Traps like dig a hole on the ground, useful and cheap. Technology like explosives and cannons which are operated indoors.Originally posted by BrUtUs:technology? like wat?
u got no choice but its compulsory for all male in SG wad... u dun like oso lan lan muz go NS...Originally posted by SmallPanda:I'm sure you enjoyed NS, great for you. But does that mean your opinion holds for all? Is it right to force and unwilling person?
u still need MAN to run those technology...Originally posted by Ayukat:Technology will take over, there is no need for so much manpower.
no need lah, wif technology, we got agent smith liaoOriginally posted by WrX_STi:u still need MAN to run those technology...
Well, I find a lot of reservists who are willing to go back to ICTs of whom I talk to, will say "aiyah who else will defend Singapore."Originally posted by Ayukat:Then with this incentives they give the excuse of asking us go back do reservist. See what I mean?
You don't need that many men and besides the government can hire professional soldiers, mecenaries.Originally posted by WrX_STi:u still need MAN to run those technology...
you failed your social studies my boy, look at vanice. they relied on mercenaries, and what is mercenaries, they are soldiers who can be easily bought over by more money. see the states, you might think they are running a professional army, you might think it is easy to buy REAL soldiers with money, but no, most of those guys who serve in the US army are REAL patrots, they love their land. serving the army is not only abt pay, it is about weather do you love your land or not, students nowadays only think about money, brands and freedom, they never cared about their country. seriously, if you really think of sumiting that "petition" of yours to some T.V program, i think i will be one of the many thousands calling in to give you a good scolding man.Originally posted by Ayukat:You don't need that many men and besides the government can hire professional soldiers, mecenaries.
tink u need to go serve then u will noe y ns is needed...Originally posted by Ayukat:You don't need that many men and besides the government can hire professional soldiers, mecenaries.
That is a strawman argument. There are a lot of terrible things that can happen to POWs, regardless of what sex they are. Saying one is worse than the other is just biased. Is a man getting castrated with a knife better off than a woman getting raped? Rape is just a manufactured crime IMHO. Anyway, a woman soldier is still a soldier with responsibilities. There is no need to be over protective just because they are women.Originally posted by noside:for what i think char bor will nv be called to serve the military part of national service.
Not in terms of physical or mentality but they got lotsa problems such as having periods and they have to go through pregnancy and stuff.
When im doing a module in poly and we were discussing abt this topic, my lecturer told us one of the main reason is cuz lets say guys and gals kena captured as P.O.W, guys at most kena tortured or worst die la. Gers not only these, they get raped somemore...
correct me if im wrong..![]()
Originally posted by Ayukat:Traps like dig a hole on the ground, useful and cheap. Technology like explosives and cannons which are operated indoors.
two words: "Ryan Goh"Originally posted by Ayukat:Well, maybe I can try a petition get as many support as possible? After all, government always say must democratic.
isnt it a man's duty to protect the women?Originally posted by Ayukat:What about the girls? Don't need to repay?
LOL! Yes it is, if you are a stone-age hunter gatherer tribesman living in Africa! Thankfully, we have evolved beyond that and most of us have these things called "jobs" nowadays!Originally posted by Countryboy:isnt it a man's duty to protect the women?
" Lao Tu. " Owe Money, Pay Money.Originally posted by Countryboy:isnt it a man's duty to protect the women?
How dare you bring human rights and ethics into this!Originally posted by Ayukat:Ahem, I didn't fail Social Studies. Look at Japan, they aren't allowed to have an army. Are they attacked? Maybe they do have a special army like someone said before but what can it do? Do you think its good enough to fight a war? And how come nobody answered this question? Is it right to force people against their own will to serve NS? Human rights! Why are we being deprived of it?
wah u sound like yue fei leh.....Originally posted by spumkins:I finished my service as a recon trooper,BRC
commonly known as scouts back in 2000. At
one point or other in my life, I have felt that it
was a big waste of time.. the concept of National
Service. Esp. when you compare yourself to
your lady friends who have by then established
themselves and had a headstart in their career.
Also they have probably accumulated a tidy sum
of $. The opportunity cost is huge.
But I remain pro-NS. You may lamblast me for
being a "siao-on", "tao-nao spoil" or a "hawk"
who loves guns, mud, violence etc. But I am not.
When I entered BMT, I couldnt do a single chin-up
and did my 2.4km in 19mins. When I was assigned
to my recce unit, I was the slowest man (in terms of
running) in my company of 74 men. My nickname was "sleeping-tiger". Simply put, I was in no way an
idea soldier. Still I gamely go thru my training
because I didnt wanna let my team down. (We
operate in four men teams) After all we are
"in the same boat".
Similarly as Singaporeans, are we not "in
the same boat". Are we not all living on the same
little isle located at the southern tip of the Malay
archipelago. Isnt what is good for this "little red dot"
beneficial for us 2? When someone intrudes into
your house, doesnt everyone in your family feel
violated and fights back? Or when that happens,
you simply pack up and move into another house?
Are you simply a journey-man in this little country?
I hate to say these but I feel the majority of the rich
would be the first to flee in times of distress.
Will all these 2 1/2 years and the $millions$spent
be of any use in an emergency? I would like to think
so. Our NS is modelled on Israel's model. When
their infant state were threated back in the 40s to
60s. Their "NS" men stood up and struck back f
iercely. I too hope that if that happens to us
Singaporeans, we would do the same too.
Today, we can call on 250,000 able bodied men
to bear arms if the need arises. Would you count
yourself as one of them? If our very soil were to
be threatened today, I would be proud to defend
it together with you.
me tarzan! you jane!Originally posted by SmallPanda:LOL! Yes it is, if you are a stone-age hunter gatherer tribesman living in Africa! Thankfully, we have evolved beyond that and most of us have these things called "jobs" nowadays!![]()