no, i was directly beside him... he knows i'm there, if not why would he not come into my lane completely?Originally posted by Qitai:Any chance you are in his blind spot?
Orr... anyway don't try to be right hor. I like a phase I learn while learning how to ride - "You can be right, DEAD right". I like this phase very much. To me, it is the gist of defensive riding.Originally posted by kopiosatu:no, i was directly beside him... he knows i'm there, if not why would he not come into my lane completely?
i know how to drive myself, so i'll know when i'm in their blind spot.
Good thing i went through defensive riding already. I think if I had a lighter bike, there might be a chance of falling. Heavier bike easier to control.Originally posted by Qitai:Orr... anyway don't try to be right hor. I like a phase I learn while learning how to ride - "You can be right, DEAD right". I like this phase very much. To me, it is the gist of defensive riding.
I think sometimes its not an issue of whose fault. If I get into any accident, regardless of whose fault, I dun feel good also. It also wastes people's time if it is not that person's fault.Originally posted by kopiosatu:if he gets into an accident its his fault. no argument about that.
it all boils down to the person handling the vehicle. so everyone watch yourselves.
he wasn't cutting into my lane, he was coming into me. there's a difference. he came in directly on my right, not before me or after me. get what i mean? and what do you expect to do then? i'm nearer to his hood, so i move faster so he cuts behind me, logically it would be stupid to slow down and let him move in front of me. I'm a driver too, not all riders just know how to ride a bike.Originally posted by gasband:I think sometimes its not an issue of whose fault. If I get into any accident, regardless of whose fault, I dun feel good also. It also wastes people's time if it is not that person's fault.
I guess its more an issue of who got more to lose if you get into an accident. I always tell my father cos he riding bike and I drive car... I say, why ride like those bikes I see on the highway? zipping in and out and in the middle 2 cars...I say if any of the cars decide to just move a bit, you are gone, who got more to lose? You or the car? If no injury nevermind, if you die, who lose more?
So I guess sometimes, I see cars or motor want to die die overtake me or cut into my lane, I just let go lah.... after my accident... I have become more patient lah...
So in this case you can say I car driver I biase but I guess when you see him wanna cut into your lane, defensive riding and driving would tell you to slow down and let him cut lor, rite? If you had done that, nothing would have happened liao. But not saying your fault lah.
Cheers and safe driving and riding and walking (for pedestrians haha)
he hit kopi's bike's rear leh, unless the uncle is blind, i dun think kopi was in his blind spot.Originally posted by Qitai:Any chance you are in his blind spot?
whoa bro. didn't actually see this till today. luckily u not injured.Originally posted by kopiosatu:You guys heard about riders that zip between lanes? Dangerous ain't it? Well I'll relate an incident I experienced this afternoon as I was riding to work...
I was riding on the centre lane of a main road towards AMK. I took the middle of the lane, like a bike should. When this car on my right decided to change lanes.
He switched on his signal and moved to the left, nothing wrong right? Well except that I was exactly on his left. Apparently from the vehicle's movement I kinda sensed his was trying to push me out of my lane.
I looked to my right and it was an bespectacled uncle. His car was still hovering right next to me, still trying to nudge me out of my lane. I opened my throttle and moved faster... if he wants to change lanes, change behind me. Suddenly my bike wobbled... something hit my rear tyre. I got back my control by adjusting my handlebar. Immediately I checked my mirror and I see the car swerving back into the right lane.
I turned back and he raise his hand to apologise. First thing that came to my mind was "F*cking idiot, if there's an accident let's see if you have the chance to even apologise", he changed lanes and exited towards CTE (PIE), while i headed to CTE (SLE).
This incident might happen to one in the many drivers. But one is enough to cause an accident, one accident is too many. So please don't do stupid things like trying to squeeze bikes to the side or overtaking so near them.
I've always said, the bikers who squeeze between traffic, there's no reason to block them. If they get into an accident its their own fault, they chose to squeeze and lose control, its their own bad decision. Don't do things to increase the percentage of an accident.
For my incident, I was taking the centre of the lane like a car. And this driver chose to come in with me still there. I don't know what else to say. Let's take this incident and learn from it.
Personally I don't care if I get injured as long as my bike isn't too damaged. But other people's lives are important. So please drive carefully.
keh keh fall down!Originally posted by kopiosatu:i was hoping for an accident so i can use insurance to get my yoshimura full system
should have fell!!!!!
this isn't a rider vs driver story.Originally posted by markteotg:IMO its another of those drivers vs riders story, u saw that he is "coming at u" then u just slow down lor... or speed up lor.... or honk at him lor.... simply as that and there wouldn't be any accident or protential accident already. but i might be wrong and problaby i am wrong but some how or rather i felt that u have also intentionally maintain the same speed so that this old man cannot just comes into your lane but lets put it this way, if this guy really didn't see u and knock u down then who is going to suffer? u? your bike? him? his car? basically its only u, your bike, to a certain extend his car and ..... not him but his insurance, that's all mate! so he is not going to suffer much (in a sence) but its u that's going to suffer more, so, next time round if u ride a bike jus try to move away from such driver lor why go all out to prevent him from coming into your lane and run a higher risk yourself?.
