y u dun intend to get married?Originally posted by Transmission:haha... then i guess my dad is happy... no need to contribute money or anything ... cuz i dun wan to get married...
Save everything ...![]()
Chinese also got 1 mah. Most of my relative organise high-tea buffet at their void deck n invite ppl.Originally posted by Qoo`~`:alamak. that wan become malay stlye liao..![]()
yes...juz don suay suay nearby blk got funeral can already!Originally posted by xian89:Chinese also got 1 mah. Most of my relative organise high-tea buffet at their void deck n invite ppl.
Originally posted by I_lost_my?:My uncle and his wive each earn $4000 + a month.
when they married, they only have 4 tables at a restaurant .
and a small buffet in their new hse.
they dun see the point to have a grand wedding dinner loh, instead they spend their money in their wedding photos and honey moon.
smart.
Agree...Just ROM, invite closer relatives and frens to buffet or whatsoever will do lor...who wants to go through traditional chinese wedding?Originally posted by xian89:Do U think wedding dinner is a waste of $$? U have to spend thousands of $$ juz to gather ppl to congratulate U. Sound stupid to mi. Furthurmore, the chinese traditions state tat all hongbao collected go directly to ur parents. Better to go ROM to register n spend the $$ on a honeymoon trip.
So what's ur opinion regarding tis?
Originally posted by browniebaobao:Agree...Just ROM, invite closer relatives and frens to buffet or whatsoever will do lor...who wants to go through traditional chinese wedding?
To me, money is not that improtant..wedding is 2 person's happiness..As long as you are happy, make it simple lor..That's my personal opinion lah..Originally posted by Promiscuitee:But there r some ppl who expect lots of BIG angpow from friend/relative...so don mind...
Originally posted by Promiscuitee:But there r some ppl who expect lots of BIG angpow from friend/relative...so don mind...
Originally posted by thhong22:it's a traditional dinner for chinese to have when getting married mah..... 'nan de' got one day all ur relativs n family n frans gather 2gether n felt happy for u.....
once in a lifetime mah.... worth it one lah....
'kai xin zui zhong yao'!!!![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:This is so demeaning!
A marriage becomes something to earn money with??
WAH LAU EH!!
Not a union of a couple, but a business transaction?? A circus, a show, an exhibition??
then go according to ur budget loh.... if not mayb buffet 2gether with ur house warming how??? 2-in-1.... heheheOriginally posted by the Bear:if you're happy, go ahead...
I've friends who have been miserable because of this... they have financial pressures, yet from every side, they get hit... the studio says the same thing you do.. "Once in a lifetime" then hammer them for a few thousand dollars at a time...
The banquet hall hammers them... everyone does...
Everyone says the same thing to them when they want their way and the last people who are listened to are the couple.. who are pressured into doing things to please everyone.. because it is "once in a lifetime"...
the poor couple tries to please everyone but themselves and ends up pleasing no one... everyone else criticises everything about the proceedings...
I say the hell with all that.. it's the couple's big day.. if they want to have a buffet, a garden party, or a quiet one with 1 witness at the ROM, it's their choice and anyone, including parents and all that, tries to take it away from them, don't really respect or love the couple.. they are just selfish.
Originally posted by thhong22:then go according to ur budget loh.... if not mayb buffet 2gether with ur house warming how??? 2-in-1.... hehehe![]()
hmmm... then i think it reali have to depend on individual liao....Originally posted by the Bear:Financially, if a couple can afford it, and still do not want the circus, somehow they'll be pressured into turning their wedding into one.
I know of a couple whose plans for a small intimate one get turned into a full-blown circus because of parental pressure... they were so unhappy during the day itself and were very tired and almost collapsed.
They do not show anyone the choreographed pictures they were pressured into taking and anything of that day.. don't you think it's a tragedy?
Originally posted by thhong22:hmmm... then i think it reali have to depend on individual liao....
anyway wedding dinner is not a MUZ mah.... u can wan, don wan oso can....![]()