Chan's comments drew applause from an audience of business leaders on China's southern island province of Hainan.
The 55-year-old Hong Kong actor was participating in a panel at the annual Boao Forum on Saturday when he was asked to discuss censorship and restrictions on filmmakers in China. He expanded his comments to include society in general.
'I'm not sure if it's good to have freedom or not,' Chan said.
'I'm really confused now. If you're too free, you're like the way Hong Kong is now. It's very chaotic. Taiwan is also chaotic.'
Chan added: 'I'm gradually beginning to feel that we Chinese need to be controlled. If we're not being controlled, we'll just do what we want.' -- AP
lol i dun think so .
No, he is just complimenting China, he is a good social speaker, speaking right into the happiness of China leaders there, this is where the different lies between a profession and a layman.
Likewise, if he speaking in New York with America leaders around, he would had said that freedom is good. I greatly admired him, he knows the rules of the game well.
Ah, you gotta understand that he was from a different generation from us. A way more stricter generation.
And he has been doing martial arts for most of his life. That just adds on the the amount of discipline he is used to seeing around.
I wonder if that's the exact meaning he was going for.
He might be going for self discipline instead of control. He's hardly fluent in English.
But that's just my guess.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:I wonder if that's the exact meaning he was going for.
He might be going for self discipline instead of control
Hmm... Good point. So now, it's either his English's standard ain't there yet or i'm sorely mistaken.! xD
since he is in China and talking to chinese business man, i think he was talking in chinese. Maybe there was some interpretation errors... good point!
ACTION star Jackie Chan grew up in Hong Kong's freewheeling society, but he said on Saturday that too much freedom isn't good and he's starting to think 'we Chinese need to be controlled.'
Like that call communist?
You know what is the meaning of communist bo?
Originally posted by Ah Chia:ACTION star Jackie Chan grew up in Hong Kong's freewheeling society, but he said on Saturday that too much freedom isn't good and he's starting to think 'we Chinese need to be controlled.'
why don't you tell me than.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:ACTION star Jackie Chan grew up in Hong Kong's freewheeling society, but he said on Saturday that too much freedom isn't good and he's starting to think 'we Chinese need to be controlled.'
yalor, dunno he understand the manifesto of communism or not???
Most of people here are potato trained, never really understand Communism one lah.
but he said on Saturday that too much freedom isn't good and he's starting to think 'we Chinese need to be controlled.'
You should say whether Jackie Chan a follower of Lee Kuan Yew.
That would be more accurate.
"Mine is a very matter-of-fact approach to the problem. If you can select a population and they're educated and they're properly brought up, then you don't have to use too much of the stick because they would already have been trained. It's like with dogs. You train it in a proper way from small. It will know that it's got to leave, go outside to pee and to defecate. No, we are not that kind of society. We had to train adult dogs who even today deliberately urinate in the lifts." - Lee Kuan Yew on Singapore society, The Man & His Ideas, 1997
http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew
Last time I posted long long post on that topic already.
You never study.
No improvement from you comrade.
Originally posted by skythewood:why don't you tell me than.
OH OH.! I LEARNED IN HISTORY CLASS.! =P
ERM... Communism was started by Karl Marx.? (Interesting guy. I like some of his views on religion)
It is to create a Authoritarian state where EVERYTHING is controlled by the government.
And it's focused on the community's wellbeing. Not the individual.
Then again... I kinda sucked at humans... So... =P
Originally posted by Ah Chia:but he said on Saturday that too much freedom isn't good and he's starting to think 'we Chinese need to be controlled.'
You should say whether Jackie Chan a follower of Lee Kuan Yew.
That would be more accurate.
"Mine is a very matter-of-fact approach to the problem. If you can select a population and they're educated and they're properly brought up, then you don't have to use too much of the stick because they would already have been trained. It's like with dogs. You train it in a proper way from small. It will know that it's got to leave, go outside to pee and to defecate. No, we are not that kind of society. We had to train adult dogs who even today deliberately urinate in the lifts." - Lee Kuan Yew on Singapore society, The Man & His Ideas, 1997
http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew
Last time I posted long long post on that topic already.
You never study.
No improvement from you comrade.
yup, and start your comrade shit with me again right, faggot, hai, you have no learning curve.
and yup, i don't have photographic memory to remember the shit you have posted...
You like to link everything to LKY or PAP right? like that also want to link...
Originally posted by ItsJustNC:OH OH.! I LEARNED IN HISTORY CLASS.! =P
ERM... Communism was started by Karl Marx.? (Interesting guy. I like some of his views on religion)
It is to create a Authoritarian state where EVERYTHING is controlled by the government.
