haha, you are making me hungry too. Not only you, but many of the forumers are too...Originally posted by pierre^^:hungry![]()
the second one which died i didnt bring to the vet..cos well he was already deadOriginally posted by Onlined:Oops, sad to hear your hammies died so mysteriously.. My hammies lived to a ripe 2-3 years, and except for one escaped one, the rest were healthy. Not sure if this will help, but in future when washing cages... remember to disinfect it with anti-bacterial solutions (careful not to let it enter your eyes) You can also get sprays (safe for animals and humans, of course), available for spraying onto corners and on bedding to prevent mites and etc.
It seemed contagious... I suspect it could be parasites. Once I bought 2 hammies, which I discovered to my horror when I return that they were down with ticks!Do be careful of introducing new mates too. Remember to quarantine and check throroughly.
Bleeding? Could be due to:
1) Sharp object from the cage.
2) Accidentally bitten, or fought.
3) Was it due to infection? Parasite, or allergic (constant scratching)?
What was the diagnosis by the vet?
You have to discuss with your family members first, to see if they'll let you keep at living room, etc. For me, most of my tanks are in the living room, where my mother would regularly feed them veges and treats. I would prefer tanks. I have 2 stands that can hold 3 2ft+ tanks ea, as they minimises space. For the smaller tanks, they are kept in my room. If you are keeping hams in your room, keep one or 2 to a tank, so they'll produce lesser poo and pee, and won't make your room smell. Yup, remember not to get too addictive like me... And never keep hams at spots where the sun rays hit. Choose cool places, with lesser disturbances.Originally posted by huiz:cute hamsters..
btw which part of your home do you all keep the hamster's cage in? i wanna keep hamsters but my house is a little cramped.
Haha... How do you define deboning?Originally posted by amortifiedpenguin:are they healthy? high cholestrol and stuff. (prefer rodents fed purely on natural grain diet) dun want my pet to get a stroke or something. by the way, can they be fed without piror cleaning? Any chance you can take the trouble of deboning them before passing them to me? could use about one a week for a few years. thanks, Mr Piffy will be thankful for his food.
he means deboning the hamsters to feed his pet. he is thinking of buying hamsters to feed his pet. hamsters to be clean so that his own pet wont get a stroke from eating it.Originally posted by Onlined:Haha... How do you define deboning?
If you meant feeding them food that will be finished, is actually pretty difficult, because in every hamster mix (seeds, pellet, etc) there's bound to be some types (especially pellets) that the hamsters will not really consume. So you have to empty the bowl when you deem fit to throw away.
Are you referring to robos or winter whites? It is best for you to provide a wheel, if you are afraid of them getting overly fat. You have to cut down on sunflower seeds, and other fattening food too.
To feed well, is equivalent to hamsters in the wild, who have made themselves burrows near crops or plantations. I will not starve them to get that trim figure. I will still provide the best food, supplemented with veges and treats for their varied diet.
Originally posted by huiz:he means deboning the hamsters to feed his pet. he is thinking of buying hamsters to feed his pet. hamsters to be clean so that his own pet wont get a stroke from eating it.![]()
hamsters boh bah to eat lah...Originally posted by pierre^^:hungry![]()
actually, it's not only the scent.Originally posted by ceecookie:i dont understand,what happen if u touch the baby hammie?
spiders can gobble up hamsters meh?Originally posted by amortifiedpenguin:who say snake? i no say snake...big hairy spider Mr Piffy likes hamsters. but if too fat they would make him slothful and probably get a stroke. also if its fed inorganic food (pellets or even meat) Mr Piffy's house may smell after his meal. Not too happy Mr Piffy yes?