Yes, to overcome karmic habits is very important practise.Originally posted by longchen:Dear All,
My realisation is not fully stabilized... there is no need for me to pretend to be fully enlightened
I do however have moments of awakenings... If you can seriously, contemplate on what Thusness write.
From my experience, awakening is not difficult... that is, a first awakening to pure awareness. What is difficult is the 'overcoming' of karmic habits... that obscures the direct knowing.
From my understanding, rejecting, mental arguing, excessive thinking is what causes karma. Let things be... even desires, without rejection of unpleasant feelings and no excessive complication will arise. That is... we cannot stop thoughts with more thoughts... Let the thoughts and emotions run their full course and one day they will cease to be. Easier said than done... and I am still clearing...
Also, realisation is not an intellectual experience... we cannot think about enlightenment... all thinking is conceptual and we get suck into the attention of the mind... believing that we are the one experiencing the thoughts... The thoughts come and go and is not willed by an 'I'. The 'I' itself is a thought.
Thoughts are a form of tension. Pure awareness is potentiality and stepping down the dimension/planes of consciousness, they form into thoughts which are experiences. We live as thoughts and seriously speaking what we percieve as physical objects do not exist... they only exist as thoughts-forms in the mind... which is a reflection of pure awareness.
my 2 cents worth.
Can only write from my own understanding...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:It doesn't mean that we must purposely run full course of our thoughts. But we must learn not to attach to them, but simply remain aware. If there is no 'I' involved, then thoughts will naturally cease.
Wonder if you agree with me on this?
Ok, so what is the difference between someone who attained realisations, and 'letting thoughts runs its course', and ordinary unenlightened people 'letting thuoghts run its course'?Originally posted by longchen:Can only write from my own understanding...
We should not 'purposefully' run the full course... because 'purposeful' is a thought... that means we have added an additional thought call 'purposeful'. This is what is being meant by complication.
When we are aware, we can catch/recognise the thoughts that arise. The thoughts that arise often is before a tension feeling. Basically... the mental brain function converts/translate the feeling tension into mental thoughts.
When there are few tensions... there will be few mental thoughts.
Again from my understanding only...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Ok, so what is the difference between someone who attained realisations, and 'letting thoughts runs its course', and ordinary unenlightened people 'letting thuoghts run its course'?
Oh I see...Originally posted by longchen:Again from my understanding only...
For a person with a certain degree of awareness/realisation, there is a reference point where the thoughts can be more clearly percieved... that is why thoughts are more vivid.
For a person prior to any awakening, there is no reference and he/she 'lives' totally in the mind. That means he/she is not aware of the thoughts.
There is one point that I will like to add... this is not in line with Buddhist teaching, but is what I have experienced. So if it is uncomfortable ... moderator pls delete this post.Originally posted by longchen:Again from my understanding only...
For a person with a certain degree of awareness/realisation, there is a reference point where the thoughts can be more clearly percieved... that is why thoughts are more vivid.
For a person prior to any awakening, there is no reference and he/she 'lives' totally in the mind. That means he/she is not aware of the thoughts.
No thought, no form and no attachment is the quintessence of the Sutra. But it is not annihilation. It means to be detached from all thought, form and attachment.Originally posted by namelessness:Good Friends, it has been the tradition of our school to take 'No Thought' as the object, 'No Form' as the basis, and 'No Attachment' as the fundamental principle. 'No Form' means to be apart from the notion of forms when in contact with forms. 'No Thought' means to be away from thought when thought arises. 'No Attachment' is the characteristic of our nature. All things - good or bad, beautiful or ugly - should be treated as void. Even in time of disputes and quarrels we should treat our intimates and our enemies alike and never think of retaliation. From thought to thought, let the past be dead. If we allow our thoughts, past, present, and future, to link up in a series, it is called confinement. If we never let our mind attach to anything from thought to thought, and there will be no confinement. This is why 'No Attachment' is taken as the fundamental principle. Good Friends, to free ourselves from all external forms is called 'No Form'. When we are in a position to do so, the nature of Dharma will be pure. This is why 'No Form' is taken as the basis.
