Originally posted by sbst275:The annual report thingy
Dun forget, the recent years SBS intro semi express i.e. 10e, 196e & Premium svs where e fares are higher. It's part of the contribution to higher ridership and in turn turnover.
yeh but how much? the exact figures are important to judge whether the fare hike and rebates have resulted in ultimately higher revenue relative to all other sources of income like the one you just mentioned.
Anyways, like i mentioned, the annual report is not so detailed.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:yeh but how much? the exact figures are important to judge whether the fare hike and rebates have resulted in ultimately higher revenue relative to all other sources of income like the one you just mentioned.
Anyways, like i mentioned, the annual report is not so detailed.
by layman term, up 10c rebate but +2c fares... if I take bus - MRT - bus, they end up get 6c less in fares. But I believe they gain from those tat dun make transfers.
Well they wun say much abt indv svs, but looking at some Premium/ Express svs getting double decker or additional trips during peak hours can tell.. Premium 1 person pay $3.30 or $3.60.
Originally posted by sbst275:
JB leg didn't try as yet. Dunno if the online calculator takes it based on the strictly no x-fer to same service thingy to think of it.But that Jurong East > Woodlands Ctr tried. 2x new trip.
i think the calculator is screwed up for that.... if not we can hear lots of complains on the 3rd July already....
Originally posted by ^tamago^:i think the calculator is screwed up for that.... if not we can hear lots of complains on the 3rd July already....
but how come local leg 160 & 170 become cluster group package? ![]()
by layman term, up 10c rebate but +2c fares... if I take bus - MRT - bus, they end up get 6c less in fares. But I believe they gain from those tat dun make transfers.Well they wun say much abt indv svs, but looking at some Premium/ Express svs getting double decker or additional trips during peak hours can tell.. Premium 1 person pay $3.30 or $3.60.
yup, mainly because of the no standing rule. a B10M can only take in about 48 pax, and the demand for some towns or even estates can outgrow this capacity.
by layman term, up 10c rebate but +2c fares... if I take bus - MRT - bus, they end up get 6c less in fares. But I believe they gain from those tat dun make transfers.Well they wun say much abt indv svs, but looking at some Premium/ Express svs getting double decker or additional trips during peak hours can tell.. Premium 1 person pay $3.30 or $3.60.
Any companies will not draft up a lost revenue project.
Sure earn lah.
Where got such thing as not earning any profit?
Only gong gong pple believe it.
Originally posted by likeyou:
Any companies will not draft up a lost revenue project.Sure earn lah.
I've mentioned bef, transfer rebate more to do w/ govt politics if I dare to think of e scheme.
but how come local leg 160 & 170 become cluster group package?
should be a fault with the calculator bah. maybe to rest the case we can go JB one of these days for a quick check and clear some ringgit from my wallet ![]()
Originally posted by ^tamago^:should be a fault with the calculator bah. maybe to rest the case we can go JB one of these days for a quick check and clear some ringgit from my wallet
no leh
I take e ride also tio ![]()
Maybe I'll try again on Sunday ![]()
but tis one confirm gave problem.
JIS ride top up 3c still deducted even though it's NAC ride.
no lehI take e ride also tio
Maybe I'll try again on Sunday
haha. everyone tio makan but dunno ![]()
Originally posted by ^tamago^:haha. everyone tio makan but dunno
now online calculator under maintenance from 2300 to 0600. best!
Originally posted by sbst275:but tis one confirm gave problem.
JIS ride top up 3c still deducted even though it's NAC ride.
top up 3¢? strange.... should be a discount based on the following formula:
up to 3.2km: 5¢ "discount"
3.3km to 4.2km: 10¢ "discount"
4.3km to 5.2km: 15¢ "discount"
5.3km to 6.2km: 20¢ "discount:
over 6.3km: 25¢ "discount"
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1279/topics/397082?page=11#post_9857945
now online calculator under maintenance from 2300 to 0600. best!
Your fault lar. Who told you keep playing with it.
I took e ride as in physically 160 > 170 to Woodlands Ctr.
Sun might try again to rest e case.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:top up 3¢? should be a discount based on the following formula:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1279/topics/397082?page=11#post_9857945
e funny part is.
Return leg got reflect NAC status. Getting there boh! Diff of 5c
lmao. Even tio makan by 2c least it's FREE on tat JIS ride.
Originally posted by likeyou:
Any companies will not draft up a lost revenue project.Sure earn lah.
is this what will happen at the shareholders meeting?
'we love the masses so much we decided to come up with a scheme so complicated we would lose revenue yearly on top of the money spent on devising the scheme.'
the shareholders replied, 'well done, well done. do it more often for the sake of humanity!!!'
haha.....
Originally posted by likeyou:Heard that they are monitoring the situation and will review it next year, right?
If so, then next year increase again lah.
if there is a price hike next year the whole thing gets even more complicated.
btw if i want to know the cheapest route for a certain trip i need to know the different routes i could use before i tabulate?
lets say i want to go to bishan mrt station from tampines street 32. how do i tabulate? do i have to know all the buses in the vincinity in order to start?
Future increase will most likely be the kilometer rate.
Increase per kilometer rate by 1 cent and the transport co will rake in $10,000 per million km.
What is the total kilometer travelled by the millions of ride daily?
