chivalry in this generation where by they are fighting with bombs n missiles?Originally posted by the Bear:It's dead wrong.
Chivalry is dead.... alas...
Alas? What's your definition of chivalry? To serve and protect the interests of all women-kind? Including the ones who stab you in the back? Including the ones who spit in your face even when you find them sleeping with your best mate in your own bed?Originally posted by the Bear:It's dead wrong.
Chivalry is dead.... alas...
Originally posted by harryryan:chivalry in this generation where by they are fighting with bombs n missiles?
that was like dead a few centuries ago....
Originally posted by Possum:Alas? What's your definition of chivalry? To serve and protect the interests of all women-kind? Including the ones who stab you in the back? Including the ones who spit in your face even when you find them sleeping with your best mate in your own bed?
For the record, chivalry and being a gentleman are the same thing to me (until proven wrong of course). They're mere tools. You're not born chivalrous nor a gentleman. You're trained in them.
the Bear, let me ask you a question. What is the lady's version of chivalry then? Oh, please don't say feminism...
Bring it on!!
well said well said...Originally posted by the Bear:It is an ideal a man strives to be.
It includes respect.. for self and others...
If you do not want people hitting on your girl, you will not hit on others' girls... especially when they are already attached.
This is respect for both the girl, and her partner.
Fair 'nuff, mate. But, just to make things clear, if you'd read my earlier posting, you'd realise the title could be twisted around. It could very well mean that the girl's been cheating on her man and you've only realised that you're the third party. So actually, the thread begs the question of 'what do you do if you've just realised you're the third party?'Originally posted by the Bear:It is an ideal a man strives to be.
It includes respect.. for self and others...
If you do not want people hitting on your girl, you will not hit on others' girls... especially when they are already attached.
This is respect for both the girl, and her partner.
Originally posted by Possum:
Fair 'nuff, mate. But, just to make things clear, if you'd read my earlier posting, you'd realise the title could be twisted around. It could very well mean that the girl's been cheating on her man and you've only realised that you're the third party. So actually, the thread begs the question of 'what do you do if you've just realised you're the third party?'
But to rebut your reply, here're my thoughts. I will never be able to stop anyone from hitting on my woman. Never. Hell, of course I wouldn't want anyone to touch my woman. But I can't stop them, can I? So it's up to my woman to tell the other dude to bugger off. It's not up to me... unless she needs help. This applies for women too. You'd want your man to tell the other women to bugger off. If you have to step in, it's not good.
Let's be honest here. I don't know your experiences, but my thoughts are definitely based on mine. What if the woman allows you to hit on her despite you knowing she's attached? I know of women who do that, and I'm sure you do too. Who should burn in hell then as repeated by [b]jeramy. Where's the chivalry in that? Where's the honour? Where's the respect?
Bring it on!![/b]
Honestly, mate, I'll tell you this. I used to say I won't. Now I'll say 'why the hell not?' I know what I'm getting myself into, and so does she. The relationship with her man is screwed anyway if she does this. And besides, I'm getting it on with her, not him. He is not a concern to me. But this is on the assumption that I already knew she was attached and I still went on.Originally posted by the Bear:Yah.. but knowing that the woman would allow herself to be hit on, and knowing that the woman is already attached, would you still hit on her?
I know many who would.
I would not..
Herein is also chivalry.. that of respecting yourself
Originally posted by Possum:Honestly, mate, I'll tell you this. I used to say I won't. Now I'll say 'why the hell not?' I know what I'm getting myself into, and so does she. The relationship with her man is screwed anyway if she does this. And besides, I'm getting it on with her, not him. He is not a concern to me. But this is on the assumption that I already knew she was attached and I still went on.
Chivalry exists whether you're out for a good time or looking for a relationship. In this case, so long as I don't mistreat the woman, there's really nothing wrong. Don't forget, it takes 2 hands to high five, not clap. If she refuses to smack my palm, chivalry dictates that I do not continue the pursuit. Like I said, it's not wrong, just dangerous. And like how debaters love to use back in high school, 'who are you to press your morals on anyone?' Chuckle...
