would u appreciate it if your sis decided to intefere and make u lesbian, because she thinks it is wrong of u to be straight?Originally posted by shopgirl:its different when its your younger sis in question. i have gone through that phase before and lets just say it was not a pretty sight. my parents were very heart broken and many tears were shed.
i just want to do the right thing. IF she never change...how? should i leave her alone and let her deal with it and come out wiser. Or should i be a prick and interfer so she doesn't fall deeper. I know frenz who are still crooked till today and are not exactly having the time of their life. (early twenties) Nevertheless, some pointers are excellent.thanks!

hello she is 14...the point here is not about whether its right to be a les or not. Point being, should it not be about guidance and support esp now when she is at such a vulnerable age.Originally posted by HENG@:would u appreciate it if your sis decided to intefere and make u lesbian, because she thinks it is wrong of u to be straight?
im not talking about right or wrong to be les or not. im talking about, with regard to something so personal, is it right to interfere in any way? irregardless of age.Originally posted by shopgirl:hello she is 14...the point here is not about whether its right to be a les or not. Point being, should it not be about guidance and support esp now when she is at such a vulnerable age.
not to say interfere. but its good to always provide guidance. they may not feel comfortable to take the initiative to ask, but older siblings shud feel responsible enuff to take the initiative to ask them and guide them, o cos tactfully.Originally posted by HENG@:im not talking about right or wrong to be les or not. im talking about, with regard to something so personal, is it right to interfere in any way? irregardless of age.
guidance is a subjective word. while it may seem like guidance to u, it may seem like distrust, and interference to someone else. u could advice, but u cannot force, and u cannot be overbearing. if it was my brother, i'd let him sort it out himself. i did fine myself, who gave me "guidance"? and the only time someone offered "guidance", it was more like, being forced to do something against my will, at a time when i was still too young to know how to handle things other than to simply accept being forced. the result? my life got turned upside down. so when i say do not interfere, i say from a 1st hand experience of being a victim of "guidance".Originally posted by wuming78:not to say interfere. but its good to always provide guidance. they may not feel comfortable to take the initiative to ask, but older siblings shud feel responsible enuff to take the initiative to ask them and guide them, o cos tactfully.
jus imagine if its ur own siblings whom u care for alot, wat would u do or not do?
o cos this varies wif the individual. this is jus wat i would do if i were the one.
yah.. i noe wat u mean. but u would noe ur sibing best lor. so wat kind of guidance wil be up to u. o cos he/she may not need any at all. den it wil be the best.Originally posted by HENG@:guidance is a subjective word. while it may seem like guidance to u, it may seem like distrust, and interference to someone else. u could advice, but u cannot force, and u cannot be overbearing. if it was my brother, i'd let him sort it out himself. i did fine myself, who gave me "guidance"? and the only time someone offered "guidance", it was more like, being forced to do something against my will, at a time when i was still too young to know how to handle things other than to simply accept being forced. the result? my life got turned upside down. so when i say do not interfere, i say from a 1st hand experience of being a victim of "guidance".
Talk to her... Be her friend... Don't stop her but monitor her from there... You can't guide if you don't even know her... And you can't know her unless she allows herself to... (but you must make her see at least a reason to in the 1st place?)Originally posted by shopgirl:its different when its your younger sis in question. i have gone through that phase before and lets just say it was not a pretty sight. my parents were very heart broken and many tears were shed.
i just want to do the right thing. IF she never change...how? should i leave her alone and let her deal with it and come out wiser. Or should i be a prick and interfer so she doesn't fall deeper. I know frenz who are still crooked till today and are not exactly having the time of their life. (early twenties) Nevertheless, some pointers are excellent.thanks!
don't be so sure.Originally posted by wuming78:yah.. i noe wat u mean. but u would noe ur sibing best lor. so wat kind of guidance wil be up to u. o cos he/she may not need any at all. den it wil be the best.
