what??? at least we ( the chinese ) KEEPS our SURNAME with our christian names..Originally posted by rivereast:there's some truth in there, isn't it? leaving Christians out of it (due to relgious practice) how many Chinese you know have English (or Christian) name? too many!! why? because they feel that their Chinese name isn't good enough. You don't see many of other races doing that....
ok. so you're richer than the average S'porean. anyway look at the way they spend on luxuries (residence, dining and booze, designer apparel). they obviously can afford to live the high life during their stint in S'pore. they owe their high status here to their countries of origin. they have been developed nations for much longer than S'pore not just economically but also in terms of international influence. that accounts for why some locals think caucasians are superior.Originally posted by edwinSSM:I dun think they have a fatter pay cheque than the locals leh... wat makes u say that they have a fatter pay cheque than us?
Oh u are talking about those who are being sent to Singapore to work in their companies In SG. They are different lah, all their accomodations, dining, boozing are taken care of by their company, tat's why they can live the high life. But there are some angmohs who just came to try their luck in our tiny Singapore but are only earning as much as an average singaporean. And i'm also an average Singaporean.Originally posted by boy in blues:ok. so you're richer than the average S'porean. anyway look at the way they spend on luxuries (residence, dining and booze, designer apparel). they obviously can afford to live the high life during their stint in S'pore. they owe their high status here to their countries of origin. they have been developed nations for much longer than S'pore not just economically but also in terms of international influence. that accounts for why some locals think caucasians are superior.
i think those indians with FULL ENGLISH NAMES are because they are Christian... may be I am wrong, but those few that I know, are due to this reason.Originally posted by Prodigy:what??? at least we ( the chinese ) KEEPS our SURNAME with our christian names..
well...look around.. and u will find lots of INDIANS using FULL ENGLISH NAMES...they ditched their traditional indian name for the ang moh ones....
i really have no respect for these people...dont even want to recognise their own roots and ancestors
then have you ever think why as a Chinese and non-Christian, you need a Christian name? well at least you did not give one to yourself, but there are many who have christian names and are not registered in their birth certs. ever wonder why they do it?Originally posted by ditzy:I'm not Christian and yes I do have a christian name that goes with my chinese name since my birth cert. And the reason ain't because my name ain't good enough or my parents or me feel inferior.
chinese names are not difficult to call out or pronounce because you are a Chinese. i too find Chinese, Indian and Malay names easy to pronounce due to familiarity. but to ang mos, these are very alien words with different phonetics.
I know alot of chinese who don't have christian names as well and it ain't because chinese names are hard to call out. You might want to rethink your statements.
Originally posted by euphratis:
Originally posted by SmallPanda:
Guys!! Why do you all sound so scared of angmo?
Trust me, having gone to school in a white country for many years they are definitely NOT tough guys. I used to beat the !%%^ out of them all them time. Me against a whole bunch of them me against 5 or 6 or 7 of them. I beat the !%%^ out of all of them!
Its all in the attitude okay? Even if you are small just beat them with a bat or something. Myself i am only 80 kg, but very muscular and ferocious and an attitude that other people are just inferior to me. So beat the !%%^ out of these people! Just imagine them pissing on your mother or something to get yourself very angry first, then smash their face! Its all in your attitude! Be aggressive!
SMallpanda, sound off your weight and height pls. Thank you.[/b]
I've defended some Singaporeans. Ged is one.Originally posted by subudei:Don't be daft.
There are some people on this forum (e.g. Lingos) who always unfailingly leap promptly to the defence of the West and white men. I guess we know what their dating preferences are. I guess they deserve it when they get dagger-stares in the streets.
HAHHAHA... and the older sisters went to tell their grandmothers to avenge their brother's bruises.Originally posted by Gedanken:Nah, Ling - the kids he beat up went and told their older sisters.