quite true.. but lookin at my ex, she nv seem to lose any of her frens.Originally posted by ahkico:Is always lik tat... U r all close in sec school... But as time passes, each has each path to tak, n slowly slowly u all drift apart... It is kinda of hard to really meet up wif everyone when each is busy wif his / her life, work schedule etc...
U mayb free tis daes, but who cannot, who can, etc... So is very hard, unless u r all in the same cliques or collegues...
Mayb ur friends now r jus less outgoin??? Whereas ur gf grp of friends r more outgoin... most prob coz of the differnt envt tat u work in.... Mayb ur collegues r few... n her collegues alot, so, of coz they have more outins...
Don worry... U r not alone.... Really bored? Suggest a sgforums outin ba! Surely alot will turn up... N u be makin lots of friends!
3 cheers!![]()
pls take care..Originally posted by icycold:As everybody else says, you are not alone!
I am in the same boat too. Friends are all too occupied with their own lives. End up becoming very dependant on gf. Now our relationship on the rocks, i end up very depressed over a potential breakup, and depressed over being so alone. Sigh........
Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:Jus pondering over the miserable state of my social life now..
The last time I had a regular group of friends, hang-out kakis was in secondary sch. Over the yrs, as we grew up & move on, IÂ’ve been feeling increasingly isolated & lonely.
The initial excitement of having a GF helpsÂ… but eventually, I felt like a loser when I compare my life with hers. On any fri or sat, sheÂ’ll have like queues of ppl (both guys & gals) waiting to meet her. Even when sheÂ’s with me physically, sheÂ’ll be busy answering her calls.
By comparison, IÂ’ll be staring at my phone hoping for a call to ease my embarrassment & wondering where has my life gone wrong.
IÂ’ve always been amazed by the drastic differences in the way her friends adored her & the way my friends treat me.
Today my phone hardly rings, except from my mum & work purposes. The friends I managed to make in school now are the classic hi-bye types. But at least I get to meet ppl when I am in school or working part time. IÂ’m beginning to dread weekend cause thatÂ’s when I have no classes. I am also beginning to dread the festive seasons, esp the year-end ones, cause thatÂ’s where the pressure of being alone & not having friends is the greatest.
This period of “isolation” has given me time for reflections & to work on other aspects of my life (e.g. family, work & studies). But beyond these, I REALLY feel that there should be more to life.
IÂ’ve not been to the movies or gone clubbing for agesÂ… simply for the lack of company. Small comforts that are co common & natural for most pplÂ… seemed so elusive to me.
The only few friends I have now are those that almost never call meÂ… & from the way theyÂ’ve been treating me, I rely feel so discouraged about asking them out.
When you are treated like that by the ppl around you, it’s not merely the feeling of having no company, being lonely. I start to have this “where have my life went wrong? Is there something fundamentally flawed about me?”
I've tried to work or sleep my way through the countless weekends where i simply can't find human company. But i realised this problem is really affecting my mood & self-esteem.
Feeling pathetic & terrible
Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:Jus pondering over the miserable state of my social life now..
The last time I had a regular group of friends, hang-out kakis was in secondary sch. Over the yrs, as we grew up & move on, IÂ’ve been feeling increasingly isolated & lonely.
The initial excitement of having a GF helpsÂ… but eventually, I felt like a loser when I compare my life with hers. On any fri or sat, sheÂ’ll have like queues of ppl (both guys & gals) waiting to meet her. Even when sheÂ’s with me physically, sheÂ’ll be busy answering her calls.
By comparison, IÂ’ll be staring at my phone hoping for a call to ease my embarrassment & wondering where has my life gone wrong.
IÂ’ve always been amazed by the drastic differences in the way her friends adored her & the way my friends treat me.
Today my phone hardly rings, except from my mum & work purposes. The friends I managed to make in school now are the classic hi-bye types. But at least I get to meet ppl when I am in school or working part time. IÂ’m beginning to dread weekend cause thatÂ’s when I have no classes. I am also beginning to dread the festive seasons, esp the year-end ones, cause thatÂ’s where the pressure of being alone & not having friends is the greatest.
