there was once when the king banned marriage but a priest secretly married couples to each other and tis priest is called Valentine... later he was conferred on the title of St Valentine. that;s how valentine's day came about. but dunno why it is 14/2 though...Originally posted by dcx:Sometimes i juz feel that it' s not becoz we guys make empty promises...yes...we do tell you girls that "you like this? I'll buy for you"...something like that..Becoz we(he) noe that you like this thing, n so....in order to try to make you happy...he'' ll say that he'll buy for you...but rem...he's not a rich guy...in NS...pathetic pay..allowance, i mean,,maybe he's trying to save up? Though he might say that he'll buy this and that for you n that makes you happy...but (dunno if other guys think this way or not..at least for me) to buy something you like..and with that kinda allowance...have to think thru quite hard whether it's worth buying or not...or maybe shld i save up n buy something else more meaningful n useful for you on a special event? Dun get too disappointed when he failed his promises...coz we guys also dun like to fail our promises..but sometimes things ain't going smoothly...
But cheers up...maybe later he'll give you a surprise? *Dun hold high hopes though*
anyway...v-day's not big deal...as a matter of fact..wat's so special abt this v-day?till now i still dunno how v-day comes abt..y muz it be on the 14th Feb? In my opinion, v-day's juz a way florists and other trades earn more money by increasing prices of flowers,etc...in fact..v-day isnt that special as there're so many people celebrating..not a special day but a common day though...any day is a v-day as long as you couple are happy..y follow the crowd? Y not set you n your partner a v-day for yourself? It'll be even more special.
Btw...buying flowers/gifts on the 14thFeb is really a waste of $$$...all prices increases...might as well save those $$$ n spend a wonderful day with these $$$ later?
oHz...i see....then i see there's no such need to celebrate on "so-called" V day?Any day can be a wonderful n romantic but not valentine's day....but OUR's day....Originally posted by Coco_Coco:there was once when the king banned marriage but a priest secretly married couples to each other and tis priest is called Valentine... later he was conferred on the title of St Valentine. that;s how valentine's day came about. but dunno why it is 14/2 though...
but izit true that guys always plan for vday just to meet the gals' expectation?? feel pressurized to do so?Originally posted by dcx:oHz...i see....then i see there's no such need to celebrate on "so-called" V day?Any day can be a wonderful n romantic but not valentine's day....but OUR's day....![]()
Originally posted by dcx:oHz...i see....then i see there's no such need to celebrate on "so-called" V day?Any day can be a wonderful n romantic but not valentine's day....but OUR's day....![]()
Not all guys, i guess...Originally posted by Coco_Coco:but izit true that guys always plan for vday just to meet the gals' expectation?? feel pressurized to do so?
woah... that's really sweet of u...Originally posted by dcx:Not all guys, i guess...
I always make it a point to my gf that there's nothing really so special abt v-day...it's juz a normal day that most lovers would go out n celebrate..but bear in mind..it's not a holiday..yea?![]()
She also agreed with me...we would rather spend our romantic times during so-called normal days rather than on v-day coz things will be that expensive on that day...realli not worth it lor...rather use that $$$ to create more romantic times(My opinion)..as wat i've mentioned in the previous post..v-day's not my day..it's juz someone's day..i still prefer creating my own romantic day..noted that i din use "v-day' coz valentine's a person's name?n so..y shld i celebrate on his day rather on my day?
But..nonetheless..i always buy gifts n bring her out for dinner during "v-day".though i always tell her that it's a waste of $$$ to spend on v-day...but i wan her to be happy..i wan her to be as happy as any of the girls on v-day..in fact...happier...as long as she's happy n i could see her happy face..spending $$$ on v-day's rather worth it...it's juz the little surprise that i could do for her..always saying that i won't do this,do that, buy this,buy that..but it's always planned for surprises..let her noe in advance that dun put any hope...let her feel abit disappointed so that i could gib her those surprises..
and i'm esp touched by this part...Originally posted by dcx:but i wan her to be happy..i wan her to be as happy as any of the girls on v-day..in fact...happier...as long as she's happy n i could see her happy face..spending $$$ on v-day's rather worth it...
