What makes you think the local boys will treat you like an outcast? I've seen eurasian in the army who can mix well with anybody. You only get "mark" when you try to show off or act smart. If not, you are just like any of the guys who got to suffer the same bullsh!t and time wasted for 2 years. If you think it's not fair to you, try to lodge a complain or something. They might just listen cause you are white. duh.Originally posted by men_@_arms:Dad just said I may have to do NS. He got PR cos he works here, and so my mum and I automatically become PRs as well. We are foreign citizens, I have only been in Singapore for 6 years schooling. And i might actually have to serve NS?!! I am pissed because it just does not sound fair, how come all the other white PR's children dont have to go?
But NS itself is not the problem. Its just that I am already struggling with suicidal and homocidal thoughts in school cos of my lack of socialisation. I dont think I can bear to spend 2 years (mondays to fridays full TIME), in a barracks with a bunch of local people, in the same sort of "-segregatory-socialisation-thing" which i currently face in school now. I fear out of anger, from being dissed by sergeants and ignored by fellows, i fear I may really lose it, already its hard to find weapons in school, yet alone a barracks? Haha I can imagine the headlines "Psychopath Foreign Eurasian freak kills Singaporeans in Army barracks. Minister says this is the result of letting ANYONE go into National Service".
Help me. I am suffering now, i dont want to suffer even MORE later on. This is psychological suffering, not a physical thing, dont tell me i am weak physcially, I could take on anyone of you small people!
Originally posted by men_@_arms:btw i am british passport holder, 19 years old.
Hey, you do have friends in Singapore right? What about here? Quite a number of friendly people here in sgforums also mah.Originally posted by men_@_arms:Why should things be different in NS,,, or uni? Or any other organisation here? You people as a culture do not want to mix with anyone out of the ordinary. You people do not want to talk to me by choice, unless it is of necessity, you people only want to talk to your own kind and mix with your own. That is what I have come to believe in, the need for purity. I dont believe white people are accepted fully by locals, look at your flaming posts, look at my alienation from locals. I am really confused. NOTHING bothers me, I can do anything, what bothers me is the isolation from people, it is seriously not healthy... I just hope you few are right when you say the army is different.
relax la, gng in is a gd chance to socio arnd cos when u recruit everybody stays together as a unit... give yourself a chance to socio wif everybody... its not as bad as u tink, b nice to others n they will b nice to u...Originally posted by men_@_arms:Dad just said I may have to do NS. He got PR cos he works here, and so my mum and I automatically become PRs as well. We are foreign citizens, I have only been in Singapore for 6 years schooling. And i might actually have to serve NS?!! I am pissed because it just does not sound fair, how come all the other white PR's children dont have to go?
But NS itself is not the problem. Its just that I am already struggling with suicidal and homocidal thoughts in school cos of my lack of socialisation. I dont think I can bear to spend 2 years (mondays to fridays full TIME), in a barracks with a bunch of local people, in the same sort of "-segregatory-socialisation-thing" which i currently face in school now. I fear out of anger, from being dissed by sergeants and ignored by fellows, i fear I may really lose it, already its hard to find weapons in school, yet alone a barracks? Haha I can imagine the headlines "Psychopath Foreign Eurasian freak kills Singaporeans in Army barracks. Minister says this is the result of letting ANYONE go into National Service".
Help me. I am suffering now, i dont want to suffer even MORE later on. This is psychological suffering, not a physical thing, dont tell me i am weak physcially, I could take on anyone of you small people!
PRs always had to serveOriginally posted by Lingos:I thought that PRs didn't have to serve NS?!?
Hmm.. must be behind the times.
I suggest you go seek a doctor's advice....Originally posted by men_@_arms:Dad just said I may have to do NS. He got PR cos he works here, and so my mum and I automatically become PRs as well. We are foreign citizens, I have only been in Singapore for 6 years schooling. And i might actually have to serve NS?!! I am pissed because it just does not sound fair, how come all the other white PR's children dont have to go?
Anywhere, anytime. It can be DIFFERENT, it can be the SAME. The CHOICE is yours. Another piece of advice... When there's a change in environment and people don't know about you nor your background, it's another good opportunity to gain acceptance and change....Originally posted by men_@_arms:Why should things be different in NS,,, or uni? Or any other organisation here? You people as a culture do not want to mix with anyone out of the ordinary. You people do not want to talk to me by choice, unless it is of necessity, you people only want to talk to your own kind and mix with your own. That is what I have come to believe in, the need for purity. I dont believe white people are accepted fully by locals, look at your flaming posts, look at my alienation from locals. I am really confused. NOTHING bothers me, I can do anything, what bothers me is the isolation from people, it is seriously not healthy... I just hope you few are right when you say the army is different.
Note this one. And it doesn't matter if you're a white, a black, a Chinese, Indian or Malay... You'll get SH|T... Learn to live through it... At later part of your life you'll probably be getting plenty more of it anyway?Originally posted by kopiosatu:Well, as a recruit... you don't really have a choice, you have to mix around, u make friends, u survive army
That's really unnecessary. Let's see one freaking Singaporean born and bred who wants to serve NS. Those who do must get their head checked out.Originally posted by epImetheus:since you want to live in s'pore, then do something which makes you qualified to do so. if not, go back to your own #$%#%#$ country where you orignally come from.![]()
first generation PR dun have to serve.. but since your dad are PR.. then u are the second generation lor. so have to serve.. no choiceOriginally posted by wuming78:PRs always had to serve
well well.. calling US small ppl hor??? who the racist one here.. but nvm.... dun worri lah singaporean are good ppl... as long as u can prove that u are good we wont treat u as outcast.... thats one thing good about ns..... coz u will be together with alot of chinese and malay and u suffer together, so race dun matters.. but attitude does... if u everything also take cover than u die lor.... if not the tougher the training the better u will bond ... trust mi on that....so just go in there and enjoy the suffering together then book out time go chiong together lor..Originally posted by men_@_arms:Dad just said I may have to do NS. He got PR cos he works here, and so my mum and I automatically become PRs as well. We are foreign citizens, I have only been in Singapore for 6 years schooling. And i might actually have to serve NS?!! I am pissed because it just does not sound fair, how come all the other white PR's children dont have to go?
i have not served NS yet. but i will not escape from it or kpkb about it.Originally posted by Lingos:That's really unnecessary. Let's see one freaking Singaporean born and bred who wants to serve NS. Those who do must get their head checked out.
So you fucking fuckweed, tell me how you felt when you HAD to serve NS?
Originally posted by epImetheus:Young thing commenting on things you don't even know yet.
[b]i have not served NS yet. but i will not escape from it or kpkb about it.[/b]