Good Friends, to keep our mind free from defilement under all circumstances is called 'No Thought'. Our mind should stand aloof from circumstances, and allow no reaction to our mind from circumstances. But it is a great mistake to suppress our mind from all thinking; for even if we succeed in getting rid of all thoughts, and die immediately thereafter, still we shall be reincarnated elsewhere. Mark this, treaders of the Path. It is bad enough for a man to commit blunders from not knowing the meaning of the Dharma, but how much worse would it be to encourage others to follow suit? Being deluded, he sees not and in addition he blasphemes the Buddhist Canon. Therefore 'No Thought' is taken as the object.Here the patriarch taught us how to be away from our thought. This is difficult because it will take us many years to practice that. But after that, our thoughts would be vanished naturally. That’s how ‘No thought’ can be accomplished. So it is not wise to suppress our mind from thinking, for whatever is suppressed will definitely strike back.
Good Friends, let me explain more fully why we take 'No Thought' as our object. It is because there is a type of man under delusion who boasts of the realization of the Self-nature; but being carried away by circumstances, ideas rise in his mind, followed by erroneous views that are the source of all sorts of false notions and defilements. In the Self-nature, there is intrinsically nothing to be attained. To say that there is attainment, and to talk thoughtlessly on merits or demerits are erroneous views and defilements. For this reason we take 'No Thought' as the object of our School.
Good Friends, what is that should be 'No'? What is that should be 'Thought'? 'No' means to have no dualistic and all defiling conceptions. 'Thought' means to fix our mind on the true nature of Tathata, for Tathata is the quintessence of thought, and thought is the result of the activity of Tathata. It is the positive essence of Tathata - not the sense organs - which gives rise to 'thought'. Tathata bears its own attribute, and therefore it can give rise to 'thought'. Without Tathata the sense organs and the sense objects would perish immediately.
Good Friends, because it is the attribute of Tathata which gives rise to 'thought', our sense organs - in spite of their functioning in seeing, hearing, touching, knowing, etc. - need not be tainted or defiled in all circumstances, and our true nature may be 'self-manifested' all the time. Therefore the Sutra says, "Even all Dharmas can be easily distinguished, the 'First Principle' is still immovable"
Hmm interesting, but I can't verify it myself. Maybe namelessness knows this better.Originally posted by longchen:There is one point that I will like to add... this is not in line with Buddhist teaching, but is what I have experienced. So if it is uncomfortable ... moderator pls delete this post.
There is a state called in other religion 'the soul' and some newager call 'higher self'. To me, it is the reflection of I AM... It is the potentiality of the Source/Pure awareness reflected ... that defines the purpose of its existence. It is a very high vibration state and is not easily accesssible.
This soul/higher self is the immediate originator of our thoughts. To me, it felt like the purpose of your incarnation is held there. In each incarnation, we come with a purpose... such as, to do certain things and to clear specific sets of karma... In another word, the ego (small 'I') is not the thinker of the thought. The 'ego' is one of the thoughts. The thinker/originator/designer of our thoughts is soul.
My point is... we should not ignore or negate the needs of soul. .. that is the intention and purpose of your existence. It is possible to awake to the dharmakaya and yet do not feel the soul... This is what i have discovered.... I actually expereinced pure awareness first... before i experienced the purpose of soul/higher self... much later.
Actually the soul is a part of the dharmakaya... Dharmakaya is like full with invisible potentiality... 'rays of light '. Each ray when gets encased... start to see itself in the reflection. A face cannot see itself without a mirror. Dharmakaya get to understand itself and its ignorance through the reflected image... The face understand how it looks like/it is in the mirror.... Soul, to me, are individual reflections of specifics rays emanation of Dharamakaya. Therefore each soul is unique as each ray is different. And that's what make all of our personality... different from one another.
my 2 cents
Yes, it is hard to correctly understand True Self without first fully understanding No Self and Emptiness nature. Otherwise, what is the difference between Buddhism and Hindu teachings which existed way back during Buddha's times?Originally posted by sinweiy:Buddha at the very begining did show/perform abit of True Self in the idea of Hua Yen Sutra (All-in One, One-in-All) and the walking of 7 steps, one finger pointing the sky and one finger pointing the ground and said, "Heaven and Earth, Wei2 Wo3 Du2 Zhun1" (Under "My" Submit). if people don't know it can be very arrogant.
