Ah, you're talking about the Frankfurt School's Bullet Theory. There have been many arguments against this theory since it was introduced in the 1930s, mainly in that it does not account for choices between competing concepts within a category. Certainly the notion does make intuitive sense, but if you dig deeper into it, there are so many external factors involved that the case fails to hold water.Originally posted by subudei:And Gedanken:
if you're trying to tell me that people, including Chinese women, are not influenced by the psychological weight of the juggernaut that is Western media, or that social choices are not influenced in any way by these forces, then you need to up-end a very large bucket of ice cold water on your head.
Media influence is particularly comprehensive in a country like Singapore, where media is at the centre of our lives. Also, Singaporeans, including Chinese women, are particularly susceptible to media influence as they are brought up in a system that discourages them from thinking for themselves and which encourages them to be spoilt, immature brats.
I only went to Melbourne, stayed there for a week only... as i have said, it's only my personal experience, maybe i bumped into the wrong guys. They only joked harmlessly about it, and I never took it to heart. It's the same for us asians when we joke harmlessly about their huge bellies....Originally posted by Gedanken:Fair enough, Edwin, if you qualify it as your own experience. Personally, after 10 years in Australia, I've never had anyone laugh at my height or size. If anything, whenever spoke to me about being Chinese, it was to discuss the culture - these weren't just uni students either, but also people I've met at work, in pubs, restaurants and other places. It was all very civilised, and I neither shied away from the locals or went looking for a fight because there was no need to.
Then again, it could be a regional thing - which part of Oz did you go to and how long were you there?
Yes, such activities result in mongrels like me. It has to be stopped, the suffering has to stop, the unacceptance must cease.Originally posted by subudei:Both Western society and media keep putting forward images of Chinese women mated with Western (meaning white Caucasian) men. Well, just my two cents', anyway. If I'm right, this is something which needs to be fought against.
I will do something about it, something to ease the pains of all races. Mark my words. Call me crazy, hitler was called crazyonce, so was Musolini, they rose to power in the end, and made their mark.Originally posted by edwinSSM:it's kinda funny... The ang mohs look down on us and Us the Chinese/asians look down on them... Both sets look down on each other but basically do nothing but talk cock behind their backs...![]()
Size matters not, it is skill, speed and being quick witted. I could kill a large aussie if i were crazed enough.Originally posted by Farmer Brown:u must be a really powerful panda to beat those grizzlies.. i'm not a big fan of em but i'm very sure i know my place when it comes to having to go fist for fist with them... not that we dun stand a chance against them, its that they do have the physical edge over us.. comeon man.. look at the size of the assess on some of them.. they could sit on you and you'd never see the sun...hur hur hur
We are not good enough even to be spoken to by you, we're good for nothing here, i agree. Also I was dumped by a caucasian woman because of my uncool ethnicity, so shut up about them being nice.Originally posted by SmallPanda:Caucasian women are ok, most are a bit overweight and ugly but they're ok. Its the males that are annoying, they dont do well in school, suck at sport, are cowardly, what are they good for really?![]()
Tell that to the Asian American men who have trouble finding spouses in America.Originally posted by Gedanken:Nah, from experience Caucasian women don't have a problem with guys who are Asian. They just have a problem with guys who are stupid, ugly and too gutless to do anything with their excess of testosterone.
I must get out of here where i can be accepted.Originally posted by shawn_MIB:fcuk the ang mos
Yes i am begining to understand why we are shunned now.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):yes ang mo attitude are bad.. but i lookdown even more on those SPG that think ang mo are better.. cb....willing being used by them as toy.. then come and complain sg guy cannot make it... knn.. come try my skill then u know who better.. and if u like gangbang, just tell us lah.... i am sure there are alot of guys here that will show u what sg guy are make of... knn sure can make annabel chong's 251 gangbang record lor..
Now I see why my kind are not liked or spoken to.Originally posted by edwinSSM:Never Liked Angmohs... Never Will....
