I agree with what you said.Well, just to let you know, in school you have no rights. I remember the discipline master saying that last year to the whole school. He insists that school is a privilege and not your "right". This effectively means you have to accept whatever shit the school thinks its good for you. Like I said, the original intention behind this rule is to ensure that students do not loiter and go home,thus, bringing home clothes to school is a no-no as it defeats this purpose.Originally posted by pkchukiss:I am sure that the school has a valid concern for wanting to protect its reputation; after all, how would parents think of the school if their students were to be walking everywhere in public places instead of being kept in school or at home? It is this public perception that students left outside would engage in nefarious activities that leads the conservative elements pressurise the schools to do more to "keep our young off the streets for their own good".
However, what your school has chosen to do has gone too far: restricting one's movement outside is akin to treating the student like a prisoner on home detention: he isn't free to move about as a normal human being.
What the school could have encouraged was to allow the students to change to civilian clothes, and go do what they want to do. After all, the school should have no right to interfere with the student's live after official school time. In fact, whenever I went out with my school mates after school, we made sure to change at least our shirts. That way, we could avoid any awkward encounters with any of the teachers we met along the way, and also gives us leeway to get ouselves out of trouble in case we happened to get into some incident. Not that we would deliberately do so anyway!
No. Its not "bad". My school aims to be the "PRemier Choice School" so in order to achieve this, they start having lots of praetorian and unreasonable rules. This is an attempt to polish the school's image so that it shines like brass.Originally posted by Devil1976:Suddenly had some thoughts.. Is your school really that 'bad' to have such rules implemented...? Or is there something really wrong with your principal..? A new system for all schools..??
LOL. Btw, the minimart is under block 230. If you from same sch I think u know what im talking about. LOLOriginally posted by SibeiSuayKia:if u are the same sch as me..i will surely help u out..
coz i still keeping the uniform safely with me..=/ not sure if i can wear bo
i disguise as 1 of the student den go scold the teacher..
Teachers very smart..but im even smarter..
then they pull me to discipline office..
then ask me..which class and register number you from..
i say this class and this no..
den saboh that guy u dun like oso =D
Sorry for triple post...Originally posted by Forever84:My primary school once passed down a sudden rule
that nobody will visit this shop at the MRT near our school
they even had prefects standing outside the shop to book ppl
lolx...
tat realli pissed the owner off![]()
Yup. I think so. which prinicipal does not like awards? Which principal does not want a good image? What is the best way to build this image and earn awards? Ans: INTRODUCE UNREASONABLE AND "good" rules.Originally posted by Sagara:u mean u guys cant go out to eat at foodcourts and walk around in malls after school in your uniform ?
what ridiculous rules..
Apparently the Principal is only concerned about the school's image if a student can change into his/her own clothes and do the same thing as mentioned above.
Are recognition, image of the school and awards awarded by MOE the only things in the head of those who came up with such rules ?
All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. Go to the press, stupid rules are not meant to be followed.![]()
Seriously, i still dun see e rationale in tis rule. Since the sch so kaypoh, then might as well set the rule as: "NO LOITERING WHILE YOU ARE A STUDENT OF SASS, WHETHER U ARE IN ATTIRE OR NOT." If students has been smoking or badly attired, gaming in arcade or behaving badly in the public, it's legit to punish the students.Originally posted by shade343:Yup. I think so. which prinicipal does not like awards? Which principal does not want a good image? What is the best way to build this image and earn awards? Ans: INTRODUCE UNREASONABLE AND "good" rules.
My school principal is obsessed with awards and recognition. Our sch has also been chosen many times by MOE for official visits ,in which, principals from other countries come to our school for a tour.(And they probably go back to their own countries and introduce these F-up rules).
I think this rule would be cast in stone. It would not be removed as long as students in our sch choose to be subjugated by it and "the principal" is still seating in the office.Slight digression. My school principal has also envisioned our school being the"RI in the east". We aim to be autonomous in 3 years time.