This period of “isolation” has given me time for reflections & to work on other aspects of my life (e.g. family, work & studies). But beyond these, I REALLY feel that there should be more to life.
IÂ’ve not been to the movies or gone clubbing for agesÂ… simply for the lack of company. Small comforts that are co common & natural for most pplÂ… seemed so elusive to me.
The only few friends I have now are those that almost never call meÂ… & from the way theyÂ’ve been treating me, I rely feel so discouraged about asking them out.
When you are treated like that by the ppl around you, it’s not merely the feeling of having no company, being lonely. I start to have this “where have my life went wrong? Is there something fundamentally flawed about me?”
I've tried to work or sleep my way through the countless weekends where i simply can't find human company. But i realised this problem is really affecting my mood & self-esteem.
u mean on ICQ or MSN izzit?Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:how come even online also no replies![]()
Haiya.... cheer up man... nobody talk to u..?? give me ur msn.... i will bother u until u cannot tahan... hahaOriginally posted by A Beautiful Mind:Jus pondering over the miserable state of my social life now..
Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:
Jus pondering over the miserable state of my social life now..
Ya.. That point of my life...
Understand that different people leads a different kinda life style... Just because your gf is an extrovert, doesn't mean that you'll have to be one... Though no doubt the more extrovert ones would usually seems to be more popular with other people.. But I've always thought it's more important to be yourself and lead your life the way you want to...?
Like the others have suggested, you'll have to create your own circle of friends and contacts.. Get out there and MEET MORE people... Join us for OUTINGS!!!
Strangely enough, I've always thought of myself as an introvert... The type who would enjoy watching a movie alone and even goes clubbing ALONE... Kinda WEIRD? Well.. People used to look at me that way... But I guess I'm just DIFFERENT..? Now I still meet people.. Laugh a bit.. Joke a bit (?)... Haha..It's not about HOW you MUST lead your life... Just live the way you want it to be...?
At some point of my life I felt ALMOST the same way as you... If not WORSE? Oh well.. MINDSET... MENTALITY... It's just how you think of it and what you make out of things..?
Used to think that way... It's always good to reflect on yourself oce in a while in life... Work on it and changes some things if you feel that you should... But don't be TOO HARD on yourself.. That won't be too healthy...
GET OUT THERE ON THE STREETS!!! MEET MORE PEOPLE IF YOU HAVE TO!!! ENJOY LIFE IF YA NEED TO...??!!
I am PisecesOriginally posted by Yunhaier:Friends don't just drop from heaven unless you do make attempt to know and upkeep them. To only stick to a few good bunch of friends is good, but only if they don't let you down.
I walked my life with huge social circle, but I did walked alone before - its a matter of when are you ready to break free of yourself. When you are walking alone - having a gf or not doesn't matter. Its more about you.
P.S: Are you a Taurus, Leo, Aquarius or Scorpio? :idea:
Cheers
Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:I am Piseces
Quite true.. i have a honest view of what's going wrong, but lack the strength to alter it.Originally posted by Yunhaier:A possible weak placing of Mars in your birthchart will create a tendency to 'rant' without the sufficient strength to alter your current life. You may have a vision on what's wrong with your life, but you truely lack courage and intiative to change them. The Fishes are drowning with emotions, yet unable to cease feeling sorry for yourself.
Since you already know what's wrong with your current life, you have to make serious attempt to DO something DIFFERENT other than your usual approach. A simple gesture like joining some of the outing organised by various forumites may probably give you a headstart?
P.S: To walk a mile, you have to begin your first step.
Cheers
Originally posted by A Beautiful Mind:Quite true.. i have a honest view of what's going wrong, but lack the strength to alter it.
My attempt at changes are usually short-lived. For example, i may try approaching ppl in class, initiate a small talk, but when i feel they dun rely accept me, i get discouraged..
The other problem'll be some of my classmates may recipocrate everytime i approach them, but they will never once take the initiative or call me.
I get very discouraged & put off by such response.. its as though whether i am there doesn't matter.