And it's focused on the community's wellbeing. Not the individual.
Then again... I kinda sucked at humans... So... =P
history is not my strong subjects too, haha...
Originally posted by skythewood:history is not my strong subjects too, haha...
My teacher was heartbroken when i got a b3 for my Os last year xD
Originally posted by ItsJustNC:My teacher was heartbroken when i got a b3 for my Os last year xD
me too, never attend history class,..all those social stuff,..yak,..but as i grew older, i start to appreciate it..too late.
I got a Bf for history.
That is during history class, i go off, and got to know my Boyfriend till now.
That's not quite accurate.
http://socialistworker.org/2009/03/06/marxist-view-of-the-state
According to this theory, the "inevitable revolution" would occur in the most advanced industrial country because only after a long period of industrialism would the revolutionary situation become acute and would the society itself be equipped with factories able to support a Socialist system.
Once the revolution has taken place, there will be established a "dictatorship of the proletariat" during which the political, social, military, intellectual, and religious aspects of society will be transformed in a Socialist fashion.
At the end of this period, full Socialism will he established, the state will disappear, and a "classless society" will come into existence.
At this point history will end. This rather surprising conclusion to the historical process would occur because Marx had defined history as the process of class struggle and had defined the state as the instrument of class exploitation. Since, in the Socialist state, there will be no exploitation and thus no classes, there will be no class struggles and no need for a state...
Originally posted by Ah Chia:It is to create a Authoritarian state where EVERYTHING is controlled by the government.
The Marxist view of the state
According to this theory, the "inevitable revolution" would occur in the most advanced industrial country because only after a long period of industrialism would the revolutionary situation become acute and would the society itself be equipped with factories able to support a Socialist system.
Once the revolution has taken place, there will be established a "dictatorship of the proletariat" during which the political, social, military, intellectual, and religious aspects of society will be transformed in a Socialist fashion.
At the end of this period, full Socialism will he established, the state will disappear, and a "classless society" will come into existence.
At this point history will end. This rather surprising conclusion to the historical process would occur because Marx had defined history as the process of class struggle and had defined the state as the instrument of class exploitation. Since, in the Socialist state, there will be no exploitation and thus no classes, there will be no class struggles and no need for a state...
wooooo.... marxism...
and we were talking about? communism.....
Originally posted by Ah Chia:It is to create a Authoritarian state where EVERYTHING is controlled by the government.
The Marxist view of the state
huh! Marxism..oh no!!!....I go call ISD
Marxism is a branch of communist theory.
The ideas of Karl Marx (1818-1883) and of his associate Friedrich Engels (1820-1895) were published in the Communist Manifesto of 1848 and in their three-volume opus, Das Kapital (1867-1894).
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Marxism is a branch of communist theory.
The ideas of Karl Marx (1818-1883) and of his associate Friedrich Engels (1820-1895) were published in the Communist Manifesto of 1848 and in their three-volume opus, Das Kapital (1867-1894).!
Hello!! ISD ar???!!! Marxism in Singapore leh..huh! what???sunday close. I thot ISD 24 hours service...ya ya same like the bishop last time...ya marxism...not Marx, Not the singer it is Karl Marx not Richard Marx hor..wha lau, uncle working in ISD
huh! Marxism..oh no!!!....I go call ISD
'Marxist plot' revisited
On the 21st of May 1987, the Singapore Press announced on its front page the discovery of a Marxist plot aimed at overthrowing the State, that 16 persons had been arrested, among whom 10 were directly engaged in Christian-inspired movements. The developments which were to follow would not be slow to show that this offensive was partly directed against certain sectors of the Catholic Church of Singapore...
http://www.singapore-window.org/sw01/010521m1.htm
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Marxism is a branch of communist theory.
The ideas of Karl Marx (1818-1883) and of his associate Friedrich Engels (1820-1895) were published in the Communist Manifesto of 1848 and in their three-volume opus, Das Kapital (1867-1894).
So?
Talk so much still never cover what is communism.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Hello!! ISD ar???!!! Marxism in Singapore leh..huh! what???sunday close. I thot ISD 24 hours service...ya ya same like the bishop last time...ya marxism...not Marx, Not the singer it is Karl Marx not Richard Marx hor..wha lau, uncle working in ISD
HAHA.! Nice burn.! xD This is why i use SG Forums. Moments like this.!
Words of an insane ass ....
"After all, I am an Angel of God" 05 Feb `09, 6:04PM
"for God, Angel, on behalf of Gabriel" 16 Apr `09, 10:42AM