Originally posted by HENG@:I guess out of all the 924, 944 out there, there is only the S2 that is worth keeping huh?
if u want performance, u would go for a modern sport car? but in youe OWN WORDS "If you were to ask me the same question, I will say that a used 911 anytime. Reason are design, [b]performance"<--- u listed performance as one of your considerations for getting a 911.contradictiing yourself here? i'll be nice n give u some time to get your befuddled arguments straight.
turbo 944 S2's a personal preference. i wouldn't mind a 928 if the price n condition's good.[/b]
but in sg? no point spending money on any performance car. not unless u really have a passion for cars(and the means to afford one)Originally posted by Gazelle:Nothing against Jap performance car, but I think the german machines are much better in term of safety, technology and image. The major disadvantage of driving a performance Jap is that you attract all the ah beng to race with you and you always get stop at road block in Singapore..
not only the S2, but if i am entitled to a preference amongst the non-911 porsches am i not? i mean, it'd be unreasonable to expect me to buy a 944 and a 928 and a 944 turbo and a 944 turbo S2 and whatnot. ultimately im making a choice and i'd have to pick something right? by your veiw i could ask u WHICH old 911 u'd buy and then say: "I guess out of all the 911s out there, there is only the Turbo/S/4S/etc(pick one) that is worth keeping huh?"Originally posted by Gazelle:I guess out of all the 924, 944 out there, there is only the S2 that is worth keeping huh?
I mentioned design, performance, resale value, and spareparts, which means it is not purely on performance ALONE.
Since you said that it is only worth getting a jap performance car in Singapore, so I would presume what you say abuot S2 and 928 are just as good as talking cock and singing song. I believe you might get on in UK for 5000 quid, but that fact that this thread is talking about buying one in Singapore, therefore I would appreciate if you could make your argument within the context of Singapore.
Heng, if someone have got the money to burn, what is wrong with them getting a performance car in Singapore? From your argument, it seems to me that to own a performance car MUST be a RACER and you MUST pushes the car to limit everytime you drive.Originally posted by HENG@:but in sg? no point spending money on any performance car. not unless u really have a passion for cars(and the means to afford one)
if u want a german car for daily commute(and u can afford one), a nice mid-size luxury car like 5 series or E-Class is more than enuf. anything bigger is excessive, anything smaller is a bit cramped.
Heng, why do you have to always compare car price to those in UK? Why not the Middle East, USA, Germany etc? Is it because buying and running a car in UK is the cheapest and most value for money in this world?Originally posted by HENG@:not only the S2, but if i am entitled to a preference amongst the non-911 porsches am i not? i mean, it'd be unreasonable to expect me to buy a 944 and a 928 and a 944 turbo and a 944 turbo S2 and whatnot. ultimately im making a choice and i'd have to pick something right? by your veiw i could ask u WHICH old 911 u'd buy and then say: "I guess out of all the 911s out there, there is only the Turbo/S/4S/etc(pick one) that is worth keeping huh?"
and yea u did not mention performance alone, but then u said if u wanted to talk about performance u'd get a modern sportscar so why even bother mentioning performance? I also mentioned performance, price, design and other factors, not performance alone, which alone u censured my views for. so u're saying that, from your view your remark that if u wanted performance u'd get a modern sportscar is uncalled for? good then, that u'd admit a mistake.
and all along i was talking about UK from the start mentioning that it'd be cheaper getting one there. u're the one who assumed wrongly. and when talking about the context of both pre-owned 911s and non-911s, both being exotic cars, if what i say about the non-911s whether in a UK or sg context are talk cock sing song, surely that would extend to what u say about old 911 models as well because what u say extends to UK as well as singapore. so like it or not, if your views apply, too bad, mine do too.
you subsidize road tax ok?Originally posted by stellazio:Buy an Aston Martin
lol. we could compare prices with anywhere in europe. it'll be cheaper than singapore too. point is, i compare uk because i've got more knowledge of the prices there. If i'd stayed in germany, i'd compare it to sg. or usa if i lived there. fact is, no matter where, most places are much more value for money when it comes to car ownership, than singapore is.Originally posted by Gazelle:Heng, why do you have to always compare car price to those in UK? Why not the Middle East, USA, Germany etc? Is it because buying and running a car in UK is the cheapest and most value for money in this world?
u missed a point again. i said no point UNLESS u're someone who has a passion for cars. and when i say passion, i never said MUST be a racer. duh. those people who buy Ferraris don't excactly buy it because they want a comfortable commute to the office do they? Try to infer correctly next time, it makes u look silly making arguments if u don't.Originally posted by Gazelle:Heng, if someone have got the money to burn, what is wrong with them getting a performance car in Singapore? From your argument, it seems to me that to own a performance car MUST be a RACER and you MUST pushes the car to limit everytime you drive.
As you can see this thread is about buying a porsche, not should I buy a CAR,
therefore I dont see a point for you to talk us into buying a 5 or a E. Honeslty I will prefer to get a A over the B & M anytime...Why dont you try log on to Ferrarichat website and tell them that they should just drive a B or M, and you guys are just wasting your money etc..