Originally posted by dragg:if there is a price hike next year the whole thing gets even more complicated.
btw if i want to know the cheapest route for a certain trip i need to know the different routes i could use before i tabulate?
lets say i want to go to bishan mrt station from tampines street 32. how do i tabulate? do i have to know all the buses in the vincinity in order to start?
got 59 what.why need to think?![]()
Originally posted by Beanman:got 59 what.why need to think?
i know.
but thats a direct bus. in order to pay lesser i need a shorter route right? my question is how do i go about it? do i need to know all the buses in the vicinity before i can start tabulating?
Originally posted by dragg:i know.
but thats a direct bus. in order to pay lesser i need a shorter route right? my question is how do i go about it? do i need to know all the buses in the vicinity before i can start tabulating?
it's ald the 2nd shortest if i'm not wrong the shortest is 8-59 but pay same fare
.as for the tabulating thing,i always take the trunk svcs out as feeder some feeders are really distance-eaters.
there are so many variations its time consuming and ridiculous to expect us to know all.
hence, a software should be made available to the general public where we just key in the boarding and eventual location. the software recommends the cheapest route.
Originally posted by dragg:lets say i want to go to bishan mrt station from tampines street 32. how do i tabulate? do i have to know all the buses in the vincinity in order to start?
One way is to think that if you are a car driver how would you plan the shortest route to your destination. Then you use this mentality to apply to the closest match bus route you can take. Of course waiting time is a factor when transferring and 59 may sometimes get you to Bishan earlier then your transfers
Here's my recommendation.
If by car you will run Tampines Ave 2 then Ave 1 to Ave 10 then use Bartley Rd East all the way to Braddell Rd then turn Bishan Rd and you are there.
The closest bus transfer combination will be
1. S59 from Blk 302 to Bedok Reservoir Rd (Kaki Bt Prison Ctr) - 5.7km 101c
2. S58 from Bedok Reservoir Rd (Kaki Bt Prison Ctr) to Upp Paya Lebar Rd (Tai Seng Stn) - 4.1km 24c
3. S28/93 from Upp Paya Lebar Rd (Aft Paya Lebar St) to Braddell Rd (Blk 219) - 4.3km 16c
4. S13 from Braddell Rd (Blk 219) to Bishan Rd (Bishan MRT) - 1.9km 8c
Total 16km 149c
Taking any bus via Temasek Poly instead of Bedok Reservoir Sheng Shiong gives you 0.6km more of your mileage.
Taking 58 or continue with 59 from Kaki Bt Prison Ctr to Bishan MRT/Int gives you 3km more on 59 than 58.
Taking 22 or 58 from Kaki Bt Prison Ctr to Tai Seng Stn gives you 700m more on 22 than 58.
Taking 58 direct from Tai Seng to Bishan MRT than using Bartley/Braddell corridor gives you 1.2km more due to the S58 route via Serangoon estate.
Taking CCL from Tai Seng to Bishan is 5.3km vis-a-vis 28/93-13 combi of 6.2km. Though under same fare band but taking CCL will add 25c to your fare, so your 59-58-CCL combi will be 15.1km 160c instead of the example above 16km 149c.
Lastly, S59 direct gives you 20.2km worth of fares that's 167c compared to 149c.
Originally posted by service_238:One way is to think that if you are a car driver how would you plan the shortest route to your destination. Then you use this mentality to apply to the closest match bus route you can take. Of course waiting time is a factor when transferring and 59 may sometimes get you to Bishan earlier then your transfers
Here's my recommendation.
If by car you will run Tampines Ave 2 then Ave 1 to Ave 10 then use Bartley Rd East all the way to Braddell Rd then turn Bishan Rd and you are there.The closest bus transfer combination will be
1. S59 from Blk 302 to Bedok Reservoir Rd (Kaki Bt Prison Ctr) - 5.7km 101c
2. S58 from Bedok Reservoir Rd (Kaki Bt Prison Ctr) to Upp Paya Lebar Rd (Tai Seng Stn) - 4.1km 24c
3. S28/93 from Upp Paya Lebar Rd (Aft Paya Lebar St) to Braddell Rd (Blk 219) - 4.3km 16c
4. S13 from Braddell Rd (Blk 219) to Bishan Rd (Bishan MRT) - 1.9km 8c
Total 16km 149cTaking any bus via Temasek Poly instead of Bedok Reservoir Sheng Shiong gives you 0.6km more of your mileage.
Taking 58 or continue with 59 from Kaki Bt Prison Ctr to Bishan MRT/Int gives you 3km more on 59 than 58.
Taking 22 or 58 from Kaki Bt Prison Ctr to Tai Seng Stn gives you 700m more on 22 than 58.
Taking 58 direct from Tai Seng to Bishan MRT than using Bartley/Braddell corridor gives you 1.2km more due to the S58 route via Serangoon estate.
Taking CCL from Tai Seng to Bishan is 5.3km vis-a-vis 28/93-13 combi of 6.2km. Though under same fare band but taking CCL will add 25c to your fare, so your 59-58-CCL combi will be 15.1km 160c instead of the example above 16km 149c.
Lastly, S59 direct gives you 20.2km worth of fares that's 167c compared to 149c.
thank you for the reply. imagine having to go through all these tabulations just for one trip to save 20cts.
frankly, how many people know to switch buses 3-4 times like you suggested.
if this stupid system is here to stay they should come up with a software everybody can use. all we need is to enter the boarding and eventual location and the software recommends the cheapest route.