As long as U r happy & "T" is ok wif it, I dun see anything "wrong" in it. Juz dun overdo it such dat U look like those actresses in "Soap Opera" in da streets... -______-Originally posted by RainbowPrincess:Was debating over whether to post this in ChitChat or Agony Aunt. In the end, AA won, cosh I'd like to bring some lightheartedness to this place, & oso it's a place where we discuss all thgs Love : )
So here we go : )
The other day, my guy (let's juz call him T, I'm lazy to type "my guy" all the time) & I were discussing vanity... Ultimately, we came to an agreement. I grew up in a family whereby women like to doll up for their partners. We dress up (NOTE: this is different from "dressing to the nines") for them when we go out, we style our hair, we put on prettie shoes & nice perfume. T appreciates tt : )
I noe many guys wun care abt whether their girls dress up for them, as long as their girls love them. But for me, I've long been influenced to believe tt, dressing up & looking nice & attractive for my partner is part of loving him.
Wat do u think? : ) Let the discussion begin : )
RP
Originally posted by Lingos:That sounds like me rather than RP. Are you refering to me or what? I'm tired of people here condemning me cos i have so called expensive taste. So what if i do.. i don't care as long as i can afford it.
Anyway, i'm sure Paris Hilton the skanky ho' has worn shorts to a formal event more than once. And i'm sure they were Dolce & Gabbana or Versace. heheh.. tacky.
Nah, i thought it was refering to you. But i just wanted to stir it up to say that what he is describing is me. Heheh..Originally posted by RainbowPrincess:No, girl...
He has tried to antagonise me in other threads, hence I din reply him. But hafta clear up tt he was coming for me, Not u : )
Dun worree : )
RP
Originally posted by AdAptAliS:My own opinion:
Dress up to look better than appropriate and dress up for occasions are different things. Its not whether you wear shorts or slippers to formal events. Its more like how you dress and present yourself to others. In this case, i believe "vainpotedness' meaning presenting oneself to others, by looking better, which involves the fine selections of clothes and accesories, if necessary. Do you wear shorts to a restaurant? Do hawker centres have rules saying that you can't eat there because you're in a suit and tie? Imagine this scenario, you have some feelings for this girl and there's a group outing and she would be going. How would you dress? More to the occasion or more to present yourself better?
I don't see how RainbowPrincess "thinks very highly of herself". Can you list some examples? I mean i've read other threads in AA and she seems to help almost everyone who post some problems there. And not just mere giving a few words of concern, they seem to go through a lot of thinking processes. Does this seem to you that she treats others at a lower-class? Not to me at least.
No offence to you . Just my own opinions.![]()
Originally posted by Lingos:That sounds like me rather than RP. Are you refering to me or what? I'm tired of people here condemning me cos i have so called expensive taste. So what if i do.. i don't care as long as i can afford it.
Anyway, i'm sure Paris Hilton the skanky ho' has worn shorts to a formal event more than once. And i'm sure they were Dolce & Gabbana or Versace. heheh.. tacky.
Originally posted by Lingos:Nah, i thought it was refering to you. But i just wanted to stir it up to say that what he is describing is me. Heheh..
HeelloOriginally posted by RainbowPrincess:Hiyah : )
Ur opinion is exactly wat I'm tokking abt, presentation, in this instance, to ur guy, or the guy u're attracted to : )
Well done! : )
RP
*enter the farmer* howdy... whats all this baloney about dolling up? yea once in a while u need to get a good scrubbing if ya wanting to be smelling all fresh at the square dances.Originally posted by RainbowPrincess:Was debating over whether to post this in ChitChat or Agony Aunt. In the end, AA won, cosh I'd like to bring some lightheartedness to this place, & oso it's a place where we discuss all thgs Love : )
So here we go : )
The other day, my guy (let's juz call him T, I'm lazy to type "my guy" all the time) & I were discussing vanity... Ultimately, we came to an agreement. I grew up in a family whereby women like to doll up for their partners. We dress up (NOTE: this is different from "dressing to the nines") for them when we go out, we style our hair, we put on prettie shoes & nice perfume. T appreciates tt : )
I noe many guys wun care abt whether their girls dress up for them, as long as their girls love them. But for me, I've long been influenced to believe tt, dressing up & looking nice & attractive for my partner is part of loving him.
Wat do u think? : ) Let the discussion begin : )
RP
Originally posted by AdAptAliS:Heello
Thank you.Just my thoughts only.
Anyway, do i sound more like a girl or a guy?![]()
Originally posted by Farmer Brown:*enter the farmer* howdy... whats all this baloney about dolling up? yea once in a while u need to get a good scrubbing if ya wanting to be smelling all fresh at the square dances.
i dun believe in dressing up. i think if i feel presentable the partner should accept it. likewise, if my partner feels she looks presentable, be it plain jane or extremely gorgeous, then thats her standard. if i can live with either end, she has to be able as well.
personally, i prefer the slob look... i can go to orchard in really really slobby burms and tees...who's gonna look anyway?
Originally posted by Farmer Brown:u are crazy... i write so much and u make reference to the last line... say something else la..
Originally posted by Farmer Brown:*enter the farmer* howdy... whats all this baloney about dolling up? yea once in a while u need to get a good scrubbing if ya wanting to be smelling all fresh at the square dances.
i dun believe in dressing up. i think if i feel presentable the partner should accept it. likewise, if my partner feels she looks presentable, be it plain jane or extremely gorgeous, then thats her standard. if i can live with either end, she has to be able as well.
personally, i prefer the slob look... i can go to orchard in really really slobby burms and tees...who's gonna look anyway?
Originally posted by Farmer Brown:u're obsessive.. and its scary.... eeeeeeeee
Yeah true.. but i always get condemned here as materialistic. Whatever! Anyway i want to see how a Singaporean can get away without spending money! HAHHAH.. No way huh? I can't imagine someone living on Tow Gay they are growing in their flat. Heheh..Originally posted by RainbowPrincess:Btw u dummy, there's Nothg wrong wif ur expensive tastes, since YOU're the 1 buying them : ) U din try to con some guy into buying those for u ev. single time.
Women like u shd be admired, Not condemned : )
RP
the sloobby burms part la!! wah lau... i dun really wear overalls and boots all the time... geez..and i'm not xxxxOriginally posted by RainbowPrincess:Harlowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
U're the 1 who asked me to write more, then u tell me I'm obsessive?! *scratchz head*
Farmers r fickle sometimes, like whether to drive the tractor today or juz walk
RP
Yo, who are you referring to?Originally posted by Lingos:I think i've scared the hell out of him.