We will if we meet. Juz at the stage of net friends onli.Originally posted by Master -_-:Congratulations.. u and Fireice.. when u both getting married?![]()
Master-_-C'mon lah. dun b a topic spoiler ok.Originally posted by Master -_-:Congratulations.. u and Fireice.. when u both getting married?![]()
i wish both u luck... take care of my dear FI k? now that she betrothed to uOriginally posted by xian89:We will if we meet. Juz at the stage of net friends onli.![]()
ya lor.. but due to mian zi.. its a must esp ifu are the eldest son or only son/daughter.Originally posted by xian89:Do U think wedding dinner is a waste of $$? U have to spend thousands of $$ juz to gather ppl to congratulate U. Sound stupid to mi. Furthurmore, the chinese traditions state tat all hongbao collected go directly to ur parents. Better to go ROM to register n spend the $$ on a honeymoon trip.
So what's ur opinion regarding tis?
my parents r those old-minded ppl. So hongbao mus give them. Yah.. Chinese emphaises alot of "faces". Mi juz dun like ppl whom we never see b4 to cum to the wedding dinner. Funny to walk to a table of ppl of stranger, to say "Yam-say"Originally posted by Qoo`~`:ya lor.. but due to mian zi.. its a must esp ifu are the eldest son or only son/daughter.
now nobody practice hongbao give to parents liao. even if give, if yr parents understanding, they will give u back the hongbao wan..
yeah trueOriginally posted by the Bear:I think the whole fiasco of a wedding dinner is absurd.
The couple starts their marriage in debt. Then there's also the stupidity of having to entertain people who sometimes feel they have other better things to do than to go there but turn up because of an obligation and "face"... the couple give "face" to invite, we have to give "face" and turn up.
The couple themselves... have to begin the whole day, on their happiest day, running around doing things to please everyone else who will end up criticising everything about the proceedings.
Then there's the silly dinner at some expensive place where everything is choreographed... like some kind of performance where the bride and groom are the performing monkeys... a dinner will be served to everyone there.. and the majority will be those who would rather be watching the football or a movie..
At the end of the circus, the groom will be forced to drink all kinds of sick and deranged things from idiot 'friends' and be wasted out of his brains with potential damage to his liver..
Are these things really necessary?
Many think so... I don't...
Tis is what I want to say. Thank U. gimme a ^5Originally posted by the Bear:I think the whole fiasco of a wedding dinner is absurd.
The couple starts their marriage in debt. Then there's also the stupidity of having to entertain people who sometimes feel they have other better things to do than to go there but turn up because of an obligation and "face"... the couple give "face" to invite, we have to give "face" and turn up.
The couple themselves... have to begin the whole day, on their happiest day, running around doing things to please everyone else who will end up criticising everything about the proceedings.
Then there's the silly dinner at some expensive place where everything is choreographed... like some kind of performance where the bride and groom are the performing monkeys... a dinner will be served to everyone there.. and the majority will be those who would rather be watching the football or a movie..
At the end of the circus, the groom will be forced to drink all kinds of sick and deranged things from idiot 'friends' and be wasted out of his brains with potential damage to his liver..
Are these things really necessary?
Many think so... I don't...
maybe can discuss with them... for some family or my understanding only the girls side need to return the hongbao, parents to return or not is up to them... but then most will return if they know that yr husband not very rich. guys side, usually them keep themselve, coz the rationale is that.... the parents have brought up the girl liao.. its their 'return'Originally posted by xian89:my parents r those old-minded ppl. So hongbao mus give them. Yah.. Chinese emphaises alot of "faces". Mi juz dun like ppl whom we never see b4 to cum to the wedding dinner. Funny to walk to a table of ppl of stranger, to say "Yam-say"
Originally posted by Qoo`~`:maybe can discuss with them... for some family or my understanding only the girls side need to return the hongbao, parents to return or not is up to them... but then most will return if they know that yr husband not very rich. guys side, usually them keep themselve, coz the rationale is that.... the parents have brought up the girl liao.. its their 'return'
agree also.. not considerin the 'ping jin' and everything...Originally posted by the Bear:huh?
nuts.. it's been reduced to this... seeing the child as chattel to be sold during marriage...
I know it's some kind of tradition, but it is so disturbing and very very demeaning..
Really. I am not aware of such things. btw how do their parents noe tat their daughter is a virgin or not. ger can bluff wat.Originally posted by Qoo`~`:
agree also.. not considerin the 'ping jin' and everything...if the girl is a virgin, u still have to order roast pig for her family..
got alot more like, pig's trotters etc etc, guan tuo, 4 dian jinOriginally posted by xian89:Really. I am not aware of such things. btw how do their parents noe tat their daughter is a virgin or not. ger can bluff wat.
oic...Originally posted by Qoo`~`:got alot more like, pig's trotters etc etc, guan tuo, 4 dian jin
its requested by the ger's parents...
the groom will know on the wedding night![]()
u dun wan then dun wan lor. As for money going to parents, whats wrong with that? even without the dinner, i think most people get married nowadays confirm need parents to chip in one lah, buy house, buy furniture, all the expenses...parents sure pay alot for their children one so even they take the money also is reasonable.Originally posted by xian89:Do U think wedding dinner is a waste of $$? U have to spend thousands of $$ juz to gather ppl to congratulate U. Sound stupid to mi. Furthurmore, the chinese traditions state tat all hongbao collected go directly to ur parents. Better to go ROM to register n spend the $$ on a honeymoon trip.
it's a traditional dinner for chinese to have when getting married mah..... 'nan de' got one day all ur relativs n family n frans gather 2gether n felt happy for u.....Originally posted by xian89:Do U think wedding dinner is a waste of $$? U have to spend thousands of $$ juz to gather ppl to congratulate U. Sound stupid to mi. Furthurmore, the chinese traditions state tat all hongbao collected go directly to ur parents. Better to go ROM to register n spend the $$ on a honeymoon trip.
Maybe loh. Juz asking ppl opinion here becos a lot of my friends always complain the dinner make them broke. Maybe I too "realistic" liao. Feel a buffet at the void deck seems betterOriginally posted by thhong22:it's a traditional dinner for chinese to have when getting married mah..... 'nan de' got one day all ur relativs n family n frans gather 2gether n felt happy for u.....
once in a lifetime mah.... worth it one lah....
'kai xin zui zhong yao'!!!![]()
alamak. that wan become malay stlye liao..Originally posted by xian89:Maybe loh. Juz asking ppl opinion here becos a lot of my friends always complain the dinner make them broke. Maybe I too "realistic" liao. Feel a buffet at the void deck seems better