Sorry to tell you your car spoil liao. Have to change to a new car...Originally posted by AngPow:Does anyone know why my dashboard lighted with PS this morning n i juz cant start my car......?![]()
Exactly. The only other reason to use "OD off" is when going down steep inclines like Genting Highlands or Cameron Highlands. This will help slow the car down with engine braking, so your brakes don't burn up. Pressing the brakes all the way down have been known to blow up tyres (too hot) or warping your brake discs.Originally posted by kiss29:OD on or OFF is a really useless thing in modern cars. In fact in many cars there are no longer this OD function. I don't see this in my fathers' LexusRX300 nor in my relatives Porsche/mercedes/BMW.
The correct driving condition is not to have the OD light appearing. When there is a icon light, it means you have activated the OD function and the gear will only max change up to 3rd gear ratio. Meaning to say your engine will rotate at a higher RPM at cruising speed. Which also means you will 'feel' that your car 'power' is there for you to overtake other cars. Meaning to say you are actually burning more petrol.
OD is not some 'nitro' mystery boost that suddenly gives your car super power. Its simply a button to instruct the gear not to go into fourth gear(which in olden days its determined as the final gear or cruising gear).
Even if you leave the OD button on off(no lighted up icon), when you need to overtake some cars and need the 2nd or 3rd gear power all you need to do is STOMP on the pedal all the way. The Fuzzy logic will drop the transmission to 2nd or 3rd gear for you AUTOMATICALLY, and you can feel the 'power' for overtaking immediately.
OD is actually a oddity that is carried forward from the 70's & 80's auto transmission WHERE the gear selection Fuzzy logic is not intelligent/fast enough.
good points there kiss29.Originally posted by kiss29:OD on or OFF is a really useless thing in modern cars. In fact in many cars there are no longer this OD function. I don't see this in my fathers' LexusRX300 nor in my relatives Porsche/mercedes/BMW.
The correct driving condition is not to have the OD light appearing. When there is a icon light, it means you have activated the OD function and the gear will only max change up to 3rd gear ratio. Meaning to say your engine will rotate at a higher RPM at cruising speed. Which also means you will 'feel' that your car 'power' is there for you to overtake other cars. Meaning to say you are actually burning more petrol.
OD is not some 'nitro' mystery boost that suddenly gives your car super power. Its simply a button to instruct the gear not to go into fourth gear(which in olden days its determined as the final gear or cruising gear).
Even if you leave the OD button on off(no lighted up icon), when you need to overtake some cars and need the 2nd or 3rd gear power all you need to do is STOMP on the pedal all the way. The Fuzzy logic will drop the transmission to 2nd or 3rd gear for you AUTOMATICALLY, and you can feel the 'power' for overtaking immediately.
OD is actually a oddity that is carried forward from the 70's & 80's auto transmission WHERE the gear selection Fuzzy logic is not intelligent/fast enough.
Originally posted by Shooting_Cloud:Sorry to tell you your car spoil liao. Have to change to a new car...
Just kidding.
PS is for Power Steering, so there may be a problem with it. Better get it checked by TC.
hihi angpow,Originally posted by AngPow:Yo dun scred mi lei......Anyway i restart the car again and its gone the PS signals....
Agree , i will hit the OD on unless overtaking on a stright road than keeping it on, will drink petrol too .....i was in cameron highlands but i did not hit the OD button but the car just overheated but luckly can still drive back with plenty of help from the other marchie members who went on the trip!!Originally posted by Shooting_Cloud:Exactly. The only other reason to use "OD off" is when going down steep inclines like Genting Highlands or Cameron Highlands. This will help slow the car down with engine braking, so your brakes don't burn up. Pressing the brakes all the way down have been known to blow up tyres (too hot) or warping your brake discs.