Heng, all Singaporeans drivers already know that car prices in Singapore is among the highest in the world, so I dont think there is a need for you to keep b.itching about how cheap are cars in UK and bla bla bla.Originally posted by HENG@:lol. we could compare prices with anywhere in europe. it'll be cheaper than singapore too. point is, i compare uk because i've got more knowledge of the prices there. If i'd stayed in germany, i'd compare it to sg. or usa if i lived there. fact is, no matter where, most places are much more value for money when it comes to car ownership, than singapore is.![]()
HENG, if we dont have passion for cars, why are we talking in this forum?Originally posted by HENG@:u missed a point again. i said no point UNLESS u're someone who has a passion for cars. and when i say passion, i never said MUST be a racer. duh. those people who buy Ferraris don't excactly buy it because they want a comfortable commute to the office do they? Try to infer correctly next time, it makes u look silly making arguments if u don't.![]()
no i not sian. i very free now. vacation time, and after having just toured europe the last month or so, i dun mind staying online to chat n discuss.Originally posted by Gazelle:Heng, all Singaporeans drivers already know that car prices in Singapore is among the highest in the world, so I dont think there is a need for you to keep b.itching about how cheap are cars in UK and bla bla bla.
Are you suggesting that Singapore shouldnt be driving at all just because UK car prices are cheaper?
Just because you are studying in UK that doesnt mean that you have to keep singing praise about UK lah. You not sien meh?
ok point conceeded that we're here because of passion. but yes, i know of some housewifes who drive some pretty exotic motors. of course maybe u can't blame them as their husbands are the ones who bought the car. but there are some of the noveau rich who do buy exotic cars more for the image than the passion. this point u know as i do that it is true, and u can't deny it.Originally posted by Gazelle:HENG, if we dont have passion for cars, why are we talking in this forum?
Can you help me to find a Singaporeans who owns a performance car in Singapore that doesnt have passion for cars?
Do you happen to know of any auntie who have accidently ordered a AMG E55 without knowing it?
What you are saying is as good as not saying anything TCSS
too much of those lying around these days.truly sad to see heritage ignored for some glitz..most of it unappreciated or unknown to the driver.Originally posted by HENG@:ok point conceeded that we're here because of passion. but yes, i know of some housewifes who drive some pretty exotic motors. of course maybe u can't blame them as their husbands are the ones who bought the car. but there are some of the noveau rich who do buy exotic cars more for the image than the passion. this point u know as i do that it is true, and u can't deny it.
Honeslty why should I border about how the rich spend their money. To them they have the money and they want to experience the best things in life and I dont think there is anything wrong that. Without these people, do you think companies like Ferrari will still be around?Originally posted by HENG@:ok point conceeded that we're here because of passion. but yes, i know of some housewifes who drive some pretty exotic motors. of course maybe u can't blame them as their husbands are the ones who bought the car. but there are some of the noveau rich who do buy exotic cars more for the image than the passion. this point u know as i do that it is true, and u can't deny it.
why should u bother? simple. because u made this claim:Originally posted by Gazelle:Honeslty why should I border about how the rich spend their money. To them they have the money and they want to experience the best things in life and I dont think there is anything wrong that. Without these people, do you think companies like Ferrari will still be around?
It depends what you mean by passion. Passion to collect cars or passion to drive performance car. I do know of someone in Singapore who buy a Enzo and kept it at home. That consider as having passion?Originally posted by HENG@:why should u bother? simple. because u made this claim:
"Can you help me to find a Singaporeans who owns a performance car in Singapore that doesnt have passion for cars?"
'nuff said![]()
that certainly qualifies as passion for cars.Originally posted by Gazelle:It depends what you mean by passion. Passion to collect cars or passion to driver performance car. I do know of someone in Singapore who buy a Enzo and kept it at home. That consider as having passion?
If that qualify as passion, then can you help me to find a Singaporeans who owns a performance car in Singapore that doesnt have passion for cars?Originally posted by HENG@:that certainly qualifies as passion for cars.
u're talking about the Enzo owner, his case is considered passion because the Enzo is not road legal but he still bought one. Let's consider a Ferrari which is road legal and hence can be driven out on the road for everyone to see: there are some who hae bought a 360 simply because they want the image, and there are some who truely can appreciate the car's performance.Originally posted by Gazelle:If that qualify as passion, then can you help me to find a Singaporeans who owns a performance car in Singapore that doesnt have passion for cars?
I guess you will have to be the Judge to decide who is in and who is out lor?Originally posted by HENG@:u're talking about the Enzo owner, his case is considered passion because the Enzo is not road legal but he still bought one. Let's consider a Ferrari which is road legal and hence can be driven out on the road for everyone to see: there are some who hae bought a 360 simply because they want the image, and there are some who truely can appreciate the car's performance.
So I don't see how just because the Enzo owner has a passion for cars means that is true for all Ferrari owners. The Enzo is not even road legal so can't be argued in the same context as ownership of a road-legal performance car.
your signature says it all already...dont need to quote Yoda...Originally posted by dryver:'passion for cars, i do not have. trashing cars, i love.' quote- yoda.![]()