Actually...it's not juz abt raising ciggy prices that make some smokers think of migrating...Originally posted by spencer99:Will the garmen please answer his call and make it $20 per pack!!!
To smokers : if you find smoking expensive... Then QUIT SMOKING!!!
To think that smokers actually think about migrating because of cigarettes prices. This shows the addictive nature of cigarettes!![]()
Because liquor is too ex liao... Got samsoo factories tor diao liao...Originally posted by Very Old Man:From my past experience.....
Car patrol also give out Carbon Monoxide and pollute the air. Increase fuel prices like what you did in cigarette lor. Then everyone will be affected....more fair.
By raising the cigrette prices, it is encourging more people to smugglar cigarette into singapore. Is it wise?
Drinking also causes many ill effects and accidents. Why Government reduce alcohol taxes and increase cigarettes? Not fair.
cos smoke from cigs affects others but the output from 'merlion' do not loh....Originally posted by niceguy_123:I really cannot comprehend the real reason behind raising the cigarette price.
Garment keeps saying to protect the youngsters from picking it up yet I often see youngsters share money together and buy a pack and smoking away....
Yet people complains about the consequences of smoking like health problems, 2nd hand smoke...etc.. why drinking is not identified too ?
I have seen ppl drinking heavily and kenna liver problems , drink and drive and causes many miseries to himself and others, fathers drinking heavily and come home to beat up the family...etc..
Why government don;t want to raise the price of liquor and beer too ?
Aren't we also seeing youngster forging passes to go to pubs and resulted in drunk situations and even see younger women getting molested or even rape?
All these boils down to one. Most smokers can drink but not all drinkers are smokers...
So to raise which is more profitable?![]()
No need to calculate so much. Cigar revenue in FY2004 is $786,835,000. Taken from Budget speech report.Originally posted by dcx:So..let's say 500k Sporean smoke one packet every two days... 500k*$7 = $3.5millions/2days.
In juz 2 days...they had a profit of $3.5millions..$1.75millions/day
So...in one week....$1.75millions * 7 = $12.25millions..(PROFITS)
See how much profits they can gain from raising of ciggy prices...
Dun complain abt smokers who complain abt raising of ciggy prices...you go and imagine if one day, there're no smokers in spore...how much loss has the garment lost??? And by then, maybe GST will be raised to 10%~20%...Transport Fee will be raised...so much more you can imagine yourself..
And that will be approx. $800millions?Originally posted by Qitai:No need to calculate so much. Cigar revenue in FY2004 is $786,835,000. Taken from Budget speech report.
1% increase in GST will give you approximately that same amount, again from budget speech report![]()
There are only 3 countries in the whole world that does not have debt and do not need to lend $ from world bank for investments and funding. So you can tell one of the 3 country is which one already.Originally posted by dcx:And that will be approx. $800millions?
Could be more than that...coz i still think that these kinda reports, esp. when on papers, have been changed. More or less..anyway...$800millions is alot...imagine...juz ciggy prices only...
There are only 3 countries in the whole world that does not have debt and do not need to lend $ from world bank for investments and funding. So you can tell one of the 3 country is which one already.Originally posted by dcx:And that will be approx. $800millions?
Could be more than that...coz i still think that these kinda reports, esp. when on papers, have been changed. More or less..anyway...$800millions is alot...imagine...juz ciggy prices only...
dblOriginally posted by dcx:And that will be approx. $800millions?
yea, to say the truth..we smokers dont really care abt e price..since my frenx n i just sec students..we all chip in get a pack of maybe viceroy, etc.. e more affordable brands.. we dun really care abt e hike in price.. let's say 5 ppl bahx.. denn it's lyk one person 1.50 or 2 bucks.. wat's that out of our allowance? quite reasonable, i must say =) assuming two packs a week.. that'll b 4 at most and at least 3 only..Originally posted by niceguy_123:I really cannot comprehend the real reason behind raising the cigarette price.
Garment keeps saying to protect the youngsters from picking it up yet I often see youngsters share money together and buy a pack and smoking away....
Yet people complains about the consequences of smoking like health problems, 2nd hand smoke...etc.. why drinking is not identified too ?
I have seen ppl drinking heavily and kenna liver problems , drink and drive and causes many miseries to himself and others, fathers drinking heavily and come home to beat up the family...etc..
Why government don;t want to raise the price of liquor and beer too ?
Aren't we also seeing youngster forging passes to go to pubs and resulted in drunk situations and even see younger women getting molested or even rape?
All these boils down to one. Most smokers can drink but not all drinkers are smokers...
So to raise which is more profitable?![]()
what a stupid + irrelavent comparison.Originally posted by gasband:Thus, we can conclude if SMOKERS can spend $3.00 on a plate of WANTAN MEE, WHAT IS $0.55 for a stick of CIGGIE. Since SMOKERS treat CIGGIES like they treat FOOD, we should raise the price to $3.00 per CIGGIE which means $60.00 per pack of 20 ciggies.
THIS $60.00 pricing is suggested to reflect the importance of CIGGIES to Smokers just as Food is important to them. Its Fair isnt it.
hahahaha good for you, I always encourage people to quit smoking!Originally posted by LifeXpression:what a stupid + irrelavent comparison.
how many plates of wanton mee you eat a day? if you are comparing it on a 1 plate to 1 stick basis, you will be eating at least 10 plates of wanton mee everyday. For myself, i smoke an average of 15 sticks everyday.
anyway, agree with you that we got a choice to quit so i am quitting at the moment. but it certainly requires some will power to do so....so non-smokers, its not easy to quit.
fvck off lah talk so much . If you are a smoker see u still tok so much anotOriginally posted by redheaded:raising price??? tat's the way!!! i have seen lots of ppl died because of smoking...and they dun die peacefully juz to let smokers know...and if u think u r not a candidate for Cancer of lung, cancer of mouth, cancer of oesophageal...heart attack.....think again...and somemore it's on the raise...my parents r smokers too...how i hope they could juz quit it and live longer...i dun wanna see them as dying patients one day....wonder y do harm to urself...smoking is juz like having sexual intercourse wif a HIV positive person...u enjoy for awhile then die...die uglily and painfully...there r alot more hobbies tat can make u look and sounds more 'COOL' to people than saying 'i'm a smoker, wan a stick??' y not say...'i'm a marathoner....i covered 42km on foot!!! i bet u feel even more proud when u say this...i really hope ppl out there can quit smoking now and make a different in ur life...if u smoke becoz friends do...i suggest i warn ur friends too...or worst leave them n get better friends...i bother to type these because i'm a nurse tat have cared countless patients who died becoz of smoking...juz quit!!
i really hope ppl out there can quit smoking now and make a different in ur life...if u smoke becoz friends do...i suggest i warn ur friends too...or worst leave them n get better friends...i bother to type these because i'm a nurse tat have cared countless patients who died becoz of smoking...juz quit!!Did i just see a 'square' passing by????