Other than that, just leave the "OD Off" light OFF. Petrol is just too expensive these days.![]()
hi zuki , actually everyone driving style is different. if u r a kan cheong and heavy footed person the car consume more petrol. Maybe u can try to ask ur girlfriend to drive gradually it make lots of different.Originally posted by zuki:hi all marchie bro and sis,
my girlfriend bought the new nissan march 6 mths ago, with the 15" rim, the fuel lights up just before she hit 390. As for my march which i bought in 05 with standard rim, it usually bring me up to 480 before hit reserve. is it really so much different ? try checking with tan chong and they said that the new march fuel consumption is not as good? is it true? she suspect that something is wrong wrong with the car? is there anyone out there driving the new march with 15" rim, pls feedback me on an average wat is the fuel consumption? xie xie!
mine is new march with 14".... also around 11-12km/l. So nothing to worry about la... but hor... if they are saying the new march FC is not as good... then its interesting.Originally posted by zuki:hi all marchie bro and sis,
my girlfriend bought the new nissan march 6 mths ago, with the 15" rim, the fuel lights up just before she hit 390. As for my march which i bought in 05 with standard rim, it usually bring me up to 480 before hit reserve. is it really so much different ? try checking with tan chong and they said that the new march fuel consumption is not as good? is it true? she suspect that something is wrong wrong with the car? is there anyone out there driving the new march with 15" rim, pls feedback me on an average wat is the fuel consumption? xie xie!
Thank You Zuki. I probably will admit my bean to TC next week .Originally posted by zuki:hi angBao,
i have this PS lighted up too 2 days ago, when i restart again its gone! just now while i was making my way home, it happen again at the car park! this time i saw it and quickly off the engine and restart again. came back read the manual and try checking with my friends , they said it could be leakage of oil for the PS. better have it check cos mine was still under warranty. i was told that if there is insufficient oil for the PS it will damage the Power Steering! sob!
wow 17"! 35l travel 490km, will let my girlfriend know. thanks!Originally posted by bbryan:hi zuki , actually everyone driving style is different. if u r a kan cheong and heavy footed person the car consume more petrol. Maybe u can try to ask ur girlfriend to drive gradually it make lots of different.
Another reason i think is the fuel meter. some cars the fuel light up earlier. For my ride i got a 17ich rims, soundproof and ICE. For 35litres petrol i pump average i can travel about 490km.
i did my manifold/extractor headOriginally posted by lanceccs:Just got 2nd hand March (E).
I am looking forward to modify the Intake and Exhaust System. Could you please share your knowledge on these topics for March.
March should be a TP friendly car. Low risk of being stopped/fined thus I would like to mod the Exhaust for more BHP.
hanor... i suPer heavy-footed... datz y FC only 11-12... s i g hOriginally posted by bbryan:hi zuki , actually everyone driving style is different. if u r a kan cheong and heavy footed person the car consume more petrol. Maybe u can try to ask ur girlfriend to drive gradually it make lots of different.
Another reason i think is the fuel meter. some cars the fuel light up earlier. For my ride i got a 17ich rims, soundproof and ICE. For 35litres petrol i pump average i can travel about 490km.
Hello Fellow Air Blue...Originally posted by Shooting_Cloud:From observing other Marchies on the road, the Air Blue, Cream, and Green Pea colors seem to be the most popular. My wife thot our AirBlue car is special when we got it last year, but now it's to her horror, it's everywhere.
March seems to be a strong seller for TC. Many on the road liao.![]()
hi ang baoOriginally posted by AngPow:Thank You Zuki. I probably will admit my bean to TC next week .
Mayb this is a sign to change CAR !![]()
Hi Zuki,Originally posted by zuki:hi ang bao
just collected my car for my 14000 servicing. change a new battery plus took a package A, total cost me $190. they check the PS light on indicator and they are kind enough to order a new motor box for the PS??? from japan, it will take 2 weeks to arrive. my car is still under warranty so its FREE. anyway i didn't ask much cos even if they explain to me i might not understand. was told that it is not very serious problem, car still can drive. hee... No Need For U To Change Car La..
my baby this may 2 yrs. you? me plus change oil and battery 50% discount (package A) they suggest, comes up to $190. did u tell them ur PS problem? check with them again. wat did they explain?Originally posted by AngPow:Hi Zuki,
I just get my PS checked and got my bean serviced . But they opt for Package B $217 + change oil + battery .Total $309.49 How come tehy didnt change motor box for me?I already told him to change whatever the best for my bean .
How old is yr car ?
AngPow
Hi Zuki,Originally posted by zuki:my baby this may 2 yrs. you? me plus change oil and battery 50% discount (package A) they suggest, comes up to $190. did u tell them ur PS problem? check with them again. wat did they explain?
oh..Originally posted by AngPow:Hi Zuki,
My bean exacctly 2 yrs young. They said nothin wrong with my PS , just my battery weak . So change battery . And when I paid I realsie was package B. And battery 25% discount .
I went to Toa Payoh TC.
AngPow