did u get any forms from IRAS? cos my friend less than 20k also but he got the forms for filing which is why subsequent conversation with him led me to seek answers here..Originally posted by BufPuf:my mum tell me i no need to file leh
coz less than 20k
so ignorance is bliss? is there any clause that say its the citizen's duty to ensure that he is taxed? hahaOriginally posted by xking:If U nit to file they will sent U instruction clearly plus all the required forms.....If U dun receive....no nit to...

1) How much did you earn from your job which you started in Aug?Originally posted by Ecxentrique:Need a little help here
I just started work in Aug last year.. do i need to file anything by this year Apr 15th? Income for 2003 definitely less than 20k.. my friend say even so must still file...
but..
IRAS nv send me any forms
I can't efile cos no ef pin and singpass cant work
Phone filing cant work also
Downloaded a form and it says fill only if my income more than 20k..
seems like i am stuck.. i have emailed them to ask cos their hotline too hot..cant get thru.. so meanwhile tot i get some help from kind souls here..
any ideas?![]()
Originally posted by Ah Ma:
did u receive the forms or pin form IRAS?no they nv send anything
if u are suppose to receive pls call them to send u...if nt u no pin canot file...how to know i supposed to?
did ur company file for u? if yes, u jus go in and efile click click n enter ur other income...nope company just fill in some IR8A forms for us
if no need file then no needso back to ignorance is bliss?
Originally posted by :should be www.iras.gov.sg yah?
For more info, go to www.iras.com.sg
Nope if you earn less than 1.5k in earned income as in salary and you have no other forms of income. You do not need to efile or report your income since you earn less than 20k in a year, you will never be taxed.Originally posted by Ah Ma:nono sometimes u earn less than 1.5k or wat aso need to efile...i think if they nv send u income tax form no need to efile lar
need leh!! my fren earn less than 1.5k aso need to efile to declareOriginally posted by :Nope if you earn less than 1.5k in earned income as in salary and you have no other forms of income. You do not need to efile or report your income since you earn less than 20k in a year, you will never be taxed.![]()
Originally posted by KittynMeow:the part in blue.. does applicable for non residents only yah? so other than that i can assume that for RESIDENT no need to FILE also?
whether you need to file?? check this... got this from IRAS website.
[b]Filing Obligations
Q1: When do I need to file an income tax form?
Existing Taxpayer
You will need to file an income tax form as long as an income tax form/ EF-PIN letter (Electronic Filing letter) has been sent to you.
New Taxpayer
You will have to file an income tax form if your annual income in Singapore is $20,000 or more.
For a married man who elects for combined assessment if you and your wifeÂ’s combined income is $20,000 or more, you will have to file an income tax form.
If you are a new taxpayer and a non-resident for income tax purposes, you will have to file a tax form if you have income (other than dividend income) sourced in Singapore.
that was the same reason my friend asked if i file already.. he tot no matter wat still need to file.. as long as got income must file..Originally posted by Ah Ma:nono sometimes u earn less than 1.5k or wat aso need to efile...i think if they nv send u income tax form no need to efile lar
call them up and ask ....if yes, ask them quickly send u the epin to log in to fileOriginally posted by Ecxentrique:that was the same reason my friend asked if i file already.. he tot no matter wat still need to file.. as long as got income must file..
their hotline is impossible to get thru.. emailed them liao..Originally posted by Ah Ma:call them up and ask ....if yes, ask them quickly send u the epin to log in to file
u kana fine hw much???? i tink temp no need file or report to iras lar ?Originally posted by coolger03:eh, i din file last year and kena fine leh...
cos for the year 2002, i only worked like 2-3 mths temp during sch holidays... and it's definitely less than the 20k u all mentioned...
but then hor, i went down to ask them, they say first-timer they dun fine... but then next time must remember to file lor...
think u better check leh... cos i think i did file since i started working after poly....
did u get the forms in the first place?Originally posted by coolger03:eh, i din file last year and kena fine leh...
cos for the year 2002, i only worked like 2-3 mths temp during sch holidays... and it's definitely less than the 20k u all mentioned...
but then hor, i went down to ask them, they say first-timer they dun fine... but then next time must remember to file lor...
think u better check leh... cos i think i did file since i started working after poly....
was supposed to be 100 bucks.. but later they say first timer, so no need lor...Originally posted by Ah Ma:u kana fine hw much???? i tink temp no need file or report to iras lar ?
good qn... i dunno leh...Originally posted by Ecxentrique:did u get the forms in the first place?