Agree with you here. Its been a year for me in Brissy and I do mingle around with the locals there. Majority of my classmates are great to be be with and they've never poked fun at any of the foreigners. They seem to be more tolerant towards us than the other way around.Originally posted by Gedanken:Fair enough, Edwin, if you qualify it as your own experience. Personally, after 10 years in Australia, I've never had anyone laugh at my height or size. If anything, whenever spoke to me about being Chinese, it was to discuss the culture - these weren't just uni students either, but also people I've met at work, in pubs, restaurants and other places. It was all very civilised, and I neither shied away from the locals or went looking for a fight because there was no need to.
That's a shame, Edwin - you may have run into the local version of SmallPanda there.Originally posted by edwinSSM:I only went to Melbourne, stayed there for a week only... as i have said, it's only my personal experience, maybe i bumped into the wrong guys. They only joked harmlessly about it, and I never took it to heart. It's the same for us asians when we joke harmlessly about their huge bellies....
This IS 'a place to voice ur view and let ppl discuss it in all direction and maybe get an common understanding.'Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ok ok mi got no more comment on this topic already, too much personal attack going on and it is getting stupid... isnt this a place to voice ur view and let ppl discuss it in all direction and maybe get an common understanding???
I dun think they have a fatter pay cheque than the locals leh... wat makes u say that they have a fatter pay cheque than us?Originally posted by boy in blues:the most obvious advantage caucasians have over locals is their fatter pay cheques. overcome that and you have the field levelled. the cultural differences between families is something sensilble girls will consider. those who're still stuck in their failry tale fantasies are immature girls not worthy of consideration anyway. so, no matter.
after making insulting statments do you think you can pull yourself out like that?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ok ok mi got no more comment on this topic already, too much personal attack going on and it is getting stupid... isnt this a place to voice ur view and let ppl discuss it in all direction and maybe get an common understanding??? not happy just state your view, with facts to support if can.. if not also nvm what.. just talk lah... no point all the name calling lah, just want to end this with" I'M STILL PROUD TO BE AN SINGLISH SPEAKING SINGAPOREAN" those ang mo or anyone else see not happy one can DUN SEE... thanks![]()
Explain Chow as Ged pointed out? Lots of aussies here can identify him having watched CTHD in the Aussie cinemas myself. Is he a sex object too? HEhehe.. Michelle yeoh a sex object..if she was a sex object, she would have been bonking Sir james bond every second scene. HHahaha.. Then jackie, chow and Jet are invisible or vaporations? Oh or maybe O'ren Ishii is a sex object as well? I'd hate to think of what remains of the caucasian that would dare to go near her.Originally posted by subudei:Lingos, there is no need to be rude.
Lucy Liu and Michelle Yeoh were set up as, and continue to be set up as, decorative sex objects (albeit with a kick-ass gongfu element, just to play to their Orientalism). And the West always depicts their partners as white caucasian men.
And your very examples of Asian men in Western cinema prove my point - Asian men, especially Chinese men, are only ever given an airing when they play stereotyped gongfu ass-kicking pugilists. Outside of this limited role, Chinese men are almost never depicted as normal people.
In Western portrayals of 'normal' people (i.e. people who do not happen to be gongfu ass-kicking pugilist stereotypes), Chinese men are virtually non-existent. The sole exceptions would maybe be Chow Yun Fatt in The Corruptor and that Chinese (or is he Korean?) guy on Law and Order. In Western productions that are not about ass-kicking gongfu, Chinese men are almost never present, but Chinese women are found with far greater frequency, and almost invariably with white caucasian men in their beds.
Lingo, your point about how Chinese women are sleeping with white caucasian men in real life reinforces my point, by illustrating how this unbalanced media portrayal of Chinese-Western relationships causes life to imitate art. (Well, if you can call a lot of what comes out of Hollywood these days 'art')
I can speak Singlish WHEN i want to as and when i CHOOSE to.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):ok ok mi got no more comment on this topic already, too much personal attack going on and it is getting stupid... isnt this a place to voice ur view and let ppl discuss it in all direction and maybe get an common understanding??? not happy just state your view, with facts to support if can.. if not also nvm what.. just talk lah... no point all the name calling lah, just want to end this with" I'M STILL PROUD TO BE AN SINGLISH SPEAKING SINGAPOREAN" those ang mo or anyone else see not happy one can DUN SEE... thanks![]()
The media encourages this? I think their frigging parents did?Originally posted by subudei:and which encourages them to be spoilt, immature brats.