u have heavy respondsiblities man.. u cannot control her, coz if u do, she is sure to rebel, u wont have results from it man.. talk to her like her friends thats the way to get close to herOriginally posted by shopgirl:major prob here. suspect 14 year old sis is lesbian. wat should i do. currently super rebelious and might scream if i asked her abt it, worse still shut herself from me. HELP! she is in a all girls school and parents aren't here, so i am in charge
Originally posted by Farmer Brown:so what if she's lesbian. u should be supportive no matter what. if i had a sister and she chose to be lesbian, i'm gonna support her all the way. its her life and its her choice. the fact that society already frowns upon these people and look at them as freaks.. u as an older sibling should stand by her side.
talk to her nicely and try to understand her. i'm sure she'll appreciate your efforts and she'll def not close herself to you. who knows, she might just make u her confidant and tell u all her probs, that way, u can look out for her and thats what you really want don't u?
Originally posted by shopgirl:major prob here. suspect 14 year old sis is lesbian. wat should i do. currently super rebelious and might scream if i asked her abt it, worse still shut herself from me. HELP! she is in a all girls school and parents aren't here, so i am in charge
You're right - there is a problem here. However, it's not with your sister being possibly lesbian - it's with the fact that you are in a position to think this way.Originally posted by shopgirl:major prob here. suspect 14 year old sis is lesbian. wat should i do. currently super rebelious and might scream if i asked her abt it, worse still shut herself from me. HELP! she is in a all girls school and parents aren't here, so i am in charge
or are you(the thread starter), against lesbianism as a whole?Originally posted by Farmer Brown:Gedy's point is actually my point but from another angle... are YOU personally against her lesbianism?
no i am not against lesbians...i repeat...i am not against lesbiansOriginally posted by HENG@:or are you(the thread starter), against lesbianism as a whole?
Ever try telling all this to your sis?? If she's sensible enough, she'll understand and try not to hurt your parents again lor, but I think it's hard for a 14 yrs old to understand that lah. What i'll do is keep it from my parents and hope that she'll grow out of it fast lor.Originally posted by shopgirl:no i am not against lesbians...i repeat...i am not against lesbians
its simple, i do not want my sis to go thru the same thing i did...i was sent to singapore to study in an all girl's school...i was crooked once...and when my parents found out, they were devasted...they didn't blame me ...in fact they blamed themselves...apologising for not being there for me...that its their fault i turn out this way due to work obligations (ALWIZ overseas). it really broke my heart to see my mum and dad cry.
they pulled me out of school and sent me to boarding school in Oz so that i stop hanging out with , well, my crooked friens in sg. it was a very difficult phase for me.... to start life agin in a foreign country again!!!but thats how my parents deal with it, they do what they think is best for the kids. i my parents are awesome, the unconditional love they give their kids...
i dun wan my parents to go through the same thing...and i dun wan my sis to go through the same thing.. its terrible. its a very terrible terrible situation to be in. my parents loves the kids so much, it hurts to see them work so hard.And i am the oder sister, i just wan to do whats right for my sis. its my sister we are talking about.
its not about my beliefs, my values....its a simple question, dun complicate it.
haha.....brother a gay b4?? jus jokinOriginally posted by Parka:signs of puberty. should grow out of it.
lets put through a hypothetical question then.Originally posted by shopgirl:no i am not against lesbians...i repeat...i am not against lesbians
its simple, i do not want my sis to go thru the same thing i did...i was sent to singapore to study in an all girl's school...i was crooked once...and when my parents found out, they were devasted...they didn't blame me ...in fact they blamed themselves...apologising for not being there for me...that its their fault i turn out this way due to work obligations (ALWIZ overseas). it really broke my heart to see my mum and dad cry.
they pulled me out of school and sent me to boarding school in Oz so that i stop hanging out with , well, my crooked friens in sg. it was a very difficult phase for me.... to start life agin in a foreign country again!!!but thats how my parents deal with it, they do what they think is best for the kids. i my parents are awesome, the unconditional love they give their kids...
i dun wan my parents to go through the same thing...and i dun wan my sis to go through the same thing.. its terrible. its a very terrible terrible situation to be in. my parents loves the kids so much, it hurts to see them work so hard.And i am the oder sister, i just wan to do whats right for my sis. its my sister we are talking about.
its not about my beliefs, my values....its a simple question, dun complicate it.