btw, since u are riding a bike can i know why do some bikers like to turn on their high beam instead of normal head light? afraid that we (drivers) can't see u? or scare we mistaken u as a cock eye car?
he did JUST that didn't he? can't u read?Originally posted by markteotg:IMO its another of those drivers vs riders story, u saw that he is "coming at u" then u just slow down lor... or speed up lor.... or honk at him lor.... simply as that and there wouldn't be any accident or protential accident already. but i might be wrong and problaby i am wrong but some how or rather i felt that u have also intentionally maintain the same speed so that this old man cannot just comes into your lane but lets put it this way, if this guy really didn't see u and knock u down then who is going to suffer? u? your bike? him? his car? basically its only u, your bike, to a certain extend his car and ..... not him but his insurance, that's all mate! so he is not going to suffer much (in a sence) but its u that's going to suffer more, so, next time round if u ride a bike jus try to move away from such driver lor why go all out to prevent him from coming into your lane and run a higher risk yourself?.
btw, since u are riding a bike can i know why do some bikers like to turn on their high beam instead of normal head light? afraid that we (drivers) can't see u? or scare we mistaken u as a cock eye car?
that you'll have to ask the uncles and malaysians.Originally posted by zheshi:What abt bike driver at the Right most lane? Driving so slow..and best they are not suppose to be on the fight most lane..i darn hate that..
I know exactly how u feel,, i have open up a thread before too... yours is a car trying to squeeze u out from the lane, mine incident is a car trying to squeeze my car out from my lane and me nearly bumped into the car on my right..Originally posted by kopiosatu:this isn't a rider vs driver story.
Once again i must say, the driver appeared beside me and decided to change lanes with me still in it. Your reply shows that you condone drivers to shove riderrs to one side just because they feel like changing lanes.
Please read the incident once again. Everyone assumes that the changed lane in front of me. How many times do i have to repeat, he was BESIDE me.
I must also state once again i am a DRIVER too. I've been handling 4 wheels for sometime myself.
I did not PREVENT him from coming in, i accelerated, didn't you read???? Why did i accelerate? To get out of the way. You want me to move to the side. So where do I end up? Between traffic?
About who suffers in an accident... please read my replies AGAIN. I have stated that I personally don't give a damn who suffers in an accident. The thought of suffering from an accident will not change my mind about riding in the middle of the lane. Recklessness? Well its your perogative. I'm sure some here who know me understand what i'm driving at.
Regarding the head lights. I have seen many cases of bikes with spoilt lowerbeams. Most of the people are too lazy to send it for repair. Other than that... do not forget that a bike's headlight is higher than a car's. My bike's stock headlight is already very bright.
Now, the next guy who comes preaching to me that i should have given way, you just go read the incident one more time.
go fcuk yourself 1st before asking me wtf, if he would have slow down and let the car cut in front of him, probably his rear wouldn't got "touch" by the car and if he is so can't care less abt who suffer in the accident he wouldn't have post a topic here or get so piss with the driver. as for you HENG@, just how many years have u been actually driving a car to give coments as a driver? anyway, its his life he can do whatever he wants, continue driving this way thinking that other road users must/can see u when u r travelling in a proper position its up to u, for me, i probably will have lesser worries in future when switching lane. (cos all die already no need to always check here check there)Originally posted by HENG@:he did JUST that didn't he? can't u read?
in this case he was in front when the car touched his rear. clearly the car at fault, WTF u being so zealous about it for? and im saying this as a driver. i don't ride bikes, and probably never will, precisely because of idiots like that on the roads.
look, it is clear you have NO IDEA WHAT HAPPENED. i guess you just don't have much of an ability to visualise incident.Originally posted by markteotg:go fcuk yourself 1st before asking me wtf, if he would have slow down and let the car cut in front of him, probably his rear wouldn't got "touch" by the car and if he is so can't care less abt who suffer in the accident he wouldn't have post a topic here or get so piss with the driver. as for you HENG@, just how many years have u been actually driving a car to give coments as a driver? anyway, its his life he can do whatever he wants, continue driving this way thinking that other road users must/can see u when u r travelling in a proper position its up to u, for me, i probably will have lesser worries in future when switching lane. (cos all die already no need to always check here check there)
Originally posted by markteotg:go fcuk yourself 1st before asking me wtf, if he would have slow down and let the car cut in front of him, probably his rear wouldn't got "touch" by the car and if he is so can't care less abt who suffer in the accident he wouldn't have post a topic here or get so piss with the driver. as for you HENG@, just how many years have u been actually driving a car to give coments as a driver? anyway, its his life he can do whatever he wants, continue driving this way thinking that other road users must/can see u when u r travelling in a proper position its up to u, for me, i probably will have lesser worries in future when switching lane. (cos all die already no need to always check here check there)