Originally posted by Coco_Coco:woah... that's really sweet of u...![]()
very touching lehz... cute uso...
i tink ur gf will love u to bits...![]()
Originally posted by dcx:
whether she's going to love me to bits...this one i'm not sure...
btw...wat's the meaning of love me to bits?
Somemore she's virgo n i'm cancer...our characters dun mix well..not to say that i believe in those horoscopes...but sometimes kinda find them quite true indeed...i really can't foresee the future between us...haiz....
Originally posted by Lingos:OH f.. i can't believe i'm reading this!
Like Bear, i was reading your description about ... Valentines' day and the origination of it. Hm... girl it is something that i used to read about in grade school.
I'm not sure you should be in a relationship like that. If you're upset then tell him. Not tell us!
ehz?u touched by this part?hehe...too bad i'm not your bf...*juz kidding*... hMz...but my gf might not have the chance to see this..anyway...i've no confidence at all...Originally posted by Coco_Coco:and i'm esp touched by this part...
if ur gf reads this now tink she will fall in love with you all over again.![]()
Originally posted by RainbowPrincess:*faintz*
DCX, horos shd be taken wif a pinch of saltLet's put it this way, I'm Piscean, so wat if the horos sez, "U're gonna haf an argument today". Does it mean ev. single Piscean under the sun will be having quarrels wif someone or other?
2 star signs can be together & last a long time. It's up to the indivs whether they can accept the quirkiness & idiosyncracies of the other : )
RP
haha we are just the opposite... he's virgo and i'm cancer...Originally posted by dcx:
whether she's going to love me to bits...this one i'm not sure...
btw...wat's the meaning of love me to bits?
Somemore she's virgo n i'm cancer...our characters dun mix well..not to say that i believe in those horoscopes...but sometimes kinda find them quite true indeed...i really can't foresee the future between us...haiz....
though i do not totally believe in horoscopes, i do read up on them sometimes. some things are quite true actually... anw actually i got read before virgo and cancer quite compatible...Originally posted by dcx:Actually i'm not too particular abt horoscopes...but sometimes it's juz that you can't dun believe part of it is quite true...making sense..whilst some aren't...i always wanted to hold/control my fate n destiny n life in my own hands..but you'll never noe...coz thre's bounds to have something restricting/blocking u...don't u?
Somemore hor....it's said n have examples that virgo n cancer dun really quite mix well...erm...not to mentioned my frenz...but me..my 1st gf's a virgo...now my 2nd(current)'s also a virgo...character-wise..not much of a diff...also...dunno if you ever heard of...age difference of 3,6,9 will always quarrel..dunno true or not..but i've encountered a few cases...sometimes it's really so hard to believe hor...
yealor...sometimes say compatiable..but most of the times uncompaitable...dunno which's one's true...Originally posted by Coco_Coco:though i do not totally believe in horoscopes, i do read up on them sometimes. some things are quite true actually... anw actually i got read before virgo and cancer quite compatible...
Your bf is a bum. Tell him to get off his lazy ass and put some effort in the realationship.Originally posted by Coco_Coco:i dunno why but my bf has been going back on his word these days.
he always said he will buy this stuff for me or buy that stuff for me cos i like them. but somehow they never came true. wadever he has promised me at that time seems to be forgotten over time. (it's not that he doesn't have the money btw)
then last time he proposed and got promise me on v-day he'll appear at my doorstep with a bouquet of red roses to bring me out to celebrate. now that v-day is drawing near, he starts to make other plans instead. instead he wanna me to go look for him at his house instead. imagine a gal going to a guy's hse and bring him out on v-day instead!!!when i sorta reminded him about this previous plan, he said he'll need to re-consider.
why is it that he din fulfill whaever he has said to me. did he say them just for fun? but he looked serious when he said them to me. it's not that i crave after these things. it wont have mattered if he never said about buying them for me or doing something for me. but he did say and when his words never materialised, that's when it mattered and hurt.
shd i be disappointed and upset with him? or shd i forget it since the things he promised me are not cannot-do-without-with things. when i tried to talk to him about keeping his word, he in return tink i very materialistic and keep wanting him to buy stuff for me. but the point is that i never budged him to buy or do those stuff for me! he volunteered...!
very sad now....
woah... u sound harsh...Originally posted by GrooveSalad:Your bf is a bum. Tell him to get off his lazy ass and put some effort in the realationship.