Although Buddha in the begining taught non-self for 22years, generally tell us to be selfless and be more considerate. But at the end of this preaching period of 8 years, He did taught the Lotus sutra and Nirvana Sutra that taught about the Da Wo(Biggest 'Self'). But the whole idea is that without firstly understood non-self, it's misunderstanding to precieve the True Self.
But this True Self does not contradict the non-self, it's not two, like all sentient beings are part of you, then helping them is as good as helping ourself so to speak.
/\
Hi Sinweiy,Originally posted by sinweiy:Buddha at the very begining did show/perform abit of True Self in the idea of Hua Yen Sutra (All-in One, One-in-All) and the walking of 7 steps, one finger pointing the sky and one finger pointing the ground and said, "Heaven and Earth, Wei2 Wo3 Du2 Zhun1" (Under "My" Submit). if people don't know it can be very arrogant.
Although Buddha in the begining taught non-self for 22years, generally tell us to be selfless and be more considerate. But at the end of this preaching period of 8 years, He did taught the Lotus sutra and Nirvana Sutra that taught about the Da Wo(Biggest 'Self'). But the whole idea is that without firstly understood non-self, it's misunderstanding to precieve the True Self.
But this True Self does not contradict the non-self, it's not two, like all sentient beings are part of you, then helping them is as good as helping ourself so to speak.
/\
So trueOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:I also have something to add (posted by namessless on The quintessence of the Platform Sutra)
Entire post by Namelessness:
-----------------------------------
Here the patriarch taught us how to be away from our thought. This is difficult because it will take us many years to practice that. But after that, our thoughts would be vanished naturally. That’s how ‘No thought’ can be accomplished. So it is not wise to suppress our mind from thinking, for whatever is suppressed will definitely strike back.
We still need to distinquish things in order to survive. The key to non-duality is to find our inner An-Hsiang first, and let An-Hsiang be the only response we have to all circumstances.![]()
Yes, however, not supressing thoughts, does that mean not practising?Originally posted by longchen:So true
Thinking cannot be suppressed. When we want to suppress the thinking, we are already thinking! This only complicates the mental process. Momentarily, one may even think that he has won the battle... but in actually... nothing has been taken out and instead got push into the subconscious mind... becoming the karma that we are not even aware of... and therefore kena reincarnated again.
The subconscious mind is where all the desires that we do not want to acknowledge gets chucked in. Sometimes, we think why our life is so 'suay' even when we are 'good'... one of the reason is because the troublemaker of ourself is still hiding in the subconscious mind.... In Jungian psychology, it is called the unconscious dark side.
I think you misunderstood what i meant.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Yes, however, not supressing thoughts, does that mean not practising?
I feel that practising dharma shld b every moment. Yes, it is not by supressing as that does not lead to liberation. But we shld remain mindful of our mind, speech, actions, and not let sentient [dualistic/attached/defiled] thoughts arise.
Yah, I get your point.Originally posted by longchen:I think you misunderstood what i meant.
Not suppressing is not the same as not practicing. We often equate practice with efforting... from my experience too much effort actually is counter-productive. Mindfulness is actually clearer under a relaxed condition.
I think I agree mostly with what Namelessness write.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Received this message from our moderator Namelessness,
No. I don't agree with what longchen had said about the soul. The soul is
not the higher self. On the contrary, it's the concealed self.
It works like a filter through which the light of our pure awareness
projects to form what we are now. And the originator of our thoughts is not
the soul. Thoughts are the manifestation of our pure awareness through the
filtering of soul. So the soul can be called the designer of thoughts.
And the purpose of practicing is to eliminate the adverse effects of the
soul (almost 99.99% of it), and transform it to great wisdom.
And yes, the purpose of our existence is stored in the soul, if there is
one. And it is not hard to discover it if one is in deep An-Shiang.
We should be able to feel our soul every moment because that's how it
controls us and determines who we are and how we think. But I won't called
it ‘the soul’. It's somewhat misleading. In Buddhism, we call it ‘shi’.
Btw, to my understanding only, the higher self is the true self, he is a/the
Buddha.