[quote]Originally posted by tailslide:
orh, i said a retard is someone slow in brain development touch a sensitive spot ah? if u not one den so angry for feck?eh shoot pple already say nv shoot??
ever heard of hydraulic cam gears? those are the gismos that give the cam their advance and retard while the engine is moving. and u of course will have no idea wad i'm toking about lah! u are an engine idiot wad!IF can go backwards.. then also can slow down right???? ah.. shoot pple again.. pple say u moron u kbkb so much....

look name callings aint gonna get us anywhere and will be juz pissing everyone off...
but u still haven't explained wad happens to the cams MECHANICALLY as they are advanced or retarded! keep saying advance to enable earlier intake and when retarded, the valves dun open as early for feck? if u know how to advance or retard a cam in the first place, why keep avoiding the explanation by using such vague and generic explanations?
lets end this once and for all. juz answer this question:
is it true that u advance a cam by turning it forward and retard it by turning it in the reverse direction or not?
simple yes no answer will do. i can simply say yes.. u happy i happy we end this tiresome argument.... but the fact is each cam.. or rather camlobe... is fixed.. tt means u dun advance or retard individual cam.. rather u advance or retard the entire camshaft.. the camshaft is contolled by a hyadraulic actuator.. which according to engine speed.. will SPEED UP the rotation of the camshaft and ADVANCE the time the valve starts to open or vice versa... in other words.. it is to pace the camshaft according to the engine speed so tt the FIXED camlobes will open the inlet valves at the right time and ensure optimal overlap at all engine speeds...
look i simply cant understand why u say can turn backwards.. unless u meant the mechanism inside the actuator turning backwards and slowing down the entire camshaft then maybe i can accept.... and some more u want to control individual cams.. how expennsive the system can be.. which brings me to the point i am going to comment abt ur next paragraph...
hello. earth to mars. since when did i said "simply by changing the speed of rotation of the cams like u said"? u dunno how to argue properly nevermind. mai anyhow misqoute me lor.
wad u have juz said confirms that not only do u know nuts bout DOHC engines. u know nuts bout SOHC engines . dun u know that the amount of overlap in a SOHC engine is invariable? the amount of over lap is dictated by the amount of duration the inlet cams crosses over to the duration of the exhaust cams. and since both inlet and exhaust lobes are FIXED along a SINGLE cam in a SOHC engine, they cannot be advanced or retarded to affect overlap. the entire cam can only be advanced or retarded along with the whole intake and exhaust timing. if u have been reading, u would realize that this is one of the primary advantages of DOHC which can have either the exhaust cam or the intake cam advance or retard itself to acheive diff amount of overlapfor once i agree something with u.. the amt of overlap in SOHC is invariable... bcos the camlobes are fixed.... yes they can have overlap... but overlap doesnt necessarily mean have cam phasing.. can u ensure tt overlap is optimal at all engine speeds.. and most imptly..can u ensure tt the ratio of crankshaft rotation to the ratio of camshaft rotation is a constant throughtout the entire engine speed.. ideally yes.. in real life no or else vvti vtec all need not have appeared....tt's why i said SOHC engine cant have cam phasing...
cos u need the versatility of a DOHC to have cam phasing.. the camlobes are fixed on each camshaft... but u play ard with the intake camshaft at diff engine speed... the intake camshaft are somehwat semi independant of the crankshaft speed... like u said dohc can achieve diff amt of overlap to ensure OPTIMAL overlap at the particular engine speed...