wake-up [slap, slap, slap] u r not a weakling...[slap, slap, slap] u must be strong & stand up against those "Chow Ang Mo".........[slap, slap, slap] ......oops slap too hard...collapsed...Originally posted by Rapister:as chinese we r inferior lah
small and weak
and stupid
what to do
Lingos, calm down will you?Originally posted by Lingos:Hhehehe.. then everyone of them with caucasian boyfriends must be thinking.. Oh my god, i must be seen with a caucasian cost aht will make me so cool.. Most of the asians i meet in Chinatown are with a chink boyfriend. Have you been here to study yourself Dude?
Have you seen how the asian students dont' talk to anyone else but their own kind? Or they speak in their own dialects so that no one can understand what they are saying.
And what is your personal experience with chinese girls who are with caucasian guys?
Positive discrimination for caucasian guys is more apparent in countries like Vietnam, thailand .. you get the drift. Even my loser aussie friends get marriage proposals there. Uh huh.. you know why.
haha.. why do you wanna see a chinese man in an english movie... stick to chinese movies la.. its good enough for me..Originally posted by subudei:Lingos, there is no need to be rude.
Lucy Liu and Michelle Yeoh were set up as, and continue to be set up as, decorative sex objects (albeit with a kick-ass gongfu element, just to play to their Orientalism). And the West always depicts their partners as white caucasian men.
And your very examples of Asian men in Western cinema prove my point - Asian men, especially Chinese men, are only ever given an airing when they play stereotyped gongfu ass-kicking pugilists. Outside of this limited role, Chinese men are almost never depicted as normal people.
In Western portrayals of 'normal' people (i.e. people who do not happen to be gongfu ass-kicking pugilist stereotypes), Chinese men are virtually non-existent. The sole exceptions would maybe be Chow Yun Fatt in The Corruptor and that Chinese (or is he Korean?) guy on Law and Order. In Western productions that are not about ass-kicking gongfu, Chinese men are almost never present, but Chinese women are found with far greater frequency, and almost invariably with white caucasian men in their beds.
Lingo, your point about how Chinese women are sleeping with white caucasian men in real life reinforces my point, by illustrating how this unbalanced media portrayal of Chinese-Western relationships causes life to imitate art. (Well, if you can call a lot of what comes out of Hollywood these days 'art')
I doubt it, tell it to the American Asian men.Originally posted by SmallPanda:If us guys wanted to date caucasian women we can too, but we dont. So stop shoving this crap down our throats okay?![]()
there's some truth in there, isn't it? leaving Christians out of it (due to relgious practice) how many Chinese you know have English (or Christian) name? too many!! why? because they feel that their Chinese name isn't good enough. You don't see many of other races doing that....Originally posted by Rapister:as chinese we r inferior lah
I'm not Christian and yes I do have a christian name that goes with my chinese name since my birth cert. And the reason ain't because my name ain't good enough or my parents or me feel inferior.Originally posted by rivereast:there's some truth in there, isn't it? leaving Christians out of it (due to relgious practice) how many Chinese you know have English (or Christian) name? too many!! why? because they feel that their Chinese name isn't good enough. You don't see many of other races doing that....
or probably we feel that the ang mo are just too dumb to pronouce Chinese names so we have English (or Christian) names to help them.... but do the Japanese or Korean do that?
Oh, the voice of reason coming from the moron who wrote this:Originally posted by SmallPanda:Lingos, calm down will you?
This is just too damned rich!Originally posted by SmallPanda:Guys!! Why do you all sound so scared of angmo?
Trust me, having gone to school in a white country for many years they are definitely NOT tough guys. I used to beat the *#%* out of them all them time. Me against a whole bunch of them me against 5 or 6 or 7 of them. I beat the *#%* out of all of them!
Its all in the attitude okay? Even if you are small just beat them with a bat or something. Myself i am only 80 kg, but very muscular and ferocious and an attitude that other people are just inferior to me. So beat the *#%* out of these people! Just imagine them pissing on your mother or something to get yourself very angry first, then smash their face! Its all in your attitude! Be aggressive!