But what if she had gotten with her for some time thinking it was just you and her, and then you discover you were the third party? You have not replied to that.
Bring it on!!
Nah... Like I said in my first posting here. Where there's turf, there is much play. Well... that is so unless the turf belongs to your ol' man, your brother, your cousins, and your best friend. Otherwise, it's open season!! Yeeha!!Originally posted by the Bear:Walk away....
simply walk away...
Originally posted by Possum:Nah... Like I said in my first posting here. Where there's turf, there is much play. Well... that is so unless the turf belongs to your ol' man, your brother, your cousins, and your best friend. Otherwise, it's open season!! Yeeha!!
For the rest, I'm not encouraging anyone to hit on attached women. I'm not saying it's wrong, but that don't mean it's right either. I'm just saying it's dangerous. If you have to do it, you're sacrificing something in you. I can't tell you what that is but you'll know when the time comes. Don't forget, it takes 2 hands to high five, not clap. It may not be you who offers the hand, it might be her.
Bring it on!!
0_0!!Originally posted by harryryan:let's say u love this guy or gal alot but u found out he or she is already attached?what will u do?give up or fight on to win his or her heart....it's e sitauation i', im rite now....need so advice...
give up n go back to wendy81 is it huh dearie?Originally posted by wendy81:0_0!!![]()
when did tis happened?? run lion.. u meant when i was already toking to u and when i stopped coming into forum.. u started loving someone else?........
well... to be fair.. since tt person is already attached.. u juz have to give up unless u think u really haf tt qualities to fight wif tt guy and let tt guy noe u are also trying to win her heart and the winner gets her.... but if tt guy is unwilling and this will make tt gal very confused.. so give up...![]()
ehh.. if u wanna give up den its ur choice u noe? it depends alot of situation u are in.. u did not give a clear description on wats going on... so i haf no stand to give much advice...Originally posted by harryryan:give up n go back to wendy81 is it huh dearie?
??? dun cry lah.... me just feeling darn bored of life as it is rite now...in fact i m so blur that i do not even know wat i m typing....Originally posted by wendy81:ehh.. if u wanna give up den its ur choice u noe? it depends alot of situation u are in.. u did not give a clear description on wats going on... so i haf no stand to give much advice...
but coming back to me when u already decided to like someone else is like not giving me tt little bit of pride left for me. so i aint accepting any more... sorry![]()
sorri...me have not been sleeping well n the side effect has just kicked in one hour ago....dun even know y i am saying sorri to u...as i say...my mind now is dam blur from e lack of sleep...Originally posted by Possum:Aw man... you have got to be kiddin' me... Talk about drama boulevard.
harryryan, you never ever say such stuff to a woman... Far out, dude, be a man, will you?
Bring it on!!
Don't worry Wendy!Originally posted by wendy81:ehh.. if u wanna give up den its ur choice u noe? it depends alot of situation u are in.. u did not give a clear description on wats going on... so i haf no stand to give much advice...
but coming back to me when u already decided to like someone else is like not giving me tt little bit of pride left for me. so i aint accepting any more... sorry![]()
o_O???Originally posted by clown:Don't worry Wendy!
I am always around. And you are always my first choice.![]()
continue to enjoy but know that there's little chance of a real relationship.Originally posted by harryryan:let's say u love this guy or gal alot but u found out he or she is already attached?what will u do?give up or fight on to win his or her heart....it's e sitauation i', im rite now....need so advice...
i agree totally... for us as 'spectators' it's so easy to just sae forget about her and move on, to leave that feeling you had behind, but put yourself in his shoe(or for those who's been in his shoe), it's not as simple as that lor.. i know cos i'm in e same situation as he is in. for me, follow ur heart, which means, go for it mate... just dun be a despicable lad can liao...all e bestOriginally posted by zzzjjj2002:It is easy to say "leave". If you really fell into love with her, how could you say leave and then leave?