can talk to them or grp with them with ease.
this has caused me sleepless nights for almost a week. and my term starts jan5. god help me....
dun worry, no matter what problems you are experiencing, u r not alone in this world. Just remember, your aim is to complete ur studies, frens (new or old) can be made anywhere and if they dun want 2 mix around wif u though u tried ur best, be it.Originally posted by bismarck:i have this problem in socializing that seems to start from very young.
x 2!Originally posted by weidev:hey u sound alot like me... i don really go n talk to ppl... i wait for ppl to talk to me... then i slowly open up... lots of ppl are like tat... but since there are ppl like us... there are also ppl who akes the initiative to talk to ppl... be ard this type of ppl... and you won feel so bad liao...
u can continue to shut yourself behind those doors trying to figure out what could be a best and easy way out.Originally posted by bismarck:sian tiao...
next mon sch reopens. and it gives me the creeps.
later when prac have to get into grps..sure kanna tossed ard like unwanted stuff...
" eh u go join them lah
dont want lah. maybe u join them?......"
ends up, 10mins of pure humiliation. oh well..endured for 3 sems already..waht;s another 3 sems.
today go out and chiong arcade to numb myself of the anguish....whatever u call it...
aarrrgghh damn it...those ppl i can bond with are not in my class...sian1/2 some even not in the same course...
can anyone ans me?